DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20210243876 A1 by Chen et al (Chen).
Referring to claim 1 Chen Fig 1 to 15a-d teaches a plasma source (See Fig 8A-C item 800 paragraph [0057]) comprising;
a plasma source body (item 100) including a housing having an exterior surface (item 800) and separating an interior of the plasma source body (inside of item 100 plasma chamber) from an exterior (the external part 800 is regarded as exterior) of the plasma source body (item 100 chamber), wherein the housing and enclosing encloses entirely within the interior (See Fig 8A-C which clearly explains):
a plurality of magnetic cores ( item 804 and item 822 see paragraph [0059]);
a plurality of primary windings capable of being energized (See Fig 8A-C, Fig 9 and paragraph [0059]-[0060]); and
a cooling structure (Fig 8A-C, 9 item 810 heat sink and inlet 828 and outlet 830 for cooling fluid paragraph [0062]);
wherein one or more sections of said plasma source body comprising a dielectric material (See paragraph [0015] and Fig 1, 2 and paragraph [0044]),
and wherein, when said plurality of primary windings are energized, a plasma forms around on the outer portion surface of said plasma source body housing (See abstract, paragraph [0060] claim 1, 12).
Hence, it is obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of instant application to combine the several embodiments taught by Chen and incorporate them in to one single equipment and fabricate a plasma source having a dielectric plasma chamber with improved plasma resistance (See paragraphs [0080]-[0081] of Chen).
Referring to claim 2 Chen’s modified reference teaches the plasma source of claim 1, further comprising potting situated on said inner portion of said plasma source body (See paragraph [0062] Chen teaches using potting compound item 812).
Referring to claim 3 Chen’s modified reference teaches the plasma source of claim 1, said plasma source body further comprising an electrode capable of forming a discharge for ignition. (See paragraph [0069]).
Referring to claim 4 Chen’s modified reference teaches the plasma source of claim 1, wherein said the plasma source body having a torus shape. (See Fig 1 item 100 toroidal loop plasma chamber and paragraphs [0042] –[0043]).
Referring to claim 5 Chen’s modified reference teaches the plasma source of claim 1, but silent on wherein said the plasma source body having a cylindrical shape. However, it is within the scope of an ordinary skill (See paragraphs [0080] –[0081]).
Referring to claim 6 Chen’s modified reference teaches the plasma source of claim 1, wherein said cooling structure comprising water passages (See Fig 8A-C item 828 and 830 paragraphs [0062] and Fig 10 paragraph [0065]).
Referring to claim 7 Chen’s modified reference teaches the plasma source of claim 6, wherein said water passages comprising a plurality of pipes capable of conducting heat after a temperature threshold of the plurality of pipes has been exceeded (See paragraphs [0054], [0058], [0060] –[0063] and sink item 810).
Referring to claim 8 Chen’s modified reference teaches the plasma source of claim 4, wherein the plasma source comprising a torus shaped plasma source body having a diameter of less than 1 inch to approximately 4 inches, and a height of about 1.5 inches (See paragraph [0012], [0043], [0065] where Chen suggests the dimensions), and capable of operating at about 500-2000 W. (See paragraph [0067] where up to 6 kW).
Referring to claim 9 Chen’s modified reference teaches the plasma source of claim 8, the plasma source having a diameter of about 3.25 inches (See paragraph [0012], [0043], [0065] where Chen suggests the dimensions). Hence, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before filing date of instant application, to choose the dimensions according to the user application.
Referring to claim 10 Chen’s modified reference teaches the plasma source of claim 1, but Chen is silent on wherein said plurality of magnetic cores are ferrite cores. (See paragraph [0062] Chen teaches using potting compound item 812).
Referring to claim 11 Chen’s modified reference teaches the plasma source of claim 2, wherein said plurality of magnetic cores being encased in a thermally conductive potting. (See paragraph [0062] where Chen teaches using thermally conductive potting compound).
Referring to claim 12 Chen’s modified reference teaches the plasma source of claim 1, wherein a ferrite core is coupled with a portion of the cooling structure, and the vessel is coupled with a second portion of the cooling structure (See Fig 8A-C magnetic cores and power transformers contain ferrite cores it is inherent or obvious to an ordinary skill to introduce this limitation in to the magnetic structure).
Referring to claim 13 Chen’s modified reference teaches the plasma source of claim 1, wherein input gas is injected into a plasma discharge region (See Fig 8A-C item inlet for gas 806 and outlet exit flange 808 paragraphs [0042] and [0057]).
Referring to claim 14 Fig 1 to 15a-d teaches a plasma source (See Fig 8A-C item 800 paragraph [0057]), comprising:
a plasma source body (item 100) formed from at least one plasma source body member and at least one dielectric break (item 814), the plasma source body defining at least one plasma source body (item 100) passage therein (See paragraphs [0062] [0063]); the plasma source body including an exterior surface (the external part 800 is regarded as exterior) and separating an interior of the plasma source body (item 100) from an exterior of the plasma source body (item 100);
at least one ferrite core positioned within the plasma source body passage item 804 and item 822 see paragraph [0059] where Chen teaches magnetic structure); ;at least one primary winding traversing at least a portion of the plasma source body, the primary winding positioned proximate to the ferrite core, the primary winding in communication with at least one source RF energy, wherein the application of RF energy to the primary winding results in the formation of a plasma proximate to an outer surface of the plasma source body (See paragraph [0062]-[0063]); and at least one thermal management structure positioned within the plasma source body passage proximate to the ferrite core, the thermal management structure in fluid communication with at least one fluid source via at least one thermal management system inlet on the plasma source body (Fig 8A-C Fig 9 item 810 heat sink and inlet 828 and outlet 830 for cooling fluid paragraph [0062]); and wherein the at least one ferrite core, the at least one primary winding, and the at least one thermal management structure are positioned entirely within the interior of the plasma source body (See paragraph [0046]-[0048]).
But Chen is silent on at least one ferrite core positioned within the plasma source body passage. However, it could be an inherent teaching or it is obvious to an ordinary person as within the scope of the art.
Hence, it is obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of instant application to combine the several embodiments taught by Chen and incorporate them in to one single equipment and fabricate a plasma source having a dielectric plasma chamber with improved plasma resistance (See paragraphs [0080]-[0081] of Chen).
Referring to claim 15 Chen’s modified reference teaches the plasma source of claim 14, said plasma source body further comprising at least one electrode positioned within the plasma source body, the electrode capable of forming a discharge for ignition of the plasma. (See paragraph [0069]).
Referring to claim 16 Chen’s modified reference teaches the plasma source of claim 14, wherein said the plasma source body has a torus shape. (See Fig 1 item 100 toroidal loop plasma chamber and paragraphs [0042] –[0043]).
Referring to claim 17 Chen’s modified reference teaches the plasma source of claim 14, but Chen is silent on wherein said the plasma source body having a cylindrical shape. However, it is within the scope of an ordinary skill (See paragraphs [0080] –[0081]). .
Referring to claim 18 Chen’s modified reference teaches the plasma source of claim 14, wherein the plasma source comprising a torus shaped plasma source body having a diameter of less than 1 inch to approximately 4 inches, and a height of about 1.5 inches (See paragraph [0012], [0043], [0065] where Chen suggests the dimensions), and capable of operating at about 500-2000 W. (See paragraph [0067] where Chen teaches up to 6 kW).
Referring to claim 19 Chen’s modified reference teaches the plasma source of claim 14, the at least one ferrite core is encased in a thermally conductive potting. (See paragraph [0062] Chen teaches using potting compound item 812).
Referring to claim 21 Chen’s modified reference teaches the plasma source of claim 1, wherein the plasma source body includes an inner bore separated from the interior of the plasma source body by the housing, such that the formed plasma forms a closed-loop plasma path passing through the inner bore and extending around the outer surface of the housing. (See Fig 8A-C to Fig 11 and paragraphs [0059]-[0064]).
Conclusion
Claims 1-19, and 21, are rejected.
Claim 20 is cancelled by applicant.
The prior of art made of record and not relied upon is considered to pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Applicants are directed to consider additional pertinent prior art included on the notice of references cited PTOL 892 attached here with. The examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicants. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim other passages and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing the response should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
/SRINIVAS SATHIRAJU/Examiner, Art Unit 2844 2/16/2026