DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Invention I (claims 1-18) in the reply filed on May 18th, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by HAMMA et al. (Pub. No.: US 2025/0037992 A1), hereinafter as Hamma.
Regarding claim 1, Hamma discloses a semiconductor processing method in Figs. 4A-4C comprising: providing deposition precursors (silane or TEOS and nitrogen-containing reactant) to a processing region of a semiconductor processing chamber (CVD process chamber), wherein the deposition precursors comprise a silicon-containing precursor (silane or TEOS) and a nitrogen-containing precursor (nitrogen-containing reactant) (see Fig. 4A-4B and [0070]), wherein a substrate (substrate 400) comprising one or more materials (semiconductor material) is disposed within the processing region (see Fig. 4A and [0041-0042], [0048]), and wherein the substrate is characterized by a first bowing of the substrate (300um ≤warpage ≤ -300 um) (see [0048]); generating plasma effluents of the deposition precursors (plasma from PECVD) (see Fig. 4A-4B and [0050], [0059]); and forming a layer of silicon-and-nitrogen-containing material (silicon nitride film 410) on the substrate, wherein the layer of silicon-and-nitrogen-containing material is characterized by a tensile stress, and wherein, subsequent forming the layer of silicon-and-nitrogen-containing material, the substrate is characterized by a second bowing of the substrate that is less than the first bowing of the substrate (mitigate bowing of substrate 400 where there are tensile regions) (see Fig. 4B and [0069-0071]).
Regarding claim 6, Hamma discloses the semiconductor processing method of claim 1, wherein the first bowing of the substrate is greater than or about 200 um (300 um ≤warpage ≤ -300 um) (see [0048]).
Regarding claim 8, Hamma discloses the semiconductor processing method of claim 1, wherein a thickness of the layer of silicon-and-nitrogen-containing material is greater than or about 50 nm (thickness of 300nm) (see [0066] and [0083]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5, 7 and 9-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The cited art, whether taken singularly or in combination, especially when all limitations are considered within the claimed specific combination, fails to disclose or suggest the claimed invention having:
Wherein the one or more materials comprise alternating pairs of a silicon-containing material and a silicon- and-germanium-containing material as in claim 2. Claims 3-5 depend on claim 2, and therefore also include said claimed limitation.
Further comprising: treating the layer of silicon-and-nitrogen-containing material with a treatment plasma to increase the tensile stress of the layer of silicon-and-nitrogen-containing material as recited in claim 7.
Further comprising: depositing one or more additional layers of material on the layer of silicon-and- nitrogen-containing material, wherein the one or more additional layers of material define a patterning stack, and wherein the patterning stack comprises a second layer of silicon-and- nitrogen-containing material as recited in claim 9. Claims 10 depend on claim 9, and therefore also include said claimed limitation.
Further comprising: etching one or more features through the one or more materials on the substrate, wherein the etching consumes the layer of silicon-and-nitrogen-containing material, and wherein the etching reduces a compressive stress of the substrate and the one or more materials as recited in claim 11.
Claims 12-18 are allowed over prior art of record.
The following is an examiner' s statement of reason for allowance: the prior art made of record does not teach or fairly suggest the following:
Etching one or more features through the alternating pairs of the silicon- containing material and the silicon-and-germanium-containing material, wherein the etching removes at least a portion of the patterning stack, and wherein, subsequent to etching, the substrate is characterized by a third bowing of the substrate that is less than the first bowing of the substrate as recited in claim 12. Claims 13-18 depend on claim 12, and therefore also include said claimed limitation.
Conclusion
/CUONG B NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818