DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over eon et al. (US 20230328968 A1, hereinafter Seon) in view of Chiang et al. (US 20240179894 A1, hereinafter Chiang)
With regards to claim 1, Seon discloses a semiconductor device (FIGS. 37-45) comprising:
a substrate (substrate 100) comprising a plurality of active regions (active regions 103) and an isolation region (isolation region 112) between the active regions;
a plurality of bit line structures (bit line 395) disposed on the active regions;
a plurality of spacer structures (at least spacers 460) disposed on sidewalls of the bit line structures;
a buried contact (buried contact 475) disposed between the bit line structures;
a barrier layer (eight spacer 490) disposed above the buried contact and on sidewalls of spacer structures;
a metal silicide layer (metal silicide layer 500) disposed on the buried contact;
a metal nitride layer (at least metal nitride 530/532/535, see Paragraph [0126]) disposed on the metal silicide layer; and
a landing pad (metal pattern 545) disposed on the metal nitride layer. (See FIGS. 37 and 45)
However, while Seon discloses the barrier layer (eight spacer 490) being made of a silicon oxide or a silicon nitride, Seon does not explicitly teach wherein a material of the barrier layer is the same as a material of the metal nitride layer, namely titanium nitride (see Paragraphs [0117]-[0126])
Chaing teaches that silicon nitride and titanium nitride are interchangeable materials for use of their dielectric properties. (Paragraph [0035]: “The cap material 219 may be formed from a nitride material selected for dielectric properties. For example, one or more dielectric and/or resistor nitrides may be selected from …silicon nitride (SiNX, Si3N4)…titanium nitride (TIN, Ti2N….”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Seon to have the titanium nitride of Chiang, as both references are in the same field of endeavor.
One of ordinary skill would appreciate that substituting silicon nitride for titanium nitride is merely substituting one known element for another to obtain predictable results, namely modifying insulation properties of the layer.
With regards to claim 2, Seon in view of Chaing teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1.
Seon further teaches wherein a side surface of the buried contact is in contact with the spacer structures. (See FIG. 45)
With regards to claim 3, Seon in view of Chaing teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1.
Seon further teaches wherein the metal silicide layer comprises a lower section and an upper section, the lower section is embedded in the buried contact, and the upper section is protruded from the buried contact. (See FIG. 45, where a lower section of 500 is in the buried contact 475, and an upper portion of 500 is outside 475)
With regards to claim 4, Seon in view of Chaing teaches the semiconductor device of claim 3.
Seon further teaches wherein a side surface of the upper section is in contact with the barrier layer. (See Fig. 45)
With regards to claim 5, Seon in view of Chaing teaches the semiconductor device of claim 3.
Seon further teaches wherein a top surface of the upper section is higher than a top surface of the buried contact. (See FIG. 45)
With regards to claim 6, Seon in view of Chaing teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1.
Seon further teaches wherein a width of the metal silicide layer is less than a width of the buried contact. (See FIG. 45, showing a lesser width)
With regards to claim 7, Seon in view of Chaing teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1.
Seon further teaches wherein a side surface of the metal nitride layer is in contact with the barrier layer, and an interface is present between the metal nitride layer and the barrier layer. (See FIG. 45, showing the contact and the interface)
With regards to claim 8, Seon in view of Chaing teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1.
Seon further teaches wherein the buried contact comprises polysilicon, (Paragraph [0110]: “The lower contact plug layer may include or may be formed of, e.g., doped polysilicon...”) the metal silicide layer is a titanium silicide layer, (Paragraph [0123]: “The second metal silicide layer 900 may include or may be formed of, e.g., cobalt titanium silicide (CoTi.sub.xSi.sub.y), where x and y are real numbers, as the first metal silicide layer as shown in FIG. 5.”) the metal nitride layer is a titanium nitride layer, (Paragraph [0126]: “the eighth barrier layer 532 may include or may be formed of a metal nitride, e.g., titanium nitride…”) and the landing pad comprises tungsten. (Paragraph [0126]: “the third metal layer 540 may include or may be formed of metal, e.g., tungsten, titanium, tantalum, etc.”)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection relies on Chiang to teach the use of the titanium nitride, and thus teaches the features of at least claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Song et al. (US 20240306375 A1) – Memory device with different spacers.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEVEN M PAGE/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812