DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the purge gas channel must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20, 1-2, 6, 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190051544 to Verbaas in view of US 20200095680 to Satoh.
Claims 20, 1, 6: Verbaas discloses a reactor system comprising: a reaction chamber 400 [reactor], Fig. 4); and a susceptor assembly (414 [susceptor heater assembly]) within the reaction chamber (400), the susceptor assembly (414) comprising: a heater pedestal (420 [base]); and a cap (422 [substrate supporting portion or removable cap], para. [0044]) coupled to the heater pedestal (420), the cap (422) comprising a body (422) comprising a top surface (426 [top surface]) and a bottom surface (bottom surface of 422), wherein the bottom surface comprises a recess (bottom recess of 422, Fig. 4) to receive a top portion of the heater pedestal (top portion of 420).
However Verbaas does not disclose (claims 20, 1) and wherein the cap comprises one or more holes radially exterior the recess, the one or more holes extending from the top surface to the bottom surface; (claim 6) wherein the cap comprises between 12 and 72 holes.
Satoh discloses and wherein the cap (105 [stage], Fig. 5) comprises one or more holes (203c or 203cX [openings]) radially exterior the space (202 [flow path]), the one or more holes (203c/cx) extending from the top surface to the bottom surface (Fig. 3/5); (claim 6) wherein the cap (105) comprises between 12 and 72 holes (para. [0045] where 48 openings are disclosed as an example); for the purpose of hindering the processing gas from flowing into the staying space (0051]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitation above as taught by Satoh with motivation to hinder the processing gas from flowing into the staying space.
Claim 2: The apparatus of Verbaas in view of Satoh discloses wherein the top surface (426, Fig. 4, Verbaas) comprises a substrate recess to receive a substrate (412, para. [0044] where a recess is considered).
Claims 11-12: The apparatus of Verbaas in view of Satoh discloses (claim 11) wherein the cap (422, Fig. 4, Verbaas) comprises an inner region (inner region of 422) and an outer region (outer region of 422), wherein a height of the inner region (inner region of 422, Fig. 4) is greater than a height of the outer region (outer region of 422, Fig. 4); (claim 12) wherein the one or more holes (203c/cX, Fig. 5, Satoh) are located within the outer region (outer region of 105).
Claim(s) 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verbaas in view of Satoh as applied to claims 20, 1-2, 6, 11-12 above, and further in view of US 20040221808 to Kawano, US 20050253341 to Shojima.
Claims 3-5: The apparatus of Verbaas in view of Satoh does not disclose (claim 3) wherein the outer region comprises a seal recess to receive a portion of the seal; (claim 4) wherein the seal comprises metal; (claim 5) wherein the one or more holes are radially inward the seal recess.
Kawano discloses (claim 3) further comprising a seal (30 [o-ring gasket], Fig. 3), wherein the top surface/outer region (top surface/outer region of 4 [susceptor], Fig. 3) comprises a seal space (14 [step portion] of 4) to receive a portion of the seal (30); (claim 4) wherein the seal comprises metal (para. [0064-0067]); (claim 5) wherein the one or more holes (holes of 9) are radially inward the seal space (14 of 4); for the purpose of achieving sealing (para. [0066]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitations above as taught by Kawano with motivation to achieve sealing.
Regarding the seal space, Shojima teaches a seal recess (3 [installation groove], Fig. 1) for a seal (5 [o-ring]) for the purpose of improving a plasma shielding effect achieved by the plasma seal (para. [0013]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the recess as taught by Shojima with motivation to improve a plasma shielding effect achieved by the plasma seal.
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verbaas in view of Satoh as applied to claims 20, 1-2, 6, 11-12 above, and further in view of US 20090235866 to Kataigi.
Claim 7: The apparatus of Verbaas in view of Satoh does not disclose wherein a diameter of each of the one or more holes is not less than 0.5 mm and not greater than 1.5 mm.
Kataigi discloses wherein a diameter of each of the one or more holes (diameter of 24 [purge holes], Fig. 2) is not less than 0.5 mm and not greater than 1.5 mm (para. [0081] which overlaps the claimed range) for the purpose of avoiding resulting in insufficient removal (purge) of a corrosive gas and/or deteriorating the temperature uniformity of the outer periphery thereof via cooling (para. [0081]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the range requirements as taught by Kataigi with motivation to avoid resulting in insufficient removal (purge) of a corrosive gas and/or deteriorating the temperature uniformity of the outer periphery thereof via cooling.
Claim 8: The apparatus of Verbaas in view of Satoh does not disclose wherein the cap further comprises one or more vacuum chuck grooves within the body.
Kataigi discloses wherein the cap further comprises one or more vacuum chuck grooves (28 [vacuum chuck grooves], Fig. 2) within the body (12 [first base]), for the purpose of adsorbing the substrate onto the surface of the first region for uniform processing (para. [0058-0059]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitation above as taught by Kataigi with motivation to adsorb the substrate onto the surface of the first region for uniform processing.
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verbaas in view of Satoh as applied to claims 20, 1-2, 6, 11-12 above, and further in view of US 5445677 to Kawata.
Claims 9-10: The apparatus of Verbaas in view of Satoh does not disclose (claim 9) wherein the cap comprises a purge gas channel within the body and extending laterally; (claim 10) wherein the heater pedestal comprises a purge gas hole.
Kawata discloses (claim 9) wherein the cap (10 [stage], Fig. 1, 3), comprises a purge gas channel (51 [circular groove passage]) within the body (10) and extending laterally (c. 9, l. 8-18); (claim 10) wherein the heater pedestal (9 [heater]) comprises a purge gas hole (43 [fluid conduit]), for the purpose of preventing deposition of the reaction byproduct (abstract).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitations above as taught by Kawata with motivation to prevent deposition of the reaction byproduct.
Claim(s) 13-16, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190051544 to Verbaas in view of US 20200095680 to Satoh and further in view of US 20040221808 to Kawano, US 20050253341 to Shojima.
Claim 13-16, 19: Verbaas discloses (claim 13) an assembly comprising: a heater pedestal (420 [base]); a cap (422 [substrate supporting portion or removable cap], para. [0044]) coupled to the heater pedestal (420), the cap (422) comprising a body (422) comprising a top surface (426 [top surface]), a bottom surface (bottom surface of 422), an inner region (inner region of 422), an outer region (outer region of 422), a flow control ring (435 [flow control ring]); (claim 19) wherein a height of the inner region (inner region of 422, Fig. 4) is greater than a height of the outer region (outer region of 422, Fig. 4)
However Verbaas does not disclose (claim 13) and one or more holes extending from the top surface to the bottom surface in the outer region;
Satoh (claim 13) and wherein the cap (105 [stage], Fig. 5) comprises one or more holes (203c or 203cX [openings]) extending from the top surface to the bottom surface in the outer region (202 [flow path]), for the purpose of hindering the processing gas from flowing into the staying space (0051]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitation above as taught by Satoh with motivation to hinder the processing gas from flowing into the staying space.
However Verbaas does not disclose (claim 13) and a seal between the flow control ring and the outer region; (claim 14) wherein the outer region comprises a seal recess to receive a portion of the seal; (claim 15) wherein the one or more holes are radially inward the seal recess; (claim 16) wherein the seal comprises metal.
Claims 13-15: The apparatus of Verbaas in view of Satoh does not disclose (claim 13) and a seal between the flow control ring and the outer region; (claim 14) wherein the outer region comprises a seal recess to receive a portion of the seal; (claim 16) wherein the seal comprises metal; (claim 15) wherein the one or more holes are radially inward the seal recess.
Kawano discloses (claim 13) further comprising a seal (30 [o-ring gasket], Fig. 3) between the flow control ring (38 [separation plate]) and the outer region (outer region of 4); (claim 14) wherein the top surface/outer region (top surface/outer region of 4 [susceptor], Fig. 3) comprises a seal space (14 [step portion] of 4) to receive a portion of the seal (30); (claim 16) wherein the seal comprises metal (para. [0064-0067]); (claim 15) wherein the one or more holes (holes of 9) are radially inward the seal space (14 of 4); for the purpose of achieving sealing (para. [0066]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitations above as taught by Kawano with motivation to achieve sealing.
Regarding the seal space, Shojima teaches a seal recess (3 [installation groove], Fig. 1) for a seal (5 [o-ring]) for the purpose of improving a plasma shielding effect achieved by the plasma seal (para. [0013]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the recess as taught by Shojima with motivation to improve a plasma shielding effect achieved by the plasma seal.
Claim(s) 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verbaas in view of Satoh, Kawano, Shojima as applied to claims 13-16, 19 above, and further in view of US 5445677 to Kawata.
Claims 17-18: The apparatus of Verbaas in view of Satoh does not disclose (claim 17) wherein the cap comprises a purge gas channel within the body and extending laterally; (claim 18) wherein the heater pedestal comprises a purge gas hole.
Kataigi discloses (claim 17) wherein the cap (10 [stage], Fig. 1, 3), comprises a purge gas channel (51 [circular groove passage]) within the body (10) and extending laterally (c. 9, l. 8-18); (claim 18) wherein the heater pedestal (9 [heater]) comprises a purge gas hole (43 [fluid conduit]), for the purpose of preventing deposition of the reaction byproduct (abstract).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitations above as taught by Kawata with motivation to prevent deposition of the reaction byproduct.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20240167160 discloses a seal (355, Fig. 3) positioned in a recess (350 [first groove]) which is part of a susceptor (130) between a second ridge (325) of a flow control ring (300, para. [0051]).
/Charlee J. C. Bennett/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718