Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et al. (US 2015/0291422, hereinafter Jeong) in view of Park (EP 3184603, hereinafter Park).
With respect to claim 1, Jeong discloses a quantum dot complex (Fig. 1), comprising:
a quantum dot (Quantum Dot); and a ligand bound to a surface of the quantum dot (Para 0011-0012; and 0045-0046; quantum dot including a first surface combined with an organic ligand), wherein the surface of the quantum dot is provided with a plurality of coupling parts (100 & 111) to which the ligand is bound, wherein the plurality of coupling parts comprises a first coupling part (111) and a second coupling part (100), wherein the ligand comprises: a first ligand (Para 0045 – organic ligand) bound to the first coupling part (111), and a second ligand (Para 0046 and 0061 - halogen legand) coupled to the second coupling part (100), wherein: the second ligand includes a halogen element (Para 0061 – halogen ligand).
Jeong does not explicitly disclose that the halogen element is contained in an amount of 1 at% to 12 at% relative to a total content of the quantum dot complex.
In an analogous art, Park discloses that the halogen element is contained in an amount of 1 at% to 12 at% relative to a total content of the quantum dot complex (Page 14; Para 02 – 0.1% to less than or equal to about 20%). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jeong’s device by having Park’s disclosure in order to improve the luminous efficiency of a semiconductor device.
With respect to claim 2, Jeong discloses that quantum dot complex of claim 1, wherein: the halogen element is one of chlorine, bromine, iodine or fluorine (Para 0044).
Jeong does not explicitly disclose that wherein the chlorine is included in an amount of 5 at% to 7 at% relative to the total content of the quantum dot complex, wherein the bromine is included in an amount of 2 at% to 4 at% relative to the total content of the quantum dot complex, wherein the iodine is included in an amount of 1 at% to 2 at% relative to the total content of the quantum dot complex, fluorine, wherein the fluorine is included in an amount of 9 at% to 12 at% relative to the
total content of the quantum dot complex.
In an analogous art, Park discloses that wherein the chlorine is included in an amount of 5 at% to 7 at% relative to the total content of the quantum dot complex, wherein the bromine is included in an amount of 2 at% to 4 at% relative to the total content of the quantum dot complex, wherein the iodine is included in an amount of 1 at% to 2 at% relative to the total content of the quantum dot complex, fluorine, wherein the fluorine is included in an amount of 9 at% to 12 at% relative to the
total content of the quantum dot complex (Page 14; Para 02 – 0.1% to less than or equal to about 20%). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jeong’s device by having Park’s disclosure in order to improve the luminous efficiency of a semiconductor device.
With respect to claim 10, Jeong discloses wherein: the quantum dot comprises a core (Para 0006) and a shell surrounding the core (Para 0006 – shell).
With respect to claim 11, Jeong discloses wherein: the plurality of coupling parts are provided on a surface of the shells (Fig. 1 and Para 0006).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong/Park in view of Kim et al. (US 2019/0276734, hereinafter Kim).
With respect to claim 3, Jeong/Park discloses the quantum dot complex of claim 1.
Jeong/Park discloses does not explicitly disclose wherein the quantum dot complex has an organic content of 10 at% or more relative to the total content of the quantum dot complex.
In an analogous art, Kim discloses wherein the quantum dot complex has an organic content of 10 at% or more relative to the total content of the quantum dot complex (Para 0040; and 0236). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jeong/Park’s device by having Kim’s disclosure in order to improve electroluminescence properties of a semiconductor device.
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong/Park in view of XU et al. (US 2017/0373266, hereinafter Xu).
With respect to claim 4, Jeong/Park discloses the quantum dot complex of claim 1.
Jeong/Park does not explicitly disclose that the quantum dot complex emits red light, and a valence band value of the quantum dot complex is -5.60 eV to -5.80 eV.
In an analogous art, Xu discloses that the quantum dot complex emits red light, and a valence band value of the quantum dot complex is -5.60 eV to -5.80 eV (Para 0049 and 0054). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jeong/Park’s device by having Xu’s disclosure in order to improve electroluminescence properties of a semiconductor device.
With respect to claim 5, Jeong/Park discloses the quantum dot complex of claim 1.
Jeong/Park does not explicitly disclose that that the quantum dot complex emits green light, and a valence band value of the quantum dot complex is -5.73 eV to -5.93 eV.
In an analogous art, Xu discloses that the quantum dot complex emits green light, and a valence band value of the quantum dot complex is -5.73 eV to -5.93 eV (Para 0049; and 0054). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jeong/Park’s device by having Xu’s disclosure in order to improve electroluminescence properties of a semiconductor device.
With respect to claim 6, Jeong/Park discloses the quantum dot complex of claim 1.
Jeong/Park does not explicitly disclose wherein: the quantum dot complex emits blue light, and a valence band value of the quantum dot complex is -5.78 eV to -5.98 eV.
In an analogous art, Xu discloses that the quantum dot complex emits blue light, and a valence band value of the quantum dot complex is -5.78 eV to -5.98 eV (Para 0049 and 0054). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jeong/Park’s device by having Xu’s disclosure in order to improve electroluminescence properties of a semiconductor device.
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong/Park in view of Chung et al. (US 2021/0226172, hereinafter Chung).
With respect to claim 7, Jeong/Park discloses the quantum dot complex of claim 1.
Jeong/Park does not explicitly disclose wherein: the plurality of coupling parts further comprise a third coupling part, and the ligand further comprises a third ligand coupled to the second coupling part or the third coupling part.
In an analogous art, Chung discloses wherein: the plurality of coupling parts further comprise a third coupling part (Para 0007; 0010; and 0029), and the ligand further comprises a third ligand coupled to the second coupling part or the third coupling part (Para 0010; 0018 and 0110). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jeong/Park’s device by having Chung’s disclosure in order to improve elector luminescence properties of a semiconductor device.
With respect to claim 8, Jeong/Park/Chung discloses the quantum dot complex of claim 7.
Jeong/Park does not explicitly disclose wherein: the third ligand is any one selected from phosphine and phosphine oxide.
In an analogous art, Chung discloses wherein: the third ligand is any one selected from phosphine and phosphine oxide (Para 0014 and 0124). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jeong/Park’s device by having Chung’s disclosure in order to improve elector luminescence properties of a semiconductor device.
With respect to claim 9, Jeong/Park/Chung discloses the quantum dot complex of claim 7.
Jeong/Park does not explicitly disclose wherein: the third ligand further comprises a substituted or unsubstituted alkyl group having 1 to 30 carbon atoms, a substituted or unsubstituted alkenyl group having 2 to 30 carbon atoms, a substituted or unsubstituted thiol group, a substituted or unsubstituted oxy group, a substituted or unsubstituted aryl group having 6 to 30 carbon atoms, and a substituted or unsubstituted heteroaryl group having 2 to 30 carbon atoms.
In an analogous art, Chung discloses wherein: the third ligand further comprises a substituted or unsubstituted alkyl group having 1 to 30 carbon atoms, a substituted or unsubstituted alkenyl group having 2 to 30 carbon atoms, a substituted or unsubstituted thiol group, a substituted or unsubstituted oxy group, a substituted or unsubstituted aryl group having 6 to 30 carbon atoms, and a substituted or unsubstituted heteroaryl group having 2 to 30 carbon atoms (Para 0050; 0063 and 0088). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jeong/Park’s device by having Chung’s disclosure in order to improve elector luminescence properties of a semiconductor device.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong/Park in view of Park et al. (US 2019/0211262, hereinafter Park II).
With respect to claim 12, Jeong/Park discloses the quantum dot complex of claim 10.
Jeong/Park does not explicitly disclose wherein: the core includes a first semiconductor nanocrystal, the shell includes a second semiconductor nanocrystal different from the first semiconductor nanocrystal, and each of the first semiconductor nanocrystal and the second semiconductor nanocrystal is selected from group II-VI compounds, group III-V compounds, group IV-VI compounds, group IV elements, group IV compounds, and combinations thereof.
In an analogous art, Park II discloses wherein: the core includes a first semiconductor nanocrystal (Para 0010; and 0122- core), the shell includes a second semiconductor nanocrystal different from the first semiconductor nanocrystal (Para 0010; and 0122 -shell), and each of the first semiconductor nanocrystal and the second semiconductor nanocrystal is selected from group II-VI compounds, group III-V compounds, group IV-VI compounds, group IV elements, group IV compounds, and combinations thereof (Para 0012-0014). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jeong/Park’s device by having Park II’s disclosure in order to improve the light emitting properties of a semiconductor device.
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min (KR 20210055883, hereinafter Min) in view of Jeong and further in view of Park.
With respect to claim 13, Min discloses:
A display device (100 of Fig. 2), comprising:
a first electrode (210); a light emitting layer (220) positioned on the first electrode, and a second electrode (230) positioned on the light emitting layer, the light emitting layer including a quantum dot complex (Page 12; Para 01-03) wherein the quantum dot complex comprises: a quantum dot (Page 12; last Para – quantum dot 400); and
a ligand bound to a surface of the quantum dot (Page 16; Para 01; ligands 430a & 430b), wherein the surface of the quantum dot is provided with a plurality of coupling
parts (310s; Page 16, Para 03) to which the ligand is bound, wherein the plurality of coupling parts comprises a first coupling part and a second coupling part (Page 16; Para 03 – there are multiple 310s), wherein the ligand comprises: a first ligand bound to the first coupling part (there are multiple ligands (430a & 430b) coupled with different coupling parts 310s) , and a second ligand coupled to the second coupling part (there are multiple ligands (430a & 430b) coupled with different coupling parts 310s).
Min does not explicitly disclose wherein: the second ligand includes a halogen element, and the halogen element is included in an amount of 1 at% to 12 at% relative to a total content of the quantum dot complex.
In an analogous art, Jeong discloses wherein the second ligand includes a halogen element (Page 0046 and 0061 - halogen legand).Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Min’s device by having Jeong’s disclosure in order to improve the optical and electrical properties of a semiconductor device.
Min/Jeong does not explicitly disclose that the halogen element is contained in an amount of 1 at% to 12 at% relative to a total content of the quantum dot complex.
In an analogous art, Park discloses that the halogen element is contained in an amount of 1 at% to 12 at% relative to a total content of the quantum dot complex (Page 14; Para 02 – 0.1% to less than or equal to about 20%). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Min/Jeong’s device by having Park’s disclosure in order to improve the luminous efficiency of a semiconductor device.
With respect to claim 14, Min discloses that quantum dot complex of claim 13, wherein: the halogen element is one of chlorine, bromine, iodine or fluorine (Page 15; Para 02).
Min/Jeong does not explicitly disclose that wherein the chlorine is included in an amount of 5 at% to 7 at% relative to the total content of the quantum dot complex, wherein the bromine is included in an amount of 2 at% to 4 at% relative to the total content of the quantum dot complex, wherein the iodine is included in an amount of 1 at% to 2 at% relative to the total content of the quantum dot complex, fluorine, wherein the fluorine is included in an amount of 9 at% to 12 at% relative to the
total content of the quantum dot complex.
In an analogous art, Park discloses that wherein the chlorine is included in an amount of 5 at% to 7 at% relative to the total content of the quantum dot complex, wherein the bromine is included in an amount of 2 at% to 4 at% relative to the total content of the quantum dot complex, wherein the iodine is included in an amount of 1 at% to 2 at% relative to the total content of the quantum dot complex, fluorine, wherein the fluorine is included in an amount of 9 at% to 12 at% relative to the
total content of the quantum dot complex (Page 14; Para 02 – 0.1% to less than or equal to about 20%). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Min/Jeong’s device by having Park’s disclosure in order to improve the luminous efficiency of a semiconductor device.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min/Jeong/Park in view of Kim.
With respect to claim 15, Min/Jeong/Park discloses the quantum dot complex of claim 13.
Min/Jeong/Park discloses does not explicitly disclose wherein the quantum dot complex has an organic content of 10 at% or more relative to the total content of the quantum dot complex.
In an analogous art, Kim discloses wherein the quantum dot complex has an organic content of 10 at% or more relative to the total content of the quantum dot complex (Para 0040; and 0236). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Min/Jeong/Park’s device by having Kim’s disclosure in order to improve electroluminescence properties of a semiconductor device.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min/Jeong/Park in view of Xu.
With respect to claim 16, Min discloses wherein the quantum dot emits red, green and blue light.
Min/Jeong/Park does not explicitly disclose that when the quantum dot complex emits red light, a valence band value of the quantum dot complex is -5.60 eV to -5.80 eV, when the quantum dot complex emits green light, the valence band value of the quantum dot complex is -5.73 eV to -5.93 eV, and when the quantum dot complex emits blue light, the valence band value of the quantum dot complex is -5.78 eV to -5.98 eV.
In an analogous art, Xu discloses that when the quantum dot complex emits red light, a valence band value of the quantum dot complex is -5.60 eV to -5.80 eV (Para 0049 and 0054), when the quantum dot complex emits green light, the valence band value of the quantum dot complex is -5.73 eV to -5.93 eV (Para 0049 and 0054), and when the quantum dot complex emits blue light, the valence band value of the quantum dot complex is -5.78 eV to -5.98 eV (Para 0049 and 0054). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Min/Jeong/Park’s device by having Xu’s disclosure in order to improve elector luminescence properties of a semiconductor device.
Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong in view of Hosokawa (CN 109819680, hereinafter Hosokawa).
With respect to claim 17, Jeong discloses a method for producing a quantum dot complex (Para 0003 – manufacturing the quantum dot), comprising:
providing a quantum dot (Fig. 1- quantum dot) and a first ligand (Para 0011-0012; and 0042 - ligand) bound to a surface of the quantum dot (Para 0011-0012 – ligand); and
mixing (Para 0059-0060) the quantum dot complex in a first solution (Para 0078), wherein the first solution contains MX (Para 0012-0014 and 0072-0073 – sodium chloride), wherein: in the MX, M is any one of Na, Mg, K, Ca, Zn, In, Ga, Sn, and Sb (Para 0073 -sodium chloride), and X is any one of F, Cl, Br, and I (Para 0073 – chlorine or bromine), and in the mixing and purifying the quantum dot complex in the first solution, a second ligand (Para 0046 and 0061 - halogen legand) is bound to the surface of the quantum dot, and the second ligand includes the X (Para 0046 and 0061 - halogen legand).
Jeong does not explicitly disclose that the quantum dot is purified in the solution.
In an analogous art, Hosokawa discloses that the quantum dot is purified in the solution (Page 17; last Para). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jeong’s device by having Hosokawa’s disclosure in order to clean the device to reduce the failure rate of a semiconductor device.
With respect to claim 18, Jeong discloses wherein: the first solution includes a polar solvent (Para 0074), the polar solvent is methanol, ethanol, phenol, benzenediol, ethylene glycol, glycerol, diethylene glycol, triethylene glycol, ethylene glycol monoethyl ether, ethylene glycol monobutyl ether, or a combination thereof (Para 0074; 0078 and 0087).
With respect to claim 19, Jeong discloses wherein: the MX is provided at a concentration of 0.1 M to 0.5 M (Para 0078).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong/ Hosokawa in view of Chung.
With respect to claim 20, Jeong/Hosokawa discloses the method of claim 17.
Jeong/Hosokawa does not explicitly disclose performing surface treatment associated with binding a third ligand to the surface of the quantum dot prior to mixing and purifying the quantum dot complex in the first solution.
In an analogous art, Chung discloses performing surface treatment associated with binding a third ligand to the surface of the quantum dot prior to mixing and purifying the quantum dot complex in the first solution (Para 0007 and 0010; 0018; 0116 and 0118). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jeong’s device by having Hosokawa’s disclosure in order to clean the device to reduce the failure rate of a semiconductor device.
Conclusion
/MOHAMMAD M CHOUDHRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899