DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I claims 1-9, and 15 in the reply filed on 7/9/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 10-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/9/26.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5, 8, 9, and 15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 7, 8, and 13 of copending Application No. 17/962,208 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 2, and 5 of the instant 18/634,343 recites similar limitations as recited in claims 1-3, of copending application 17/962,208; claim 3 of the instant 18/643,343 recites the same limitation and claim 4 of copending application 17/962,208; claim 4 of the instant 18/643,343 recites the same limitation and claim 5 of copending application 17/962,208; claim 8 of the instant 18/643,343 recites the same limitation and claim 7 of copending application 17/962,208; claim 9 of the instant 18/643,343 recites the same limitation and claim 8 of copending application 17/962,208; claim 15 of the instant 18/643,343 recites the same limitation and claim 13 of copending application 17/962,208.
The applications differ where the instant claim 1 recites (d) 0-40 mg of onion protein; and wherein the combination of (a) to (d) constitutes 50-95 wt.% of the dry matter in the composition. However, claim 2 of copending recites a water content of 0-50% which overlaps with a dry matter content of 50 to 95%.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-5, 8, 9, and 15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 9-15, and 17 of copending 17/962,215 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-5 of the instant 18/634,343 recites similar limitations as recited in claims 9-11, of copending application 17/962,215; claim 3 of the instant 18/643,343 recites the same limitation and claim 12 of copending application 17/962,215; claim 4 of the instant 18/643,343 recites the same limitation and claim 13 of copending application 17/962,215; claim 8 of the instant 18/643,343 recites the same limitation and claim 14 of copending application 17/962,215; claim 9 of the instant 18/643,343 recites the same limitation and claim 15 of copending application 17/962,215; claim 15 of the instant 18/643,343 recites the same limitation and claim 17 of copending application 17/962,215.
The applications differ where claim 1 of the instant 18/634,343 recites (d) 0-40 mg of onion protein; and wherein the combination of (a) to (d) constitutes 50-95 wt.% of the dry matter in the composition. However, claim 11 of copending 17/962,215 recites a water content of 0-50% which is overlapping with a dry matter content of 50 to 95%. Claim 10 of 17/962,215 recites the specific amounts of lactic acid, propionic acid, and propionic acid where these limitations are found later in claims 3-5 of the instant application 18/634,343.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hilhorst et al. (WO 2018/106109).
Regarding Claims 1-7: Hilhorst discloses fermented composition made from vegetables including onion [pg. 8, lines 14-21]. Hilhorst discloses acids in the composition including lactic acid, acetic acid, propionic acid at 7-80% [pg. 5, lines 11-24; pg. 12, lines 13-16]. Hilhorst discloses malic acid, citric, succinic, and pyruvic acid and that they can be present at least .5%, at least 1%, at least 2% [pg. 11, lines 3-25]. Hilhorst discloses saccharides including fructose, sucrose, or glucose at least .5%, at least 1%, at least 2% [pg. 11, lines 19-25]. Hillhorst discloses a dry matter content of 7 to 100% [pg. 12, lines 8-13]. Hilhorst discloses cultured vegetable extracts containing at least 0.5% protein [pg. 10, lines 10-14].
Hilhorst expresses the amounts of organic acids in percentages and does not explicitly disclose 75-800 mg acid equivalent of propionic acid, or lactic acid, or acetic acid. However, given the fermented composition being provided in 1,000 mg quantities having a dry matter content of 50%, the propionic acid would have been provided at 75 mg propionic acid when its supplied at 15%; the lactic acid would have been present at 200 mg when supplied at 40%; the acetic acid would have been present at 120 mg when present at 24%.
Hilhorst expresses the amounts citric acid, malic acid, succinic, and pyruvic acid and that they can be present at least .5%, at least 1%, at least 2% but does not explicitly disclose 2-200mg citric acid, malic acid, tartaric acid, oxalic acid, pyruvic acid. However, given the fermented composition being provided at 1000 mg quantities and having a dry matter content of 50%, the citric acid would have been provided at 2.5 mg when its supplied at 0.5%, and the malic acid would been present at 2.5mg when provided at 0.5%.
Hillhorst expresses the amounts of saccharides and proteins as discussed above. However, because the amounts of protein and saccharides start at 0mg, the limitations are not required in order to meet the claim limitations.
Regarding the limitation where a)-d) are present at 50 to 95% of the dry matter composition, given the presence of lactic acid at 200 mg, propionic acid at 75 mg, and acetic acid at 120 mg, malic aid at 2.5 mg and citric acid at 2.5 mg, this gives a total of 400 mg and based on 1000 mg composition at 50% dry matter gives a percentage of 80% of the dry matter in the composition.
Regarding the ranges for dry matter content, organic acid, malic and citric acids, and the combination of a)-d), although Hilhorst does not explicitly disclose one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention would have considered the invention to have been obvious because the ranges taught by Hilhorst overlap the instantly claimed ranges and therefore is considered to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari 182 USPQ 549,553.
Regarding Claim 15: Hilhorst discloses as discussed above in claim 1. Hilhorst discloses including a fermented vegetable/onion product in meat [claim 13].
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hilhorst et al. (WO 2018/106109) in view of as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of Choi KR 100998529 Machine Translation December 2010.
Regarding Claim 8: Hilhorst as modified discloses as discussed above in claim 1. Hilhorst expresses the amounts citric acid, malic acid, succinic, and pyruvic acid and that they can be present at least .5%, at least 1%, at least 2% but does not explicitly disclose 2-200mg citric acid, malic acid, tartaric acid, oxalic acid, pyruvic acid. However, given the fermented composition being provided at 1000 mg quantities and having a dry matter content of 50%, the citric acid would have been provided at 2.5 mg when its supplied at 0.5%, and the malic acid would been present at 2.5mg when provided at 0.5%.
Hilhorst does not disclose gallic acid at 1-150mg.
Choi discloses onion juices containing gallic acid at 21 and 78 mg/g [pg. 11] and Saccharomyces fermented onion juice containing gallic acid at 58 mg or 99.1 mg/g [pg. 11]. Choi discloses that onion juice and fermented onion juice have health benefits [pg. 2].
At effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the fermented onion of Hilhorst would have contained an amount of gallic acid since Choi discloses that onion juice contains 21-78 mg/g and Saccharomyces fermented onion juice contains amounts of gallic acid including 58 mg-99.1 mg/g. Because Hilhorst discloses fermented onion and since Choi discloses the presence of gallic acid in onions both fermented and unfermented it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the fermented onion of Hilhorst would have contained gallic acid in amounts at least encompassing the amounts disclosed in Choi.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hilhorst et al. (WO 2018/106109) as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of Hundt (US 2021/0176994).
Regarding Claim 9: Hilhorst discloses as discussed above in claim 1. Hilhorst discloses lactic acid, [pg. 9, lines 3-18 ]. Hilhorst does not explicitly disclose wherein the composition comprises cellular material from lactic acid producing bacteria and/or propionic acid producing bacteria and/or acetic acid producing bacteria.
Hundt discloses a fermented onion extract [0019; 0020; 0050]. Hundt discloses that the fermented extract contains fermentate which includes a cellular mass [0036]. Hundt discloses that the fermentate also contains lactic acid, propionic acid, and acetic acid [0036]. Hundt discloses fermenting with Lactic acid bacteria, acetic acid bacteria, or propionic acid bacteria [0012; 0017].
At the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to that the composition of Hilhorst would have contained cellular mass material as in Hundt since Hilhorst uses a lactic acid bacteria to ferment onion as in Hundt. Further since Hilhorst does not require a purification step and discloses the step as optional it would have been obvious that the fermented product of Hilhorst would have contained cellular material.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Park et al. KR 20100106743 October 2010 discloses a fermented onion and that the onion was fermented by lactic acid bacteria [abstract; pg. 4 Tech Solution]. Park discloses that the fermented onion has nutritional value [pg. 8, 1st paragraph].
Conclusion
/Felicia C Turner/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1793