DETAILED ACTION
Response to Election/Restrictions
1. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group, I, Species VI, claims 11, 12, 14 & 21-37 in the reply filed on 7/7/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 11, 12, 14 & 21-37 are pending. Claims 1-10, 13 & 15-20 are cancelled. Claims 21-37 are new.
Specification
2. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 11, 12, 14, 21-34 and 36-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pan et al. (US 2022/0302003).
Re claim 11, Pan teaches, under BRI, Fig. 7, [0119-0121], a semiconductor device package, comprising:
-a first electronic component (passive device 600);
-a second electronic component (dies 700, 800) disposed above the first electronic component (600),
-an interconnection structure (redistribution structure 440) configured to electrically connect the first electronic component (600) to the second electronic component (700, 800);
-a package material (432, 960) configured to encapsulate the first electronic component (600), the second electronic component (700, 800) and the interconnection structure (440);
wherein the interconnection structure (440) is arranged outside the first electronic component (600) and the second electronic component (700, 800) and surrounded by the package material (412, 960).
Re claim 12, Pan teaches, Fig. 7, wherein the interconnection structure comprises a first redistribution layer (440) between the first electronic component (600) and the second electronic component (700, 800) and a first conductive element (interposer 500) connected to the first redistribution layer (440), and wherein the first electronic component (600) and the second electronic component (700, 800) are electrically connected to each other through the first redistribution layer (440) and the first conductive element (500).
Re claim 14, Pan teaches, Figs. 2A & 7, [0039], wherein the first conductive element (500) comprises a silicon material (510) and a through conductive via (514) passing through the silicon material (510).
Re claim 21, Pan teaches, Figs. 2A & 7, [0039], wherein the first conductive element comprises a conductive spacer (500), the silicon material (510) and the through conductive via (514) being comprised in the conductive spacer (500), and wherein the conductive spacer (500) is arranged at a side of the first electronic component (600) and surrounded by the package material (432, 960).
Re claim 22, Pan teaches, Fig. 2A, wherein the conductive spacer (500) further comprises a spacer redistribution layer (532) disposed on a lower surface of the silicon material (510) and electrically connected to the through conductive via (514), and a plurality of micro-bumps (under 532) disposed on the spacer redistribution layer (532).
Re claim 23, Pan teaches, under BRI, Figs. 2A & 7, wherein an upper surface of the conductive spacer (500) abuts against the first redistribution layer (440), and the through conductive via (consider 578, 568, 564, 514) is exposed at the upper surface of the conductive spacer (500) and electrically connected to the first redistribution layer (440).
Re claim 24, Pan teaches, Fig. 7, [0062], wherein the interconnection structure further comprises a second redistribution layer (410) disposed below the first electronic component (600), and the first conductive element (500) electrically connects the first redistribution layer (440) to the second redistribution layer (410).
Re claim 25, Pan teaches, Figs. 9-10, [0098-0100, 0103], an external connector (290) configured to electrically connect the first and second electronic components (600, 700, 800) to an external device (consider 100, 200), wherein the external connector (290) comprises a plurality of external electrical connections disposed on a lower surface of the second redistribution layer (410).
Re claim 26, Pan teaches, Fig. 9, [0098], wherein the external electrical connections comprise test pads or bonding pads (268).
Re claim 27, Pan teaches, Fig. 7, wherein the package material comprises a first molding compound (432) encapsulating the first electronic component (600) and a second molding compound (960) encapsulating the second electronic component (700, 800).
Re claim 28, Pan teaches, under BRI, Fig. 7, [0035, 0053, 0069, 0119-0121], a semiconductor device package, comprising:
-a first electronic component (600);
-a second electronic component (700, 800) disposed above the first electronic component (600);
-a first redistribution layer (440) disposed between the first electronic component (600) and the second electronic component (700, 800);
-a second redistribution layer (410) disposed below the first electronic component (600);
-a conductive spacer (500) arranged at a side of the first electronic component (600) and electrically connecting the first redistribution layer (440) to the second redistribution layer (410), such that the first electronic component (600) and the second electronic component (700, 800) are electrically connected to each other through the first redistribution layer (440), the conductive spacer (500) and the second redistribution layer (410); and
-a package material (432, 960) encapsulating the first electronic component (600), the second electronic component (700, 800) and the conductive spacer (500), wherein the conductive spacer (500) is arranged outside both the first electronic component (600) and the second electronic component (700, 800) and surrounded by the package material (432, 960).
Re claim 29, Pan teaches, Fig. 2A, [0039], wherein the conductive spacer (500) comprises a silicon material (510) and a plurality of through silicon vias (514) surrounded by the silicon material (510).
Re claim 30, Pan teaches, Figs. 2A & 7, wherein the conductive spacer (500) further comprises a spacer redistribution layer (532) disposed on a lower surface of the silicon material (510) and electrically connected to the through silicon vias (514), and a plurality of micro-bumps (under 532) disposed on the spacer redistribution layer (532) and electrically connected to the second redistribution layer (410).
Re claim 31, Pan teaches, under BRI, Figs. 2A & 7, wherein an upper surface of the conductive spacer (500) abuts against the first redistribution layer (440), and the through conductive via (consider 578, 568, 564, 514) is exposed at the upper surface of the conductive spacer (500) and electrically connected to the first redistribution layer (440).
Re claim 32, Pan teaches, Figs. 9-10, [0098-0100, 0103], an external connector (290) comprising a plurality of external electrical connection disposed on a lower surface of the second distribution layer (410) and configured to electrically connect the first and second electronic components (600, 700, 800) to an external device (consider 100, 200).
Re claim 33, Pan teaches, Fig. 9, [0098], wherein the external electrical connections comprise test pads or bonding pads (268).
Re claim 34, Pan teaches, Fig. 7, wherein the package material comprises a first molding compound (432) encapsulating the first electronic component (600) and a second molding compound (960) encapsulating the second electronic component (700, 800).
Re claim 36, Pan teaches, Fig. 7, wherein the second electronic component (700, 800) comprises a component redistribution layer (formed by 492, 490, 448) on an active surface thereof facing the first redistribution layer (440), and the second electronic component (700, 800) is electrically connected to the first redistribution layer (440) through the component redistribution layer of the second electronic component (700, 800) and a plurality of electrical connections (under 448).
Re claim 37, Pan teaches, Fig. 7, wherein each of the first electronic component (600 as integrated passive device) and the second electronic component (700, 800 as HBM dies) comprises a known-good die, and each of the first redistribution layer (440) and the second redistribution layer (410) comprises a known-good redistribution layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan in view of Cho et al. (US 2012/0119388).
The teachings of Pan have been discussed above.
Re claim 35, Pan does not teach wherein the first electronic component comprises a component redistribution layer on an active surface thereof facing the second redistribution layer, and the first electronic component is electrically connected to the second redistribution layer through the component redistribution layer of the first electronic component and a plurality of electrical connections surrounded by the package material.
Cho teaches, Figs. 12-13, [0063, 0066, 0076], the first electronic component (124) comprises a component redistribution layer (132 with 134) on an active surface thereof facing the second redistribution layer (164), and the first electronic component (124) is electrically connected to the second redistribution layer (164) through the component redistribution layer of the first electronic component (124) and a plurality of electrical connections (170) surrounded by the package material (162).
As taught by Cho, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching to obtain component redistribution layer and connections as claimed, because it aids in improving electrical connections in the formed package.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Cho in combination Pan due to above reason.
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Seol et al. (US 2017/0373035, Figs. 9 & 19) teaches fan out package module including a plurality of components mounted on a semiconductor chip.
/DUY T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818 8/5/26