DETAILED ACTION
This Non-Final Office Action is in response to the application filed on 04/12/2024 and the Amendment & Remark filed on 03/12/2026 and the Request for Continued Examination filed on 04/10/2026.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7- 12, 14-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steven et al (US 2014/0039965) in view of Peterson et al (US 2007/0137141) in view of Lewis et al. (US 2009/0088907)
As per claim 1, Steven teaches a system comprising:
an electrical component coupled to at least one PV device and configured to collect, from the at least one PV device an electrical output generated by the at least one PV device; (See Steven Paragraph 0101 and 0122)
a controller communicatively coupled to the electrical component, the controller configured to generate, based, at least in part, upon the collected electrical output, a solar profile of a structure including at least one PV device, (See Steven Paragraph 0101 and 0122)
at least one computing device comprising at least one processor and at least one memory device, the at least one computing device communicatively coupled to the controller and configured to:
receive, from the controller, the solar profile; and display, on a user interface of the at least one computing device, one or more notifications including the solar profile. (See Steven Paragraph 0101, 0144, 0122, 0138 and 0225, the solar profile include energy generation from photovoltaic (PV) power generation, which is information representing the environment sounding the structure.)
Steven does not teach that PV is Impact Resistant Photovoltaic Window.
However, Peterson teaches Photovoltaic window that has impact resistance quality. (See Peterson Paragraph 0005, 0020 and 0021)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the energy profile generating system taught by Steven with teaching from Peterson to generate an energy profile of IRPV window. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated as analyzing the energy output of IRPV window increases the system’s applicability.
Steven in view of Peterson does not explicitly teach displaying one or more notification including weather data associated with weather surrounding the structure and at least one account updated associated with the structure.
However, Lewis teaches displaying, on an interface, weather conditions surrounding a structure, total power consumption and saving data. (See Lewis Paragraph 0039-0040, power consumption and energy saving teaches account updated associated with the structure.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the energy profile generating system taught by Steven in view of Peter with teaching from Lewis to display information including surrounding weather and account update. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated as display additional relevant provide additional insight for customer decisioning.
As per claim 8, Steven teaches a method comprising:
generating, by the controller based, at least in part, upon the collected electrical output, the solar profile of the structure including the at least one PV device; (See Steven Paragraph 0101, 0144, 0122 and 0138)
interconnecting the at least one computing device to the controller, wherein the at least one computing device is configured to (i) receive, from the controller, the solar profile, and (ii) display, on a user interface of the at least one computing device, one or more notifications including the solar profile. (See Steven Paragraph 0101, 0144, 0122, 0138 and 0225, the solar profile include energy generation from photovoltaic (PV) power generation, which is information representing the environment sounding the structure.)
Steven does not teach that PV is Impact Resistant Photovoltaic Window.
However, Peterson teaches Photovoltaic window that has impact resistance quality. (See Peterson Paragraph 0005, 0020 and 0021)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the energy profile generating system taught by Steven with teaching from Peterson to generate an energy profile of IRPV window. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated as analyzing the energy output of IRPV window increases the system’s applicability.
Steven in view of Peterson does not explicitly teach displaying one or more notification including weather data associated with weather surrounding the structure and at least one account updated associated with the structure.
However, Lewis teaches displaying, on an interface, weather conditions surrounding a structure, total power consumption and saving data. (See Lewis Paragraph 0039-0040, power consumption and energy saving teaches account updated associated with the structure.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the energy profile generating system taught by Steven in view of Peter with teaching from Lewis to display information including surrounding weather and account update. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated as display additional relevant provide additional insight for customer decisioning.
As per claim 15, Steven teaches non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having computer-executable instructions embodied when executed by a controller, the computer-executable instructions cause the controller to:
generating, by the controller based, at least in part, upon the collected electrical output, the solar profile of the structure including the at least one PV device; (See Steven Paragraph 0101, 0144, 0122 and 0138)
interconnecting the at least one computing device to the controller, wherein the at least one computing device is configured to (i) receive, from the controller, the solar profile, and (ii) display, on a user interface of the at least one computing device, one or more notifications including the solar profile. (See Steven Paragraph 0101, 0144, 0122, 0138 and 0225, the solar profile include energy generation from photovoltaic (PV) power generation, which is information representing the environment sounding the structure.)
Steven does not teach that PV is Impact Resistant Photovoltaic Window.
However, Peterson teaches Photovoltaic window that has impact resistance quality. (See Peterson Paragraph 0005, 0020 and 0021)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the energy profile generating system taught by Steven with teaching from Peterson to generate an energy profile of IRPV window. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated as analyzing the energy output of IRPV window increases the system’s applicability.
Steven in view of Peterson does not explicitly teach displaying one or more notification including weather data associated with weather surrounding the structure and at least one account updated associated with the structure.
However, Lewis teaches displaying, on an interface, weather conditions surrounding a structure, total power consumption and saving data. (See Lewis Paragraph 0039-0040, power consumption and energy saving teaches account updated associated with the structure.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the energy profile generating system taught by Steven in view of Peter with teaching from Lewis to display information including surrounding weather and account update. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated as display additional relevant provide additional insight for customer decisioning.
As per claims 2 and 9, Steven in view of Peterson in view of Lewis teaches:
wherein the electrical component is electrically coupled to an energy output of the at least one IRPV window. (See Steven Paragraph 0480 and Peterson Paragraph 0005, 0020 and 0021)
As per claims 3, 10 and 16, Steven in view of Peterson in view of Lewis teaches:
wherein the electrical component is further configured to collect the electrical output from the energy output of the at least one IRPV window. (See Steven Paragraph 0480 and Peterson Paragraph 0005, 0020 and 0021)
As per claims 4, 11 and 17, Steven in view of Peterson in view of Lewis teaches:
wherein the electrical component includes an inverter. (See Steven Paragraph 0480)
As per claims 5, 12 and 18, Steven in view of Peterson in view of Lewis teaches:
wherein the computing device is configured to receive the solar profile of the structure, wherein the solar profile indicates the electrical output of the at least one IRPV window. (See Steven Paragraph 0480 and Peterson Paragraph 0005, 0020 and 0021)
As per claims 7, 14 and 20, Steven in view of Peterson in view of Lewis teaches:
wherein the controller is further configured to communicate with a user computing device, and cause the solar profile to be displayed on a user interface of the user computing device. (See Steven Paragraph 0300)
Claim Objections
Claims 6, 13 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the previous rejection under 35 USC 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/CHO YIU KWONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3693