Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention 1, Species 1 (claims 1-3, 9-14, and 18) in the reply filed on July 7, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 4-8, 15-17, and 19-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention and/or species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on July 7, 2026.
The Examiner notes that claims 1-3, 9-14, and 18 are examined and claims 4-8, 15-17, and 19-20 are withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“7 precent” should read “7 percent”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Priority
Acknowledgement is made to claim of priority to Korean Patent Application No. 10-2023-0088539, filed on July 07, 2023. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on April 12, 2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (US 2021/0107251 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Chen teaches in Fig. 8:
A display device comprising:
a display panel (display panel 603) including a first non-folding region, a folding region, and a second non-folding region arranged in a first direction (see annotated Fig. 8 below);
a plurality of panel protection layers (first portion 221 and second portion 231) disposed under the first non-folding region and the second non-folding region;
and a filling part (polymer based portion 241) which is disposed between the plurality of panel protection layers and overlaps the folding region,
wherein a lower surface of the filling part (third contact surface 255) has a height greater than or equal to each of heights of lower surfaces of the plurality of panel protection layers (second outer surface 753).
The Examiner notes for the purposes of measuring the heights of the surfaces and defining relationships of “under” the top surface is considered to be first major surface 615 despite being on the bottom of Fig. 8.
With respect to claim 2, Chen further teaches:
an adhesive layer (second adhesive layer 507) disposed between the plurality of panel protection layers (221 and 231) and the display panel (603) and between the filling part (241) and the display panel (603).
With respect to claim 3, Chen further teaches:
wherein the filling part (polymer based portion) has a higher elastic modulus (para. [0078] “wherein the elastic modulus of the polymer-based portion is from about 20 MegaPascals to about 3 GigaPascals.”) than a modulus of the adhesive layer (para. [0038] “The foldable apparatus of any one of embodiments 20-24, wherein the second adhesive layer comprises an elastic modulus in a range from about 0.001 MegaPascals to about 0.5 MegaPascals.”)
With respect to claim 12, Chen teaches:
A display device comprising:
a display panel (display panel 603) including a first non-folding region, a folding region, and a second non-folding region arranged in a first direction (see annotated Fig. 8 above);
an adhesive layer (second adhesive layer 507) disposed under the display panel (603);
a plurality of panel protection layers (first portion 221 and second portion 231) disposed under the adhesive layer (507) and spaced apart from each other in the folding region;
and a filling part (polymer based portion 241) which is disposed between the plurality of panel protection layers (221 and 231) and overlaps the folding region,
wherein the filling part has a thickness less than or equal to a sum of a thickness of the plurality of panel protection layers and a thickness of the adhesive layer (see Fig. 8).
With respect to claim 13, Chen further teaches:
wherein a lower surface (third contact surface 255) of the filling part has a height greater than or equal to each of heights of lower surfaces (second outer surface 753) of the plurality of panel protection layers.
With respect to claim 14, Chen further teaches:
wherein the adhesive layer (507) extends from the first non-folding region to the second non-folding region via the folding region, (see annotated Fig. 8 above)
and wherein the filling part (241) is disposed on a lower surface of the adhesive layer (507).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 2021/0107251 A1).
With respect to claim 9, Chen further teaches:
wherein the filling part (polymer-based portion 241) has an elastic modulus of about 20 megapascals to about 3 gigapascal (para. [0078])
The range taught by Chen overlaps the range of 400 megapascals to 1 gigapascal of claim 9. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). Chen teaches in the discussion of the Examples listed in Tables 1-5 that mechanical instability can be prevented by optimizing characteristics of the device including the thicknesses and elastic modulus of various layers. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select an elastic modulus within the claimed range with routine experiment and optimization for the purpose of optimizing the mechanical stability of the device. In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1935, 1937 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
With respect to claim 10, Chen further teaches:
wherein the filling part has a thickness (polymer thickness 415) of about 80 μm or less (para [0256])
The ranges taught by Chen overlaps the range of about 80 micrometers to about 110 micrometers of claim 10. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). Chen teaches in the discussion of the Examples listed in Tables 1-5 that mechanical instability can be prevented by optimizing characteristics of the device including the thicknesses and elastic modulus of various layers. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select a thickness within the claimed range with routine experiment and optimization for the purpose of optimizing the mechanical stability of the device. In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1935, 1937 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
With respect to claim 11, Chen further teaches:
wherein the filling part has a yield strain of about 5 percent or more. (para. [0265])
The range taught by Chen overlaps the range of about 5.5 percent to about 7 percent of claim 11. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select a thickness within the claimed range with routine experiment and optimization for the purpose of optimizing the mechanical stability of the device. In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1935, 1937 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
With respect to claim 18, Chen teaches:
wherein the filling part (polymer-based portion 241) has an elastic modulus of about 20 megapascals to about 3 gigapascal (para. [0078])
a thickness (polymer thickness 415) of about 80 μm or less
wherein the filling part has a yield strain of about 5 percent or more. (para. [0265])
The ranges taught by Chen overlaps the ranges of 400 megapascals to 1 gigapascal, about 80 micrometers to about 110 micrometers, and about 5.5 percent to about 7 percent of claim 18. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). Chen teaches in the discussion of the Examples listed in Tables 1-5 that mechanical instability can be prevented by optimizing characteristics of the device including the thicknesses and elastic modulus of various layers. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select an elastic modulus, thickness, and yield strain within the claimed range with routine experiment and optimization for the purpose of optimizing the mechanical stability of the device. In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1935, 1937 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Conclusion
/A.M.W./Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/JACOB Y CHOI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897