DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 9-16, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Han et al. (US 2021/0408140 A1 hereinafter referred to as “Han”).
With respect to claim 1, Han discloses, in Figs.1-27, a display apparatus comprising: a substrate (GLS) (see Par.[0163]-[0164] wherein a circuit layer, a light-emitting element layer, and an encapsulation layer may be stacked on a substrate GLS); a pixel (CPIX) arranged in a display area of the substrate (GLS) and comprising a light-emitting diode (OLED) configured to emit light in a first mode/(display mode) (see Par.[0070] wherein the OLED of each of the R, G, and B sub-pixels includes an anode electrode AND, a hole injection layer HIL, a hole transport layer HTL, a light emission layer EML, an electron transport layer ETL, an electron injection layer EIL, and a cathode electrode CAT which are stacked on a pixel circuit CPIX; see Par.[0208] wherein the timing controller 303 may input register setting values in the display mode, the fingerprint recognition mode, and the capturing mode to control terminals of the multiplexers and control voltage levels of output voltages V0 to V256 of the gamma compensation voltage generator 305 for each mode); and a photo sensor (PD) arranged in the display area of the substrate (GLS) and comprising a light-receiving element (PD) configured to receive light reflected from an external object in a second mode/(fingerprint mode) and receive external light in a third mode/(capture mode) (see Par.[0210]-[0211], [0219]-[0223] wherein in the fingerprint recognition mode, since a voltage applied to the sensing light source SL of the first sensing area SA is a gradation voltage that is higher than the highest gradation voltage of the display mode, the sensing light source SL may emit light at a brightness that is higher than maximum brightness in the display mode; the fingerprint recognition mode and the capturing mode, the host system 200 may control the output voltage of the multiplexer MUX20 using an enable signal EN; as shown in Figs.10A-10B, Par.[0089]-[0091] wherein form pixel off mode in Fig.10A where there is absence of pixel signal to display to triggering pixel signal to display an image and reflect from fingerprint object; the non-driving state, the pixels do not emit light (pixel OFF); referring to FIG. 10B, the pixels of the first sensing area SA may be charged at a data voltage of pixel data in the display mode and emit light at a brightness according to a gray scale value of the pixel data; the first sensing area SA, one or more sub-pixels and the sensing light source SL in each of the pixel groups PG may be turned on in the fingerprint recognition mode (pixel ON)), wherein the first mode/(display mode) is triggered by a signal to display an image, the second mode/(fingerprint mode) is triggered by a reflection from the external object, and the third mode/(capture mode) is triggered by an absence of the signal to display an image and a reflection from the external object.
With respect to claim 2, Han discloses, in Figs.1-27, the display apparatus, further comprising a readout circuit (308) arranged on a peripheral area of the substrate and configured to process an electrical signal corresponding to an amount of the light received by the light-receiving element in the second mode/(fingerprint mode) (see Par.[0124]-[0125] wherein the drive IC 300 may include a data receiving and calculating part 308, the timing controller 303, the data driver 306, a gamma compensation voltage generator 305, a power supply 304, and a second memory 302; the data receiving and calculating part 308 includes a receiver for receiving pixel data which is input as a digital signal from the host system 200, and a data calculator for processing the pixel data input through the receiver to improve image quality).
With respect to claim 3, Han discloses, in Figs.1-27, the display apparatus, further comprising: a charge controller (303) arranged on the peripheral area of the substrate and configured to store and control an electrical signal corresponding to an amount of the external light received by the light-receiving element in the third mode; and a battery (304) configured to store an output voltage of the charge controller (see Par.[0124]-[0125] wherein the drive IC 300 may include a data receiving and calculating part 308, the timing controller 303, the data driver 306, a gamma compensation voltage generator 305, a power supply 304, and a second memory 302; the data receiving and calculating part 308 includes a receiver for receiving pixel data which is input as a digital signal from the host system 200, and a data calculator for processing the pixel data input through the receiver to improve image quality).
With respect to claim 4, Han discloses, in Figs.1-27, the display apparatus, wherein the light reflected from the external object comprises light emitted from the light-emitting diode in the second mode and then reflected off the external object, wherein the light emitted from the light-emitting diode comprises green light (see Par.[0210]-[0211], [0219]-[0223] wherein in the fingerprint recognition mode, since a voltage applied to the sensing light source SL of the first sensing area SA is a gradation voltage that is higher than the highest gradation voltage of the display mode, the sensing light source SL may emit light at a brightness that is higher than maximum brightness in the display mode; the fingerprint recognition mode and the capturing mode, the host system 200 may control the output voltage of the multiplexer MUX20 using an enable signal EN; as shown in Figs.10A-10B, Par.[0089]-[0091] wherein form pixel off mode in Fig.10A where there is absence of pixel signal to display to triggering pixel signal to display an image and reflect from fingerprint object; the non-driving state, the pixels do not emit light (pixel OFF); referring to FIG. 10B, the pixels of the first sensing area SA may be charged at a data voltage of pixel data in the display mode and emit light at a brightness according to a gray scale value of the pixel data; the first sensing area SA, one or more sub-pixels and the sensing light source SL in each of the pixel groups PG may be turned on in the fingerprint recognition mode (pixel ON); see Par.[0047] wherein the sub-pixels include a red sub-pixel (hereinafter referred to as an “R sub-pixel”), a green sub-pixel (hereinafter referred to as a “G sub-pixel”), and a blue sub-pixel (hereinafter referred to as a “B sub-pixel”)).
With respect to claim 9, Han discloses, in Figs.1-27, the display apparatus, wherein the light-receiving element comprises an organic photodiode (OPD) (see Par.[0056]-[0057] wherein the light-emitting element may be implemented as an organic light emitting diode (OLED). The OLED includes an organic compound layer formed between an anode and a cathode. The organic compound layer may include a hole injection layer HIL, a hole transport layer HTL, a light emission layer EML, an electron transport layer ETL, and an electron injection layer EIL, but the present disclosure is not limited thereto).
With respect to claim 10, Han discloses, in Figs.1-27, a display apparatus comprising: a display panel comprising a plurality of pixels (CPIX) and a plurality of photo sensors (PD); a driving circuit configured to drive the plurality of pixels and the plurality of photo sensors; a controller (303) configured to control the display panel to display an image according to light emission from the plurality of pixels in a first mode/(display mode), to control the plurality of photo sensors (PD) to sense light reflected from a fingerprint in a second mode/(fingerprint mode), and to control external light sensed by the plurality of photo sensors to charge a battery (304) in a third mode/(power mode to capture); a readout circuit configured to receive a plurality of light sensing signals of the plurality of photo sensors and perform signal processing to obtain fingerprint information in the second mode; and the battery configured to store a voltage corresponding to the plurality of light sensing signals of the plurality of photo sensors in the third mode (see Par.[0163]-[0164] wherein a circuit layer, a light-emitting element layer, and an encapsulation layer may be stacked on a substrate GLS; see Par.[0070] wherein the OLED of each of the R, G, and B sub-pixels includes an anode electrode AND, a hole injection layer HIL, a hole transport layer HTL, a light emission layer EML, an electron transport layer ETL, an electron injection layer EIL, and a cathode electrode CAT which are stacked on a pixel circuit CPIX; see Par.[0208] wherein the timing controller 303 may input register setting values in the display mode, the fingerprint recognition mode, and the capturing mode to control terminals of the multiplexers and control voltage levels of output voltages V0 to V256 of the gamma compensation voltage generator 305 for each mode; see Par.[0210]-[0211], [0219]-[0223] wherein in the fingerprint recognition mode, since a voltage applied to the sensing light source SL of the first sensing area SA is a gradation voltage that is higher than the highest gradation voltage of the display mode, the sensing light source SL may emit light at a brightness that is higher than maximum brightness in the display mode; the fingerprint recognition mode and the capturing mode, the host system 200 may control the output voltage of the multiplexer MUX20 using an enable signal EN; as shown in Figs.10A-10B, Par.[0089]-[0091] wherein form pixel off mode in Fig.10A where there is absence of pixel signal to display to triggering pixel signal to display an image and reflect from fingerprint object; the non-driving state, the pixels do not emit light (pixel OFF); referring to FIG. 10B, the pixels of the first sensing area SA may be charged at a data voltage of pixel data in the display mode and emit light at a brightness according to a gray scale value of the pixel data; the first sensing area SA, one or more sub-pixels and the sensing light source SL in each of the pixel groups PG may be turned on in the fingerprint recognition mode (pixel ON); see Par.[0124]-[0125] wherein the drive IC 300 may include a data receiving and calculating part 308, the timing controller 303, the data driver 306, a gamma compensation voltage generator 305, a power supply 304, and a second memory 302; the data receiving and calculating part 308 includes a receiver for receiving pixel data which is input as a digital signal from the host system 200, and a data calculator for processing the pixel data input through the receiver to improve image quality).
With respect to claim 11, Han discloses, in Figs.1-27, the display apparatus, further comprising a charge controller configured to control a voltage corresponding to the plurality of light sensing signals of the plurality of photo sensors in the third mode (see Par.[0124]-[0125] wherein the drive IC 300 may include a data receiving and calculating part 308, the timing controller 303, the data driver 306, a gamma compensation voltage generator 305, a power supply 304, and a second memory 302; the data receiving and calculating part 308 includes a receiver for receiving pixel data which is input as a digital signal from the host system 200, and a data calculator for processing the pixel data input through the receiver to improve image quality).
With respect to claim 12, Han discloses, in Figs.1-27, the display apparatus, wherein the controller is configured to control the display apparatus to operate in the third mode in the absence of a signal to operate in the first mode or the second mode (see Par.[0210]-[0211], [0219]-[0223] wherein in the fingerprint recognition mode, since a voltage applied to the sensing light source SL of the first sensing area SA is a gradation voltage that is higher than the highest gradation voltage of the display mode, the sensing light source SL may emit light at a brightness that is higher than maximum brightness in the display mode; the fingerprint recognition mode and the capturing mode, the host system 200 may control the output voltage of the multiplexer MUX20 using an enable signal EN; as shown in Figs.10A-10B, Par.[0089]-[0091] wherein form pixel off mode in Fig.10A where there is absence of pixel signal to display to triggering pixel signal to display an image and reflect from fingerprint object; the non-driving state, the pixels do not emit light (pixel OFF); referring to FIG. 10B, the pixels of the first sensing area SA may be charged at a data voltage of pixel data in the display mode and emit light at a brightness according to a gray scale value of the pixel data; the first sensing area SA, one or more sub-pixels and the sensing light source SL in each of the pixel groups PG may be turned on in the fingerprint recognition mode (pixel ON)).
With respect to claim 13, Han discloses, in Figs.1-27, the display apparatus, wherein the plurality of photo sensors and the charge controller are connected by a switch transistor that is turned on in response to a control signal from the controller (see Par.[0210]-[0211], [0219]-[0223] wherein in the fingerprint recognition mode, since a voltage applied to the sensing light source SL of the first sensing area SA is a gradation voltage that is higher than the highest gradation voltage of the display mode, the sensing light source SL may emit light at a brightness that is higher than maximum brightness in the display mode; the fingerprint recognition mode and the capturing mode, the host system 200 may control the output voltage of the multiplexer MUX20 using an enable signal EN; as shown in Figs.10A-10B, Par.[0089]-[0091] wherein form pixel off mode in Fig.10A where there is absence of pixel signal to display to triggering pixel signal to display an image and reflect from fingerprint object; the non-driving state, the pixels do not emit light (pixel OFF); referring to FIG. 10B, the pixels of the first sensing area SA may be charged at a data voltage of pixel data in the display mode and emit light at a brightness according to a gray scale value of the pixel data; the first sensing area SA, one or more sub-pixels and the sensing light source SL in each of the pixel groups PG may be turned on in the fingerprint recognition mode (pixel ON)).
With respect to claim 14, Han discloses, in Figs.1-27, a method of controlling operation of a display apparatus comprising a plurality of pixels and a plurality of photo sensors, the method comprising: controlling the display apparatus to display an image according to light emission from the plurality of pixels in a first mode; controlling the display apparatus to sense light reflected from an external object by using the plurality of photo sensors, and to process an electrical signal corresponding to an amount of the light in a second mode; and controlling the display apparatus to sense external light by using the plurality of photo sensors and to charge a voltage corresponding to an amount of external light to charge a battery in a third mode (see Par.[0163]-[0164] wherein a circuit layer, a light-emitting element layer, and an encapsulation layer may be stacked on a substrate GLS; see Par.[0070] wherein the OLED of each of the R, G, and B sub-pixels includes an anode electrode AND, a hole injection layer HIL, a hole transport layer HTL, a light emission layer EML, an electron transport layer ETL, an electron injection layer EIL, and a cathode electrode CAT which are stacked on a pixel circuit CPIX; see Par.[0208] wherein the timing controller 303 may input register setting values in the display mode, the fingerprint recognition mode, and the capturing mode to control terminals of the multiplexers and control voltage levels of output voltages V0 to V256 of the gamma compensation voltage generator 305 for each mode; see Par.[0210]-[0211], [0219]-[0223] wherein in the fingerprint recognition mode, since a voltage applied to the sensing light source SL of the first sensing area SA is a gradation voltage that is higher than the highest gradation voltage of the display mode, the sensing light source SL may emit light at a brightness that is higher than maximum brightness in the display mode; the fingerprint recognition mode and the capturing mode, the host system 200 may control the output voltage of the multiplexer MUX20 using an enable signal EN; as shown in Figs.10A-10B, Par.[0089]-[0091] wherein form pixel off mode in Fig.10A where there is absence of pixel signal to display to triggering pixel signal to display an image and reflect from fingerprint object; the non-driving state, the pixels do not emit light (pixel OFF); referring to FIG. 10B, the pixels of the first sensing area SA may be charged at a data voltage of pixel data in the display mode and emit light at a brightness according to a gray scale value of the pixel data; the first sensing area SA, one or more sub-pixels and the sensing light source SL in each of the pixel groups PG may be turned on in the fingerprint recognition mode (pixel ON); see Par.[0124]-[0125] wherein the drive IC 300 may include a data receiving and calculating part 308, the timing controller 303, the data driver 306, a gamma compensation voltage generator 305, a power supply 304, and a second memory 302; the data receiving and calculating part 308 includes a receiver for receiving pixel data which is input as a digital signal from the host system 200, and a data calculator for processing the pixel data input through the receiver to improve image quality).
With respect to claim 15, Han discloses, in Figs.1-27, the method, wherein the controlling in the third mode comprises controlling the display apparatus to operate in the third mode in the absence of a signal to operate in either the first mode or the second mode (see Par.[0210]-[0211], [0219]-[0223] wherein in the fingerprint recognition mode, since a voltage applied to the sensing light source SL of the first sensing area SA is a gradation voltage that is higher than the highest gradation voltage of the display mode, the sensing light source SL may emit light at a brightness that is higher than maximum brightness in the display mode; the fingerprint recognition mode and the capturing mode, the host system 200 may control the output voltage of the multiplexer MUX20 using an enable signal EN; as shown in Figs.10A-10B, Par.[0089]-[0091] wherein form pixel off mode in Fig.10A where there is absence of pixel signal to display to triggering pixel signal to display an image and reflect from fingerprint object; the non-driving state, the pixels do not emit light (pixel OFF); referring to FIG. 10B, the pixels of the first sensing area SA may be charged at a data voltage of pixel data in the display mode and emit light at a brightness according to a gray scale value of the pixel data; the first sensing area SA, one or more sub-pixels and the sensing light source SL in each of the pixel groups PG may be turned on in the fingerprint recognition mode (pixel ON)).
With respect to claim 16, Han discloses, in Figs.1-27, the method wherein, in the second mode, light emitted from a plurality of first pixels among the plurality of pixels is reflected off the external object, wherein the plurality of first pixels are arranged adjacent to the external object and emit a certain color of light, and the light emitted from the plurality of first pixels comprises green light (see Par.[0210]-[0211], [0219]-[0223] wherein in the fingerprint recognition mode, since a voltage applied to the sensing light source SL of the first sensing area SA is a gradation voltage that is higher than the highest gradation voltage of the display mode, the sensing light source SL may emit light at a brightness that is higher than maximum brightness in the display mode; the fingerprint recognition mode and the capturing mode, the host system 200 may control the output voltage of the multiplexer MUX20 using an enable signal EN; as shown in Figs.10A-10B, Par.[0089]-[0091] wherein form pixel off mode in Fig.10A where there is absence of pixel signal to display to triggering pixel signal to display an image and reflect from fingerprint object; the non-driving state, the pixels do not emit light (pixel OFF); referring to FIG. 10B, the pixels of the first sensing area SA may be charged at a data voltage of pixel data in the display mode and emit light at a brightness according to a gray scale value of the pixel data; the first sensing area SA, one or more sub-pixels and the sensing light source SL in each of the pixel groups PG may be turned on in the fingerprint recognition mode (pixel ON); see Par.[0047] wherein the sub-pixels include a red sub-pixel (hereinafter referred to as an “R sub-pixel”), a green sub-pixel (hereinafter referred to as a “G sub-pixel”), and a blue sub-pixel (hereinafter referred to as a “B sub-pixel”)).
With respect to claim 20, Han discloses, in Figs.1-27, the method, wherein the light-receiving element comprises an organic photodiode (OPD) (see Par.[0056]-[0057] wherein the light-emitting element may be implemented as an organic light emitting diode (OLED). The OLED includes an organic compound layer formed between an anode and a cathode. The organic compound layer may include a hole injection layer HIL, a hole transport layer HTL, a light emission layer EML, an electron transport layer ETL, and an electron injection layer EIL, but the present disclosure is not limited thereto).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8, 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record (e.g.; see PTO-892) and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Examiner’s Telephone/Fax Contacts
/Mouloucoulaye Inoussa/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818