DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 5- are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(1)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (PG Pub. No. US 2020/0402817 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Kim teaches a method for forming a semiconductor device (fig. 2o), comprising:
providing a substrate (¶ 0021: 120);
attaching a first set of electronic components (¶ 0023: 104/130 in region 140a) and a second set of electronic components (104/130 in region 140b) onto the substrate (figs. 2c-2d: first and second sets of 104/130 attached on 120);
attaching a first external connector (¶ 0027 & fig. 2g: left-most 142) onto a first side of the first and second sets of electronic components (fig. 2g: 142 attached on left side of 104/130);
attaching a second external connector (right-most 142) onto a second side of the first and second sets of electronic components (fig. 2g: 142 attached on right side of 104/130), wherein the first side and the second side are two opposite outer sides of the first and second sets of electronic components (fig. 2g: 142 attached on laterally opposing sides of 104/130);
forming a common encapsulant layer (¶ 0029: 146) on the substrate to cover the first and second sets of electronic components but expose the first and second external connectors (fig. 2k: 146 formed on 120, covers both sets of 104/130, and exposes left-most and right-most 142), wherein the common encapsulant laver covers a region between the first and second sets of electronic components (fig. 2k: 146 covers region between first and second sets of 104/130); and
singulating the substrate and the encapsulant layer at a saw street within the region between the first and second sets of electronic components (¶ 0030 & figs. 2h, 2m: 120 and 146 singulated by 148 at saw street 144 between sets of 104/130) to separate the first set of electronic components and the first external connector from the second set of electronic components and the second external connector (fig. 2m: sets of 104/130 separated into modules 150).
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches the method of claim 5, further comprising:
forming a shielding layer on each of the encapsulant layers covering the first set of electronic components and the second set of electronic components (¶ 0032: 154 formed on 146 of each module 150).
Regarding claim 7, Kim teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the first set of electronic components and the first external connector are identical to and symmetrically disposed on the substrate to the second set of electronic components and the second external connector with respect to the saw street (figs. 2h, 2k among others: sets of 104/130 arranged in translational symmetry with respect to saw street 144).
Regarding claim 8, Kim teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the first and second external connectors are board-to-board connectors (fig. 7 among others: 142 configured to connect to PCB 202, meeting the broadest reasonable interpretation of “board-to-board connectors”).
Regarding claim 9, Kim teaches the method of claim 5, wherein each of the first and second sets of electronic components comprises at least one semiconductor die (¶ 0016: at least 104 comprises semiconductor die).
Regarding claim 10, Kim teaches a semiconductor device (fig. 2o), formed by a method comprising the following steps:
providing a substrate (¶ 0021: 120);
attaching a first set of electronic components (¶ 0023: 104/130 in region 140a) and a second set of electronic components (104/130 in region 140b) onto the substrate (figs. 2c-2d: first and second sets of 104/130 attached on 120);
attaching a first external connector (¶ 0027 & fig. 2g: left-most 142) onto a first side of the first and second sets of electronic components (fig. 2g: 142 attached on left side of 104/130);
attaching a second external connector (right-most 142) onto a second side of the first and second sets of electronic components (fig. 2g: 142 attached on right side of 104/130), wherein the first side and the second side are two opposite outer sides of the first and second sets of electronic components (fig. 2g: 142 attached on laterally opposing sides of 104/130);
forming a common encapsulant layer (¶ 0029: 146) on the substrate to cover the first and second sets of electronic components but expose the first and second external connectors (fig. 2k: 146 formed on 120, covers both sets of 104/130, and exposes left-most and right-most 142), wherein the common encapsulant laver covers a region between the first and second sets of electronic components (fig. 2k: 146 covers region between first and second sets of 104/130); and
singulating the substrate and the encapsulant layer at a saw street within the region between the first and second sets of electronic components (¶ 0030 & figs. 2h, 2m: 120 and 146 singulated by 148 at saw street 144 between sets of 104/130) to separate the first set of electronic components and the first external connector from the second set of electronic components and the second external connector (fig. 2m: sets of 104/130 separated into modules 150).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (PG Pub. No. US 2020/0075502 A1, hereinafter referenced as ‘Kim-502’) in view of Choi (PG Pub. No. US 2021/0217700 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim-502 teaches a semiconductor package strip (¶ 0021 & figs. 2b-2c: 100), comprising:
a substrate (¶ 0021: 110);
a first semiconductor package including a first set of electronic components (¶¶ 0006, 0024: first package including 52 and/or 124) and a first external connector (¶ 0028: 114/116/150, external to 130) attached on the substrate (figs. 2b-2c: 52/124 and/or 114/116/150 attached on 110);
a second semiconductor package including a second set of electronic components (second package including 52 and/or 124) and a second external connector (second 114/116/150, external to 130) attached on the substrate (figs. 2b-2c: 52/124 and 114/116/150 attached on 110);
wherein the first and second external connectors are disposed at two opposite outer sides of the first and second sets of electronic components, respectively (figs. 2b-2c: 114/116/150 disposed at opposite outer sides of at least 52 of first package and 124 of second package);
a common encapsulant layer (¶ 0025: 130) formed on the substrate (figs. 2b-2c: 130 formed on 110), wherein the common encapsulant layer covers the first and second sets of electronic components but exposes the first and second external connectors (figs. 2b-2c: 130 covers first 52/124 and second 52/124, and exposes first and second 114/116/150), and the common encapsulant laver covers a region between the first and second sets of electronic components (figs. 2b-2c: 130 covers a portion of 110 between first and second 52/124); and
a saw street (¶ 0021: 102) within the region between the first and second sets of electronic components that allows for singulation of the semiconductor package strip at the saw street (figs. 2c-2d: 102 between 52 of first package and 124 of second package to allow singulation).
Kim-502 does not explicitly teach wherein the first set of electronic components are adjacent to the second set of electronic components.
Choi teaches a first and second semiconductor packages (¶ 0031: 300, 400), wherein connectors (¶¶ 0046, 0054: 330, 430) are disposed at one side of each package (figs. 3-4: 330 disposed at one side of 300, 430 disposed at one side of 400).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the package strip of Kim-502 such that the first set of electronic components are adjacent to the second set of electronic components, as a means to provide packages with connectors on one side of each package, allowing for arranging packages in a stacked configuration, increasing package density and producing high performance semiconductor packages that process a large amount of data at a high speed.
Furthermore, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japiske, 86 USPQ 70. In the instant case, re-arranging the first set of electronic components of Kim to be adjacent to the second set of electronic components involved only routine skill.
Regarding claim 2, Kim-502 in view of Choi teaches the semiconductor package strip of claim 1, wherein the first set of electronic components and the first external connector are identical to and symmetrically disposed on the substrate to the second set of electronic components and the second external connector with respect to the saw street (Kim-502, figs. 2g-2h & Choi, figs. 3-4: 52/124 and 114/116/150 identical in each package, and rearranged with the connector arrangement of Choi to be symmetrically disposed on 110).
Regarding claim 3, Kim-502 in view of Choi teaches the semiconductor package strip of claim 1, wherein the first and second external connectors are board-to-board connectors (Kim-502, ¶ 0034: at least 116 is a bump connector, suitable for connection between first and second boards, meeting the broadest reasonable interpretation of ‘board-to-board connectors’).
Regarding claim 4, Kim-502 in view of Choi teaches the semiconductor package strip of claim 1, wherein each of the first and second sets of electronic components comprises at least one semiconductor die (Kim-502, at least one of 52 and 124 of each package comprises a semiconductor die).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN TURNER/ Examiner, Art Unit 2818