DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, claims 1-10, in the reply filed on January 27, 2026 is acknowledged.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-7 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hu et al (US Pub. No. 2022/0312583).
Regarding claim 1, Hu et al disclose [see Figs. 7-8 above] a membrane probe card (probe device 20), comprising: a membrane device, which comprises: a membrane wiring structure (insulating layer 30) comprising at least one trace (trace 41 or 42) and a probe protruding surface (upper surface 32); and a plurality of probes (probes 24 or 25) disposed on the membrane wiring structure (30) and protruding from the probe protruding surface (32), each of the probes (24 or 25) defining a height axis, a length axis, and a width axis perpendicular to each other; each of the probes (24 or 25) comprising: a base (base 251) connected with the at least one trace (41 or 42) of the membrane wiring structure (30) and protruding from the probe protruding surface (32) along the height axis by a first height, the base (251) comprising a first side edge, a second side edge opposite to the first side edge, a tip placement section [not numbered but shown] extending from the first side edge towards the second side edge along the length axis, and an extension section [not numbered but shown] extending from the tip placement section along the length axis to the second side edge, the tip placement section defining a width in the width axis; and a laser-processed and electroplated probe tip (pillar tip 252) [see paragraph [0027] for details], wherein the probe tip (252) protrudes from the base (251) along the height axis by a second height and is electrically connected with the at least one trace (41 or 42) of the membrane wiring structure (30) by the base (251), wherein the probe tip (252) is located at the tip placement section of the base (251) and includes a fixed end portion that is connected with the base (251) and defines a width along the width axis in a way that the width of the tip placement section is greater than the width of the fixed end portion; wherein each of the probes (24 or 25) defines along the length axis a first distance from a center of the probe tip (252) to the first side edge of the base (251) and a second distance from the center of the probe tip (252) to the second side edge of the base in a way that the first distance is less than the second distance.
Regarding claim 5, Hu et al disclose wherein the membrane wiring structure (30) comprises a surface dielectric layer (insulating layer 37) [see paragraph [0028] including the probe protruding surface (32); the base (251) of each of the probes (25) includes an inner embedded portion embedded in the surface dielectric layer (37), and an outer exposed portion protruding outside the surface dielectric layer (37); cross-sectional areas of the inner embedded portion in the length axis and the width axis are greater than cross-sectional areas of the outer exposed portion in the length axis and the width axis; the inner embedded portions of adjacent two of the probes (24 or 25) are separated by the surface dielectric layer (37).
Regarding claim 6, Hu et al disclose wherein the probe tip (252) of each of the probes (25) has a contact end face farthest from the base (251), and the contact end face is flat.
Regarding claim 7, Hu et al disclose wherein the trace (41 or 42) connected with the base (251) of each of the probes (24 or 25) extends from the second side edge of the base (251); the first side edge of the base (251) and the trace (41 or 42) respectively define a width in the width axis in a way that the width of the first side edge is greater than the width of the trace (41 or 42); the second side edge of the base (251) of each of the probes (24 or 25) defines a width in the width axis in a way that the width of the second side edge is smaller than the width of the first side edge and greater than the width of the trace (41 or 42); the width of the fixed end portion of the probe tip (252) is greater than the width of the trace (41 or 42).
Regarding claim 10, Hu et al disclose a circuit board (circuit board 22) and a probe seat mounted to the circuit board (22); wherein an elastic structure is provided inside the probe seat, and the membrane wiring structure (30) is mounted to the probe seat and electrically connected with the circuit board (22).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al (US Pub. No. 2022/0312583).
Regarding claim 2, Hu et al disclose [see Figs 7-8 above] wherein the extension section of the base (251) of each of the probes (25) comprises a section has a width gradually reduced from the tip placement section towards the second side edge. However, the prior art does not disclose a tapered section as claimed. It is well known in the art to have different aesthetic design where needed by a user [see MPEP 2144.04 In re Seid, 161 F.2d 229, 73 USPQ 431 (CCPA 1947)]. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have a tapered section for probes since it was found that matters relating to ornamentation only which have no mechanical function cannot be relied upon to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art.
Regarding claim 3, Hu et al disclose wherein the extension section of the base (251) of each of the probes (25) has two corners at the second side edge. However, the prior art does not disclose rounded corners as claimed. It is well known in the art to have different shape corners for probes where needed by a user [see MPEP 2144.04; In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)]. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have rounded corners for probes since it was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 for details.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 8-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: regarding claim 4, the primary reason for the allowance of the claim is due to a connection portion between the base and the probe tip of each of the probes is concavely arc-shaped; the base of each of the probes comprises a plurality of base layers; cross-sectional areas of the base layers in the length axis and the width axis are different, and a connection portion between two of the base layers is concavely arc-shaped.
Regarding claim 8, the primary reason for the allowance of the claim is due to each of the probes comprises an outer layer exposed outside and at least one inner layer shielded by the outer layer; the outer layer and the at least one inner layer are made of different metals, and extend from the probe tip to the base; each of the at least one inner layer of each of the probes has a solid structure or a space located inside the at least one inner layer.
Regarding claim 9, the primary reason for the allowance of the claim is due to the probe tips of the probes are formed separately in a plurality of laser processed through holes of a metal substrate; a pitch between adjacent two of the probe tips is less than 50 µm, and the second heights of the probe tips are greater than 50 µm.
/JERMELE M HOLLINGTON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858