DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Amended claim 26 recites: “isolating the debris handling device is performed by operating a debris isolation device disposed along the first exhaust pipe between the shielding film curtain and the debris handling device.” The embodiment described with respect to Fig. 9 describes the shielding film curtain as the debris isolation device GV that is between the opening 269 of pipe 261 and the debris handling system 263 and not between a further debris isolation device and the debris handling system as claimed.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 26 recites the limitation "isolating the debris handling device is performed" in claim 26. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 23, from which claim 26 depends, only recites isolating debris, not isolating the debris handling device.
In order to overcome both rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112, the examiner recommends rewriting the claim as --isolating the debris handling device by operating the shielding film curtain along the first exhaust pipe between the gas outlet and the debris handling device.--
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11, 12, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Abe et al. [US 2009/0224181].
For claim 11, Abe teaches a method for operating a radiation source apparatus, comprising: producing EUV radiation by emitting a laser onto a target material in a vessel (laser 2 incident on target 1 in chamber 8, see Fig. 7); moving a gas away from the vessel through a first exhaust line coupling a gas outlet of the vessel to a pump (exhausting via path A, see [0057]-[0059]); removing a debris of the target material in the gas in the first exhaust line using a debris handling device coupled with the first exhaust line (TMP and removing unit, see [0057]-[0059]); terminating moving the gas away from the vessel through the first exhaust line (valve 70 switched to path B); and moving the gas away from the vessel through a second exhaust line coupling the gas outlet of the vessel to the pump while a maintenance process is performed on the debris handling device (introducing reactive gas and heating, see [0058]-[0059]), wherein the second exhaust line is free of the debris handling device (TMP A is not along path B).
For claim 12, Abe teaches moving the gas away from the vessel through the second exhaust line is performed when the moving the gas away from the vessel through the first exhaust line is terminated (switching by valve 70, see [0057]-[0059]).
For claim 14, Abe teaches performing the maintenance process is performed after removing the debris of the target material in the gas in the first exhaust line (cleaning during redirection of through exhaust path B, see [0058]).
For claim 15, Abe teaches the removing the debris of the target material in the gas in the first exhaust line is performed during producing the EUV radiation (see [0060]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abe in view of Kouge et al. [US 2021/0029811].
For claim 1, Abe teaches a method for operating a radiation source apparatus, comprising: producing extreme ultraviolet (EUV) radiation by emitting a laser onto a target material in a vessel (laser 2 incident on target 1 in chamber 8, see Fig. 7); directing a gas from the vessel into a first debris handling device (exhausting via path A to the turbo molecular pump and collecting unit, see [0057]-[0059]); blocking the gas from the first debris handling device (valve 70 switched to path B); and perform a maintenance process on the first debris handling device when the gas is blocked from the first debris handling device, wherein the maintenance process comprises heating the first debris handling device in an independent chamber isolated from the vessel (introducing reactive gas and heating, see [0058]-[0059]), while the vessel is used for exposure (see Fig. 7).
Abe fails to explicitly teach the vessel is maintained below a melting point of the target material and free of thermal cycling during exposure.
Kouge teaches the vessel is maintained below a melting point of the target material and free of thermal cycling during exposure (the chamber 2a is desirably maintained at 15° C to 25° C, see [0164]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the temperature of the vessel as taught by Kouge during the heating maintenance as taught by Abe in order to reduce the likelihood of decomposition of the stannane during generation of plasma that would deposit on the surface of the vessel.
For claim 2, Abe teaches blocking the gas from the first debris handling device comprising: closing a debris isolation device between the first debris handling device and the vessel (by valve 70, see Fig. 7).
For claim 8, Abe teaches the maintenance process is performed during producing the EUV radiation (see [0060]).
For claim 9, Abe teaches the first debris handling device is outside the vessel (see Fig. 7).
For claim 10, Abe teaches the first debris handling device is fluidly connected to the vessel by an exhaust line (see Fig. 7).
Claims 4, 5, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abe in view of Krouge as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Niimi et al. [US 2022/0141945].
For claims 4, 5, and 22, Abe fails to explicitly teach the first debris handling device is a scrubber, heating the first debris handling device is performed with a temperature higher than the melting point of the target material, and the maintenance process further comprises: allowing a liquefied debris of the target material to flow from the first debris handling device into a box fluidly connected to the first debris handling device.
Niimi teaches the first debris handling device is a scrubber (see [0116]), heating the first debris handling device is performed with a temperature higher than a melting point of the target material, wherein the maintenance process further comprises: allowing a liquefied debris of the target material to flow from the first debris handling device into a box fluidly connected to the first debris handling device (plate-like member 431 is heated by the heater 433 to a temperature equal to or higher than 231.93° C, tin adhering to the plate-like member 431 falls from the plate-like member 431 by gravity and is collected in the drain tank 410d, see Fig, 4 and [0093]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the heating maintenance as taught by Niimi maintenance taught by Abe in order to clean the tin trap for reuse using the known method of heating the tin to achieve known result of removal of tin from a tin trap surface.
Claims 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niimi in view of Hayashi et al. [US 6,156,107].
For claim 23, Niimi teaches a method for operating a radiation source apparatus, comprising:
producing extreme ultraviolet (EUV) radiation by emitting a laser beam from a laser source onto a target material in a vessel to form a plasma (EUV light 101 generated by laser light 90 incident on tin target droplet DL at plasma generation region AR in chamber 10, see Fig. 3);
moving a gas from the vessel through a gas outlet of the vessel into an exhaust pipe; driving the gas through the exhaust pipe toward a pump (tin trap 400 and pump 453 connected to exhaust port 10E via the exhaust pipe 10P, see [0068], [0118], and Figs. 3, 5, and 8); and
handling debris of the target material in the gas by a debris handling device coupled with the exhaust pipe and positioned between the gas outlet of the vessel and the pump (collected by trap 400, see [0116]).
Niimi fails to teach isolating the vessel from the debris carried back toward the vessel by a shielding film curtain having a first group of fins, a second group of fins, and a third group of fins disposed between the first group and the second group, wherein the third group of fins is oriented differently from the first group of fins and the second group of fins.
Hayashi teaches isolating the vessel from the debris carried back toward the vessel by a shielding film curtain having a first group of fins, a second group of fins, and a third group of fins disposed between the first group and the second group, wherein the third group of fins is oriented differently from the first group of fins and the second group of fins (alternating opposite incline angle of the groups of fins 84 along the stack of trap plates 70, see Fig. 2 and Fig. 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the fin arrangement as taught by Hayashi in a collecting surface as taught by Niimi in order to provide high efficiency of trapping debris.
For claim 24, Niimi teaches handling the debris of the target material in the gas comprises scrubbing the gas using the debris handling device (tin in the residual gas is dry scrubbed by contact with and deposition on the tube member 511, see [0116]).
For claim 25, Niimi teaches the housing 410 and body 430 can be reused once the tin adhering to the surface has been removed, see [0140]-[0141], but fails to teach in the first embodiment in Figs. 5 and 8, heating the first debris handling device using a heating unit disposed adjacent to the debris handling device.
Niimi teaches in the embodiment shown in Fig. 4, heating the first debris handling device using a heating unit disposed adjacent to the debris handling device (plate-like member 431 is heated by the heater 433 to a temperature equal to or higher than 231.93° C, tin adhering to the plate-like member 431 falls from the plate-like member 431 by gravity and is collected in the drain tank 410d, see Fig, 4 and [0093]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the heating maintenance as taught by Niimi in Fig. 4 in the removal of tin from the main body and housing as taught by paragraphs [0140] and [0141] of Niimi in order to clean the tin trap for reuse using the known method of heating the tin to achieve known result of removal of tin from a tin trap surface.
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abe in view of Kouge as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Hayashi.
For claim 28, Abe fails to teach isolating the vessel from the debris carried back toward the vessel by a shielding film curtain having a first group of fins, a second group of fins, and a third group of fins disposed between the first group and the second group, wherein the third group of fins is oriented differently from the first group of fins and the second group of fins.
Hayashi teaches isolating the vessel from the debris carried back toward the vessel by a shielding film curtain having a first group of fins, a second group of fins, and a third group of fins disposed between the first group and the second group, wherein the third group of fins is oriented differently from the first group of fins and the second group of fins (alternating opposite incline angle of the groups of fins 84 along the stack of trap plates 70, see Fig. 2 and Fig. 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the fin arrangement as taught by Hayashi in a collecting surface as taught by Abe in order to provide a high efficiency of trapping debris.
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abe in view of Hayashi.
For claim 29, Abe fails to teach isolating the vessel from the debris carried back toward the vessel by a shielding film curtain having a first group of fins, a second group of fins, and a third group of fins disposed between the first group and the second group, wherein the third group of fins is oriented differently from the first group of fins and the second group of fins.
Hayashi teaches isolating the vessel from the debris carried back toward the vessel by a shielding film curtain having a first group of fins, a second group of fins, and a third group of fins disposed between the first group and the second group, wherein the third group of fins is oriented differently from the first group of fins and the second group of fins (alternating opposite incline angle of the groups of fins 84 along the stack of trap plates 70, see Fig. 2 and Fig. 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the fin arrangement as taught by Hayashi as a collecting surface as taught by Abe in order to provide a high efficiency of trapping debris.
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niimi in view of Hayashi as applied to claim 25, and in further view of Kouge.
For claim 30, Niimi teaches the housing 410 and body 430 can be reused once the tin adhering to the surface has been removed, see [0140]-[0141], but fails to teach in the first embodiment in Figs. 5 and 8, the debris handling device is heated while the vessel is maintained below a melting point of the target material and free of thermal cycling.
Niimi teaches in the embodiment shown in Fig. 4, the debris handling device is heated (plate-like member 431 is heated by the heater 433 to a temperature equal to or higher than 231.93° C, tin adhering to the plate-like member 431 falls from the plate-like member 431 by gravity and is collected in the drain tank 410d, see Fig, 4 and [0093]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the heating maintenance as taught by Niimi in Fig. 4 in the removal of tin from the main body and housing as taught by paragraphs [0140] and [0141] of Niimi in order to clean the tin trap for reuse using the known method of heating the tin to achieve known result of removal of tin from a tin trap surface.
Kouge teaches the vessel is maintained below a melting point of the target material and free of thermal cycling during exposure (the chamber 2a is desirably maintained at 15° C to 25° C, see [0164]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the temperature of the vessel as taught by Kouge during the heating maintenance as taught by Niimi in order to reduce the likelihood of decomposition of the stannane during generation of plasma that would deposit on the surface of the vessel.
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niimi in view of Hayashi as applied to claim 23, and in further view of Abe.
For claim 31, Niimi fails to teach terminating moving the gas from the vessel through the first exhaust pipe; and moving the gas away from the vessel through a second exhaust line coupling the gas outlet of the vessel to the pump while a maintenance process is performed on the debris handling device, wherein the second exhaust line is free of the debris handling device.
Abe teaches terminating moving the gas away from the vessel through the first exhaust pipe (valve 70 switched to path B); and moving the gas away from the vessel through a second exhaust line coupling the gas outlet of the vessel to the pump while a maintenance process is performed on the debris handling device (introducing reactive gas and heating, see [0058]-[0059]), wherein the second exhaust line is free of the debris handling device (TMP A is not along path B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide two exhaust lines as taught by Abe in the debris handling as taught by Niimi in order to continue collection of the debris during maintenance of the first debris collection device, maintaining throughput.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 11, and 23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Okase et al. [US 2003/0141016] teaches a bypass path for a trapping device, Johnson et al. [WO 2024/033020] teaches in Figs. 4A and 4B two fin member of a debris collection device that are angled with respect to each other, and Niimi et al. [US 2021/0364928] teaches in Fig. 5 a tin trap a first group of fins (52a), a second group of fins (52b), and a third group of fins (51) disposed above and not between the first group and the second group, wherein the third group of fins is oriented differently from the first group of fins and the second group of fins.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Steven H Whitesell/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759