DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 07/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The drawing objections of record are withdrawn in light of applicant’s amendments.
The specification objections of record are withdrawn in light of applicant’s amendments.
The indefiniteness rejections of record are withdrawn in light of applicant’s amendments.
Applicant argues that Yakunin is merely a lithographic exposure apparatus that projects a mask pattern onto a substrate, rather than a measurement apparatus for inspecting photomasks, and that Wang does not cure this deficiency. This is not persuasive. Wang expressly teaches an EUV reticle inspection apparatus using an EUV imaging sensor, in which EUV radiation reflected from the reticle is collected to form an image of the reticle at the image sensor for inspection. Thus, Wang teaches the claimed measurement apparatus for inspecting a photomask. Yakunin is relied upon for the EUV source-side optical system and pellicle arrangement, while Wang supplies the image-sensor-based photomask inspection function. Applicant’s argument improperly considers the references individually rather than addressing what their combined teaching would have suggested to one of ordinary skilled in the art. One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Accordingly, the 103 rejections of record are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2013/0088699 A1 [hereinafter Yakunin] in view of US 2012/20235049 A1[hereinafter Wang].
Regarding Claims 1 and 14:
Yakunin teaches an apparatus and a method comprising:
an EUV radiation source (Figs. 1/2- Source collection module SO),
an illumination system (Figs 1/2- illumination system IL),
a projection lens (Figs.1/2- projection system PS),
wherein EUV radiation emitted by the EUV radiation source is guided via the illumination system to a photomask/ guiding EUV radiation emitted by the EUV radiation source via the illumination system to a photomask (paras. [0045, 0047:]: “the illuminator IL receives an extreme ultraviolet (EUV) radiation beam from the source collector module SO,” “The radiation beam B is incident on the patterning device (e.g. mask) MA”);
wherein EUV radiation reflected at the photomask is guided via the projection lens/ guiding EUV radiation reflected at the photomask via the projection lens (para. [0047]: “After being reflected from the patterning device (e.g. mask) MA, the radiation beam B passes through the projection system PS, which focuses the beam onto a target portion C of the substrate W”), and
wherein a pellicle is arranged between the EUV radiation source and the illumination system such that the EUV radiation passes through the pellicle between the EUV radiation source and the illumination system/passing the EUV radiation through a pellicle between the EUV radiation source and the illumination system (paras. [0078-0081]: “the membrane being configured to permit the passage of the radiation beam through the membrane… [and]...to prevent the passage of contamination particles through the membrane... the membrane may form a pellicle;” “The membrane may be provided after the source module SO and before optics of the illumination system IL” ... “A membrane formed from graphene may be provided at any suitable location in the lithographic apparatus. The membrane may for example be configured to stop the passage of contamination particles through the lithographic apparatus”).
However, Yakunin does not specially note an EUV image sensor and the EUV radiation is guided to the EUV image sensor with the result that the photomask is imaged onto the EUV image sensor.
Wang teaches a measurement apparatus and a method for the inspection of photomasks (Abstract: inspecting a photomask using an EUV retile imaging system), comprising an EUV image sensor and the EUV radiation is guided to the EUV image sensor with the result that the photomask is imaged onto the EUV image sensor (para. [0136]: The mask inspection apparatus may further include optics (e.g. mirrors) configured to collect EUV radiation reflected from the mask and form an image of the mask at the imaging sensor).
Yakunin teaches an EUV optical system in which radiation reflected from a mask passes through projection optics, and images the patterned beam onto a substrate; while Wang teaches that in an EUV mask inspection apparatus the reflected EUV radiation is collected and directed to an EUV image sensor to form an image of the mask at the sensor. Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person, before the effective time of filing, to modify Yakunin to use Wang’s image sensor-based detection in place of substrate imaging so that Yakunin’s reflected EUV mask image could be directedly captured and evaluated in an inspection system, thereby enabling mask inspection and defect/contamination assessment without relying on resist-based substrate exposure.
Regarding Claims 2 and 15:
Yakunin in view of Wang teaches the measurement apparatus and method of claims 1 and 14, respectively. Yakunin further teaches wherein the pellicle is arranged between the EUV radiation source and a first mirror of the illumination system (paras. [0057 and 0079]: the illumination system IL includes a first mirror device 22 and a second mirror device 24, “The membrane may be provided after the source module SO and before optics of the illumination system IL”, including first and second mirror device 22/24).
Regarding Claims 3 and 16:
Yakunin in view of Wang teaches the measurement apparatus and method of claims 1 and 14, respectively. Yakunin further teaches a vacuum chamber in which the projection lens, the illumination system and/or the EUV radiation source are arranged (see annotated Fig. 2 below and para. [0042]: “It may be desired to use a vacuum for EUV radiation since gases may absorb too much radiation. A vacuum environment may therefore be provided to the whole beam path,” which includes projection lens, the illumination system, and/or the EUV radiation source are arranged).
Regarding Claims 4 and 17:
Yakunin in view of Wang teaches the measurement apparatus and method of claims 3 and 16, respectively. Yakunin further teaches the EUV radiation source is arranged in a subchamber of the vacuum chamber (see annotated Fig. 2 above and para. [0053]: “The source collector module SO is constructed and arranged such that a vacuum environment can be maintained in an enclosing structure 220 of the source collector module SO”).
Regarding Claims 5 and 18:
Yakunin in view of Wang teaches the measurement apparatus and method of claims 4 and 17, respectively. Yakunin further teaches wherein the subchamber has an exit opening and wherein the exit opening is covered by the pellicle (see annotated Fig. 2 above and paras. [0055, 0079]): “the inter mediate focus IF is located at or near an opening 221,” and “the membrane and particle trapping structure may be positioned at the end of the gas conduit 32 which is closest to the intermediate focus IF”).
Regarding Claims 7 and 19:
Yakunin in view of Wang teaches the measurement apparatus and method of claims 1 and 14, respectively. Wang further teaches wherein the pellicle is suspended on a frame and wherein the frame is detachably connected to a carrying structure of the measurement apparatus (Figs. 2A-2B, paras. [0081, 0088]: the frame 17 holds the pellicle 19, and an engagement mechanism 22 allow the frame to be removably attachable to the underlying carrying device (e.g., MA)).
Regarding Claims 10 and 20:
Yakunin in view of Wang teaches the measurement apparatus and method of claims 1 and 14, respectively. Yakunin further teaches a spectral filter arranged between the EUV radiation source and the photomask (para. [0096]: “a spectral purity filter 76 which includes a graphene sheet 78… The in-band radiation B passes through the out-of-band radiation suppression structure 82 and graphene sheet 78 and may then pass to the patterning device and hence the substrate,” thus, the spectra filter is disposed in the optical path upstream of the patterning device, i.e., between the EUV radiation source of the photomask).
Regarding Claim 11:
Yakunin in view of Wang teaches the measurement apparatus of claims 10. Yakunin further teaches wherein the spectral filter is arranged between the pellicle and the photomask (since the pellicle/membrane is arranged upstream in the source side optical path, and radiation passes spectral filter 76 before reaching the patterning device, Yakunin teaches a spectral filter arranged downstream of the pellicle and upstream of the photomask).
Regarding Claim 12:
Yakunin in view of Wang teaches the measurement apparatus of claims 10. Yakunin further teaches wherein the spectral filter is arranged between a mirror of the illumination system and the photomask (since the illumination system is between the source side and the pattern device, and radiation passes spectral filter 76 before reaching the patterning device, Yakunin teaches a spectral filter located in the beam path after at least one mirror of the illumination system and before the photomask).
Regarding Claim 13:
Yakunin in view of Wang teaches the measurement apparatus of claims 10. Yakunin further teaches wherein the spectral filter is applied as a coating to the pellicle (paras. [0068, 0114]: since the membrane may comprises zirconium, silicon, molybdenum, and the spectra filter may also comprise suppression layers made from zirconium, silicon, molybdenum, the spectral filter material can be applied as a coating on the membrane so the pellicle also provides spectral filtering).
Claims 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yakunin in view of Wang, further in view of US 2022/0155675 A1 [hereinafter ASML].
Regarding Claim 6:
Yakunin in view of Wang teaches the measurement apparatus of claims 5. Yakunin teaches an exit opening of an enclosure. However, the combined references does not teach wherein the pellicle is sealingly flush with a housing periphery.
ASML teaches wherein the pellicle is sealingly flush with a housing periphery (paras. [0053 and 0145]: the pellicle may be held in a frame which to be provided “a hermetically sealed space” with its periphery device and the frame can be mounted and demounted from the device).
Yakunin teaches a EUV system in which radiation exits an opening in an enclosing structure surrounding the EUV radiation source before passing a pellicle/membrane. ASML teaches a pellicle assembly in which the pellicle is carried by a frame arranged to create a hermetically sealed space when attached to another structure and to be mounted/demounted as an assembly. Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art, before the effective time of filing, to use ASML’s framed sealing arrangement at Yakunin’s enclosure opening so that the pellicle taught in Yakunin could be securely mounted at the opening with reduced bypass of debris around the pellicle edge, thereby improving contamination control in Yakunin’s source side chamber.
Regarding Claim 9:
Yakunin in view of Wang teaches the measurement apparatus of claims 5. Yakunin teaches a vacuum chamber encloses the entire beam path including the pellicle. However, the combined references does not teach a loading mechanism to remove the pellicle from the vacuum chamber.
ASML teaches a loading mechanism to remove the pellicle [from the vacuum chamber] (paras. [0145, 0178]: the pellicle assembly can be mounted or demounted from its periphery device via a pellicle assembly handing system including a pellicle assembly gripper 400 for positioning and handling the pellicle assembly).
Yakunin teaches a source side pellicle arrangement in an enclosed EUV system. ASML teaches a handling system, including a gripper, for mounting and demounting a pellicle assembly. Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art, before the effective time of filing, to use ASML’s pellicle handling mechanism with Yakunin’s pellicle arrangement so the pellicle could be removed and replaced more efficiently during maintenance, thereby reducing downtime and facilitating servicing of the source-side chamber.
Claims 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yakunin] in view of Wang, further in view of US 2019/0104604 A1 [hereinafter Chien]
Regarding Claim 8:
Yakunin in view of Wang teaches the measurement apparatus of claim 1. However, the combined references does not teach a holding device, which carries a plurality of pellicles, wherein the EUV radiation passes through a first pellicle in a first state of the holding device and wherein the EUV radiation passes through a second pellicle in a second state of the holding device.
Chien teaches a holding device, which carries a plurality of pellicles, wherein the EUV radiation passes through a first pellicle in a first state of the holding device and wherein the EUV radiation passes through a second pellicle in a second state of the holding device (Fig. 5e and para. [0056]: two collector pellicles 160 and 160’ are held by frame 150, and the frame is fixed to a revolving mechanism 200, when one pellicle becomes contaminated, that pellicle is moved or rotated away and the other pellicle is moved or rotated into the position overlapping the collector mirror, hereby switching between different collector pellicles).
Yakunin teaches a pellicle in a source side EUV system. Chien teaches an EUV system including a revolving holding arrangement that switches between multiple pellicles for radiation by rotation. Therefore, it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art, before the effective time of filing, to use Chien’s multi-pellicle switching arrangement with Yakunin’s pellicle in order to replace a contaminated pellicle with another pellicle without substantial interruption of operation.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JING WANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2881
/DAVID E SMITH/Examiner, Art Unit 2881