CTNF 18/639,882 CTNF 74935 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement 06-52 The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/30/2024 and 8/12/2024 were filed after the mailing date of the Non-final rejection on 5/12/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Drawings The formal drawings filed on 4/18/2024 have been approved by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-7 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choung et al. (US 2022/0077252) in view of Gu et al. (US 2023/0255092) . With respect to Claim 1, Choung discloses a substrate 102 and two external pixel-defining layer (PDL) structures 126 disposed over the substrate 102. An overhang opening defined by top extensions of top structures 110 disposed on and extending laterally past body structures. Each body structure 110 disposed over an upper surface of each external PDL structure 126. The overhang opening defines at least two sub-pixels including a first sub-pixel 108a and a second sub-pixel 108b. At least one internal PDL structure (i.e. the center PDL 126) disposed over the substrate 102 (see paragraphs 27-37; Figs. 1A, 1B, and 2). Choung fails to disclose the first sub-pixel and the second sub-pixel are connected over a top surface of the internal PDL structure with a first organic light-emitting diode (OLED) material of the first sub-pixel connecting a second OLED material of the second sub-pixel on the top surface of the internal PDL structure. However, Gu discloses disclose the first sub-pixel 103 and the second sub-pixel 103 are connected over a top surface of the internal PDL structure (i.e. in the center of Fig. 3) with a first organic light-emitting diode (OLED) material of the first sub-pixel connecting a second OLED material of the second sub-pixel on the top surface of the internal PDL structure (see paragraphs 32-34 and 74-77; Fig. 3). Thus, Choung and Gu have substantially the same environment of a plurality of sub-pixels mounted on a substrate with a PDL structure between each sub-pixel. Therefore, one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would readily recognize substituting a continuous the first and second OLED material over the PDL structure of Choung, since the continuous OLED material across the plurality of sub-pixel would facilitate continuous current across sub-pixels while reducing the process steps and cost when creating the display device as taught by Gu. With respect to Claims 2 and 15, Choung discloses a cathode 114 is disposed on the first OLED material 112 and the second OLED material 112. The cathode 114 contacting a first sidewall of a first body structure 110A and a second sidewall of a second body structure 110A (see Figs. 1A, 1B, and 2). With respect to Claim 3, Choung discloses the first sub-pixel 108a comprising a first anode 104. The first OLED material 112 disposed over the first anode, under the top extensions 110B, and over a portion of the first portion of the top surface of the internal PDL structure. A first cathode 114 in contact with a first sidewall of the body structures and disposed over the first OLED material and the first portion the top surface of the internal PDL structure 126. A first encapsulation layer 116, 118 disposed over the first cathode, the first sidewall of the body structures and the first portion of the top surface of the internal PDL structure (see Figs. 1A, 1B, and 2). With respect to Claim 4, Choung discloses the second sub-pixel 108b comprising a second anode 104. The second OLED material 112 disposed over the second anode, under the top extensions 110B, and over a second portion the top surface of the internal PDL structures. A second cathode 114 in contact with a second sidewall of the body structures and disposed over the second OLED material and the second portion of the top surface of the internal PDL structures 126. A second encapsulation layer 116 disposed over the second cathode 114, the second sidewall of the body structures and over the second portion of the top surface of the internal PDL structures 126 (see Figs. 1A, 1B, and 2). With respect to Claim 5, Gu discloses the first cathode (i.e. top electrode) connects to the second cathode over the top surface of the internal PDL structures (see Fig. 3). With respect to Claims 5, 16, and 19, Gu discloses current flows from the first cathode to the second sidewall via the second cathode during OLED emission (see Fig. 3).. With respect to Claims 7, 17, and 20, Gu discloses current flows from the second cathode to the first sidewall via the first cathode during OLED emission (see Fig. 3). With respect to Claim 14, Choung discloses a substrate 102 and external pixel-defining layer (PDL) structures 126 disposed over the substrate and defining sub-pixels of the device 108a, 108b. A plurality of overhang openings, each overhang opening defined by a plurality of top extensions 110 of a plurality of top structures disposed on and extending laterally past a plurality of body structures 110A. Each body structure 110A disposed over an upper surface of each external PDL structure 126. Each overhang opening of the plurality of overhang openings defines at least two sub-pixels including a plurality of first sub-pixels 108a and a plurality of second sub-pixels 108b. Internal PDL structures 126 (i.e. in the center of Figs. 1A and 1B) disposed over the substrate and further defining the first sub-pixels and second sub-pixels of the device. The first sub-pixels108a comprising a first anode 104 and the first OLED material 112 disposed over the first anode under the top extensions 110B. A first cathode 114 in contact with a first sidewall of the body structures 110A and disposed over the first OLED material and the first portion of the top surface of the internal PDL structures 126. A first encapsulation layer 116 disposed over the first cathode, the first sidewall of the body structures and the first portion of the top surface of the internal PDL structures 126. The second sub-pixels 108b comprises a second anode 104. The second OLED material 112 disposed over the second anode, under the top extensions, and over a second portion of the top surface of the internal PDL structures 126. A second cathode 114 in contact with a second sidewall of the body structures 110A and disposed over the second OLED material and the second portion of the top surface of the internal PDL structures 126. A second encapsulation layer 116 disposed over the second cathode 114, the second sidewall of the body structures and the second portion of the top surface of the internal PDL structures 126. Choung fails to disclose the first sub-pixels and the second sub-pixels are connected over a top surface of the internal PDL structures with a first organic light-emitting diode (OLED) material of the first sub-pixels connecting a second OLED material of the second sub-pixels on the top surface of the internal PDL structures. The first cathode connects to the second cathode over the top surface of the internal PDL structure. However, Gu discloses disclose the first sub-pixel 103 and the second sub-pixel 103 are connected over a top surface of the internal PDL structure (i.e. in the center of Fig. 3) with a first organic light-emitting diode (OLED) material of the first sub-pixel connecting a second OLED material of the second sub-pixel on the top surface of the internal PDL structure. The first cathode(i.e. the top electrode) connects to the second cathode over the top surface of the internal PDL structure (see paragraphs 32-34 and 74-77; Fig. 3). Thus, Choung and Gu have substantially the same environment of a plurality of sub-pixels mounted on a substrate with a PDL structure between each sub-pixel. Therefore, one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would readily recognize substituting a continuous first cathode connects to the second cathode of Choung, since the continuous cathode across the plurality of sub-pixel would facilitate continuous current across sub-pixels while reducing the process steps and cost when creating the display device as taught by Gu . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being clearly anticipated by Choung et al. (US2022/0077252) . With respect to Claim 8, Choung teaches a substrate 102 and a first and second pixel defining layers (PDLs) 126 formed over the substrate defines at least two sub-pixels 108a, 108b with a space therebetween. Each of the first and second PDLs including a first and second overhang structure 110B thereover. An anode 104 formed over the substrate in each sub-pixel. An OLED material 112 is formed over the anode of each of the sub-pixels. A cathode 114 formed over the OLED material, wherein the cathode extends under each of the first overhang structures 110 and the second overhang structure 110B to contact both a first sidewall of the first overhang structure 110B and a second sidewall of the second overhang structure. Such that a current flows from the cathode to at least one of the first sidewall and the second sidewall during OLED emission (see paragraphs 27-37; Figs. 1A, 1B, and 2). With respect to claim 9, Choung teaches the current flows from at least one of the first sidewall 111 and the second sidewall to a bus bar during OLED emission (see Figs. 1A, 1B, and 2). With respect to claim 10, Choung teaches the cathode 114 includes a first cathode of a first sub-pixel and a second cathode 114 of a second sub-pixel (see Figs. 1A, 1B, and 2) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choung et al. (US 2022/0077252) as applied to claim 8 in view of Gu et al. (US 2023/0255092) . With respect to Claim 11, Choung discloses the claimed invention except for the first cathode connects to the second cathode over a top surface of an internal PDL structure disposed in the space therebetween the two sub-pixels. However, Gu discloses the first cathode connects to the second cathode (i.e. top electrode) over a top surface of an internal PDL structure (i.e. the middle PDL structure in Fig. 3) disposed in the space therebetween the two sub-pixels (see paragraph 77). Thus, Choung and Gu have substantially the same environment of a plurality of sub-pixels mounted on a substrate with a PDL structure between each sub-pixel. Therefore, one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would readily recognize substituting a continuous first cathode connected to the second cathode of Choung, since the continuous cathode across the plurality of sub-pixel would facilitate continuous current across sub-pixels while reducing the process steps and cost when creating the display device as taught by Gu. With respect to Claim 12, Gu discloses current flows from the first cathode to the second sidewall via the second cathode during OLED emission (see Fig. 3).. With respect to Claim 13, Gu discloses current flows from the second cathode to the first sidewall via the first cathode during OLED emission (see Fig. 3). The prior art made of record and not relied upon is cited primarily to show the product of the instant invention. Conclusion 10. Any inquiry concerning the communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Alonzo Chambliss whose telephone number is (571) 272-1927. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Jacob Y. Choi can be reached on (469) 295-9060. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PMR or Public PMR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PMR only. For more information about the PMR system see hittp://pair-dkect.uspto. gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PMR system contact the Electronic Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). AC /May 13, 2026 /Alonzo Chambliss/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/639,882 Page 2 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/639,882 Page 3 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/639,882 Page 4 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/639,882 Page 5 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/639,882 Page 6 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/639,882 Page 7 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/639,882 Page 8 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/639,882 Page 9 Art Unit: 2897 Application/Control Number: 18/639,882 Page 10 Art Unit: 2897