DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
2. Applicant’s amendment to the claims, filed on August 22, 2021, is acknowledged. Entry of amendment is accepted and made of record.
Response to Arguments/Remarks
3. Applicant’s arguments/remarks, see pgs. 4-9, with respect to the immediate allowance of the current application have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Pertaining to the Applicant’s arguments/remarks, pgs. 4-9, regarding the newly amended limitations and added claims:
The Examiner notes that new combination of prior art are presented in light of the amendments such that arguments directed solely to the previously presented prior art are now moot.
Note by the Examiner
4. For clarity, the reference to specific claim numbers are presented in bold. Cited claim limitations are presented in bold the first time they are associated with a particular prior art disclosing the cited limitations, and subsequent reference to the already disclosed claim limitations are presented un-bolded. Certain elements from prior art which are not required by the claims are also presented un-bolded if they are particularly pertinent to understanding how the references are being combined. Item-to-item matching and Examiner explanations for 102 &/or 103 rejections have been provided in parenthesis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Kim (US 2018/0040560 A1), hereinafter as K1, in view of Lee et al. (US 2024/0349491 A1), hereinafter as L1, in view of Koo et al. (US 2016/0365279 A1), hereinafter as K2
6. Regarding Claim 1, K1 discloses a semiconductor device (see in particular Figs. 1A-C, “Labeled Fig. 1B” above, and [0010] “semiconductor memory device”), comprising:
a substrate (element 100, see [0021] “substrate 100”) having a first recess region (labeled element “First Recess Region”, see [0026] “recess region 111”); and
a first bit line structure (element BLS and SS within labeled element “First Recess Region”, see [0026] “bit line structures BLS” and [0038] “spacer structure SS”) in the first recess region (see “Labeled Fig. 1B” above);
wherein the first bit line structure has a first spacer (element 131, see [0040] “first and second spacers 131 and 135”), a second spacer (element 135, see [0040]), and a third spacer (element 139, see [0039] “third spacer 139”).
K1 does not explicitly disclose wherein the first spacer, the second spacer, and the third spacer have different materials.
L1 discloses wherein the first spacer, the second spacer, and the third spacer have different materials (see Fig. 3A first spacer element LS see [0034] “The line spacer LS may be formed of or include at least one of … silicon oxycarbide (SiOC), or silicon oxycarbonitride (SiOCN)”, the second spacer element INS see [0048] “The inner spacer INS may be formed of or include at least one of silicon oxide (SiO2)”, and the third spacer element OUS see [0052] “The outer spacer OUS may be formed of or include at least one of … silicon nitride (SiN)”).
The bit line multilayer spacer as taught by L1 is incorporated as the bit line multilayer spacer of K1.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to incorporate the teachings of L1 with K1 because the combination is simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results – simple substitution of one known bit line multilayer spacer material in a similar device for another to obtain predictable results (see L1 Fig. 3A and [0034, 0048, 0052] each of the spacers are described with a list of material which can be selected and substituted).
K1, L1 do not explicitly disclose wherein top ends of the first spacer, the second spacer, and the third spacer are coplanar with each other.
K2 discloses wherein top ends of the first spacer, the second spacer, and the third spacer are coplanar with each other (see Fig. 2 top surfaces of elements 51, 55, 56 surrounding the bit line structure element 60 have coplanar top ends, see [0062] “sixth spacers 56, upper surfaces of the fifth spacers 55, upper surfaces of the first spacers 51”, [0055] “interconnection contact patterns 42 may be bit line contacts of a memory device”).
The planar shape of the top ends of the first, second, and third spacers as taught by K2 is incorporated as the shape of the top ends of the spacers of K1, L1.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to incorporate the teachings of K2 with K1, L1 because the combination is simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results – simple substitution of one known spacers top surface shape for another in a similar device for another to obtain predictable results (see K2 Fig. 2).
7. Regarding Claim 2, K1, L1, K2 disclose the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the first bit line structure contacts a first doped region in the substrate (see K1 element 1a below element “First Recess Region”, see [0025] “first and second impurity regions 1a and 1b”).
8. Regarding Claim 3, K1, L1, K2 disclose the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein a sidewall of the first recess region is inclined with respect to the substrate (see K1 “Labeled Fig. 1B”).
9. Regarding Claim 4, K1, L1, K2 disclose the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the first spacer includes a carbon-containing material (see L1 [0034] “The line spacer LS may be formed of or include at least one of … silicon oxycarbide (SiOC), or silicon oxycarbonitride (SiOCN)”).
10. Regarding Claim 5, K1, L1, K2 disclose the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the second spacer is disposed between the first spacer and the third spacer (see L1 Fig. 3A), and a first dielectric constant of the first spacer is less than a second dielectric constant of the second spacer (see L1 [0034] “The line spacer LS may be formed of or include at least one of … silicon oxycarbide (SiOC), or silicon oxycarbonitride (SiOCN)” and see [0052] “The outer spacer OUS may be formed of or include at least one of … silicon nitride (SiN)”).
11. Regarding Claim 6, K1, L1, K2 disclose the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the first spacer is disposed in the first recess region (see K1 Fig. 2B for a detailed view the first spacer element 131 is in the first recess region – the material is combined with L1).
12. Regarding Claim 7, K1, L1, K2 disclose the semiconductor device of claim 6, wherein the first spacer extends between the first bit line structure and a sidewall of the first recess region (see K1 Fig. 2B for a detailed view).
13. Regarding Claim 8, K1, L1, K2 disclose the semiconductor device of claim 1, further comprising: a second recess region (see K1 “Labeled Fig. 1B” above, labeled element “Second Recess Region” of element 153) in the substrate and adjacent to the first recess region.
14. Regarding Claim 9, K1, L1, K2 disclose the semiconductor device of claim 8, further comprising: a storage node contact (see K1 element 153 in labeled element “Second Recess Region”, see [0031] “contact conductive pad 153”; also see electrical connection above through element CPS to the data storage pattern element DSP) in the second recess region.
15. Regarding Claim 10, K1, L1, K2 disclose the semiconductor device of claim 9, wherein the first spacer contacts the storage node contact (see K1 Fig. 2B for a detailed view element 131 is in contact with element 153 – the material is combined with L1).
16. Regarding Claim 11, K1, L1, K2 disclose the semiconductor device of claim 9, wherein the storage node contact contacts a second doped region in the substrate (see K1 element 1b below the labeled element “Second Recess Region”, see [0025] “second impurity region 1b”).
17. Regarding Claim 12, K1, L1, K2 disclose the semiconductor device of claim 9, wherein a bottom surface of the first recess region is lower than the storage node contact with respect to the substrate (see K1 “Labeled Fig. 1B” above).
18. Regarding Claim 13, K1, L1, K2 disclose the semiconductor device of claim 1, further comprising (see K1 “Labeled Fig. 1B” above): a second bit line structure (element BLS over element 110) disposed over the substrate, wherein the first spacer extends between the first bit line structure and the second bit line structure (see “Labeled Fig. 1B above”).
19. Regarding Claim 14, K1, L1, K2 disclose the semiconductor device of claim 13, wherein the second bit line structure is spaced apart from the substrate by an interlayer (see K1 element 110, see [0032] “insulating interlayer 110”).
20. Regarding Claim 15, K1, L1, K2 disclose the semiconductor device of claim 13, wherein the first spacer, the second spacer, and the third spacer of the first bit line structure are connected to the first spacer, the second spacer, and the third spacer of the second bit line structure respectively (see K1 Fig. 1B).
21. Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Kim (US 2018/0040560 A1), hereinafter as K1, in view of Lee et al. (US 2024/0349491 A1), hereinafter as L1, in view of Koo et al. (US 2016/0365279 A1), hereinafter as K2, in view of Song et al. (US 2018/0174971 A1), hereinafter as S1
22. Regarding Claim 16, K1, L1, K2 disclose the semiconductor device of claim 13, further comprising:
a storage node (see K1 element 153) positioned between the first bit line structure and the second bit line structure.
K1, L1, K2 do not explicitly disclose wherein the first spacer, the second spacer, and the third spacer of the first bit line structure contact the storage node while the first spacer, the second spacer, and the third spacer of the second bit line structure contact the storage node, such that the first spacer, the second spacer, and the third spacer of the first bit line structure are separated from the first spacer, the second spacer, and the third spacer of the second bit line structure by the storage node.
S1 discloses wherein the first spacer, the second spacer, and the third spacer of the first bit line structure contact the storage node while the first spacer, the second spacer, and the third spacer of the second bit line structure contact the storage node, such that the first spacer, the second spacer, and the third spacer of the first bit line structure are separated from the first spacer, the second spacer, and the third spacer of the second bit line structure by the storage node (see Fig. 2A each of the three spacer elements SP1, ASP, SP2 on each side of and in contact with the storage node element BC such that they are separated by the element BC).
The storage node side ends of the three spacers as taught by S1 is incorporated as storage node side ends of the three spacers of K1, L1, K2.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to incorporate the teachings of S1 with K1 because the combination is simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results – simple substitution of one known storage node side end shape of the three bit line spacers in a similar device for another to obtain predictable results (S1 Fig. 2A).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMUEL PARK/Examiner, Art Unit 2818