DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/23/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Double Patenting
Claim 2 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3 of U.S. Patent No. 10,784,855. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the following reasons:
Regarding claim 2 of the pending application, US Patent ‘855 teaches a method comprising:
controlling a transistor (refer to N-type MOSFET) to set the transistor to be in either a first state or a second state (refer to ON or OFF state), wherein the transistor has a body (refer to body of the MOSFET) (see col. 44, line 65 to col. 45, lines 1-4); and
electrically biasing the body of the transistor with a bias signal during at least a portion of a duration when the transistor is in the second state to control accumulated charge in the body of the transistor (see claim 1, col. 45, lines 3-8 and claim 3).
Claims 2-4,6-15,17-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,967,948. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the following reasons:
Regarding claim 2 of the pending application, US Patent ‘948 teaches a method comprising:
controlling a transistor (refer to first transistor) to set the transistor to be in either a first state or a second state, wherein the transistor has a body (refer to body of the MOSFET) (see col. 44, lines 41-45); and
electrically biasing the body of the transistor with a bias signal during at least a portion of a duration when the transistor is in the second state to control accumulated charge in the body of the transistor (see claim 1, col. 44, lines 46-49).
Regarding claim 3 of the pending application, US Patent ‘948 discloses the similar features in claim 4.
Regarding claim 4 of the pending application, US Patent ‘948 discloses the similar features in claim 5.
Regarding claim 6 of the pending application, US Patent ‘948 discloses the similar features in claim 3.
Regarding claim 7 of the pending application, US Patent ‘948 discloses the similar features in claim 7.
Regarding claim 8 of the pending application, US Patent ‘948 discloses the similar features in claim 8.
Regarding claim 9 of the pending application, US Patent ‘948 discloses the similar features in claim 11.
Regarding claim 10 of the pending application, US Patent ‘948 discloses the similar features in claim 12.
Regarding claim 12 of the pending application, US Patent ‘948 discloses the similar features in claim 5.
Regarding claim 13 of the pending application, US Patent ‘948 discloses the similar features in claim 17.
Regarding claim 14 of the pending application, US Patent ‘948 discloses the similar features in claim 18.
Regarding claim 15 of the pending application, US Patent ‘948 discloses the similar features in claim 20.
Regarding claim 17 of the pending application, US Patent ‘948 discloses the similar features in claim 12.
Regarding claim 18 of the pending application, US Patent ‘948 discloses the similar features in claim 16.
Regarding claim 19 of the pending application, US Patent ‘948 discloses the similar features in claim 18.
Regarding claim 20 of the pending application, US Patent ‘948 discloses the similar features in claim 11.
Regarding claim 21 of the pending application, US Patent ‘948 discloses the similar features in claim 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a) the invention was known or used by others in this country, or patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country, before the invention thereof by the applicant for a patent.
Claims 2, 10 and 17 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Mori (US 2005/0194633).
Regarding claim 2, Mori teaches a method see figs. 5A and 5B comprising:
controlling a transistor (102) to set the transistor to be in either a first state or a second state (refer to writing and erasing state as shown in figs. 5A and 5B), wherein the transistor has a body (100); and
electrically biasing the body of the transistor (refer to 100) with a bias signal (refer to Vb) during at least a portion of a duration when the transistor is in the second state to control accumulated charge in the body of the transistor (see fig. 5B and par. 18).
Regard claim 10, Mori teaches an apparatus in fig. 5A and 5B comprising:
a control circuit (refer to built-in voltage generation circuit as mentioned in par. 8) configured to generate one or more switch control signals (refer to Vg positive or Vg negative); and
a transistor (102) configured to be in either a first state or a second state (refer to writing state or erasing state) based on the one or more switch controls signals (refer to Vg positive or Vg negative), wherein the transistor has a body (100), and wherein the body of the transistor is configured to receive a bias signal during at least a portion of a duration when the transistor is in the second state to control accumulated charge in the body of the transistor (see fig. 5B and par. 18).
Regarding claim 17, Mori teaches an apparatus in figs. 5A-B comprising: means for controlling a transistor to set the transistor to be in either a first state or a second state (refer to applying Vg positive or Vg negative to set gate 102 to be in writing or erasing state), wherein the transistor has a body (100); and
means for electrically biasing the body of the transistor (refer to 100) with a bias signal (refer to Vb) during at least a portion of a duration when the transistor is in the second state to control accumulated charge in the body of the transistor (see par. 18 and fig. 5B).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, since the prior art of record and considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure does not teach or suggest “…the connecting comprises connecting the first port to the second port when the transistor and one or more additional transistors serially connected to the transistor are in the on state” in combined other limitations of claim 5.
Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, since the prior art of record and considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure does not teach or suggest “one or more additional transistors serially connected to the second transistor, wherein the second transistor and the one or more additional transistors are collectively configured to: not shunt the first port to the ground port via the second transistor and the one or more additional transistors during at least a portion of a duration when the first transistor is in the first state; and shunt the first port to the ground port via the second transistor and the one or more additional transistors during at least a portion of a duration when the first transistor is in the second state.”
Conclusion
/NIKI H NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818