DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election, without traverse, of group I, claims 1-17 in ”Response to Election / Restriction Filed - 12/01/2025”, is acknowledged along with cancellation of claims 18-20. Applicant request to includes new claims 21-23 have been granted.
In view of the above, this office action considers claims 1-17 and 21-23 pending for prosecution, and are examined on their merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Notes: when present, semicolon separated fields within the parenthesis (; ;) represent, for example, (100; Fig 1; [0015]) or (Col 1, Ln 61) = (element 100; Figure No. 1; Paragraph No. [0015]) or Column No 1, Line Nos. 61. For brevity, the texts “Element”, “Figure No.” and “Paragraph No.” or “Column No, Line Nos" shall be excluded shall be excluded, though; additional clarification notes may be added within each field. The number of fields may be fewer or more than three indicated above. These conventions are used throughout this document.
Claims 1-5, 7-8 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Chou; Chung-Yen et al., (US 20160318758 A1); hereinafter Chou.
Regarding claim 1, Chou teaches a semiconductor structure (semiconductor structure 100, Fig 1-2A; [0015,0019]) comprising (see the entire document; Figs 1-2A-2B; specifically as cited below):
Chou Figure 2A and Figure 2B
a first substrate (206 in 202; Fig 2A; [0019]);
a second substrate (234 in 232 MEMS device substrate; [0021]) overlying the first substrate (202), wherein the first and second substrates at least partially define a cavity (222; [0020);
a microelectromechanical systems (MEMS) component (238: moveable mass) in the cavity (222); and
a spring structure (236; Figs 2A-2B [0023-0024]) disposed between a region of the second substrate (234) and the MEMS component (238), wherein the spring structure (236) comprises (depicted in view 200B; Fig 2B) a first layer (260; Fig 2B; [0024]) and a second layer (264), wherein the first layer (260) continuously extends along a first vertical surface of the second layer (264).
Regarding claim 2, Chou as applied to the semiconductor structure of claim 1, further teaches, wherein the first (260; silicon as detailed in Fig 9, where 104 is semiconductor silicon [0045]) and second layers (264; dielectric; [0024]) comprise different materials (silicon/dielectric).
Regarding claim 3, Chou as applied to the semiconductor structure of claim 1, further teaches, wherein the first layer (260) continuously extends along a second vertical surface of the second layer (depicted in view of 200B; Fig 2B; see the combined layer of second and third instances from left, where 260 is interfacing at least two instances of 264), wherein the first vertical surface is opposite the second vertical surface (Fig 2B).
Regarding claim 4, Chou as applied to the semiconductor structure of claim 1, further teaches, wherein (view of 200B; Fig 2) an upper surface of the first layer (260) is aligned ((depicted in view of 200B; Fig 2B) with an upper surface of the second layer (264).
Regarding claim 5, Chou as applied to the semiconductor structure of claim 1, further teaches, wherein (view of 200B; Fig 2) a height of the first layer (260) is equal to a height of the second layer (264).
Regarding claim 7, Chou as applied to the semiconductor structure of claim 1, further teaches, wherein when viewed in top view (projected from view of 200B; Fig 2) the first layer (260) comprises a first L-shaped segment (at least opposite to the bulge of 264) laterally adjacent to and directly contacting a second L-shaped segment of the second layer (264).
Regarding claim 8, Chou as applied to the semiconductor structure of claim 1, further teaches, wherein (view of 200B; Fig 2) when viewed from above the first layer (264) or the second layer (264) comprises opposing sidewalls defining one or more openings (240) that extend through a height of the spring structure (236).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Chou; Chung-Yen et al., (US 20160318758 A1); hereinafter Chou; in view of TANAKA; Satoru (US 20150021719 A1) hereinafter Tanaka.
Regarding claim 6, Chou as applied to the semiconductor structure of claim 1, but does not expressly disclose, wherein when viewed in top view (projected from view of 200B; Fig 2) the first (260) and second layers (264) respectively comprise a first lateral segment extending from the region of the second substrate in a first direction and a second lateral segment extending from the first lateral segment in a second direction, wherein the first direction is substantially orthogonal to the second direction.
However, in the analogous art another prior art Tanaka teaches a substrate 10, a movable body 20, a fixed section 3 including a first fixed section 30 and a second fixed section 32, Coupling sections (spring) 40/44 ( Fig 1-2; [0057-0058]), wherein (Fig 1; [0061-0064]) when viewed in top view (view fig 1 Fig 1) the first (40/44) and second layers (41/42) respectively comprise a first lateral segment extending from the region of the second substrate (3) in a first direction (direction (bottom to top or top to bottom; Y-axis direction) and a second lateral segment extending from the first lateral segment in a second direction (left to right; X-axis direction), wherein the first direction (bottom to top or top to bottom; Y-axis direction) is substantially orthogonal to the second direction (left to right; X-axis direction).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to configure the layout of spring layers of Tanaka into Chou’s structure, and thereafter the combination of (Chou and Tanaka) comprises spring layout as claimed , since this configuration, at least, have the advantages of the movable mass can move in a predetermined direction without coming into contact with the substrate (Tanaka [0057])
Regarding claim 21, Chou teaches a semiconductor structure (semiconductor structure 100, Fig 1-2A; [0015,0019]) comprising (see the entire document; Figs 1-2A-2B; specifically as cited below):
a first substrate (234 in 232 MEMS device substrate; [0021]) overlying a base structure (202 including 206; Fig 2A; [0019]) ;
a movable component (238: moveable mass) over the base structure (202); and
a suspension structure (236; Figs 2A-2B [0023-0024]) arranged between the movable component (238) and a sidewall of the first substrate (234), wherein the suspension structure (236) comprises (depicted in view 200B; Fig 2B) a first suspension layer (260; Fig 2B; [0024]) and a second suspension layer (264), wherein in a top view (projection from Figs 2A-2B); and wherein the second suspension layer (109b) contacts opposing sidewalls of the first segment and opposing sidewalls of the second segment.
But Chou does not expressly disclose “the first suspension layer (260) comprises a first segment extending from the sidewall of the first substrate (234) in a first direction and a second segment extending from the first segment in a second direction substantially orthogonal to the first direction.
However, in the analogous art another prior art Tanaka teaches a substrate 10, a movable body 20, a fixed section 3 including a first fixed section 30 and a second fixed section 32, Coupling sections (spring) 40/44 ( Fig 1-2; [0057-0058]), wherein (Fig 1; [0061-0064]) when viewed in top view (view fig 1 Fig 1) “the first suspension layer (40/44) comprises a first segment extending from the sidewall of the first substrate (3) in a first direction ((left to right; X-axis direction) and a second segment extending from the first segment in a second direction (left to right; X-axis direction) substantially orthogonal to the first direction (bottom to top or top to bottom; Y-axis direction).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to configure the layout of spring layers of Tanaka into Chou’s structure, and thereafter the combination of (Chou and Tanaka) comprises spring layout as claimed , since this configuration, at least, have the advantages of the movable mass can move in a predetermined direction without coming into contact with the substrate (Tanaka [0057]).
Regarding claim 22, The combination of (Chou and Tanaka) semiconductor structure of claim 21, further teaches, wherein a bottom surface of the first suspension layer (236/260 in view of Tanaka 40/44) is aligned (because both are made from 234 without bottom surface etching) with a bottom surface of the movable component ( 238 in view of Tanaka 20).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Chou; Chung-Yen et al., (US 20160318758 A1); hereinafter Chou; in view of TANAKA; Satoru (US 20150021719 A1) hereinafter Tanaka; and in further view of KOURY, JR.; DANIEL N et al. (US 20140024162 A1) hereinafter Koury;
Regarding claim 23, The combination of (Chou and Tanaka) semiconductor structure of claim 21, further teaches, wherein the first suspension layer (260) comprises silicon (260; silicon as detailed in Fig 9, where 104 is semiconductor silicon [0045]) and while Chou dislcoses the second suspension layer (264) comprises a (264; dielectric; [0024]) but does not specifically teaches that dielectric is a (metal or a) polymer.
However, in the analogous art, Koury teaches an improved MEMS transducer apparatus that includes, inter alia, spring structure coupled with the center anchor structure(s) to a portion of the cavity surface region ([abstract]), wherein (claim 3) discloses the spring structure(s) comprises a silicon material, a polymer, a dielectric, or metal material. Accordingly, the prior art references teach that it is known that polymer dielectric material is functional equivalents.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted dielectric material of second suspension layer (264) with polymer material by Koury and thereafter the combination of (Chou, Tanaka and Koury) comprises the second suspension layer (264) comprises a (264) as polymer, because all materials were known equivalent for providing dielectric properties within the semiconductor art. The substitution would have resulted in the predictable result of providing insulation to the MEMS suspension layer.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is differentiated over the current status of the closest prior arts cited in section I-III above or in PTO-892. Claims 10-17 are differentiated over prior art as those inherits the subject matter from claim 9.
Examiner Note with regard to Prior Art of Record
Claim 9 is distinguished over the closest prior arts, given in PTO-892, either singularly or in combination, fail to anticipate or render obvious the, in combination with all other limitations in the claim “wherein a crystal orientation of the suspension structure changes at least two times along a lateral distance between the sidewall of the first substrate and a sidewall of the movable component.” as claimed and defined by applicant”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See form PTO-892.
/MOAZZAM HOSSAIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898
December 19, 2025