DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claims 1-3, 9, 10, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Min et al. (US 2020/0185280) (hereafter Min).
Regarding claim 1, Min discloses a device comprising:
a substrate 100 (Fig. 2G, paragraph 0033) having a first fin (middle AP2 in Fig. 2G, paragraph 0035) and a second fin (rightmost AP2 in Fig. 2G) extending from a major surface (top surface of 100 in Fig. 2G) thereof;
an isolation region (ST in Fig. 2G, paragraph 0051) extending between and isolating the first fin (middle AP2 in Fig. 2G) and the second fin (rightmost AP2 in Fig. 2G);
a first gate structure (GE in Fig. 2G, paragraph 0047) extending over the first fin (middle AP2 in Fig. 2G) and the second fin (rightmost AP2 in Fig. 2G);
a second gate structure (rightmost GE of RG2 in Fig. 1) extending parallel to the first gate structure (leftmost GE of RG2 in Fig. 1) and extending over the first fin (middle AP2 of RG2 in Fig. 1) and the second fin (bottommost AP2 of RG2 in Fig. 1);
a first gate spacer layer (GS and PIN in Fig. 2E) extending along a first outer sidewall (left sidewall of leftmost GE in Fig. 2E) of the first gate structure (leftmost GE in Fig. 2D), and extending along a second outer sidewall (right sidewall of rightmost GE in Fig. 2E) of the second gate structure (first GE from the leftmost corner of Fig. 2A), and extending continuously along a first inner sidewall (right sidewall of leftmost GE in Fig. 2E) of the first gate structure (leftmost GE in Fig. 2E), over the isolation region (ST in Fig. 2E) and along a second inner sidewall (left sidewall of rightmost GE in Fig. 2E) of the second gate structure (rightmost GE in Fig. 2E);
a first source/drain region (middle SD2 in Fig. 2H, paragraph 0040) extending laterally over the isolation region (ST in Fig. 2H) and bridging the first fin (middle AP2 in Fig. 2H) and the second fin (rightmost AP2 in Fig. 2H); and
a gas spacer (AG2 in Fig. 2H, paragraph 0044) between the first source/drain region (middle SD2 in Fig. 2H) and the isolation region (ST in Fig. 2H), wherein the first gate spacer layer (PIN in Fig. 2H) lines sidewalls and a bottom of the gas spacer (AG2 in Fig. 2H).
Regarding claim 2, Min further discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the first gate spacer layer (PIN in Fig. 2H) extends to a first height (vertical length of PIN between ST and middle SD2 in Fig. 2H) along an inner sidewall of the first source/drain region (middle SD2 in Fig. 2H) and extends to a second height (vertical length of PIN between ST and 140 in Fig. 2H), less than the first height (vertical length of PIN between ST and middle SD2 in Fig. 2H), along an outer sidewall of the first source/drain region (middle SD2 in Fig. 2H).
Regarding claim 3, Min further discloses the device of claim 1, wherein a second source/drain region (rightmost SD2 in Fig. 2H, paragraph 0040) between (see Fig. 1) the first gate structure (rightmost GE of RG2 in Fig. 1) and the second gate structure (rightmost GE of RG2 in Fig. 1), and wherein the gas spacer (AG2 in Fig. 2E) extends between the second source/drain region (middle SD2 in Fig. 2E) and the first gate structure (leftmost GE in Fig. 2E) and between the second source/drain region (middle SD2 in Fig. 2H) and the second gate structure (rightmost GE in Fig. 2E).
Regarding claim 9, Min discloses a device comprising:
a first fin (middle AP2 in Fig. 2G, paragraph 0035) and a second fin (rightmost AP2 in Fig. 2G) extending from a substrate 100 (Fig. 2G, paragraph 0033);
a gate structure (GE in Fig. 2G, paragraph 0047) overlying respective tops of the first (middle AP2 in Fig. 2G) and second fin (rightmost AP2 in Fig. 2G) and respective sidewalls of the first (middle AP2 in Fig. 2G) and second fin (rightmost AP2 in Fig. 2G);
a source/drain region (SD2 in Fig. 2H, paragraph 0040) bridging the first fin (middle AP2 in Fig. 2H) and the second fin (rightmost AP2 in Fig. 2H);
an etch stop layer (ESL in Fig. 2H, paragraph 0050) lining outer sidewalls and top facets of the source/drain region (SD2 in Fig. 2H);
a spacer layer (GS and LIN2 in Figs. 2E and 2H) having a first portion (portion of LIN2 between SD2 in Fig. 2H) extending along inner sidewalls of the source/drain region (SD2 in Fig. 2H) to a first height (vertical length of LIN2 between ST and AG2 in Fig. 2H) and a second portion (portion of LIN2 contacting ESL in Fig. 2H) extending along outer sidewalls of the source/drain region (SD2 in Fig. 2H) to a second height (vertical length of LIN2 between ST and SD2 in Fig. 2H), less than the first height (vertical length of LIN2 between ST and AG2 in Fig. 2H); and
a first gas-filled gap (leftmost AG2 in Fig. 2H) defined by the first portion (portion of LIN2 between leftmost SD2 and middle SD2 in Fig. 2H) of the spacer layer and at least one bottom facet of the source/drain region (SD2 in Fig. 2H) when viewed in a first cross-sectional view (see Fig. 2H), and a second gas-filled gap (rightmost AG2 in Fig. 2H) defined by a second portion (portion of LIN2 between middle SD2 and rightmost SD2 in Fig. 2H) of the spacer layer and at least one bottom facet of a second source/drain region (SD2 in Fig. 2H) when viewed in the first cross-sectional view (see Fig. 2H).
Regarding claim 10, Min further discloses the device of claim 9, wherein the first gas-filled gap (leftmost AG2 in Fig. 2H; and see middle AG2 in 2E) extends along sidewalls of the gate structure (GE in Fig. 2E), the first gas-filled gap (middle AG2 in Fig. 2E) defined, in part, by a portion of the etch stop layer (ESL in Fig. 2H) when viewed in a second cross-sectional view perpendicular to the first cross-sectional view.
Regarding claim 16, Min discloses a device comprising:
a first fin (middle AP2 of RG2 in Fig. 1, paragraph 0035, wherein “The first and second active patterns AP1 and AP2 may be portions of the substrate 100”; and see paragraph 0033, wherein “silicon, germanium, or silicon-germanium or may be a compound semiconductor substrate”) comprised of a first semiconductor material and a second fin (bottom AP2 of RG2 in Fig. 1, paragraphs 0035 and 0033) comprised of the first semiconductor material and extending parallel to the first fin (middle AP2 of RG2 in Fig. 1);
a first gate structure (leftmost GE in Fig. 2D, paragraph 0051) extending over a first channel region (leftmost CH2 in in Fig. 2D, paragraph 0057) of the first fin (AP2 in Fig. 2D), and a second gate structure (rightmost GE in Figs. 1 and 2D, paragraph 0051) extending over a second channel region (rightmost CH2 in in Fig. 2D, paragraph 0057) of the first fin (AP2 in Fig. 2D);
a source/drain region (SD2 in Fig. 2D, paragraph 0057) comprised of a second semiconductor material (see paragraph 0040, wherein “The second source/drain regions SD2 may be N-type dopant regions”) different from the first semiconductor material (see paragraph 0033), the source/drain region (SD2 in Figs. 2H and 2D) bridging the first fin (element number is not shown in Fig. 2H but see middle AP2 in Fig. 2G) and the second fin (element number is not shown in Fig. 2H but see rightmost AP2 in Fig. 2G), and being between the first gate structure (leftmost GE in Fig. 2D) and the second gate structure (rightmost GE in Fig. 2D);
a first inner gate spacer (GS contacting middle SD2 in Fig. 2D, paragraph 0046) on an inner sidewall (right sidewall of leftmost GE in Fig. 2D) of the first gate structure (leftmost GE in Fig. 2D) and comprising a first portion (GS contacting middle SD2 in Fig. 2D) of a first spacer layer extending a first distance (vertical length of GS contacting middle SD2 in Fig. 2D) above the first channel region (leftmost CH2 in Fig. 2D) of the first fin (AP2 in Fig. 2D) and a first gas spacer (PIN and AG2 contacting middle SD2 in Fig. 2E) extending a second distance (vertical length of ESL which is a portion of PIN in Fig. 2D), less than the first distance (vertical length of GS contacting middle SD2 in Fig. 2D), above the first channel region (leftmost CH2 in Fig. 2D) of the first fin (AP2 in Fig. 2D); and
a first outer gate spacer (GS contacting leftmost SD2 in Fig. 2D, paragraph 0046) on an outer sidewall (left sidewall of leftmost GE in Fig. 2D) of the first gate structure (leftmost GE in Fig. 2D) and comprising a second portion (GS contacting leftmost SD2 in Fig. 2D) of the first spacer layer extending the first distance above the first channel region (leftmost CH2 in Fig. 2D) of the first fin (AP2 in Fig. 2D) and a second gas spacer (PIN and AG2 contacting leftmost SD2 in Fig. 2E) extending the second distance (vertical length of ESL which is a portion of PIN in Fig. 2D) above the first channel region (leftmost CH2 in Fig. 2D) of the first fin (AP2 in Fig. 2D).
Regarding claim 17, Min further discloses the device of claim 16, wherein the first gas spacer (PIN and AG2 contacting middle SD2 in Fig. 2E) is surrounded by the first portion (GS contacting middle SD2 in Fig. 2D) of the first spacer layer, an etch stop layer (AO in Fig. 2E, paragraph 0083) that also partially surrounds the source/drain region (SD2 in Fig. 2E), and a dielectric layer 150 (Fig. 2E, paragraph 0048) that seals a top of the first gas spacer (PIN and AG2 contacting middle SD2 in Fig. 2E).
Regarding claim 18, Min further discloses the device of claim 16, wherein the first gas spacer (PIN and AG2 between leftmost SD2 and middle SD2 in Fig. 2H) overlies a portion of isolation region (ST in Fig. 2H) separating the first fin and the second fin.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 5, 11, 12, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min as applied to claims 1, 9, and 16 above, and further in view of Park et al. (US 2016/0315081) (hereafter Park).
Regarding claim 4, Min discloses the device of claim 1, however Min does not disclose the gas spacer is filled with air.
Park discloses the gas spacer (AG in Fig. 3A, paragraph 0058, wherein “air, such as nitrogen, argon, etc”) is filled with air.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Min to form the gas spacer is filled with air, as taught by Park, since a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp, in the instant case choosing air from the listed in paragraph 0058 of Park (e.g. vacuum, air, nitrogen, argon, etc.); if this leads to the anticipated success, in the instant case providing an electrical insulation, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claim 5, Min discloses the device of claim 1, however Min does not disclose the gas spacer contains a gas selected from the group consisting of nitrogen, argon, xenon, and combinations thereof.
Park discloses the gas spacer (AG in Fig. 3A, paragraph 0058, wherein “air, such as nitrogen, argon, etc”) contains a gas selected from the group consisting of nitrogen, argon, xenon, and combinations thereof.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Min to form the gas spacer contains a gas selected from the group consisting of nitrogen, argon, xenon, and combinations thereof, as taught by Park, since a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp, in the instant case choosing nitrogen from the listed in paragraph 0058 of Park (e.g. vacuum, air, nitrogen, argon, etc.); if this leads to the anticipated success, in the instant case providing an electrical insulation, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claim 11, Min discloses the device of claim 9, however Min does not disclose the first and second gas-filled gaps are filled with air.
Park discloses the first (AG between leftmost 127b and middle 127b in Fig. 3A, paragraph 0058) and second gas-filled gaps (AG between middle 127b and rightmost 127b in Fig. 3A, paragraph 0058) are filled with air (see paragraph 0058, wherein “air, such as nitrogen, argon, etc”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Min to form the first and second gas-filled gaps are filled with air, as taught by Park, since a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp, in the instant case choosing air from the listed in paragraph 0058 of Park (e.g. vacuum, air, nitrogen, argon, etc.); if this leads to the anticipated success, in the instant case providing an electrical insulation, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claim 12, Min discloses the device of claim 9, however Min does not disclose the first gas-filled gap contains a gas selected from the group consisting of nitrogen, argon, xenon, and combinations thereof.
Park discloses the first gas-filled gap (AG between leftmost 127b and middle 127b in Fig. 3A, paragraph 0058, wherein “air, such as nitrogen, argon, etc”) contains a gas selected from the group consisting of nitrogen, argon, xenon, and combinations thereof.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Min to form the first gas-filled gap contains a gas selected from the group consisting of nitrogen, argon, xenon, and combinations thereof, as taught by Park, since a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp, in the instant case choosing nitrogen from the listed in paragraph 0058 of Park (e.g. vacuum, air, nitrogen, argon, etc.); if this leads to the anticipated success, in the instant case providing an electrical insulation, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claim 19, Min discloses the device of claim 16, however Min does not disclose the first gas spacer is filled with air.
Park discloses the first gas spacer (AG in Fig. 3A, paragraph 0058, wherein “air, such as nitrogen, argon, etc”) is filled with air.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Min to form the first gas spacer is filled with air, as taught by Park, since a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp, in the instant case choosing air from the listed in paragraph 0058 of Park (e.g. vacuum, air, nitrogen, argon, etc.); if this leads to the anticipated success, in the instant case providing an electrical insulation, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claim 20, Min discloses the device of claim 16, however Min does not disclose the first gas spacer contains a gas selected from the group consisting of nitrogen, argon, xenon, silane, dichlorosilane, silicon tetrachloride, ammonia, chlorine, and combinations thereof.
Park discloses the first gas spacer (AG in Fig. 3A, paragraph 0058, wherein “air, such as nitrogen, argon, etc”) contains a gas selected from the group consisting of nitrogen, argon, xenon, silane, dichlorosilane, silicon tetrachloride, ammonia, chlorine, and combinations thereof.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Min to form the first gas spacer contains a gas selected from the group consisting of nitrogen, argon, xenon, silane, dichlorosilane, silicon tetrachloride, ammonia, chlorine, and combinations thereof, as taught by Park, since a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp, in the instant case choosing air from the listed in paragraph 0058 of Park (e.g. vacuum, air, nitrogen, argon, etc.); if this leads to the anticipated success, in the instant case providing an electrical insulation, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Claims 6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Frougier et al. (US 2020/0152504) (hereafter Frougier).
Regarding claim 6, Min discloses the device of claim 1, however Min does not disclose the gas spacer has an internal pressure of from about 10 Torr to about 15 Torr.
Frougier discloses the gas spacer 50 (Fig. 6A, paragraph 0033, wherein” Each airgap may be filled by atmospheric air at or near atmospheric pressure, may be filled by another gas at or near atmospheric pressure, or may contain atmospheric air or another gas at a sub-atmospheric pressure (e.g., a partial vacuum)”) has an internal pressure of from about 10 Torr to about 15 Torr.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Min to form the gas spacer has an internal pressure of from about 10 Torr to about 15 Torr, as taught by Frougier, since such a modification would have involved discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454,456, 105 USPQ 233,235 (CCPA 1955). Note that the specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed ranges or any unexpected results arising therefrom. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited in a claim, the applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. In re Woodruff, 919 f.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 13, Min discloses the device of claim 9, however Min does not disclose the first gas-filled gap has an internal pressure of from about 10 Torr to about 15 Torr.
Frougier discloses the first gas-filled gap 50 (Fig. 6A, paragraph 0033, wherein” Each airgap may be filled by atmospheric air at or near atmospheric pressure, may be filled by another gas at or near atmospheric pressure, or may contain atmospheric air or another gas at a sub-atmospheric pressure (e.g., a partial vacuum)”) has an internal pressure of from about 10 Torr to about 15 Torr.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Min to form the first gas-filled gap has an internal pressure of from about 10 Torr to about 15 Torr, as taught by Frougier, since such a modification would have involved discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454,456, 105 USPQ 233,235 (CCPA 1955). Note that the specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed ranges or any unexpected results arising therefrom. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited in a claim, the applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. In re Woodruff, 919 f.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (US 2018/0076199) (hereafter Wang).
Regarding claim 7, Min discloses the device of claim 1, however Min does not disclose the gas spacer contains a gas selected from the group consisting of including silane, dichlorosilane, silicon tetrachloride, ammonia, chlorine, and combinations thereof.
Wang discloses the gas spacer 135 (Fig. 5, paragraph 0054, wherein “silane (SiH.sub.4) ga”) contains a gas selected from the group consisting of including silane, dichlorosilane, silicon tetrachloride, ammonia, chlorine, and combinations thereof.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Min to form the gas spacer contains a gas selected from the group consisting of including silane, dichlorosilane, silicon tetrachloride, ammonia, chlorine, and combinations thereof, as taught by Wang, since the airgap 135 (Wang, Fig. 5, paragraph 0046) reduces the parasitic capacitance of the spacer 130 (Wang, Fig. 5, paragraph 0046).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ramaswamy et al. (US 2 2019/0348516) (hereafter Ramaswamy).
Regarding claim 8, Min discloses the device of claim 1, however Min does not disclose the gas spacer has a dielectric constant k of 1.
Ramaswamy discloses the gas spacer (“gate spacer” in paragraph 0043) has a dielectric constant (see paragraph 0043, wherein “dielectric constant of nearly 1) k of 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Min to form the gas spacer has a dielectric constant k of 1, as taught by Ramaswamy, since low-k materials (Ramaswamy, paragraph 0043) that may be used in a gate spacer include various porous dielectric materials, such as for example porous silicon dioxide or porous carbon-doped silicon dioxide, where large voids or pores are created in a dielectric in order to reduce the overall dielectric constant of the layer, since voids can have a dielectric constant of nearly 1.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Cai et al. (US 2014/0217517) (hereafter Cai).
Regarding claim 14, Min discloses the device of claim 9, however Min does not disclose a top of the first gas-filled gap is defined by a first portion of a dielectric layer and a top of the second gas-filled gap is defined by a second portion of the dielectric layer.
Cai discloses a top of the first gas-filled gap (middle 92 in Fig. 9, paragraph 0025) is defined by a first portion (middle portion of 82 in Fig. 9, paragraph 0025) of a dielectric layer 82 (Fig. 9) and a top of the second gas-filled gap (leftmost 92 in Fig. 9) is defined by a second portion (leftmost portion of 82 in Fig. 9) of the dielectric layer 82 (Fig. 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Min to form a top of the first gas-filled gap is defined by a first portion of a dielectric layer and a top of the second gas-filled gap is defined by a second portion of the dielectric layer, as taught by Cai, since the void 92 (Cai, Fig. 9, paragraph 0025) enables air trapping beneath the dielectric spacer 82 (Cai, Fig. 9, paragraph 0025), and together with the low-k characteristics of the dielectric spacer 82 (Cai, Fig. 9, paragraph 0025), enables very low parasitic capacitance.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min in view of Cai as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Yu et al. (US 2017/0345911) (hereafter Yu).
Regarding claim 15, Min in view of Cai discloses the device of claim 14, however Min and Cai do not disclose bottom surfaces of respective portions of the dielectric layer have a convex profile.
Yu discloses bottom surfaces of respective portions of the dielectric layer 160 (Fig. 14, paragraph 0099) have a convex profile.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Min in view of Cai to form bottom surfaces of respective portions of the dielectric layer have a convex profile, as taught by Yu, since the blocking liners 140, 145, 240, 245 (Yu, Fig. 14, paragraph 0134) on the sidewall of the first recess 102 (Yu, Fig. 14, paragraph 0134), the field insulating film 105 (Yu, Fig. 14, paragraph 0134), the etch-stop film 160 (Yu, Fig. 14, paragraph 0134), the first epitaxial pattern 150 (Yu, Fig. 14, paragraph 0134) and the second epitaxial pattern 250 (Yu, Fig. 14, paragraph 0134) may surround the first air gap 170 (Yu, Fig. 14, paragraph 0134).
Conclusion
/L.B.K/Examiner, Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813