DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7-8, 14 and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park (US 2022/0352249).
Regarding claim 1, Park et al. discloses, as shown in Figures 4-18 and 30A-33, a display device comprising:
a first substrate (SUB) comprising emission areas (EMA1-EMA3), and a non-emission area (NEA) between the emission areas;
light-emitting elements (LD) above the first substrate and respectively in the emission areas;
a second substrate ((BSL) above the first substrate, and defining grooves (PT) corresponding to the emission areas on a surface facing the first substrate;
light conversion layers (CCL) in the grooves above the light-emitting elements; and
reflective layers (RF2) on sidewalls of the grooves, and surrounding the light conversion layers in plan view.
Regarding claim 2, Park et al. discloses the emission areas comprise a first emission area (EMA1) for emitting light of a first color, a second emission area (EMA2) for emitting light of a second color, and a third emission area (EMA3) for emitting light of a third color, and wherein the grooves (PT) comprise a first groove corresponding to the first emission area, a second groove corresponding to the second emission area, and a third groove corresponding to the third emission area [Figures].
Regarding claim 4, Park et al. discloses the light-emitting elements (LD) comprise a first light-emitting element in the first emission area (EMA1), a second light-emitting element (LD) in the second emission area (EMA2), and a third light-emitting element (LD) in the third emission area (EMA3), the first light-emitting element, the second light-emitting element, and the third light-emitting element comprising first color light-emitting elements for emitting light of the first color [Figures].
Regarding claim 5, Park et al. discloses the light conversion layers comprise: a first light conversion layer (CCL) in the first groove (PT), and containing a light-scattering material (PD); a second light conversion layer (CCL) in the second groove (PT), and comprising first wavelength conversion particles (QT) for converting the light of the first color into the light of the second color; and a third light conversion layer (CCL) in the third groove, and comprising second wavelength conversion particles (QT) for converting the light of the first color into the light of the third color [Figures].
Regarding claim 7, Park et al. discloses the first light-emitting element, the second light-emitting element, and the third light-emitting element comprise blue light-emitting elements for emitting blue light [0107]-[0108].
Regarding claim 8, Park et al. discloses the light-emitting elements are partially inserted into the grooves [Figures].
Regarding claim 14, Park et al. discloses the device further comprising at least one of: a first light-blocking pattern (BM) on the surface of the second substrate, and in the non-emission area; or a second light-blocking pattern on a surface of the first substrate, and in the non-emission area [Figures].
Regarding claim 16, Park et al. discloses the reflective layers comprise at least one metal layer ([0109], [0219],[0299], reflective metal material).
Regarding claim 17, Park et al. discloses further comprising pixels in a display area comprising the emission areas (EMA1-EMA3) and the non-emission area (NEA), and comprising respective light-emitting elements (LD), respective light conversion layers (CCL), and respective reflective layers (RF2) in the emission areas [Figures].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 6, 15, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2022/0352249) in view of Song et al. (US 2022/0352237).
Regarding claim 3, Park et al. discloses the claimed invention including the display device as explained in the above rejection. Park et al. further discloses comprising: a first color filter (CF1) above a first light conversion layer (CCL) in the first groove (PT), and for transmitting light of the first color; a second color filter (CF2) above a second light conversion layer (CCL) in the second groove (PT), and for transmitting light of the second color; and a third color filter (CF3) above a third light conversion layer (CCL) in the third groove (PT), and for transmitting light of the third color. Park et al. does not disclose the first color filter is in the first groove, the second color filter is in the second groove, and the third color filter is in the third groove. However, Song et al. discloses a display device having a first color filter (CF1) is on or in a first groove, a second color filter (CF2) is on or in a second groove, and a third color filter (CFFF3) is on or in a third groove. Note Figures 5 and 9-14 of Song et al. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to place the color filters of Park et al. in the grooves, such as taught by Song et al. in order to have the desired configuration.
Regarding claim 6, Park et al. discloses the claimed invention including the display device as explained in the above rejection. Park et al. further discloses a first light conversion layer (CCL) in the first groove (PT), and containing a light-scattering material (QT), a second light conversion layer (CCL) in the second groove (PT), and a third light conversion layer (CCL) in the third groove (PT). Park et al. does not disclose a second light conversion layer comprising phosphors for converting the light of the first color into light of a fourth color; and a third light conversion layer comprising phosphors for converting the light of the first color into the light of the fourth color. However, Song et al. discloses a second light conversion layer comprising phosphors for converting the light of the first color into light of a different color; and a third light conversion layer comprising phosphors for converting the light of the first color into the light of the different color. Note Figures of Song et al. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form the light conversion layers of Park et al. comprising phosphor, such as taught by Song et al. in order to have the desired output color.
Regarding claim 15, Park et al. discloses the claimed invention including the display device as explained in the above rejection. Park et al. further discloses, at [0121], that the material of the light blocking layer BM is not particularly limited, and may include various suitable light blocking materials. Park et al. does not the first light-blocking pattern and the second light-blocking pattern comprise a black matrix material, a metal, or color filter materials of at least two colors. However, Song et al. discloses the first light-blocking pattern and the second light-blocking pattern comprise a black matrix material, a metal, or color filter materials of at least two colors. Note [0243] of Song et al. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form the first light-blocking pattern and the second light-blocking pattern of Park et al. comprise a black matrix material, a metal, or color filter materials of at least two colors, such as taught by Song et al. since these materials are commonly used as the light blocking materials
Regarding claim 18, Park et al. discloses, as shown in Figures 4-18 and 30A-33, a display device comprising:
a first substrate (SUB) comprising a first emission area and a second emission area (EMA-EMA3);
a first light-emitting element and a second light-emitting element (LD) above the first substrate, and respectively in the first emission area and the second emission area;
a second substrate (BSL) above a surface of the first substrate, and defining a first groove and a second groove (PT) respectively corresponding to the first emission area and the second emission area on a surface facing the first substrate;
a first light conversion layer and a second light conversion layer (CCL) respectively in the first groove and the second groove, and respectively comprising first light conversion particles and second light conversion particles; and
a first reflective layer and a second reflective layer (RF2) respectively on sidewalls of the first groove and the second groove, and respectively surrounding the first emission area and the second emission area.
Park et al. does not disclose a first color filter and a second color filter respectively in the first groove and the second groove, and respectively above the first light conversion layer and the second light conversion layer. However, Song et al. discloses a display device having a first color filter (CF1) and a second color filter (CF2) respectively on or in the first groove and the second groove, and respectively above the first light conversion layer and the second light conversion layer. Note Figures 5 and 9-14 of Song et al. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to place the color filters of Park et al. in the grooves, such as taught by Song et al. in order to have the desired configuration.
Regarding claim 19, Park et al. and Song et al disclose the first light-emitting element and the second light-emitting element comprise first color light-emitting elements for emitting light of a first color, wherein the first light conversion particles comprise a light-scattering material, and wherein the second light conversion particles (WCP) comprise wavelength conversion particles or phosphors for converting the light of the first color into light of a second color [0184], [0210].
Regarding claim 20, Park et al. and Song et al. disclose the first color filter comprises a color filter of the first color for transmitting the light of the first color, and wherein the second color filter comprises a color filter of the second color for transmitting the light of the second color [0060], [0113]-[0118].
Claim(s) 9-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2022/0352249, hereafter, “Park et al.’249”) in view of Park et al. (US 2022/0130810, hereafter, “Park et al.’810”).
Regarding claim 9, Park et al.’249 discloses the claimed invention including the display device as explained in the above rejection. Park et al.’249 further discloses the first substrate and the second substrate comprise a display area comprising the emission areas and the non-emission area, and a non-display area surrounding the display area in plan view. Park et al.’249 does not disclose a sealing member between the first substrate and the second substrate in the non-display area. However, Park et al.’810 discloses a sealing member (BNK, BM) between the first substrate and the second substrate in the non-display area. Note Figures 11-15 of Park et al.’810. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form the display device of Park et al.’249 having a sealing member between the first substrate and the second substrate in the non-display area, such as taught by Park et al.’810 in order to block the unwanted light into the light elements.
Regarding claims 9-10, Park et al.’249 and Park et al.’810 disclose the first substrate comprises glass. Park et al.’249 and Park et al.’810 do not disclose the materials of the sealing member and the second substrate. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form the sealing member and the second substrate of Park et al.’249 and Park et al.’810 having the materials as that claimed by Applicant, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 12, Park et al.’249 and Park et al.’810 disclose the first substrate defines a first outer groove in the non-display area on a surface facing the second substrate, and wherein the second substrate further defines a second outer groove in the non-display area on the surface facing the first substrate [Figures 11-15].
Regarding claim 13, Park et al.’249 and Park et al.’810 disclose a portion of the sealing member is in the first outer groove, and wherein another portion of the sealing member is in the second outer groove [Figures 11-15].
Conclusion
/HUNG K VU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897