DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 16-22, 24-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Schmitz (US 2006/0049453).
Regarding claim 1, Schmitz discloses a semiconductor device, comprising: a semiconductor layer structure that comprises a drift region (Figs. 2A-2F, numeral 4) having a first conductivity type ([0032]), a well layer (6) having a second conductivity type ([0033]), and a source region (8) having the first conductivity type ([0002]); a first gate trench (26) extending into an upper portion of the semiconductor layer structure (Fig. 2C); a first dielectric layer (18) within the first gate trench (26) and conforming to an interior perimeter of the first gate trench (26); and a first gate electrode (21) within the first gate trench (26) and on the first dielectric layer (18), the first gate electrode (21) having first and second portions that are spaced apart from each other by a second dielectric layer (30) (Fig.2D) .
Regarding claim 2, Schmitz discloses wherein at least a portion of the first dielectric layer (18) on a bottom surface of the first gate trench (26) is free from vertical overlap with the first gate electrode (21) (Fig.2C).
Regarding claim 3, Schmitz discloses wherein the first and second portions (21) are free from contact with each other along an entirety of the first gate trench (26) (Fig.2C).
Regarding claim 4, Schmitz discloses wherein the first gate electrode (21) further comprises a connecting portion (Fig.3b, numeral 42) between and directly connected to the first and second portions of the first gate electrode (21), and wherein the connecting portion is at least partially within the first gate trench (Fig.3B).
Regarding claim 5, Schmitz discloses wherein the connecting portion (42) overlaps vertically with the second dielectric layer (30), and wherein a bottom surface of the connecting portion (42) directly contacts the second dielectric layer (30).
Regarding claim 6, Schmitz discloses wherein the first dielectric layer (18) comprises an oxide ([0034]).
Regarding claim 7, Schmitz discloses wherein the first dielectric layer (Fig.2C, numeral 18) has a substantially uniform thickness along the interior perimeter of the first gate trench (26).
Regarding claim 8, Schmitz wherein the first dielectric layer (18) has a first thickness along a first sidewall of the first gate trench (Fig.4) and has a second thickness (Fig.4, numeral 50) along a bottom surface of the first gate trench that is greater than the first thickness ([0048]).
Regarding claim 16, Schmitz discloses a semiconductor device, comprising: a semiconductor layer structure (Figs. 2A-2F) that comprises a drift region (4) having a first conductivity type ([0032]), a well layer (6) having a second conductivity type ([0033]), and a source region (8) having the first conductivity type ([0033]); a first gate trench (26) extending in the semiconductor layer structure (Fig. 2C); a first dielectric layer (18) within the first gate trench (26)and conforming to an interior perimeter of the first gate trench (26); and a first gate electrode (21) within the first gate trench (26) and on the first dielectric layer (18), the first gate electrode (21) having first and second portions that are spaced apart from each other by a second dielectric layer (30) (Fig. 2D), wherein a maximum width of the second dielectric layer (30)between the first portion and the second portion of the first gate electrode (21) in a transverse direction perpendicular to an extension direction of the first gate trench is equal to a maximum distance between the first portion and the second portion of the first gate electrode (21) in the transverse direction.
Regarding claim 17, Schmitz discloses wherein the first gate electrode (21) further comprises a connecting portion (Fig.3B, numeral 42) between and directly connected to the first and second portions of the first gate electrode (21), and wherein the connecting portions (42) at least partially within the first gate trench (Fig.3B).
Regarding claim 18, Schmitz discloses wherein the connecting portion (42) overlaps vertically with the second dielectric layer, and wherein a bottom surface of the connecting portion (42) directly contacts the second dielectric layer (30).
Regarding claim 19, Schmitz discloses wherein the first dielectric layer (18) comprises an oxide ([0034]).
Regarding claim 20, Schmitz discloses wherein at least a portion of the first dielectric layer (18) on a bottom surface of the first gate trench is free from overlap with the first gate electrode (21) in a vertical direction perpendicular to the transverse direction (Fig.2C).
Regarding claim 21, Schmitz discloses wherein the first dielectric layer (18) has a substantially uniform thickness along the interior perimeter of the first gate trench (26).
Regarding claim 22, Schmitz discloses wherein the first dielectric layer (18) has a first thickness along a first sidewall of the first gate trench and has a second thickness (Fig.4, numeral 50) along a bottom surface of the first gate trench that is greater than the first thickness.
Regarding claim 24, Schmitz discloses a semiconductor device, comprising: a semiconductor layer structure (Figs. 2A-2F) that comprises a drift region (4) having a first conductivity type ([0032]), a well layer (6) having a second conductivity type ([0033]), and a source region (8) having the first conductivity type ([0032]); a first gate trench (26) extending into an upper portion of the semiconductor layer structure (Fig.2C); a first dielectric layer (18) within the first gate trench (26) and conforming to surfaces of the drift region (4), well layer (6), and source region (8) that are exposed by the first gate trench (26) (Fig.2A); and a first gate electrode (21) within the first gate trench and on the first dielectric layer (18), the first gate electrode (21) having first and second portions that are spaced apart from each other by a second dielectric layer (30) (Fig.2D), wherein the first portion and the second portion (21) directly contact the second dielectric layer (30).
Regarding claim 25, Schmitz discloses wherein the first gate electrode (21) further comprises a connecting portion (42) (Fig.3B) between and directly connected to the first and second portions of the first gate electrode (21), and wherein the connecting portion (42) is at least partially within the first gate trench (26).
Regarding claim 26, Schmitz discloses wherein the connecting portion (42) overlaps vertically with the second dielectric layer (18), and wherein a bottom surface of the connecting portion (42) directly contacts the second dielectric layer (30).
Regarding claim 27, Schmitz wherein at least a portion of the first dielectric layer (18) on a bottom surface of the first gate trench is free from overlap with the first gate electrode (21) in a vertical direction perpendicular to an extension direction of the first gate trench (26) (Fig. 2C).
Claim(s) 1 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by CN’795 (CN 106601795, cited in IDS, Machine Translation is provided).
Regarding claim 1, CN’795 discloses a semiconductor device (Figs.3 and 4), comprising: a semiconductor layer structure that comprises a drift region (20) having a first conductivity type, a well layer (30) having a second conductivity type, and a source region (40) having the first conductivity type; a first gate trench (50) extending into an upper portion of the semiconductor layer structure; a first dielectric layer (70) within the first gate trench and conforming to an interior perimeter of the first gate trench; and a first gate electrode (60) within the first gate trench and on the first dielectric layer, the first gate electrode having first and second portions that are spaced apart from each other by a second dielectric layer (80).
Regarding claim 9, CN’795 discloses wherein the semiconductor layer structure further comprises a trench shielding region (Fig.4, numeral 90) having the second conductivity type below the first gate trench (50).
Claim(s) 1 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim (US 2022/0130998).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a semiconductor device (Fig.6D), comprising: a semiconductor layer structure that comprises a drift region (520) having a first conductivity type, a well layer (532) having a second conductivity type, and a source region (542) having the first conductivity type; a first gate trench (590) extending into an upper portion of the semiconductor layer structure; a first dielectric layer (562) within the first gate trench and conforming to an interior perimeter of the first gate trench (590); and a first gate electrode (564) within the first gate trench and on the first dielectric layer, the first gate electrode having first (564-1) and second portions (564-2) that are spaced apart from each other by a second dielectric layer (566).
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses wherein the semiconductor layer structure further comprises a trench shielding region (570) having the second conductivity type below the first gate trench (590) (Fig.6D).
Conclusion
/JULIA SLUTSKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891