DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on (4/26/2024), is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims (1-20) are pending and being examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 , 8-9, 11, 16-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2017504727 to Applied materials (From IDS).
JP 2017504727 to Applied materials discloses a plasma processing system comprising:
a plasma processing apparatus that includes:
a plasma processing chamber (Fig 2, 200);
a substrate support (222) disposed inside the plasma processing chamber and having a lower electrode (222);
an upper electrode assembly (204) disposed above the substrate support, and having an electrode support (204) and a replaceable upper electrode plate disposed (242) below the electrode support; and
a lifter (238) configured to move the replaceable upper electrode plate vertically between an upper position and a lower position inside the plasma processing chamber, and configured to fix the replaceable upper electrode plate to the electrode support when the replaceable upper electrode plate is in the upper position; and
a transfer device (108) that includes: a transfer chamber; and a transfer robot (108) disposed inside the transfer chamber, and configured to transfer the replaceable upper electrode plate between the lower position inside the plasma processing chamber and the transfer chamber.
Regarding claims 8-9, lifter pins 236 support the electrode plate 242 and substrate when desired.
Regarding claim 11 and 16-18, transfer module would be inherent to support and control the robot arm to move the showerhead in or out of the process chamber according to Fig 5 and 6.
Regarding claim 20 being similar to claim 1 is being rejected as discussed above in regards to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2017504727 to Applied Materials in view of Tetsuji Sato (US 20040182515).
Regarding claims 2 and 19, Applied materials discloses lifting and transfer of replaceable electrode plate but not using a cylindrical wall. It is noted however that a cylindrical means for lifting is merely an alternative and obvious means.
Matsuura et al disclose a showerhead electrode (13) supported by electrode supporting cylindrical member 19 (Fig 1).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of this application to have alternatively a cylindrical lifting as an obvious variant mechanism in the apparatus of Applied materials.
Claims 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2017504727 to Applied materials in view of Mosden (US 20050205209).
Regarding claim 10, lifter pins for an edge ring are not disclosed in Applied materials.
Mosden disclose lift pins for the edge ring to help transfer it in/out of the process chamber (Fig 1A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of this application to have lifting pin arrangement for edge ring since edge ring is used for uniformity of plasma processing and a mechanism for bringing it in the process chamber would have been advantageously.
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2017504727 to Applied materials in view of Murakami et al (JP 2015216261 from IDS).
Regarding these claims Applied materials discloses coupling of showerhead 242 to support through electrostatic means but does not disclose any further detail.
Murakami discloses coupling of electrode plate 16 electrostatically to support plate 18 through electrostatic adsorption unit 19 and heat transfer gas between plate 16 and 19. Gas supply system is disclosed at GP and exhaust at VS.
Regarding the pressure of heat transfer gas, it would be possible to adjust to a value lower than the chamber pressure since a large pressure in the gap would work against the force of electrostatic adsorption.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of this application to have pressure control of heat transfer gas for temperature control and still control the integrity of electrostatic adsorption.
Claims 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2017504727 to Applied materials in view of Murakami et al (JP 2015216261) and Kin et al (US 20180047606).
Regarding claim 15 Applied materials in view of Murakami et al do not disclose a resin sheet, a dielectric, which is frequently applied to an electrostatic chuck. Resin sheets help to prevent electrostatic chuck cracking due to thermal expansion.
Kin et al disclose resin sheet is disclosed (Fig 1, 32).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of this application to have a resin sheet to help prevent adverse effect of thermal expansion.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claim 3 would be allowable for the specific annular member extending inward from the cylindrical member to support the replaceable upper electrode plate.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Dhindsa et al (US 20030032301) discloses showerhead including electrode plate held electrostatically (Fig 3 and 4).
RAM N. KACKAR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1716
/RAM N KACKAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716