DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I and Species 1 (encompassing claims 1-8 and 15) in the reply filed on 7/13/26 is acknowledged.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted on 4/26/24, 1/20/25, and 4/1/25. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 7, it is unclear to the examiner what is meant by the limitation that the side of the groove and the side of the light-blocking layer are “in direct contact not in direct contact” with each other in the groove. The first limitation that the groove and the side of the light-blocking layer are in direct contact would seemingly contradict the later limitation that they are not in direct contact. For the purposes of examination, the examiner interprets claim 7 as “the side of the groove and the side of the light-blocking layer are in direct contact or not in direct contact with each other in the groove.” However, appropriate correction and/or clarification is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim (U.S. 2024/0130206 A1).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a display device comprising:
A substrate (SUB, Fig. 16) ([0061]);
A light emitting element layer (EL, Fig. 16) disposed on the substrate, the light emitting element layer comprising a plurality of light emitting elements configured to emit light ([0064]);
A light control layer (RCL, Fig. 16) disposed on the light emitting element layer, the light control layer comprising a light-transmitting layer (CF1-3, Fig. 16) configured to transmit the light and a light-blocking layer (BM2, Fig. 16) configured to block the light ([0061], [0115]);
A first layer (ENC, TCL, Fig. 16) comprising at least one of a thin film encapsulation layer or a touch sensor layer, wherein the first layer is disposed between the light emitting element layer (EL, Fig. 16) and the light control layer (RCL, Fig. 16) ([0065]-[0066]); and
A groove (OP1, Fig. 16) passing through at least a portion of the first layer, wherein the light-blocking layer is disposed on the groove ([0155]).
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses a width of the groove (OP1, Fig. 16) is greater than a width of the light-blocking layer (BM2, Fig. 16).
Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses at least a portion of the light-transmitting layer (CF1-3, Fig. 16) is disposed in the groove (OP1, Fig. 16).
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses the light-transmitting layer is disposed between a side of the groove (OP1, Fig. 16) and a side of the light-blocking layer (BM2, Fig. 16) in the groove.
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses the side of the groove (OP1, Fig. 16) and the side of the light-blocking layer (BM2, Fig. 16) are in direct contact or not in direct contact with each other in the groove (OP1, Fig. 16).
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (U.S. 2023/0255093 A1; “Kim 2”).
Regarding claim 1, Kim 2 discloses a display device comprising:
A substrate (BS, Fig. 2B);
A light emitting element layer (LED, Fig. 2B) disposed on the substrate, the light emitting element layer comprising a plurality of light emitting elements configured to emit light;
A light control layer (CCL, Fig. 2B) disposed on the light emitting element layer, the light control layer comprising a light-transmitting layer (CCP-B, Fig. 2B) configured to transmit the light and a light-blocking layer (BMP, Fig. 2B) configured to block the light;
A first layer (TFE, FML, Fig. 2B) comprising at least one of a thin film encapsulation layer or a touch sensor layer, wherein the first layer is disposed between the light emitting element (LED, Fig. 2B) layer and the light control layer (CCL, Fig. 2B); and
A groove (step in FML, Fig. 2B) passing through at least a portion of the first layer (TFE, FML, Fig. 2B), wherein the light-blocking layer (BMP, Fig. 2B) is disposed on the groove.
Regarding claim 2, Kim 2 discloses the light-blocking layer (BMP, Fig. 2B) overlaps the groove (step in FML, Fig. 2B).
Regarding claim 3, Kim 2 discloses at least a portion of the light-blocking layer (BMP, Fig. 2B) is disposed in the groove (step in FML, Fig. 2B).
Claim(s) 1 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jung et al. (U.S. 2020/0234186 A1; “Jung”).
Regarding claim 1, Jung discloses a display device comprising:
A substrate (SUB, Fig. 9A);
A light emitting element layer (CFY, Fig. 9A) disposed on the substrate, the light emitting element layer comprising a plurality of light emitting elements configured to emit light;
A light control layer (BY and CFY, Fig. 9A) disposed on the light emitting element layer, the light control layer comprising a light-transmitting layer (CFY, Fig. 9) configured to transmit the light and a light-blocking layer (BY, Fig. 9A) configured to block the light;
A first layer (ECL and IS, Fig. 9A) comprising at least one of a thin film encapsulation layer or a touch sensor layer, wherein the first layer is disposed between the light emitting element (CFY, Fig. 9A) layer and the light control layer (BY and CFY, Fig. 9A); and
A groove (opening in IS-IL2) passing through at least a portion of the first layer (ECL and IS, Fig. 9A), wherein the light-blocking layer (BY, Fig. 9A) is disposed on the groove.
Regarding claim 8, Jung discloses the touch sensor layer comprises at least one touch electrode (SP2, Fig. 9A), and the groove does not overlap the touch electrode (SP2, Fig. 9A).
Claim(s) 1 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jung et al. (U.S. 2021/0217831 A1; “Jung 2”).
Regarding claim 1, Jung 2 discloses a display device comprising:
A substrate (SUB, Fig. 6);
A light emitting element layer (EL1, EL2, Fig. 6) disposed on the substrate, the light emitting element layer comprising a plurality of light emitting elements configured to emit light;
A light control layer (LS, TM, Fig. 6) disposed on the light emitting element layer, the light control layer comprising a light-transmitting layer (TM, Fig. 6) configured to transmit the light and a light-blocking layer (LS, Fig. 6) configured to block the light;
A first layer (TFE, LTF, Fig. 6) comprising at least one of a thin film encapsulation layer or a touch sensor layer, wherein the first layer is disposed between the light emitting element (EL1, EL2, Fig. 6) layer and the light control layer (LS, TM, Fig. 6); and
A groove (hole within LTF containing LS, Fig. 6) passing through at least a portion of the first layer (TFE, LTF, Fig. 6), wherein the light-blocking layer is disposed on the groove.
Regarding claim 15, Jung 2 discloses a bottom surface of the groove (hole within LTF containing LS, Fig. 6) overlaps the thin film encapsulation layer (TFE, Fig. 6).
Conclusion
/REEMA PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812