DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on April 26, 2024 and September 25, 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 and 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Asam US2019/0056448.
Regarding independent claim 1, Asam teaches a method (Abstract), comprising:
closing a reset switch (Figs. 4 and 7; switch 46) electrically coupled to a gate of a transistor (Figs. 4 and 6; gate of transistors 42) such that the gate is at a first voltage (para [0054]), wherein the transistor includes a drain, the gate, and a source (para [0029-0030]), and the source is electrically coupled to a first voltage supply (Figs. 4 and 7; Vbat is electrically coupled to the source of transistors 42);
opening the reset switch (Figs. 4 and 7; para [0054]; open switch 46);
closing a comparator switch (Figs. 4 and 7; closing switch 47 when switch 46 is opened) such that the gate is electrically coupled to a first input terminal of a voltage comparator (Figs. 4 and 7; window comparator 49), wherein a second input terminal of the voltage comparator is adapted to receive a detection voltage (Figs. 4 and 7; para [0058]); and
determining whether or not the transistor has a defect based at least in part on an output from the voltage comparator (para [0060]; various fault states may be detected based on the output of window comparator 49).
Regarding claim 2, Asam teaches the method of claim 1, and further teaches further comprising: placing the gate of the transistor in a high impedance state before closing the reset switch (para [0056]; transistors 42 are off).
Regarding claim 3, Asam teaches the method of claim 2, and further teaches wherein placing the gate of the transistor in the high impedance state comprises opening a gate access switch between a gate driver and the gate of the transistor (Fig. 7; switch 71 is opened to not charge the gate of transistors 42).
Regarding claim 4, Asam teaches the method of claim 1, and further teaches further comprising: closing a gate access switch (Fig. 7; switch 71) such that a signal from a gate driver (Fig. 7; charge pump 43) is received by the gate of the transistor to turn on the transistor.
Regarding claim 5, Asam teaches the method of claim 4, and further teaches wherein after closing the gate access switch (Fig. 7; switch 71), a voltage of the drain of the transistor is substantially the same as a voltage of the source of the transistor (Fig. 7; turning on the transistors 42 will result in the voltage at the top/drain of the transistors to be at Vbat and the voltage at the bottom/source of the transistors to see about Vbat as well).
Regarding claim 6, Asam teaches the method of claim 4, and further teaches wherein: determining whether or not the transistor has a defect results in no defect detected (para [0060]), and closing the gate access switch is performed in response to no defect being detected (Figs. 4 and 7; para [0054]; switch 71 would be closed to continue testing of transistors 42).
Regarding claim 7, Asam teaches the method of claim 6, and further teaches wherein a load or test equipment is electrically coupled to the transistor (Figs. 4 and 7; Rload 412).
Regarding claim 8, Asam teaches the method of claim 6, and further teaches wherein determining whether or not the transistor has the defect comprises: determining whether a gate voltage on the gate of the transistor reaches at least the detection voltage at or within a detection time period (Figs. 5A and 5B; para [0060]; detection time period of Δt for detection of voltage at the gate of the transistors 42).
Regarding claim 10, Asam teaches the method of claim 1, and further teaches wherein: determining whether or not the transistor has a defect results in the defect being detected (para [0060]), and keeping a gate access switch open in response to the defect being detected (Figs. 4 and 7; para [0054]; switch 71 would be open to prevent a defective transistor from operating).
Regarding independent claim 11, Asam teaches a method (Abstract), comprising:
charging a gate of a transistor (Figs. 4 and 7; para [0054]; transistors 42), wherein the transistor includes the gate and a source and a drain (para [0029-0030]);
terminating the charging of the gate of the transistor (Figs. 4 and 7; para [0054]; open switch 46);
comparing a gate voltage of the gate to a detection voltage (Figs. 4 and 7; para [0058]; window comparator 49) at or after terminating the charging of the gate of the transistor (para [0054]); and
determining whether or not the transistor has a defect based at least in part on comparing the gate voltage of the gate to the detection voltage (para [0060]; various fault states may be detected based on the output of window comparator 49).
Regarding claim 12, Asam teaches the method of claim 11, and further teaches wherein determining whether or not the transistor has the defect comprises determining whether the gate voltage on the gate of the transistor reaches at least the detection voltage at or within a detection time period (Figs. 4, 5A and 5B; para [0060]).
Regarding claim 13, Asam teaches the method of claim 12, and further teaches further comprising: placing the source of the transistor at a source voltage, wherein when terminating the charging of the gate of the transistor, the detection voltage is between the source voltage and the gate voltage (Figs. 4, 5A and 5B; para [0058]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asam.
Regarding claim 9, Asam teaches the method of claim 8, but fails to teach wherein determining whether or not the transistor has the defect is performed such that the detection time period is at most 0.9 s.
However, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as described by Asam to have wherein determining whether or not the transistor has the defect is performed such that the detection time period is at most 0.9 s. Asam teaches that a time duration is used with a voltage between two voltage thresholds to determine if fault states are detected (see paragraph [0060]). The time duration is not explicitly stated, but the time duration varies based on how many transistors are faulting and in the case of if both transistors are faulting then the time duration will be very small (see paragraph [0060]). Thus, one skilled in the art would be able to have the time duration to determine a fault in the transistors to be at most 0.9 seconds for the purpose of quickly determining if the transistor(s) are faulty to then replace them before any potential damage occurs to the components associated with the transistor(s).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-20 are indicated as allowable subject matter.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding independent claim 14, the prior arts of record taken alone or in combination fail to teach or suggest:
“wherein: when the transistor is a p-channel transistor: a defect is detected when the gate voltage is at least the detection voltage at an end of or within the detection time period, and no defect is detected when the gate voltage is less than the detection voltage at or after the end of the detection time period, and when the transistor is an n-channel transistor: a defect is detected when the gate voltage is at most the detection voltage at an end of or within the detection time period, and no defect is detected when the gate voltage is greater than the detection voltage at or after the end of the detection time period,” when used in combination with all other limitations of claim 14.
Claims 15-20 are indicated as allowable subject matter for depending on claim 14.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee et al. discloses “Circuit and method to detect defects in a power switching device” (see US2021/0318375)
Horvath et al. discloses “Power transistor detection with self-protection” (see US2021/0099165)
Sievers et al. discloses “Device including power transistor and overcurrent detection logic and method for operating a power transistor” (see US2022/0224323)
/DAVID B FREDERIKSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/HUY Q PHAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858