Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 6 of Remarks, filed 12-1-2025, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 104 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Mann (US20120147347A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-12, 14-16, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US20120008123) in view of Harada (JP2013019793A) and Mann (US20120147347A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches an optical system for a metrology system for measuring an object (abstract),
- comprising an object holder for holding the object in an object plane (35, Fig. 2),
- comprising a transmissive optical focusing component (30, Fig. 1), which is arranged in the beam path of illumination light between a light source (10, Fig. 1) of the metrology system and an object field in the object plane (Lee does not explicitly disclose an object field or object plane, however it is inherent to the system), for generating an illumination focus (45, Fig. 2 discloses the focus point) in the beam path of the illumination light downstream of the transmissive optical focusing component,
- comprising a detection device for detecting the illumination light in the beam path downstream of the object field (50, Fig. 2).
Lee fails to teach
- wherein the transmissive optical focusing component has a focal length which is smaller than 5 mm,
- comprising an imaging optical unit for imaging the illumination focus generated by the transmissive optical focusing component into a further illumination focus in the region of the object field.
However, in the same field of endeavor of optical metrology systems, Harada teaches a transmissive optical focusing component (zone plate - 10d, Fig. 10) which has a focal length of less than 5 mm (paragraph [0027] discloses the focal length is 1mm; paragraph [0024] discloses the focal length can also change based on wavelength of the light used).
Lee discloses the use of a light source with a wavelength of 13.5 nm (paragraph [0016]). Harada discloses a focal length of 1mm is used for a wavelength of 13.5 nm (paragraph [0027]). Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to use the focal length taught in Harada in order to ensure the focal length matched the wavelength used.
Lee as modified by Harada fails to teach an imaging optical unit for imaging the illumination focus generated by the transmissive optical focusing component into a further illumination focus in the region of the object field.
However, in the same field of endeavor of imaging optical systems, Mann teaches a device with an imaging optical unit (the combination of optical systems 8 and 10, Fig. 1) which images a first focus (5, Fig. 1) into a further illumination focus in the region of the object field (11, Fig. 1).
Mann discloses this optical unit configuration improves error specification values (paragraphs [0005] and [0006]). Thus, it would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the optical system of Lee as modified by Harada with the imaging optical unit taught in Mann to improve error specification values.
Regarding claim 2, Lee in view of Harada and Mann teaches the invention as explained above in claim 1, and further teaches the transmissive optical focusing component is designed as a zone plate (Lee: paragraph [0018]).
Regarding claim 4, Lee in view of Harada and Mann teaches the invention as explained above in claim 1, and further the imaging optical unit is designed as a mirror optical unit (Mann: paragraph [0061]).
As discussed above in claim 1, it would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the optical system of Lee as modified by Harada and Mann with the mirror optical unit taught in Mann to improve error specification values.
Regarding claim 5, Lee in view of Harada and Mann teaches the invention as explained above in claim 1, and further teaches the imaging optical unit has at least one mirror (Mann: optical systems 10 and 8 have five mirrors: 6, 7, 16, 16, and 17, Fig. 1).
As discussed above in claim 1, it would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the optical system of Lee as modified by Harada and Mann with the at least one mirror taught in Mann to improve error specification values.
Regarding claim 6, Lee in view of Harada and Mann teaches the invention as explained above in claim 5, and further teaches the imaging optical unit has at least one folding mirror (Harada: 10c, Fig. 10; paragraph [0025]).
Harada discloses the imaging optical unit allows the setup to be used regardless of the wavelength of the light source (paragraph [0040]), therefore simplifying the setup. Thus, it would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the system taught in Lee with the alternative embodiment with an imaging optical unit with at least one folding mirror taught in Harada as this allows a fixed setup regardless of the wavelength of the light source, simplifying the device.
Regarding claim 7, Lee in view of Harada and Mann teaches the invention as explained above in claim 5, and further teaches the imaging optical unit has at least one aspherical mirror (Mann: 15, 16, and 17 in Fig. 1 are EUV mirrors, which are aspherical).
EUV mirrors are well-known in the art for their high reflectance, which allows for precise imaging (see supplemental material titled “Extreme Ultraviolet (EUV) flat Mirrors” from Edmund Optics). Thus, a person having ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to combine the device of Lee as modified by Harada and Mann with the aspherical mirror taught in Mann as it enables precise imaging.
Regarding claim 8, Lee in view of Harada and Mann teaches the invention as explained above in claim 1, and further teaches a chief ray angle of the illumination light incident in the object field is smaller than 6o (Lee: paragraph [0018] discloses the chief ray angle may be less than 8o).
Regarding claim 10, Lee in view of Harada and Mann teaches the optical system as explained above in claim 1, and further teaches a light source for generating illumination light (Lee: 10, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 11, Lee in view of Harada and Mann teaches the invention as explained above in claim 10, and further teaches the light source is an EUV light source (Lee: 10, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 12, Lee in view of Harada and Mann teaches the invention as explained above in claim 11, and further teaches the transmissive optical focusing component is designed as a zone plate (Lee: paragraph [0018]).
Regarding claim 14, Lee in view of Harada and Mann teaches the invention as explained above in claim 11, and further teaches the imaging optical unit is designed as a mirror optical unit (Mann: paragraph [0061]).
As discussed above in claim 1, it would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the optical system of Lee as modified by Harada and Mann with the mirror optical unit taught in Mann to improve error specification values.
Regarding claim 15, Lee in view of Harada and Mann teaches the invention as explained above in claim 11, and further teaches the imaging optical unit has at least one mirror (Mann: optical systems 10 and 8 have five mirrors: 6, 7, 16, 16, and 17, Fig. 1).
As discussed above in claim 1, it would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the optical system of Lee as modified by Harada and Mann with the at least one mirror taught in Mann to improve error specification values.
Regarding claim 16, Lee in view of Harada and Mann teaches the invention as explained above in claim 15, , and further teaches the imaging optical unit has at least one folding mirror (Harada: 10c, Fig. 10; paragraph [0025]).
As discussed above, it would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the system taught in Lee with the small focal length taught in Harada in order to achieve the needed aperture size for the wavelength of the light used.
Regarding claim 18, Lee in view of Harada and Mann teaches the invention as explained above in claim 11, and further teaches a chief ray angle of the illumination light incident in the object field is smaller than 6o (Lee: paragraph [0018] discloses the chief ray angle may be less than 8o).
Regarding claim 19, Lee in view of Harada and Mann teaches the invention as explained above in claim 11, and further teaches an actuator for displacing the object holder perpendicular to the object plane (Harada: paragraph [0036] discloses the object holder can move up and down. The examiner is interpreting this to be perpendicular to the object plane).
Harada discloses the movement of the object holder allows for the amount of light collected on the object to be changed (paragraph [0036]), which can optimize the SNR or increase detection sensitivity. Thus, it would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the system taught in Lee with the moving object holder taught in Harada to control the amount of light to be collected on the object.
Regarding claim 20, Lee in view of Harada teaches the invention as explained above in claim 2, and further teaches the imaging optical unit is designed as a mirror optical unit (Mann: paragraph [0061]).
As discussed above in claim 1, it would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the optical system of Lee as modified by Harada and Mann with the mirror optical unit taught in Mann to improve error specification values.
Claim 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US20120008123) in view of Harada (JP2013019793A) and Mann (US20120147347A1) as applied to claims 2 and 12 above, and further in view of Vila-Comamala (Vila-Comamala, J., Pan, Y., Lombardo, J. J., Harris, W. M., Chiu, W. K., David, C., & Wang, Y. (2012). Zone-doubled Fresnel zone plates for high-resolution hard X-ray full-field transmission microscopy. Journal of synchrotron radiation, 19(Pt 5), 705–709. https://doi.org/10.1107/S0909049512029640).
Regarding claim 3, Lee in view of Harada and Mann teaches the invention as explained above in claim 2, but fails to teach a working distance between the zone plate and the object field which is larger than 10 mm.
However, in the same field of endeavor of object measurement using optical systems, Vila-Comamala teaches a working distance between a zone plate and object field is larger than 10 mm (page 706, column 1, paragraph 3 discloses the working distance is between 13.5 and 16 mm).
Vila-Comamala teaches this working distance achieves better transmission efficiency than shorter working distances (page 706, column 1, paragraph 3). Thus, it would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the system taught in Lee as modified by Harada with the working distance taught in Vila-Comamala as this distance achieves better transmission efficiency.
Regarding claim 13, Lee in view of Harada and Mann teaches the invention as explained above in claim 12, but fails to teach a working distance between the zone plate and the object field which is larger than 10 mm.
However, Vila-Comamala teaches a working distance between a zone plate and object field is larger than 10 mm (page 706, column 1, paragraph 3).
As discussed above, , it would be obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the system taught in Lee as modified by Harada with the working distance taught in Vila-Comamala as this distance achieves better transmission efficiency.
Claims 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US20120008123) in view of Harada (JP2013019793A) and Mann (US20120147347A1) as evidenced by Edmund Optics (see first bullet point and first paragraph: https://www.edmundoptics.com/f/extreme-ultraviolet-euv-flat-mirrors/39087/).
Regarding claim 17, Lee in view of Harada teaches the invention as explained above in claim 15, and further teaches the imaging optical unit has at least one aspherical mirror (Mann: 15, 16, and 17 in Fig. 1 are EUV mirrors, which are aspherical).
EUV mirrors are well-known in the art for their high reflectance, which allows for precise imaging (Edmund Optics: 1st bullet point and 1st paragraph disclose EUV mirrors achieve maximum reflectance for a given wavelength and angle of incidence). Thus, a person having ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to combine the device of Lee as modified by Harada and Mann with the aspherical mirror taught in Mann as it enables precise imaging.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDRIA MENDOZA/Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/MICHELLE M IACOLETTI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877