DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-5 are pending, and have been examined herein on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Umezawa (US Pub. 2014/0318457) in view of Nishimura (JP-H06333861-A, using the attached machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Umezawa teaches a substrate processing apparatus (Fig. 1, film forming apparatus #100), comprising: a processing container (Fig. 1, processing chamber #103) capable of accommodating a substrate holder configured to hold substrates (Fig. 1, boat #115 comprising substrates #1); a pipe extending in a horizontal direction from a side wall of the processing container (Fig. 1, any of the guide pipes #125); and a heating mechanism provided around the processing container (Fig. 1, heating device #113), the first heating mechanism has a first insertion hole through which the pipe is inserted (see Fig. 1).
Umezawa does not teach wherein the heating mechanism includes a first heating mechanism configured to cover a first region of the side wall of the processing container, and a second heating mechanism configured to cover a second region of the side wall of the processing container excluding the first region, and the first heating mechanism is movable in the horizontal direction.
However, Nishimura teaches this limitation (Nishimura – [0012] and Fig. 1, heater #2 divided into two parts which conform to the furnace tube #1).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify the Umezawa apparatus to comprise a multi-piece movable heating assembly according to Nishimura in order to uniformly heat both the upper and lower substrates on the substrate holder (Nishimura – [0004]-[0006]).
Regarding the limitation: “between a position where the pipe passes through the first insertion hole and a position where the pipe does not pass through the first insertion hole”, this limitation is construed as an intended use of the claimed apparatus.
The Examiner notes this limitation is met by the capability of the combination of references as proposed herein – if the Umezawa apparatus were to comprise the movable heater assembly of Nishimura.
Regarding claim 2, Umezawa does not teach the added limitations of the claim.
However, Nishimura teaches wherein the heating mechanism includes a guide mechanism configured to guide movement of the first heating mechanism (Nishimura – [0012]: driving and guiding means not shown).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify the Umezawa apparatus to comprise a multi-piece movable heating assembly according to Nishimura in order to uniformly heat both the upper and lower substrates on the substrate holder (Nishimura – [0004]-[0006]).
Regarding claim 3, Umezawa teaches wherein the pipe is a supply pipe configured to supply a gas into the processing container ([0048] and Fig. 1, pipes #125 connected to process gas supply mechanism #130).
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Umezawa (US Pub. 2014/0318457) and Nishimura (JP-H06333861-A, using the attached machine translation), as applied to claims 1-3 above, further in view of Okada (US Patent 9,613,838).
The limitations of claims 1-3 are set forth above.
Regarding claim 4, Umezawa teaches an exhaust pipe extending in the horizontal direction from the side wall of the processing container and configured to exhaust the gas in the processing container (Fig. 1, exhaust pipe #110).
Umezawa does not teach the second heating mechanism, and the second heating mechanism is movable in the horizontal direction.
However, Nishimura teaches this limitation (Nishimura – [0012] and Fig. 1, heater #2 divided into two parts which conform to the furnace tube #1).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify the Umezawa apparatus to comprise a multi-piece movable heating assembly according to Nishimura in order to uniformly heat both the upper and lower substrates on the substrate holder (Nishimura – [0004]-[0006]).
Modified Umezawa does not teach wherein the exhaust pipe is provided in the second region, nor wherein the second heating mechanism has a second insertion hole through which the exhaust pipe is inserted.
However, Okada teaches this limitation (Okada – Fig. 12A: exhaust pipes #43a-d extend through to processing chamber #1).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify the exhaust pipe of modified Umezawa to comprise the multi-tube exhaust assembly of Okada in order to independently control exhaust flow in various process regions (Okada – C7, L23-43) and/or to eliminate differences in processing due to exhaust path lengths (Okada – C17, L46-52) in an effort to enhance in-plane substrate processing uniformity (Okada – C17, L53-55).
Regarding the limitation: “between a position where the exhaust pipe passes through the second insertion hole and a position where the exhaust pipe does not pass through the second insertion hole”, this limitation is construed as an intended use of the claimed apparatus.
The Examiner notes this limitation is met by the capability of the combination of references as proposed herein – if the Umezawa/Okada combined apparatus were to comprise the movable heater assembly of Nishimura.
Regarding claim 5, modified Umezawa does not teach the added limitations of the claim.
However, Okada teaches wherein the pipe is an exhaust pipe configured to exhaust a gas in the processing container (Okada – Fig. 12A: exhaust pipes #43a-d extend through to processing chamber #1).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify the exhaust pipe of modified Umezawa to comprise the multi-tube exhaust assembly of Okada in order to independently control exhaust flow in various process regions (Okada – C7, L23-43) and/or to eliminate differences in processing due to exhaust path lengths (Okada – C17, L46-52) in an effort to enhance in-plane substrate processing uniformity (Okada – C17, L53-55).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kawase (US Patent 5,232,506) teaches a multi-stage process furnace with closable dividers (Figs. 1A-E). Nishimura (JP-H06349752) teaches a similar movable heater structure (Fig. 1). Ide (US Patent 6,316,748) teaches a heater with movable doors (Fig. 6).
/Kurt Sweely/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718