DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the user interface [claims 3 & 8], an apparatus [claim 3], gaming console [claim 4], power tool [claim 4] must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it is not within the range of 50 to 150 words in length as stated above. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted structural cooperative relationships are: there is no structural relationship between “a trigger mechanism”, “a user interface” and “an apparatus” with any elements in claim 1. Since claim 4 depends from claim 3, it also rejected for the reason above.
Claims 3-4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
a)Regarding claim 3, the claim states: “…movement of a trigger mechanism forming part of a user interface for an apparatus is directly related to the movement of the said interfering member.” It is not clear from the claim how the movement of the trigger mechanism relate to the movement of the interfering member. It is not clear if the trigger mechanism is connected to the interfering member or connected to parts or whole of a coil inductor in claim 1. Since claim 4 depends from claim 3, it also rejected for the reason above.
For examination purposes, the examiner is not given patentable weight at this time to the above limitation until further explanation is provided by the applicant.
b)Regarding claim 8, the claim states: “…linking the interfering member movement to a trigger mechanism that forms a part of a user interface.” It is not clear from the claim how the movement of the trigger mechanism relate to the movement of the interfering member. It is not clear if the trigger mechanism is connected to the interfering member or connected to parts or whole of a coil inductor in claim 6.
For examination purposes, the examiner is not given patentable weight at this time to the above limitation until further explanation is provided by the applicant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-7 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Won et al [KR 20160109121 A].
Regarding claim 1, Won et al disclose [see Fig. 1 above] an inductive based system for measuring movement, comprising measurement of the inductance of a coil inductor (combination of coils 11 and 21) formed as two parts (coils 11 and 21) with a gap [shown but not numbered] between the two coil parts (11 and 21), wherein the inductance of the inductor coil (11 and 21) is changed by a magnetic flux interfering member (shield/blocking plate 70) moving through the gap between the two parts of the inductor coil (11 and 21), and wherein the change in measured inductance is related to the movement of the said interfering member (70). However, the prior art does not explicitly teach the magnetic flux interfering member moving perpendicularly through the gap between the two parts of the inductor coil as claimed. It is a design choice to have interfering member to move perpendicularly or parallel in a gap between coil parts where the member is functional or mechanical equivalents know for the same purpose. [See MPEP 2144.06 In re Ruff, 256 F.2d 590, 118 USPQ 340 (CCPA 1958)]. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have interfering member to move perpendicularly or parallel since in either direction have the same purpose of varying the inductance (magnetic field) of the two parts of the coil inductor during movement of the interfering member wherein the inductance of one part is not affected by the inductance of the second part during use.
Regarding claim 2, Won et al disclose wherein the said interfering member (70) is shaped to influence the travel distance over which the interfering member (70) will cause a continuous change in the inductance.
Regarding claim 5, Won et al disclose the inductor coil (11 and 21) and interfering member (70). However, the prior art does not disclose another similar inductor coil as claimed. It is a design choice to have more than one inductor coil where needed by a user [see MPEP 2144.04 In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960)]. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have more than one inductor coil since it was held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.
Regarding claim 6, Won et al disclose a method of using inductive measurements to measure displacement of an object (coupler 18) including the steps of providing an inductor coil (combination of coils 11 and 21) with a gap [shown but not numbered] in a length of the coil (11 and 21) and moving a magnetic flux interfering member (shield/blocking plate 70) to the length of the coil and into the said gap in the inductor coil (11 and 21), and wherein the displacement to be measured [via coupler 18] is related to the movement of the interfering member (70) and therefore to the change in inductance caused by the said interfering member (70) movement. However, the prior art does not explicitly teach the magnetic flux interfering member moving perpendicularly through the gap between the two parts of the inductor coil as claimed. It is a design choice to have interfering member to move perpendicularly or parallel in a gap between coil parts where the member is functional or mechanical equivalents know for the same purpose. [See MPEP 2144.06 In re Ruff, 256 F.2d 590, 118 USPQ 340 (CCPA 1958)]. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have interfering member to move perpendicularly or parallel since in either direction have the same purpose of varying the inductance (magnetic field) of the two parts of the coil inductor during movement of the interfering member wherein the inductance of one part is not affected by the inductance of the second part during use.
Regarding claim 7, Won et al disclose the step of shaping the interfering member (70) in a way to gradually change the inductance over a longer movement distance.
Regarding claim 9, Won et al disclose the inductor coil (11 and 21) and interfering member (70). However, the prior art does not disclose another similar inductor coil as claimed. It is a design choice to have more than one inductor coil where needed by a user [see MPEP 2144.04 In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960)]. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have more than one inductor coil since it was held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.
Regarding claim 10, Won et al disclose the inductor coil (11 and 21) and interfering member (70); wherein using the measured inductances from the inductor coil (11 and 21) to provide differential measurement information and of using the differential measurement information to improve accuracy of said measurement of displacement[via coupler 18], and to improve signal strength and noise immunity [see translation pg. 7 for details].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 for details.
/JERMELE M HOLLINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858