DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 6, filed 07/15/2026, with respect to claims 4-7 and 13-16 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 4-7 and 13-16 under U.S.C. 112 has been withdrawn. The previous rejections of claims 1-3, 8-12 and 17-18 under U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made, Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-3, 8-12 and 17-22 do not apply to how the reference is being used in the current rejection.
Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8-9 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Jordan et al. Automated design of pulse sequences for magnetic resonance fingerprinting using physics-inspired optimization, PNAS 2021 Vol. 118 No. 40 e2020516118, pages 1-8 (hereinafter referred to as Jordan)
Regarding claim 1, Jordan discloses a method for generating magnetic resonance (MR) images using a magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) system (abs.), the method comprising: determining an optimized set of sequence parameters (T1 and T2 relaxation rates, Methods, MRF Pulse Sequences, pg. 2-3 ) for a pulse sequence (MRF pulse sequences, pg. 1) using an optimization framework systematic error index (SEI) (fig. 1, physics-inspired optimization (simulated annealing and substochastic Monte Carlo), Cost function-Optimization Algorithms, pg. 4-5), configured to characterize errors (fig. 2, Robustness Against Systematic Error, pg. 6); performing, using the MRI system, the pulse sequence comprising the optimized set of sequence parameters to acquire data from a subject; and generating at least one image of the subject using the acquired data (fig. 2, Cost Function ,In Vivo Experiments, Optimized Pulse Sequences, pg. 5-6).
Regarding claim 8, Jordan discloses the method according to claim 1, Jordan discloses wherein the optimized sequence parameters comprise one or more of flip angle, repetition time (optimization algorithms to choose the flip angle and repetition time, pg. 1, Intro.), inversion time for T1 preparation, echo time for T2 preparation, b-value for diffusion preparation, or RF phase.
Regarding claim 9, Jordan discloses the method according to claim 1, Jordan discloses wherein the optimization framework further comprises at least one constraint for at least one of the optimized sequence parameters (the TR duration to the range, pg. 3, MRF Pulse Sequences).
Regarding claim 19, Jordan discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the SEI (fig. 1, physics-inspired optimization (simulated annealing and substochastic Monte Carlo), Cost function-Optimization Algorithms, pg. 4-5), is further configured to characterize systematic errors arising from undersampling (Discussion, pg. 6-7).
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jordan as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Boyacioglu et al. 3D magnetic resonance fingerprinting with quadratic RF phase, Magn. Reson Med. 2021; pages. 2084-2094 (hereinafter referred to as Boyacioglu).
Regarding claim 2, Jordan discloses the method according to claim 1, Jordan does not disclose wherein the pulse sequence is a multi-dimensional pulse sequence.
Boyacioglu discloses wherein the pulse sequence is a multi-dimensional pulse sequence (3D qRF-MRF sequence, Intro., pg. 2085).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to MRF with quadratic RF phase was implemented in 3D with a design of sequence parameters simultaneously sensitive to all), as taught in Boyacioglu in modifying the method of Jordan. The motivation would be the complexity of large data and dictionary sizes was circumvented with rSVD-based compression and quadratic interpolation (see abs.).
Regarding claim 3, Jordan discloses the method according to claim 1, Jordan does not wherein the pulse sequence is one of a MRF pulse sequence, a multi-dimensional (mdMRF) pulse sequence and a MRF with quadratic RF phase (qRF-MRF) pulse sequence.
Boyacioglu discloses wherein the pulse sequence is one of a MRF pulse sequence, a multi-dimensional (mdMRF) pulse sequence and a MRF with quadratic RF phase (qRF-MRF) pulse sequence (3D qRF-MRF sequence, Intro., pg. 2085).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 3.
Claim(s) 10, 17-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jordan in view of Cohen US 2017/0139025 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Cohen’25).
Regarding claim 10, Jordan discloses a magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) system (abs. not shown),
Jordan does not disclose optimization framework comprising a systematic error index (SEI); a magnet system configured to generate a polarizing magnetic field about a portion of a subject positioned; a magnetic gradient system including a plurality of magnetic gradient coils configured to apply at least one magnetic gradient field to the polarizing magnetic field; a radio frequency (RF) system configured to apply an RF excitation field to the subject, and to receive magnetic resonance signals from the subject sing a coil array; and at least one processor;
Cohen’25 disclose comprising: a magnet system (fig. 3, elm. 300, par. [0044]) configured to generate a polarizing magnetic field (fig. 3, elm. 326, par. [0045]) about a portion of a subject (fig. 1, clm. 1) positioned; a magnetic gradient system (fig. 3, elm. 318, par. [0045]) including a plurality of magnetic gradient coils (fig. 3, elm. 322, par. [0045]) configured to apply at least one magnetic gradient field to the polarizing magnetic field; a radio frequency (RF) system (fig. 3, elm. 320, par. [0045]) configured to apply an RF excitation field to the subject (par. [0045]), and to receive magnetic resonance signals from the subject sing a coil array (par. [0046]); and at least one processor (fig. 3, elm. 308 par. [0044]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide systems and methods for acquiring MRF data includes performing a schedule optimization that sequentially selects discrimination at each trajectory to yield an optimal trajectory and controlling a MRI system to perform a pulse sequence using the optimal trajectory to acquire MRF data, as taught in Cohen’25 in modifying the method of Jordan. The motivation would be to maximizing the discrimination at each trajectory step sequentially or deterministically (see Cohen’ 25: par. [0009]- [0010]).
Jordan discloses determine an optimized set of sequence parameters (T1 and T2 relaxation rates, Methods, MRF Pulse Sequences, pg. 2-3) for the pulse sequence (MRF pulse sequences, pg. 1) using an optimization framework systematic error index (SEI) (fig. 1, physics-inspired optimization (simulated annealing and substochastic Monte Carlo), Cost function-Optimization Algorithms, pg. 4-5) configured to characterize errors (fig. 2, Robustness Against Systematic Error, pg. 6); direct the plurality of magnetic gradient coils and the RF system to perform the pulse sequence comprising the optimized set of sequence parameters to acquire data from a subject; and generate at least one image of the subject using the acquired data (fig. 2, In Vivo Experiments, Optimized Pulse Sequences, pg. 5-6).
Regarding claim 17, Jordan and Cohen’25 discloses the system according to claim 10, Jordan discloses wherein the optimized sequence parameters comprise one or more of flip angle, repetition time (optimization algorithms to choose the flip angle and repetition time, pg. 1, Intro.), inversion time for T1 preparation, echo time for T2 preparation, b-value for diffusion preparation, or RF phase.
Regarding claim 18, Jordan and Cohen’25 discloses the system according to claim 10, Jordan discloses the wherein the optimization framework further comprises at least one constraint for at least one of the optimized sequence parameters (the TR duration to the range, pg. 3, MRF Pulse Sequences).
Regarding claim 20, Jordan and Cohen’25 discloses the system according to claim 10, wherein the SEI (fig. 1, physics-inspired optimization (simulated annealing and substochastic Monte Carlo), Cost function-Optimization Algorithms, pg. 4-5), is further configured to characterize systematic errors arising from undersampling (Discussion, pg. 6-7).
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jordan in view of Cohen’25 as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Boyacioglu.
Regarding claim 11, Jordan and Cohen’25 discloses the system according to claim 10, Jordan and Cohen’25 do not disclose wherein the pulse sequence is a multi-dimensional pulse sequence.
Boyacioglu discloses wherein the pulse sequence is a multi-dimensional pulse sequence (3D qRF-MRF sequence, Intro., pg. 2085).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to (MRF with quadratic RF phase was implemented in 3D with a design of sequence parameters simultaneously sensitive to all), as taught in Boyacioglu in modifying the apparatus of Jordan and Cohen’25. The motivation would be the complexity of large data and dictionary sizes was circumvented with rSVD-based compression and quadratic interpolation. (see Boyacioglu: abs.).
Regarding claim 12, Jordan and Cohen’25 discloses the system according to claim 10, Jordan and Cohen’25 do not disclose wherein the pulse sequence is one of a MRF pulse sequence, a multi-dimensional (mdMRF) pulse sequence and a MRF with quadratic RF phase (qRF-MRF) pulse sequence.
Boyacioglu discloses wherein the pulse sequence is one of a MRF pulse sequence, a multi-dimensional (mdMRF) pulse sequence and a MRF with quadratic RF phase (qRF-MRF) pulse sequence (3D qRF-MRF sequence, Intro., pg. 2085).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 11.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7 and 13-16 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/COURTNEY G MCDONNOUGH/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/FARHANA A HOQUE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858