DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 11, 16, and 21 objected to because of the following informalities:
Article “a” before “intermediate layer” is incorrect.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10, 16-21, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (U.S. 2023/0189572 A1, hereinafter refer to Lee) in view of Katayama et al. (U,S, 2025/0017050 A1, hereinafter refer to Katayama).
Regarding Claim 1: Lee discloses a display device (see Lee, Figs.4 and 6 as shown below and ¶ [0002]) comprising:
a substrate (110) (see Lee, Figs.4 and 6 as shown above);
a driver element layer (GI/ILD/DT) disposed on the substrate (101) (see Lee, Figs.4 and 6 as shown above);
a line layer (PASS/PL) disposed on the driver element layer (GI/ILD/DT) and comprising a first inorganic layer (PASS) and a second organic layer (PL) disposed on the first inorganic layer (PASS) (see Lee, Figs.4 and 6 as shown above and ¶ [0079]); and
a light-emitting element layer (OLE) disposed on the line layer (PASS/PL) and comprising a plurality of first electrodes (ANO), a intermediate layer (EL), and a second electrode (CAT) sequentially stacked on one another (see Lee, Figs.4 and 6 as shown above),
wherein the line layer (PASS/PL) comprises a trench (CON) between the first electrodes (ANO), the trench (CON) being free of the first inorganic layer (PASS) and the second organic layer (PL), wherein the second organic layer (PL) comprises an undercut area under the first inorganic layer (PASS) in the trench (CON), wherein a first portion of the intermediate layer (DEL) and a second portion of the second electrode (CAT) are disposed in the trench (CON) (see Lee, Figs.4 and 6 as shown above), and
wherein the first portion of the intermediate layer (DEL) is disconnected from a third portion of the intermediate layer (EL) disposed on the first electrodes (ANO), and the second portion of the second electrode (CAT) is connected to a fourth portion of the second electrode (CAT) that overlap the first electrodes (ANO) (see Lee, Figs.4 and 6 as shown above).
Lee is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein a line layer disposed on the driver element layer and comprising a first inorganic layer and a second inorganic layer disposed on the first inorganic layer.
For support see Katayama, which teaches wherein a line layer (104/105) disposed on the driver element layer (255/transistors) and comprising a first inorganic layer (104) and a second inorganic layer (105) disposed on the first inorganic layer (104) (see Katayama, Figs.5-6 and 14 as shown below, ¶ [0020], ¶ [0109], ¶ [0139],and ¶ [0237]).
Lee discloses the claimed invention except for the material of the second layer. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee and Katayama to enable the Lee’s line layer to be formed from inorganic material layers as taught by Katayama in order to obtain protect the driver element layer and obtain a display device in which crosstalk is inhibited, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the base of its suitability, for its intended use involves only ordinary skill in the art. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding Claim 2: Lee as modified teaches a display device as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of Lee and Katayama further teaches wherein the trench comprises: a first hole in which the first inorganic layer (104) is removed with a first width (see Katayama, Figs.5-6 and 14 as shown above); and
a second hole in which the second inorganic layer (105) is removed with a second width greater than the first width, that second hole including the undercut area that extends beyond the sidewall of the first hole (see Katayama, Figs.5-6 and 14 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 3: Lee as modified teaches a display device as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of Lee and Katayama further teaches wherein at least some of conductive layers of the intermediate layer (EL, such as e.g., a hole-injection layer, a hole-transport layer, a light-emitting layer, an electron-transport layer, and an electron-injection layer) are disconnected by the trench (see Lee, Figs.4 and 6 as shown above and ¶ [0090] or see Katayama, Figs.5-6 and 14 as shown above and ¶ [0231]).
Regarding Claim 4: Lee as modified teaches a display device as set forth in claim 3 as above. The combination of Lee and Katayama further teaches wherein the second electrode (CAT) is continuously disposed across the trench (see Lee, Figs.4 and 6 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 5: Lee as modified teaches a display device as set forth in claim 3 as above. The combination of Lee and Katayama further teaches wherein the at least some conductive layer (EL, such as e.g., a hole-injection layer, a hole-transport layer, a light-emitting layer, an electron-transport layer, and an electron-injection layer) comprise at least one layer of: a hole injection layer (HIL), a hole transport layer (HTL), an electron transport layer (ETL), a charge generation layer (CGL), and a p-doped layer (PHIL) (see Lee, Figs.4 and 6 as shown above and ¶ [0090] or see Katayama, Figs.5-6 and 14 as shown above and ¶ [0231]).
Regarding Claim 6: Lee as modified teaches a display device as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of Lee and Katayama further teaches wherein the line layer (PASS/PL) comprises an auxiliary line (LL) disposed in line with the trench (CON), and wherein the auxiliary line (LL) is electrically connected to the first portion of the intermediate layer (DEL) disposed on a bottom surface of the trench (CON) through a contact hole penetrating at least a portion of the line layer (PASS/PL) at the bottom surface of the trench (CON) (see Lee, Figs.4 and 6 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 7: Lee as modified teaches a display device as set forth in claim 6 as above. The combination of Lee and Katayama further teaches wherein a ground voltage is supplied to the auxiliary line (LL) (see Lee, Figs.4 and 6 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 8: Lee as modified teaches a display device as set forth in claim 6 as above. The combination of Lee and Katayama further teaches wherein an auxiliary voltage lower than a voltage for driving a plurality of pixels is applied to the auxiliary line (LL) (see Lee, Figs.4 and 6 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 9: Lee as modified teaches a display device as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of Lee and Katayama further teaches wherein the light-emitting element layer (OLE) is configured to emit white light (see Lee, Figs.4 and 6 as shown above and ¶ [0090]).
Regarding Claim 10: Lee as modified teaches a display device as set forth in claim 1 as above. The combination of Lee and Katayama further teaches wherein the light-emitting element layer (OLE) emits light of a first color in a first emission area associated with a first pixel, emits light of a second color in a second emission area associated with a second pixel, and emits light of a third color in a third emission area associated with a third pixel (see Lee, Figs.4 and 6 as shown above, Fig.3, and ¶ [0082]- ¶ [0083] and see Katayama, Figs.5-6 and 14 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 16: Lee discloses a method of fabricating a display device (see Lee, Figs.4 and 6 as shown above and ¶ [0002]), the method comprising:
forming a driver element layer (GI/ILD/DT) on a substrate (110) (see Lee, Figs.4 and 6 as shown above);
forming a line layer (PASS/PL) on the driver element layer (GI/ILD/DT), the line layer (PASS/PL) comprising a first inorganic layer (PASS) and a second organic layer (PL) disposed on the first inorganic layer (PASS) (see Lee, Figs.4 and 6 as shown above and ¶ [0079]); and
forming a light-emitting element layer (OLE) on the line layer (PASS/PL) (see Lee, Figs.4 and 6 as shown above),
wherein the forming the light-emitting element layer (OLE) comprises:
forming a plurality of first electrodes (ANO) on the second organic layer (PL) (see Lee, Figs.4 and 6 as shown above);
forming a first trench having a first width (W2) by removing the second organic layer (PL) between adjacent first electrodes (ANO) (see Lee, Figs.4 and 6 as shown above);
forming a second trench having a second width (W1) greater than the first width (W2) by overly etching the first inorganic layer (PASS) in the first trench (see Lee, Figs.4 and 6 as shown above);
depositing a intermediate layer (EL/DEL) to cover the plurality of first electrodes (ANO), the second organic layer (PL), and the first and second trenches (see Lee, Figs.4 and 6 as shown above); and
depositing a second electrode (CAT) to cover the intermediate layer (EL/DEL) (see Lee, Figs.4 and 6 as shown above),
wherein the intermediate layer (EL/DEL) is disconnected around the first trench and the second trench in the depositing the intermediate layer (EL/DEL) (see Lee, Figs.4 and 6 as shown above).
Lee is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein forming a line layer on the driver element layer, the line layer comprising a first inorganic layer and a second inorganic layer disposed on the first inorganic layer; and
forming a first trench having a first width by removing the second inorganic layer between adjacent first electrodes.
For support see Katayama, which teaches wherein forming a line layer (104/105) on the driver element layer (255/transistors), the line layer (104/105) comprising a first inorganic layer (104) and a second inorganic layer (105) disposed on the first inorganic layer (104) (see Katayama, Figs.5-6 and 14 as shown above, ¶ [0020], ¶ [0109], ¶ [0139],and ¶ [0237]); and
forming a first trench having a first width by removing the second inorganic layer (105) between adjacent first electrodes (111) (see Katayama, Figs.5-6 and 14 as shown above, ¶ [0020], ¶ [0109], ¶ [0139],and ¶ [0237]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee and Katayama to enable the line layer to comprise a first inorganic layer and a second inorganic layer disposed on the first inorganic layer and the first trench to have a first width by removing the second inorganic layer between adjacent first electrodes as taught by Katayama in order to obtain protect the driver element layer and obtain a display device in which crosstalk is inhibited.
Regarding Claim 17: Lee as modified teaches a method of fabricating a display device as set forth in claim 16 as above. The combination of Lee and Katayama further teaches wherein the second electrode (CAT) is not disconnected around the first trench and the second trench but is continuously connected in the depositing the second electrode (CAT) (see Lee, Figs.4 and 6 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 18: Lee as modified teaches a method of fabricating a display device as set forth in claim 16 as above. The combination of Lee and Katayama further teaches wherein the light-emitting element layer (OLE) is configured to emit white light (see Lee, Figs.4 and 6 as shown above and ¶ [0090]).
Regarding Claim 19: Lee as modified teaches a method of fabricating a display device as set forth in claim 18 as above. The combination of Lee and Katayama further teaches wherein the light-emitting element layer (OLE) emits light of a first color in a first emission area associated with a first pixel, emits light of a second color in a second emission area associated with a second pixel, and emits light of a third color in a third emission area associated with a third pixel (see Lee, Figs.4 and 6 as shown above, Fig.3, and ¶ [0082]- ¶ [0083] and see Katayama, Figs.5-6 and 14 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 20: Lee as modified teaches a method of fabricating a display device as set forth in claim 16 as above. The combination of Lee and Katayama further teaches wherein the substrate (110) comprises a semiconductor wafer substrate (see Lee, Figs.4 and 6 as shown above and ¶ [0075]).
Regarding Claim 21: Lee discloses a display device (see Lee, Figs.4 and 6 as shown above and ¶ [0002]) comprising:
a substrate (110) (see Lee, Figs.4 and 6 as shown above);
a driver element layer (GI/ILD/DT) disposed on the substrate (110) (see Lee, Figs.4 and 6 as shown above);
a line layer (PASS/PL) disposed on the driver element layer (GI/ILD/DT) and comprising a first inorganic layer (PASS) and a second organic layer (PL) disposed on the first inorganic layer (PASS) (see Lee, Figs.4 and 6 as shown above and ¶ [0079]); and
a light-emitting element layer (OLE) disposed on the line layer (PASS/PL) and comprising a plurality of first electrodes (ANO), a intermediate layer (EL/DEL), and a second electrode (CAT) sequentially stacked on one another (see Lee, Figs.4 and 6 as shown above),
wherein the line layer (PASS/PL) comprises a trench (CON) between the adjacent first electrodes (ANO) in which the first inorganic layer (PASS) or the second inorganic layer (PL) are removed (see Lee, Figs.4 and 6 as shown above),
wherein a first portion of the intermediate layer (DEL) is disposed in the trench (CON) (see Lee, Figs.4 and 6 as shown above), and
wherein an auxiliary line (LL) is electrically connected to the first portion of the intermediate layer (DEL) (see Lee, Figs.4 and 6 as shown above).
Lee is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein a line layer disposed on the driver element layer and comprising a first inorganic layer and a second inorganic layer disposed on the first inorganic layer.
For support see Katayama, which teaches wherein a line layer (104/105) disposed on the driver element layer (255/transistors) and comprising a first inorganic layer (104) and a second inorganic layer (105) disposed on the first inorganic layer (104) (see Katayama, Figs.5-6 and 14 as shown above, ¶ [0020], ¶ [0109], ¶ [0139],and ¶ [0237]).
Lee discloses the claimed invention except for the material of the second layer. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee and Katayama to enable the Lee’s line layer to be formed from inorganic material layers as taught by Katayama in order to obtain protect the driver element layer and obtain a display device in which crosstalk is inhibited, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the base of its suitability, for its intended use involves only ordinary skill in the art. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding Claim 23: Lee as modified teaches a method of fabricating a display device as set forth in claim 21 as above. The combination of Lee and Katayama further teaches wherein at least some of conductive layers of the intermediate layer (EL, such as e.g., a hole-injection layer, a hole-transport layer, a light-emitting layer, an electron-transport layer, and an electron-injection layer) are disconnected at a boundary of the trench (see Lee, Figs.4 and 6 as shown above and ¶ [0090] or see Katayama, Figs.5-6 and 14 as shown above and ¶ [0231]).
Claim(s) 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (U.S. 2023/0189572 A1, hereinafter refer to Lee) and Katayama et al. (U,S, 2025/0017050 A1, hereinafter refer to Katayama) as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (U.S. 2019/0198590 A1, hereinafter refer to Kim) and Kim (U.S. 2023/0217722 A1, hereinafter refer to Kim ‘722).
Regarding Claim 22: Lee as modified teaches a method of fabricating a display device as applied to claim 21 above. The combination of Lee and Katayama is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein a width of the trench has an inverted tapered shape as a thickness of the dummy inorganic layer covering side surfaces of the trench decreases from an inlet of the trench to a bottom surface of the trench.
For support see Kim, which teaches wherein a width of the trench has an inverted tapered shape as a thickness of the dummy inorganic layer (bank layer 120) covering side surfaces of the trench decreases from an inlet of the trench to a bottom surface of the trench (see Kim, Fig.7 as shown below, ¶ [0006], and ¶ [0077]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee, Katayama, and Kim to enable the width of the trench to have an inverted tapered shape as a thickness of the dummy layer covering side surfaces of the trench decreases from an inlet of the trench to a bottom surface of the trench as taught by Kim in order to obtain reverse-tapered shape bank layer and to realize ultra-high definition OLED display devices.
The combination of Lee, Katayama, and Kim is silent upon explicitly disclosing the materials of dummy layer.
For support see Kim ‘722, which teaches wherein the materials of dummy layer (Bank layer BA) is inorganic materials (see Kim, Fig.4, ¶ [0002], and ¶ [0098]).
The combination of Lee, Katayama, and Kim teaches the claimed invention except for the materials of dummy layer. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee, Katayama, Kim, and Kim ‘722 to enable the known inorganic material layer as taught by Kim ‘722 in order to from the bank layer, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the base of its suitability, for its intended use involves only ordinary skill in the art. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim(s) 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (U.S. 2023/0189572 A1, hereinafter refer to Lee) in view of Kim et al. (U.S. 2019/0198590 A1, hereinafter refer to Kim), Kim (U.S. 2023/0217722 A1, hereinafter refer to Kim ‘722), and Katayama et al. (U,S, 2025/0017050 A1, hereinafter refer to Katayama).
Regarding Claim 11: Lee discloses a display device (see Lee, Figs.4 and 6 as shown above and ¶ [0002]) comprising:
a substrate (110) (see Lee, Figs.4 and 6 as shown above);
a driver element layer (GI/ILD/DT) disposed on the substrate (110) (see Lee, Figs.4 and 6 as shown above);
a line layer (PASS/PL) disposed on the driver element layer (GI/ILD/DT) and comprising a first inorganic layer (PASS) and a second organic layer (PL) disposed on the first inorganic layer (PASS) (see Lee, Figs.4 and 6 as shown above and ¶ [0079]); and
a light-emitting element layer (OLE) disposed on the line layer (PASS/PL) and comprising a plurality of first electrodes (ANO), a second electrode (CAT) covering the intermediate layer (EL) (see Lee, Figs.4 and 6 as shown above),
wherein the line layer (PASS/PL) comprises a trench (CON) between the first electrodes (ANO) adjacent to each other, the first inorganic layer (PASS) or the second organic layer (PL) being removed from the trench (CON) (see Lee, Figs.4 and 6 as shown above),
wherein the first portion of the intermediate layer (DEL) is disconnected from a third portion of the intermediate layer (EL) disposed on the first electrodes (ANO), and the second portion of the second electrode (CAT) is continuously connected to a fourth portion of the second electrode (CAT) disposed to overlap the plurality of first electrodes (ANO) (see Lee, Figs.4 and 6 as shown above).
Lee is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein a dummy inorganic film surrounding the plurality of first electrodes, a intermediate layer covering the plurality of first electrodes and the dummy inorganic film,
wherein the dummy inorganic film is formed on side surfaces of the trench, and a thickness of the dummy inorganic film formed on upper parts of the side surfaces of the trench is greater than a thickness of the dummy inorganic film formed on lower parts of the side surfaces of the trench,
wherein a first portion of the intermediate layer and a second portion of the second electrode are disposed on the dummy inorganic film in the trench.
For support see Kim, which teaches wherein a dummy film (bank layer 120) surrounding the plurality of first electrodes (121), a intermediate layer (122) covering the plurality of first electrodes (121) and the dummy film (bank layer 120) (see Kim, Fig.7 as shown above, ¶ [0006], and ¶ [0077]),
wherein the dummy film (bank layer 120) is formed on side surfaces of the trench, and a thickness of the dummy film (bank layer 120) formed on upper parts of the side surfaces of the trench is greater than a thickness of the dummy film (bank layer 120) formed on lower parts of the side surfaces of the trench (see Kim, Fig.7 as shown above, ¶ [0006], and ¶ [0077]),
wherein a first portion of the intermediate layer (122) and a second portion of the second electrode (123) are disposed on the dummy film (bank layer 120) in the trench (see Kim, Fig.7 as shown above, ¶ [0006], and ¶ [0077]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee and Kim to enable the dummy film surrounding the plurality of first electrodes, a intermediate layer covering the plurality of first electrodes and the dummy film, wherein the dummy inorganic film is formed on side surfaces of the trench, and a thickness of the dummy film formed on upper parts of the side surfaces of the trench is greater than a thickness of the dummy film formed on lower parts of the side surfaces of the trench, wherein a first portion of the intermediate layer and a second portion of the second electrode are disposed on the dummy film in the trench as taught by Kim in order to obtain reverse-tapered shape bank layer and to realize ultra-high definition OLED display devices.
The combination of Lee and Kim is silent upon explicitly disclosing the materials of dummy film.
For support see Kim ‘722, which teaches wherein the materials of dummy film (Bank layer BA) is inorganic materials (see Kim, Fig.4, ¶ [0002], and ¶ [0098]).
The combination of Lee and Kim teaches the claimed invention except for the materials of dummy film. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee, Kim, and Kim ‘722 to enable the known inorganic material layer as taught by Kim ‘722 in order to from the bank layer, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the base of its suitability, for its intended use involves only ordinary skill in the art. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
The combination of Lee, Kim, and Kim ‘722 is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein a line layer disposed on the driver element layer and comprising a first inorganic layer and a second inorganic layer disposed on the first inorganic layer.
For support see Katayama, which teaches wherein a line layer (104/105) disposed on the driver element layer (255/transistors) and comprising a first inorganic layer (104) and a second inorganic layer (105) disposed on the first inorganic layer (104) (see Katayama, Figs.5-6 and 14 as shown above, ¶ [0020], ¶ [0109], ¶ [0139],and ¶ [0237]).
The combination of Lee, Kim, and Kim ‘722 teaches the claimed invention except for the material of the second layer. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee, Kim, Kim ‘722, and Katayama to enable the Lee’s line layer to be formed from inorganic material layers as taught by Katayama in order to obtain protect the driver element layer and obtain a display device in which crosstalk is inhibited, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the base of its suitability, for its intended use involves only ordinary skill in the art. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding Claim 12: Lee as modified teaches a display device as set forth in claim 11 as above. The combination of Lee, Kim, Kim ‘722, and Katayama further teaches wherein a width of the trench has an inverted tapered shape as a thickness of the dummy inorganic film (Fig.4, BA/Fig.7, 120) covering side surfaces of the trench decreases from an inlet of the trench to a bottom surface of the trench (see Kim, Fig.4 as shown above and see Kim ‘590, Fig.7 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 13: Lee as modified teaches a display device as set forth in claim 11 as above. The combination of Lee, Kim, Kim ‘722, and Katayama further teaches wherein at least some of conductive layers of the intermediate layer (EL, such as e.g., a hole-injection layer, a hole-transport layer, a light-emitting layer, an electron-transport layer, and an electron-injection layer) are disconnected by the trench (see Lee, Figs.4 and 6 as shown above and ¶ [0090] or see Katayama, Figs.5-6 and 14 as shown above and ¶ [0231]).
Regarding Claim 14: Lee as modified teaches a display device as set forth in claim 13 as above. The combination of Lee, Kim, Kim ‘722, and Katayama further teaches wherein the second electrode (CAT) is continuously disposed across the trench (see Lee, Figs.4 and 6 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 15: Lee as modified teaches a display device as set forth in claim 13 as above. The combination of Lee, Kim, Kim ‘722, and Katayama further teaches wherein the at least some conductive layer (EL, such as e.g., a hole-injection layer, a hole-transport layer, a light-emitting layer, an electron-transport layer, and an electron-injection layer) comprise at least one layer of: a hole injection layer (HIL), a hole transport layer (HTL), an electron transport layer (ETL), a charge generation layer (CGL), and a p-doped layer (PHIL) (see Lee, Figs.4 and 6 as shown above and ¶ [0090] or see Katayama, Figs.5-6 and 14 as shown above and ¶ [0231]).
Conclusion
/BITEW A DINKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812