Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 11, 16, and 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-10, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nakamura et al. (U.S. 2024/0423027 A1, hereinafter refer to Nakamura).
Regarding Claim 1: Nakamura discloses a display device (see Nakamura, Figs.6, 10, and 18 as shown below and ¶ [0001]) comprising:
a substrate (102) (see Nakamura, Figs.6 and 18 as shown above);
a driver element layer (201/205) disposed on the substrate (102) (see Nakamura, Figs.6 and 18 as shown above);
a line layer (101/103) disposed on the driver element layer (201/205) and comprising a first inorganic layer (101) and a second inorganic layer (103) disposed on the first inorganic layer (101) (note: “both the insulating layer 101 and the insulating layer 103 may be an inorganic insulating layer”) (see Nakamura, Figs.6 and 18 as shown above and ¶ [0128]); and
a light-emitting element layer (130) disposed on the line layer (101/103) and comprising a plurality of first electrodes (111), an intermediate layer (113/119), and a second electrode (115) sequentially stacked on one another (see Nakamura, Fig.6 as shown above and ¶ [0111]),
wherein the line layer (101) comprises a trench between the first electrodes (111), the trench being free of the first inorganic layer (101) and the second inorganic layer (103) and having a side surface of inorganic material, wherein the second inorganic layer (103) comprises an undercut area tinder the first inorganic layer (101) in the trench, wherein a first portion of the intermediate layer (119) and a second portion of the second electrode (115) are disposed in the trench (see Nakamura, Figs.6 and 10 as shown above), and
wherein the first portion of the intermediate layer (119) is disconnected around the trench and separated from a third portion of the intermediate layer (113) disposed on the first electrodes (111), and the second portion of the second electrode (115) continuously contacts the side surface of the trench except apportion under the undercut, and connects to a fourth portion of the second electrode (115) that overlaps the first electrodes (111) (see Nakamura, Fig.6 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 2: Nakamura discloses a display device as set forth in claim 1 as above. Nakamura further teaches wherein the trench comprises: a first hole in which the first inorganic layer (101) is removed with a first width (see Nakamura, Figs.6 and 10 as shown above); and
a second hole in which the second inorganic layer (103) is removed with a second width greater than the first width, that second hole including the undercut area that extends beyond the sidewall of the first hole (see Nakamura, Figs.6 and 10 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 3: Nakamura discloses a display device as set forth in claim 1 as above. Nakamura further teaches wherein at least some of conductive layers of the intermediate layer (113/119) are disconnected by the trench (see Nakamura, Figs.6 and 10 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 4: Nakamura discloses a display device as set forth in claim 3 as above. Nakamura further teaches wherein the second electrode (115) is continuously disposed across the trench (see Nakamura, Figs.6 and 10 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 5: Nakamura discloses a display device as set forth in claim 3 as above. Nakamura further teaches wherein the at least some conductive layer (113/119) comprise at least one layer of: a hole injection layer (HIL), a hole transport layer (HTL), an electron transport layer (ETL), a charge generation layer (CGL), and a p-doped layer (PHIL) (see Nakamura, Figs.6 and 10 as shown above and ¶ [0145]).
Regarding Claim 9: Nakamura discloses a display device as set forth in claim 1 as above. Nakamura further teaches wherein the light-emitting element layer (130) is configured to emit white light (see Nakamura, Figs.6 and 10 as shown above and ¶ [0150]).
Regarding Claim 10: Nakamura discloses a display device as set forth in claim 1 as above. Nakamura further teaches wherein the light-emitting element layer (130) emits light of a first color in a first emission area associated with a first pixel, emits light of a second color in a second emission area associated with a second pixel, and emits light of a third color in a third emission area associated with a third pixel (see Nakamura, Figs.6 and 10 as shown above, ¶ [0094], and ¶ [0148]).
Regarding Claim 16: Nakamura discloses a method of fabricating a display device (see Nakamura, Figs.6, 10, and 18 as shown above and ¶ [0001]), the method comprising:
forming a driver element layer (201/205) on a substrate (102) (see Nakamura, Figs.6, 10, and 18 as shown above);
forming a line layer (101/103) on the driver element layer (201/205), the line layer (101/103) comprising a first inorganic layer (101) and a second inorganic layer (103) disposed on the first inorganic layer (101) (note: “both the insulating layer 101 and the insulating layer 103 may be an inorganic insulating layer”) (see Nakamura, Figs.6 and 18 as shown above and ¶ [0128]); and
forming a light-emitting element layer (130) on the line layer (101/103) (see Nakamura, Figs.6 and 10 as shown above), wherein the forming the light-emitting element layer (130) comprises:
forming a plurality of first electrodes (111) on the second inorganic layer (103) (see Nakamura, Figs.6 and 10 as shown above);
forming a first trench having a first side surface, by removing the second inorganic layer (103) between adjacent first electrodes (111), the first trench having a first width (see Nakamura, Figs.6 and 10 as shown above);
forming a second trench having a second side surface by overly etching the first inorganic layer (101) in the first trench, the second trench having a second width greater than the first width (see Nakamura, Figs.6 and 10 as shown above);
depositing an intermediate layer (113/119) around the first trench to cover the plurality of first electrodes (111), the second inorganic layer (103), and the first and second trenches (see Nakamura, Figs.6 and 10 as shown above); and
depositing a second electrode (115) to cover the intermediate layer (113/119) and contact the first side surface but not the second side surface (see Nakamura, Figs.6 and 10 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 17: Nakamura discloses a method of fabricating a display device as set forth in claim 16 as above. Nakamura further teaches wherein the second electrode (115) is not disconnected around the first trench and the second trench but is continuously connected in the depositing the second electrode (115) (see Nakamura, Figs.6 and 10 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 18: Nakamura discloses a method of fabricating a display device as set forth in claim 16 as above. Nakamura further teaches wherein the light-emitting element layer (130) is configured to emit white light (see Nakamura, Figs.6 and 10 as shown above and ¶ [0150]).
Regarding Claim 19: Nakamura discloses a method of fabricating a display device as set forth in claim 18 as above. Nakamura further teaches wherein the light-emitting element layer (130) emits light of a first color in a first emission area associated with a first pixel, emits light of a second color in a second emission area associated with a second pixel, and emits light of a third color in a third emission area associated with a third pixel (see Nakamura, Figs.6 and 10 as shown above, ¶ [0094], and ¶ [0148]).
Regarding Claim 20: Nakamura discloses a method of fabricating a display device as set forth in claim 16 as above. Nakamura further teaches wherein the substrate (102) comprises a semiconductor wafer substrate (see Nakamura, Figs.6 and 10 as shown above and ¶ [0106]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura et al. (U.S. 2024/0423027 A1, hereinafter refer to Nakamura) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (U.S. 2023/0189572 A1, hereinafter refer to Lee).
Regarding Claim 6: Nakamura discloses a display device as applied to claim 1 above. Nakamura is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein the line layer comprises an auxiliary line disposed in line with the trench, and wherein the auxiliary line is electrically connected to the first portion of the intermediate layer disposed on a bottom surface of the trench through a contact hole penetrating at least a portion of the line layer at the bottom surface of the trench.
For support see Lee, which teaches wherein the line layer (PASS/PL) comprises an auxiliary line (LL) disposed in line with the trench (CON), and wherein the auxiliary line (LL) is electrically connected to the first portion of the intermediate layer (DEL) disposed on a bottom surface of the trench (CON) through a contact hole penetrating at least a portion of the line layer (PASS/PL) at the bottom surface of the trench (CON) (see Lee, Figs.4 and 6 as shown below, ¶ [0002], and ¶ [0078]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Nakamura and Lee to enable the line layer to comprise an auxiliary line disposed in line with the trench, and wherein the auxiliary line electrically connected to the first portion of the intermediate layer disposed on a bottom surface of the trench through a contact hole penetrating at least a portion of the line layer at the bottom surface of the trench as taught by Lee in order to improve image quality stability by lowering the resistance of the cathode electrode adopting an auxiliary cathode line.
Regarding Claim 7: Nakamura as modified teaches a display device as set forth in claim 6 as above. The combination of Nakamura and Lee further teaches wherein a ground voltage is supplied to the auxiliary line (LL) (see Lee, Figs.4 and 6 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 8: Nakamura as modified teaches a display device as set forth in claim 6 as above. The combination of Nakamura and Lee further teaches wherein an auxiliary voltage lower than a voltage for driving a plurality of pixels is applied to the auxiliary line (LL) (see Lee, Figs.4 and 6 as shown above).
Claim(s) 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (U.S. 2019/0198590 A1, hereinafter refer to Kim) in view of Kim (U.S. 2023/0217722 A1, hereinafter refer to Kim ‘722) and Yanagisawa et al. (U.S. 2025/0098429 A1, hereinafter refer to Yanagisawa).
Regarding Claim 11: Kim discloses a display device (see Kim, Fig.7 as shown below and ¶ [0002]) comprising:
a substrate (110) (see Kim, Fig.7 as shown above);
a driver element layer (TFTA) disposed on the substrate (110) (see Kim, Fig.7 as shown above);
a line layer (118) disposed on the driver element layer (TFTA) (see Kim, Fig.7 as shown above); and
a light-emitting element layer (OLED) disposed on the line layer (118) and comprising a plurality of first electrodes (121), an intermediate layer (122) covering the plurality of first electrodes (121), a dummy organic film (120) surrounding the plurality of first electrodes (121) partially covering the first electrodes (121), a second electrode (123) covering the intermediate layer (122) (see Kim, Fig.7 as shown above),
wherein the line layer (118) comprises a trench between the first electrodes (121) adjacent to each other, the first layer (118) or the second layer (118) being removed from the trench (see Kim, Fig.7 as shown above),
wherein the dummy organic film (120) is formed on side surfaces of the trench, and a thickness of the dummy organic film (120) formed on upper parts of the side surfaces of the trench is greater than a thickness of the dummy organic film (120) formed on lower parts of the side surfaces of the trench (see Kim, Fig.7 as shown above),
wherein a first portion of the intermediate layer (122) and a second portion of the second electrode (123) are disposed on the dummy organic film (120) in the trench (see Kim, Fig.7 as shown above), and
wherein the first portion of the intermediate layer (122) is disconnected from a third portion of the intermediate layer (122) disposed on the first electrodes (121), and the second portion of the second electrode (123) is continuously connected to a fourth portion of the second electrode (123) disposed to overlap the plurality of first electrodes (121) (see Kim, Fig.7 as shown above).
Kim is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein dummy film surrounding the plurality of first electrodes without covering the first electrodes.
However, Kim teaches wherein dummy film (120) surrounding the plurality of first electrodes (121) partially covering the first electrodes (see Kim, Fig.7 as shown above).
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to eliminate the partially covering the first electrodes through routine experimentation and optimization if the function of partially covering the first electrodes is not needed.
Kim is silent upon explicitly disclosing the materials of dummy film.
For support see Kim ‘722, which teaches wherein the materials of dummy film (Bank layer BA) is inorganic materials (see Kim ‘722, Fig.8, ¶ [0002], and ¶ [0098]).
Kim teaches the claimed invention except for the materials of dummy film. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim and Kim ‘722 to enable the known inorganic material layer as taught by Kim ‘722 in order to from the bank layer, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the base of its suitability, for its intended use involves only ordinary skill in the art. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
The combination of Kim and Kim ‘722 is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein a line layer comprising a first inorganic layer and a second inorganic layer disposed on the first inorganic layer.
For support see Yanagisawa, which teaches wherein a line layer (102/ a stacked-layer structure of two or more layers) comprising a first inorganic layer and a second inorganic layer disposed on the first inorganic layer (see Yanagisawa, Fig.7 and ¶ [0106]- ¶ [0107]).
Kim teaches the claimed invention except for the materials of line layer. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kim, Kim ‘722, and Yanagisawa to enable the known inorganic material layer as taught by Yanagisawa in order to from the line layer, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the base of its suitability, for its intended use involves only ordinary skill in the art. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding Claim 12: Kim as modified teaches a display device as set forth in claim 11 as above. The combination of Kim, Kim ‘722, and Yanagisawa further teaches wherein a width of the trench has an inverted tapered shape as a thickness of the dummy inorganic film (120) covering side surfaces of the trench decreases from an inlet of the trench to a bottom surface of the trench (see Kim, Fig.7 as shown above and see Kim ‘722, ¶ [0002] and ¶ [0098]).
Regarding Claim 13: Kim as modified teaches a display device as set forth in claim 11 as above. The combination of Kim, Kim ‘722, and Yanagisawa further teaches wherein at least some of conductive layers of the intermediate layer (122) are disconnected by the trench (see Kim, Fig.7 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 14: Kim as modified teaches a display device as set forth in claim 13 as above. The combination of Kim, Kim ‘722, and Yanagisawa further teaches wherein the second electrode (123) is continuously disposed across the trench (see Kim, Fig.7 as shown above).
Regarding Claim 15: Kim as modified teaches a display device as set forth in claim 13 as above. The combination of Kim, Kim ‘722, and Yanagisawa further teaches wherein the at least some conductive layer (EL/122) comprise at least one layer of: a hole injection layer (HIL), a hole transport layer (HTL), an electron transport layer (ETL), a charge generation layer (CGL), and a p-doped layer (PHIL) (see Kim, Fig.7 as shown above and ¶ [0068]- ¶ [0069]).
Claim(s) 21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura et al. (U.S. 2024/0423027 A1, hereinafter refer to Nakamura) in view of Lee et al. (U.S. 2023/0189572 A1, hereinafter refer to Lee).
Regarding Claim 21: Nakamura discloses a display device (see Nakamura, Figs.6, 10, and 18 as shown above and ¶ [0001]) comprising:
a substrate (102) (see Nakamura, Figs.6, 10, and 18 as shown above);
a driver element layer (201/205) disposed on the substrate (102) (see Nakamura, Figs.6, 10, and 18 as shown above);
a line layer (101/103) disposed on the driver element layer (201/205) and comprising a first inorganic layer (101) and a second inorganic layer (103) disposed on the first inorganic layer (101) (note: “both the insulating layer 101 and the insulating layer 103 may be an inorganic insulating layer”) (see Nakamura, Figs.6 and 18 as shown above and ¶ [0128]); and
a light-emitting element layer (130) disposed on the line layer (101/103) and comprising a plurality of first electrodes (111), an intermediate layer (113/119), and a second electrode (115) sequentially stacked on one another (see Nakamura, Figs.6 and 10 as shown above),
wherein the line layer (101/103) comprises a trench between the adjacent first electrodes (111) in which the first inorganic layer (101) or the second inorganic layer (103) are removed (see Nakamura, Figs.6 and 10 as shown above),
wherein a first portion of the intermediate layer (113) is disposed around the trench, a third portion of the intermediate layer (119) is disposed in the trench (see Nakamura, Figs.6 and 10 as shown above),
wherein a second electrode (115) covers the third portion of the intermediate layer (119) but not a side surface of the trench that surrounds the third portion of the intermediate layer (119) (see Nakamura, Figs.6 and 10 as shown above).
Nakamura is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein an auxiliary line is electrically connected to the first portion of the intermediate layer.
For support see Lee, which teaches wherein an auxiliary line (LL) is electrically connected to the first portion of the intermediate layer (DEL) (see Lee, Figs.4 and 6 as shown above, ¶ [0002], and ¶ [0078]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Nakamura and Lee to enable an auxiliary line electrically connected to the first portion of the intermediate layer as taught by Lee in order to improve image quality stability by lowering the resistance of the cathode electrode adopting an auxiliary cathode line.
Regarding Claim 23: Nakamura as modified teaches a display device as set forth in claim 21 as above. The combination of Nakamura and Lee further teaches wherein at least some of conductive layers of the intermediate layer (133) are disconnected at a boundary of the trench (see Nakamura, Figs.6 and 10 as shown above).
Claim(s) 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura et al. (U.S. 2024/0423027 A1, hereinafter refer to Nakamura) and Lee et al. (U.S. 2023/0189572 A1, hereinafter refer to Lee) as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (U.S. 2019/0198590 A1, hereinafter refer to Kim) and Kim (U.S. 2023/0217722 A1, hereinafter refer to Kim ‘722).
Regarding Claim 22: Nakamura as modified teaches a display device as applied to claim 21 above. The combination of Nakamura and Lee is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein a width of the trench has an inverted tapered shape as a thickness of a dummy inorganic layer covering side surfaces of the trench decreases from an inlet of the trench to a bottom surface of the trench, wherein the dummy inorganic layer is disposed adjacent to the first electrodes but not on the first electrodes.
For support see Kim, which teaches wherein a width of the trench has an inverted tapered shape as a thickness of a dummy organic layer (120) covering side surfaces of the trench decreases from an inlet of the trench to a bottom surface of the trench, wherein the dummy organic layer (120) is disposed adjacent to the first electrodes and partially on the first electrodes (121) (see Kim, Fig.7 as shown above and ¶ [0006]).
Kim is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein dummy inorganic layer not on the first electrodes.
However, Kim teaches wherein dummy film (120) partially covering the first electrodes (see Kim, Fig.7 as shown above).
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to eliminate the partially covering the first electrodes through routine experimentation and optimization if the function of partially covering the first electrodes is not needed.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Nakamura, Lee, and Kim to enable the width of the trench to have an inverted tapered shape as a thickness of a dummy organic layer covering side surfaces of the trench decreases from an inlet of the trench to a bottom surface of the trench, wherein the dummy organic layer is disposed adjacent to the first electrodes as taught by Kim in order to realize ultra-high definition OLED display devices.
The combination of Nakamura, Lee, and Kim is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein the materials of dummy film.
For support see Kim ‘722, which teaches wherein the materials of dummy film (Bank layer BA) is inorganic materials (see Kim ‘722, Fig.8, ¶ [0002], and ¶ [0098]).
The combination of Nakamura, Lee, and Kim teaches the claimed invention except for the materials of dummy film. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Nakamura, Lee, Kim, and Kim ‘722 to enable the known inorganic material layer as taught by Kim ‘722 in order to from the bank layer, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the base of its suitability, for its intended use involves only ordinary skill in the art. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BITEW A DINKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812