Specification
The specification submitted 4/30/2024 has been accepted by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings submitted on 4/30/2024 have been accepted by the examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted up to this point have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu-188 (US # 20180269188) in view of Ryu-747 (US # 20160027747) and Chen-608 (US # 20140252608).
Regarding Claim 17, Yu-188 teaches a device comprising:
an integrated circuit die (114);
an encapsulant (130) at least partially encapsulating the integrated circuit die;
a redistribution structure (160) on the encapsulant, the redistribution structure comprising:
a metallization pattern (138, 146, 154; [0025]) electrically coupled to the integrated circuit die;
a dielectric layer (156) on the metallization pattern, the dielectric layer having a first thickness; and
a first under-bump metallurgy (162) having a first via portion (the lower portion embedded in layer 156) extending through the dielectric layer and a first bump portion (the upper portion of 156) on the dielectric layer, the first under-bump metallurgy being physically and electrically coupled to the metallization pattern (shown), the first via portion having a first width,
Although Yu-188discloses much of the claimed invention, it does not explicitly teach the redistribution structure comprising the ratio of the first thickness to the first width being from 1.33 to 1.66.
Nonetheless the prior art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention renders such non-explicit feature differences obvious, as explained below.
For example, Chen-608 is in the same or analogous field, and it teaches a topmost dielectric layer 504 with a thickness between 5 and 30 microns ([0029]).
Another example, Ryu-747 teaches a via width (on the order of 10-25 microns under a larger overlying bump ([0067-68]).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the dimensions ratios of REFA with the dielectric thickness dimension suggested by Chen-608 and the via width suggested by Ryu-747 would be obvious. Specifically, the modification suggested by Chen-608 and Ryu-747 would be to employ a redistribution structure comprising the ratio of the first thickness to the first width being from 1.33 to 1.66. The rationale for this obvious modification is that a thick dielectric provides protection from mechanical stress (Chen-608, see [0029]) and a via small increases routing density and reduces shorting (Ryu-747, see [0029-30].
Regarding Claim 18, Yu-188 teaches the device of claim 17, further comprising:
a conductive via (112) extending through the encapsulant (130), the metallization pattern electrically coupled to the conductive via ([0018, 24, 28]).
Regarding Claim 19, Chen-60, as applied to claim 17, 8 teaches the device of claim 17, wherein the first thickness is from 10 µm to 30 µm ([0029] teaches an overlapping range).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-16 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding Claim 1, although the prior art shows substantial features of the claimed invention, the prior art reviewed by the examiner neither teaches nor reasonably suggests all the claimed limitations, including the second via portion having a second width, a ratio of the first thickness to the second width being from 1.33 to 1.66, the second width being greater than the first width, the second bump portion and the first bump portion having a same third width.
Regarding Claim 14, although the prior art shows substantial features of the claimed invention, the prior art reviewed by the examiner neither teaches nor reasonably suggests all the claimed limitations, including the second under-bump metallurgy being physically and electrically coupled to the metallization pattern, the second via portion having a second width, the second width being different than the first width, the second bump portion and the first bump portion having a same third width.
All dependent claims of 1 and 14 are allowable at least based on that dependency.
Claim 20 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 20, although the prior art shows substantial features of the claimed invention, the prior art reviewed by the examiner neither teaches nor reasonably suggests all the claimed limitations, including a ratio of the first thickness to the second width being from 1.33 to 1.66, the second width being greater than the first width, the second bump portion and the first bump portion having a same third width.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER A JOHNSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899