DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4, 7-11, 14-18 and 21-26 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 8 and 15, it is unclear what it means for non-planar surfaces to be “cooperating”. Does the term “cooperating” refer to the shape of the surfaces that fit together or does the term refer to the two non-planar surfaces that function together to affect the beam shape?
In order to expedite prosecution, it is assumed that the term merely means that the two non-planar surfaces function together to affect the beam shape.
The remaining claims, not specifically mentioned, are rejected for incorporating the defects from the base claim by dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 21 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krikke et al. (Krikke) (2002/0036763) in view of Shadalou et al. (Shadalou) (“General Design Method For Dynamic Freeform Optics With Variable Functionality” in IDS) and Komatsuda (6,833,904).
Regarding claim 1, Krikke discloses a system (Fig. 1, 2) comprising: a light source (LA) configured to emit light, wherein the light emitted by the light source is deep ultraviolet (DUV) light or extreme ultraviolet (EUV) light (para 0045); an imaging mirror (20, para 0081), disposed in a light path of the light emitted by the light source, wherein the imaging mirror is configured to reflect the light emitted by the light source onto a sample (W); and a pair of optical elements, which are refractive optical elements (15, para 0075), disposed in the light path between the light source and the imaging mirror (Fig. 2), wherein the pair of refractive optical elements are spaced apart in a pair of parallel planes (Fig. 2) and have cooperating non-planar surfaces, and the light emitted by the light source is refracted through the cooperating non-planar surfaces to produce a first beam shape of the light to be reflected on the sample by the imaging mirror (Fig. 2, para 0075) and an actuator (15a) to adjust and drive the pair of optical elements (para 0075). However, Krikke does not disclose that the pair of optical elements are reflective optical elements. Krikke also does not disclose a first actuator configured to move a first reflective optical element of the pair of reflective optical elements in a first direction parallel to a first plane of the pair of parallel planes and a second actuator configured to move a second reflective optical element of the pair of reflective optical elements in a second direction parallel to a second plane of the pair of parallel planes wherein the second direction is opposite to the first direction; wherein the first actuator and the second actuator are configured to move the first reflective optical element and the second reflective optical element, respectively, from a first relative position, at which the light reflected between the cooperating non-planar surfaces has the first beam shape, to a second relative position, at which the light reflected between the cooperating non-planar surfaces has a second beam shape that is a different shape from the first beam shape; and wherein the first beam shape comprises a first number of spatially distinct illuminated portions and the second beam shape comprises a second number of spatially distinct illuminated portions different from the first number.
Shadalou discloses a system comprising a pair of refractive optical elements (F1, F2, Fig. 13, section 4.1), movable within opposing parallel plane directions (Fig. 13(e), Fig. 15) and changing beam shape by moving within parallel plane directions (Fig. 15, square to hexagonal with lateral shift). Shadalou discloses from a first relative position of the optical elements, the beam having a first shape and to a second relative position, the beam having a second shape (Fig. 15, square to hexagonal with lateral shift) and wherein the first beam shape comprises a first number of spatially distinct illuminated portions and the second beam shape comprises a second number of spatially distinct illuminated portions (the shapes of a square would have a first number of spatially distinct portion and the shape of hexagon would have a second number of spatially distinct illuminated portions different from the first number. Fig. 15 shows there are a number of distinct portions that are illuminated in square shape from the hexagon shape). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the pair of refractive optical elements as taught by Shadalou to the invention of Kirkke in order to change the beam shape without the constraints of rotationally symmetrical optical elements and using freeform surfaces.
Regarding the first and second actuators, Shadalou inherently discloses at least one actuator in order to move the reflective elements (Fig. 13, 15). Further, providing an actuator to move an optical element is well known in the art. Krikke discloses motor (13a) and servo systems (15a, 16a) to move separate optical elements. Krikke additionally discloses actuators for moving the optical elements in a direction parallel to the optical axis (15a, para 0075), which moves the optical elements in a direction orthogonal to the parallel planes of the optical elements (15, para 0075). Krikke also discloses actuators for moving the optical elements in a direction orthogonal to the optical axis or within one of the parallel planes (Fig. 9B, 10A-10C, para 0112, 0113). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a first actuator for one of the pair of reflective optical element and a second actuator for the other of the pair of reflective optical element, in order to independently move the optical elements in opposite directions within the parallel planes to provide a better control over changing or correcting of the beam shape.
Although Krikke does not disclose the pair of reflective optical elements, Krikke discloses a pair of refractive optical elements (15), Krikke discloses in para 0045 that the radiation disclosed in Krikke includes ultraviolet radiation and EUV radiation, which means the lenses in the embodiment shown in Fig. 2 should be replaced by corresponding mirrors and reflective optical elements when EUV radiation is used. Komatsuda discloses in Fig. 19, such an arrangement. Komatsuda discloses a projection exposure apparatus comprising EUV light (col. 25, lines 49-55, col. 36, lines 3-7), imaging mirrors (6), a sample (7) and a pair of reflective optical elements (120a, 120b), with cooperating non-planar surfaces (Fig. 9A, 9B, col. 17, lines 4-19 and col. 18, lines 15-29) which are moved in an X-direction (in parallel plane), the beam shape is corrected from a first shape to a second shape (col. 38, lines 37-48). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a pair of reflective optical elements, in order to improve resolution with EUV light.
Regarding claim 2, although Krikke does not disclose a collimator disposed in the light path between the light source and the pair of reflective optical elements, wherein the collimator is configured to direct the light emitted by the light source to be reflected between the cooperating non-planar surfaces of the pair of reflective optical elements, Krikke discloses collimated beam from laser output (31, Fig. 4, para 0090). Komatsuda discloses a collimator (15) disposed in the light path between the light source and the pair of reflective optical elements, wherein the collimator is configured to direct the light emitted by the light source to be reflected between the cooperating non-planar surfaces of the pair of reflective optical elements.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a collimator in order to direct a parallel beams to the pair of reflective optical elements for beam shaping.
Regarding claim 3, Krikke does not disclose a pupil disposed in the light path between the pair of reflective optical elements and the imaging mirror, wherein the light in the first beam shape or the second beam shape is directed through the pupil to the imaging mirror. Komatsuda discloses in Fig. 19 (and 16) a pupil (6c) disposed in the light path between the pair of reflective optical elements (120a, 120b) and the imaging mirror (6d), wherein the light in the first beam shape or the second beam shape is directed through the pupil to the imaging mirror (Fig. 16, 19, col. 27, lines 35-48). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the pupil, the imaging mirror and the pair of reflective optical elements as arranged in Komatsuda to the invention of Krikke in order to provide the correct beam shape for imaging especially when using an EUV light source.
Regarding claim 4, Krikke does not disclose wherein the cooperating non-planar surfaces of the pair of reflective optical elements form a rectangular prism. Komatsuda discloses wherein the cooperating non-planar surfaces of the pair of reflective optical elements form a rectangular prism (Fig. 9A, 9B, col. 17, lines 4-19 and col. 18, lines 15-29, each elements are rectangular shaped). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to bring the pair of reflective optical element of Komatsuda together since each reflective element group of 120a face the counterpart in 120b (col. 18, lines 15-29) and provide the arrangement to the invention of Krikke in order to control or correct the beam shape.
Regarding claim 7, Krikke discloses wherein the first beam shape and the second beam shape are different shapes selected from a group comprising: a circular shape, an annular shape, a dipole shape, a quasar shape, a slit shape, and a pinhole shape (para 0075).
Regarding claim 21, Krikke in view of Shadalou and Komatsuda disclose wherein at least one of the first actuator and the second actuator is further configured to move a corresponding one of the first refractive optical element and the second refractive optical element in an additional direction transverse to the first direction and the second direction, and wherein a two-dimensional relative position of the first refractive optical element and the second refractive optical element determines a beam shape produced by the cooperating non-planar surfaces (Krikke, para 0075, “Setting the two elements of the axicon 15 together provides conventional circular illumination, while moving them apart creates an annular illumination distribution”). Although Krikke does not disclose reflective optical elements, Krikke discloses a pair of refractive optical elements (15), Krikke discloses in para 0045 that the radiation disclosed in Krikke includes ultraviolet radiation and EUV radiation, which means the lenses in the embodiment shown in Fig. 2 should be replaced by corresponding mirrors and reflective optical elements when EUV radiation is used. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the reflective optical elements to the invention of Krikke for the reasons state above.
Regarding claim 22, Krikke does not disclose wherein the first actuator and the second actuator are configured to move the first reflective optical element and the second reflective optical element among at least three relative positions at which the light reflected between the cooperating non-planar surfaces has respective beam shapes, and wherein the respective beam shapes have different numbers of spatially distinct illuminated portions. Shadalou discloses moving the refractive optical elements among at least three relative positions at which the light reflected between the cooperating non-planar surfaces has respective beam shapes, and wherein the respective beam shapes have different numbers of spatially distinct illuminated portions (Fig. 15, a=0.2 mm, a=0, a=-0.2 mm). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide reflective optical elements to the invention of Krikke for the reasons stated above and to provide. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide three different positioning of the pair of optical elements to provide three different beam shapes in order to provide more shapes and more ways to correct the beam shape.
Claim(s) 8-11, 14-16, 18 and 23-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krikke et al. (Krikke) (2002/0036763) in view of Shadalou et al. (Shadalou) (“General Design Method For Dynamic Freeform Optics With Variable Functionality” in IDS).
Regarding claim 8, Kirkke discloses a system (Fig. 1, 2) comprising: a light source (LA) configured to emit light, wherein the light emitted by the light source is deep ultraviolet (DUV) light (para 0045); an imaging mirror (20, para 0081), disposed in a light path of the light emitted by the light source, wherein the imaging mirror is configured to reflect the light emitted by the light source onto a sample (W); and a pair of refractive optical elements (15, para 0075) disposed in the light path between the light source and the imaging mirror (Fig. 2), wherein the pair of refractive optical elements are spaced apart in a pair of parallel planes and have cooperating non-planar surfaces, and the light emitted by the light source is refracted through the cooperating non-planar surfaces to produce a first beam shape of the light to be reflected on the sample by the imaging mirror (Fig. 2) , wherein the pair of refractive optical elements are spaced apart in parallel planes and have cooperating non-planar surfaces, and the light emitted by the light source is refracted through the cooperating non-planar surfaces to produce a first beam shape of the light to be reflected on the sample by the imaging mirror (Fig. 2, para 0075). However, Kirkke does not disclose wherein at least one of the pair of refractive optical elements is movable within one of the parallel planes to a position in which the light emitted by the light source refracted through the cooperating non-planar surfaces produces a second beam shape that is a different shape from the first beam shape. Krikke also does not disclose a first actuator configured to move a first reflective optical element and a second actuator configured to move a second reflective optical element. Krikke also does not disclose wherein the first actuator and the second actuator are configured to move the first refractive optical element and the second refractive optical element, respectively, from a first relative position, at which the light refracted through the cooperating non-planar surfaces has the first beam shape, to a second relative position, at which the light refracted through the cooperating non-planar surfaces has a second beam shape that is a different shape from the first beam shape; and wherein the first beam shape comprises a first number of spatially distinct illuminated portions and the second beam shape comprises a second number of spatially distinct illuminated portions different from the first number.
Shadalou discloses a system comprising a pair of refractive optical elements (F1, F2, Fig. 13, section 4.1), movable within opposing parallel plane directions (Fig. 13(e), Fig. 15) and changing beam shape by moving within parallel plane directions (Fig. 15, square to hexagonal with lateral shift). Shadalou discloses from a first relative position of the optical elements, the beam having a first shape and to a second relative position, the beam having a second shape (Fig. 15, square to hexagonal with lateral shift) and wherein the first beam shape comprises a first number of spatially distinct illuminated portions and the second beam shape comprises a second number of spatially distinct illuminated portions (the shapes of a square would have a first number of spatially distinct portion and the shape of hexagon would have a second number of spatially distinct illuminated portions different from the first number. Fig. 15 shows there are a number of distinct portions that are illuminated in square shape from the hexagon shape). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the pair of refractive optical elements as taught by Shadalou to the invention of Kirkke in order to change the beam shape without the constraints of rotationally symmetrical optical elements and using freeform surfaces.
Regarding the first and second actuators, Shadalou inherently discloses at least one actuator in order to move the reflective elements (Fig. 13, 15). Further, providing an actuator to move an optical element is well known in the art. Krikke discloses motor (13a) and servo systems (15a, 16a) to move separate optical elements. Krikke additionally discloses actuators for moving the optical elements in a direction parallel to the optical axis (15a, para 0075), which moves the optical elements in a direction orthogonal to the parallel planes of the optical elements (15, para 0075). Krikke also discloses actuators for moving the optical elements in a direction orthogonal to the optical axis or within one of the parallel planes (Fig. 9B, 10A-10C, para 0112, 0113). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a first actuator for one of the pair of reflective optical element and a second actuator for the other of the pair of reflective optical element, in order to independently move the optical elements in opposite directions within the parallel planes to provide a better control over changing or correcting of the beam shape.
Regarding claim 9, Kirkke discloses a collimator disposed in the light path between the light source and the pair of refractive optical elements, wherein the collimator is configured to direct the light emitted by the light source to be refracted through the cooperating non-planar surfaces of the pair of refractive optical elements (para 0090).
Regarding claim 10, Kirkke discloses a pupil disposed in the light path between the pair of refractive optical elements and the imaging mirror, wherein the light in the first beam shape or the second beam shape is directed through the pupil to the imaging mirror (para 0025, 0028, 0076, 0077).
Regarding claim 11, Kirkke discloses does not disclose wherein the cooperating non-planar surfaces of the pair of refractive optical elements form a rectangular prism. Shadalou discloses wherein the cooperating non-planar surfaces of the pair of refractive optical elements form a rectangular prism (Fig. 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the cooperating non-planar surfaces of the pair of refractive optical elements of Shadalou to the invention of Kirkke for the reasons stated above.
Regarding claim 14, Kirkke does not discloses wherein the first beam shape and the second beam shape are different shapes selected from a group comprising: a circular shape, an annular shape, a dipole shape, a quasar shape, a slit shape, and a pinhole shape. Shadalou discloses wherein the beam shapes are a circular shape, rectangular shape and a slit shape (Fig. 9, 11).
Regarding claim 15, Kirkke discloses a method (Fig. 1, 2) comprising: emitting light from a light source (LA), wherein the light emitted by the light source is deep ultraviolet (DUV) light or extreme ultraviolet (EUV) light (para 0045); transmitting the light through a pair of optical elements (15, Fig. 2), wherein the pair of optical elements are spaced apart in a pair of parallel planes and have cooperating non-planar surfaces, and wherein the pair of optical elements are in a first relative position at which the cooperating planar surfaces produce a first beam shape of the light emitted by the light source (para 0075, two elements together provides circular illumination, while moving them apart creates an annular illumination); directing the light in the first beam shape onto a sample (W, Fig. 1).
However, Kirkke does not disclose moving the pair of optical elements from the first relative position to a second relative position at which the cooperating planar surfaces produce a second beam shape of the light emitted by the light source that is a different shape from the first beam shape, by: moving, with a first actuator, a first optical element of the pair of optical elements in a first direction parallel to a first plane of the pair of parallel planes; and moving, with a second actuator, a second optical element of the pair of optical elements in a second direction within a second plane of the pair of parallel planes; and directing the light in the second beam shape onto the sample, wherein the first beam shape comprises a first number of spatially distinct illuminated portions and the second beam shape comprises a second number of spatially distinct illuminated portions different from the first number.
Shadalou discloses a system comprising a pair of refractive optical elements (F1, F2, Fig. 13, section 4.1), movable within opposing parallel plane directions (Fig. 13(e), Fig. 15) and changing beam shape by moving within parallel plane directions (Fig. 15, square to hexagonal with lateral shift). Shadalou discloses from a first relative position of the optical elements, the beam having a first shape and to a second relative position, the beam having a second shape (Fig. 15, square to hexagonal with lateral shift) and wherein the first beam shape comprises a first number of spatially distinct illuminated portions and the second beam shape comprises a second number of spatially distinct illuminated portions (the shapes of a square would have a first number of spatially distinct portion and the shape of hexagon would have a second number of spatially distinct illuminated portions different from the first number. Fig. 15 shows there are a number of distinct portions that are illuminated in square shape from the hexagon shape). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the pair of refractive optical elements as taught by Shadalou to the invention of Kirkke in order to change the beam shape without the constraints of rotationally symmetrical optical elements and using freeform surfaces.
Regarding the first and second actuators, Shadalou inherently discloses at least one actuator in order to move the reflective elements (Fig. 13, 15). Further, providing an actuator to move an optical element is well known in the art. Krikke discloses motor (13a) and servo systems (15a, 16a) to move separate optical elements. Krikke additionally discloses actuators for moving the optical elements in a direction parallel to the optical axis (15a, para 0075), which moves the optical elements in a direction orthogonal to the parallel planes of the optical elements (15, para 0075). Krikke also discloses actuators for moving the optical elements in a direction orthogonal to the optical axis or within one of the parallel planes (Fig. 9B, 10A-10C, para 0112, 0113). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a first actuator for one of the pair of reflective optical element and a second actuator for the other of the pair of reflective optical element, in order to independently move the optical elements in opposite directions within the parallel planes to provide a better control over changing or correcting of the beam shape.
Regarding claim 16, Kirkke discloses wherein before transmitting the light through the pair of optical elements, the method further comprises: collimating the light with a collimator to direct the light emitted by the light source to be transmitted through the pair of optical elements (para 0090).
Regarding claim 18, Kirkke discloses wherein the pair of optical elements comprises a pair of refractive optical elements, the light emitted by the light source is DUV light (para 0075) and transmitting the light through the pair of optical elements comprises: refracting the light emitted by the light source through the cooperating non-planar surfaces to produce the first beam shape of the light (para 0075).
Regarding claims 23 and 25, Krikke in view of Shadalou disclose wherein at least one of the first actuator and the second actuator is further configured to move a corresponding one of the first refractive optical element and the second refractive optical element in an additional direction transverse to the first direction and the second direction, and wherein a two-dimensional relative position of the first refractive optical element and the second refractive optical element determines a beam shape produced by the cooperating non-planar surfaces (Krikke, para 0075, “Setting the two elements of the axicon 15 together provides conventional circular illumination, while moving them apart creates an annular illumination distribution”).
Regarding claims 24 and 26, Krikke does not disclose wherein the first actuator and the second actuator are configured to move the first refractive optical element and the second refractive optical element among at least three relative positions at which the light refracted through the cooperating non-planar surfaces has respective beam shapes, and wherein the respective beam shapes have different numbers of spatially distinct illuminated portions. Shadalou discloses moving the refractive optical elements among at least three relative positions at which the light reflected between the cooperating non-planar surfaces has respective beam shapes, and wherein the respective beam shapes have different numbers of spatially distinct illuminated portions (Fig. 15, a=0.2 mm, a=0, a=-0.2 mm). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide refractive optical elements to the invention of Krikke for the reasons stated above and to provide. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide three different positioning of the pair of optical elements to provide three different beam shapes in order to provide more shapes and more ways to correct the beam shape.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirkke et al. (Kirkke) in view of Shadalou et al. as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Komatsuda.
Regarding claim 17, the further difference between the claimed invention and the modified Kirkke is the pair of reflective optical elements. Although Krikke does not disclose the pair of reflective optical elements, but discloses a pair of refractive optical elements (15), Krikke discloses in para 0045 that the radiation disclosed in Krikke includes ultraviolet radiation and EUV radiation, which means the lenses in the embodiment shown in Fig. 2 should be replaced by mirrors and reflective optical elements. Komatsuda discloses in Fig. 19, such an arrangement. Komatsuda discloses a projection exposure apparatus comprising EUV light (col. 25, lines 49-55, col. 36, lines 3-7), imaging mirrors (6), a sample (7) and a pair of reflective optical elements (120a, 120b) which are moved in an X-direction (in parallel plane), the beam shape is corrected from a first shape to a second shape (col. 38, lines 37-48). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify Krikke by providing a pair of reflective optical elements with at least one of the pair of reflective optical element as taught by Komatsuda to the invention of Krikke when EUV light is used, in order to obtain the correct or desired beam shape as taught by Komatsuda in col. 38, line 37-48.
Response to Arguments
In response to applicant’s arguments, the rejections have been modified as indicated above. Applicant argues Krikke does not disclose that movement of either optical pair changes the number of spatially distinct illuminated portions in resulting beam shape. However, Krikke discloses such movement in para 0075. Changing from a circular illumination to an annular illumination would change the number of spatially distinct illuminated portions.
Applicant argues that Komatsuda does not disclose the claimed movement of the pair of reflective optical elements. However, Komatsuda is merely cited to show an EUV system comprising reflective optical elements.
Applicant argues that Shadalou changes illuminated portion from a circular outer contour to a square contour and does not change the number of spatially distinct illuminated portions. However, a different section of Shadalou is cited in the modified rejection. Shadalou discloses changing from a square illumination to hexagonal illumination, and it changes the number of spatially distinct illuminated portion as shown in Fig. 15.
Conclusion
/PETER B KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882 September 9, 2026