DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “141a” has been used to designate both first refractive optical element and first actuator in Fig. 2 (see para 0034, 0046). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 8, the claim is directed to EUV light and a pair of refractive optical elements. It is unclear how the system works with EUV light since EUV light is used with reflective optical element due to high absorption of EUV light. It is assumed that the light source is DUV light.
The remaining claims, not specifically mentioned, are rejected for incorporating the defects from the base claim by dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muramatsu (2012/0212799) in view of Fujimura (WO 2012/060099) (machine translation provided with Office Action, page number refers to the translation).
Regarding claim 1, Maramatsu discloses a system (Fig. 1) comprising: a light source (LS) configured to emit light (para 0026); an imaging mirror (10c) disposed in a light path of the light emitted by the light source, wherein the imaging mirror is configured to reflect the light emitted by the light source onto a sample (W, para 0039); and a pair of reflective optical elements (2, 3) disposed in the light path between the light source and the imaging mirror, wherein the pair of reflective optical elements are spaced apart in parallel planes (Fig. 1) and have cooperating non-planar surfaces (Fig. 2A), and the light emitted by the light source is reflected between the cooperating non-planar surfaces to produce a first beam shape of the light to be reflected on the sample by the imaging mirror (para 0027, 0028). Although Maramatsu does not disclose wherein at least one of the pair of reflective optical elements is movable within one of the parallel planes to a position in which the light emitted by the light source reflected between the cooperating non-planar surfaces produces a second beam shape that is a different shape from the first beam shape, Maramatsu discloses SLM (2, 3) which change the arrangement or the inclination of the individual mirror elements, so that the posture of the reflecting surfaces of SLM (2, 3) are changed, to change the beam shape (para 0044-0046) similar to moving at least one of the reflective optical element within the parallel planes. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a means to move the SLM within the parallel planes which changes the reflecting angles of the light similarly to changing the arrangement or the inclination of the individual mirror elements.
However, Maramatsu does not disclose wherein the light emitted by the light source is deep ultraviolet (DUV) light or extreme ultraviolet (EUV) light. Fujimura discloses a system (Fig. 1 and 2) comprising spatial light modulator (3S, Fig. 2) for change the beams shape (abstract, page 3-5). Fujimura discloses applying the system to EUV exposure apparatuses (page 19). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the system of Maramatsu to an EUV exposure apparatus as taught by Fujimura in order to improve resolution of imaging.
Regarding claim 2, although Maramatsu does not disclose a collimator disposed in the light path between the light source and the pair of reflective optical elements, wherein the collimator is configured to direct the light emitted by the light source to be reflected between the cooperating non-planar surfaces of the pair of reflective optical elements, Maramatsu discloses the sending optical system (1) which is disposed in the light path between the light source and the pair of reflective optical elements, wherein the sending optical system is configured to direct the light emitted by the light source to be reflected between the cooperating non-planar surfaces of the pair of reflective optical elements (Fig. 1, para 0027). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a collimator in order to direct a parallel beams to SLM for beam shaping.
Regarding claim 3, Maramatsu discloses a pupil disposed in the light path between the pair of reflective optical elements and the imaging mirror, wherein the light in the first beam shape or the second beam shape is directed through the pupil to the imaging mirror (Fig. 3, para 0043, 0046).
Regarding claim 4, Maramatsu discloses wherein the cooperating non-planar surfaces of the pair of reflective optical elements form a rectangular prism (Fig. 1).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, although Maramatsu does not disclose a first actuator configured to move a first reflective optical element of the pair of reflective optical elements in a first direction within a first plane of the pair of parallel planes to the position in which the light emitted by the light source reflected between the cooperating non-planar surfaces produces the second beam shape and a second actuator configured to move a second reflective optical element of the pair of reflective optical elements in a second direction within a second plane of the parallel planes to the position in which the light emitted by the light source reflected between the cooperating non-planar surfaces produces the second beam shape, wherein the second direction is opposite to the first direction, Maramatsu discloses actuators (2a, 3a) to drive the SLM (2, 3). Since moving the SLM (2 and 3) within the parallel planes in the opposite directions changes the posture of the reflecting surfaces similar to changing the inclination of the individual mirror elements, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a first actuator and a second actuator to move the SLM (2 and 3) of Maramatsu.
Regarding claim 7, Maramatsu discloses wherein the first beam shape and the second beam shape are different shapes selected from a group comprising: a circular shape, an annular shape, a dipole shape, a quasar shape, a slit shape, and a pinhole shape (para 0044).
Claim(s) 8-16 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krikke et al. (Krikke) (2002/0036763) in view of Shadalou et al. (Shadalou) (“General Design Method For Dynamic Freeform Optics With Variable Functionality” in IDS).
Regarding claim 8 Kirkke discloses a system (Fig. 1, 2) comprising: a light source (LA) configured to emit light, wherein the light emitted by the light source is deep ultraviolet (DUV) light or extreme ultraviolet (EUV) light (para 0045); an imaging mirror (20, para 0081), disposed in a light path of the light emitted by the light source, wherein the imaging mirror is configured to reflect the light emitted by the light source onto a sample (W); and a pair of refractive optical elements (15, para 0075) disposed in the light path between the light source and the imaging mirror (Fig. 2), wherein the pair of refractive optical elements are spaced apart in parallel planes and have cooperating non-planar surfaces, and the light emitted by the light source is refracted through the cooperating non-planar surfaces to produce a first beam shape of the light to be reflected on the sample by the imaging mirror (Fig. 2). However, Kirkke does not diclose wherein at least one of the pair of refractive optical elements is movable within one of the parallel planes to a position in which the light emitted by the light source refracted through the cooperating non-planar surfaces produces a second beam shape that is a different shape from the first beam shape. Shadalou discloses a system comprising a pair of refractive optical elements (Fig. 2, section 2, page 3), movable within opposing parallel plane directions (Fig. 4, page 5) and changing beam shape by moving within parallel plane directions (Fig. 9-11, section 3, pages 8-10). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the pair of refractive optical elements as taught by Shadalou to the invention of Kirkke in order to change the beam shape without the constraints of rotationally symmetrical optical elements and using freeform surfaces.
Regarding claim 9, Kirkke discloses a collimator disposed in the light path between the light source and the pair of refractive optical elements, wherein the collimator is configured to direct the light emitted by the light source to be refracted through the cooperating non-planar surfaces of the pair of refractive optical elements (para 0090).
Regarding claim 10, Kirkke discloses a pupil disposed in the light path between the pair of refractive optical elements and the imaging mirror, wherein the light in the first beam shape or the second beam shape is directed through the pupil to the imaging mirror (para 0025, 0028, 0076, 0077).
Regarding claim 11, Kirkke discloses does not disclose wherein the cooperating non-planar surfaces of the pair of refractive optical elements form a rectangular prism. Shadalou discloses wherein the cooperating non-planar surfaces of the pair of refractive optical elements form a rectangular prism (Fig. 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the cooperating non-planar surfaces of the pair of refractive optical elements of Shadalou to the invention of Kirkke for the reasons stated above.
Regarding claims 12 and 13, Kirkke does not disclose a first actuator and a second actuator as claimed. Although Shadalou does not explicitly disclose actuators to move the optical elements, Shadalou discloses moving a first refractive optical element of the pair of refractive optical elements in a first direction within a first plane of the pair of parallel planes to the position in which the light emitted by the light source refracted through the cooperating non-planar surfaces produces the second beam shape and moving a second refractive optical element of the pair of refractive optical elements in a second direction within a second plane of the parallel planes to the position in which the light emitted by the light source refracted through the cooperating non-planar surfaces produces the second beam shape, wherein the second direction is opposite to the first direction (Fig. 4, 7-11), and a first and second actuators are inherent to move the first and the second refractive optical elements. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the first and the second actuators in order to move the refractive optical elements to change the beam shape.
Regarding claim 14, Kirkke does not discloses wherein the first beam shape and the second beam shape are different shapes selected from a group comprising: a circular shape, an annular shape, a dipole shape, a quasar shape, a slit shape, and a pinhole shape. Shadalou discloses wherein the beam shapes are a circular shape, rectangular shape and a slit shape (Fig. 9, 11).
Regarding claim 15, Kirkke discloses a method (Fig. 1, 2) comprising: emitting light from a light source (LA), wherein the light emitted by the light source is deep ultraviolet (DUV) light or extreme ultraviolet (EUV) light (para 0045); transmitting the light through a pair of optical elements (15, Fig. 2), wherein the pair of optical elements are spaced apart in parallel planes and have cooperating non-planar surfaces that are configured to produce a first beam shape of the light emitted by the light source (para 0075); directing the light in the first beam shape onto a sample (W, Fig. 1). However, Kirkke does not disclose moving the pair of optical elements in the parallel planes to a position in which the cooperating non-planar surfaces are configured to produce a second beam shape of the light emitted by the light source that is a different shape from the first beam shape; and directing the light in the second beam shape onto the sample. Shadalou discloses a system comprising a pair of refractive optical elements (Fig. 2, section 2, page 3), movable within opposing parallel plane directions (Fig. 4, page 5) and changing beam shape by moving within parallel plane directions (Fig. 9-11, section 3, pages 8-10). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the pair of refractive optical elements as taught by Shadalou to the invention of Kirkke in order to change the beam shape by moving the pair of optical elements in opposing directions without the constraints of rotationally symmetrical optical elements and using freeform surfaces.
Regarding claim 16, Kirkke discloses wherein before transmitting the light through the pair of optical elements, the method further comprises: collimating the light with a collimator to direct the light emitted by the light source to be transmitted through the pair of optical elements (para 0090).
Regarding claim 18, Kirkke discloses wherein the pair of optical elements comprises a pair of refractive optical elements, and transmitting the light through the pair of optical elements comprises: refracting the light emitted by the light source through the cooperating non-planar surfaces to produce the first beam shape of the light (para 0075).
Regarding claims 19 and 20, Kirkke does not disclose moving, with a first actuator, a first optical element of the pair of optical elements in a first direction within a first plane of the parallel planes to the position to produce the second beam shape and moving, with a second actuator, a second optical element of the pair of optical elements in a second direction within a second plane of the parallel planes to the position to produce the second beam shape, wherein the second direction is opposite to the first direction. Although Shadalou does not explicitly disclose actuators to move the optical elements, Shadalou discloses moving a first refractive optical element of the pair of refractive optical elements in a first direction within a first plane of the pair of parallel planes to the position in which the light emitted by the light source refracted through the cooperating non-planar surfaces produces the second beam shape and moving a second refractive optical element of the pair of refractive optical elements in a second direction within a second plane of the parallel planes to the position in which the light emitted by the light source refracted through the cooperating non-planar surfaces produces the second beam shape, wherein the second direction is opposite to the first direction (Fig. 4, 7-11), and a first and second actuators are inherent to move the first and the second refractive optical elements. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the first and the second actuators in order to move the refractive optical elements to change the beam shape.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirkke et al. (Kirkke) in view of Shadalou et al. as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Muramatsu.
Regarding claim 17, the further difference between the claimed invention and the modified Kirkke is the pair of reflective optical elements. Although Kirkke does not disclose that the pair of optical elements (15) are a pair of reflective optical elements, Kirkke discloses in para 0045, the radiation and beam used include EUV light, which would require modifying the optical system with reflective optical elements instead of refractive optical elements. Mauramatsu discloses a pair of reflective optical elements (2, 3) disposed in the light path between the light source and the imaging mirror, wherein the pair of reflective optical elements are spaced apart in parallel planes (Fig. 1) and have cooperating non-planar surfaces (Fig. 2A), and the light emitted by the light source is reflected between the cooperating non-planar surfaces to produce a first beam shape of the light to be reflected on the sample (para 0027, 0028). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a pair of reflective optical elements to the invention of Kirkke to be used in an EUV system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kirkke et al. (2002/0036763) discloses a pair of refractive optical elements (15) for beam shaping, but the pair are moved to change the separation distance between the pairs, but does not disclose moving them within the parallel plane. Kirkke et al. discloses another refractive pair (40, Fig. 9B, 10A-10C) movable in opposing directions within the parallel plane. However, the refractive pair (40) are used to change the focal point (para 0112).
Tanitsu et al. (2002/0085276) a pair of refractive optical elements (10a, 10b) which changes the spacing distance between the two elements to change the aspect ratio and does not disclose moving within the parallel plane.
/PETER B KIM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882 September 28, 2025