Detailed Action
This office action is in response to applicant’s communication filed on 08/05/26. Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Claim Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. §103
Claims 1-3, 6, 12, 13, 14 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Kwon (KR 20220093875 A) and further in view of Jung (US 20210249479 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kwon discloses a display device comprising:
a substrate (101 at fig 5);
a light-emitting device disposed on the substrate (see 113 formed on 101);
a color conversion layer disposed on the light-emitting device (see 106);
a color filter layer disposed on the color conversion layer (CF);
a first coating layer disposed on the color filter layer and including a scattering particle 220 and
a dispersion layer 210 in which the scattering particle is dispersed (see 200 having particle beads 220); and
a second coating layer 300 disposed on the first coating layer and having a smaller refractive index than a refractive index of the first coating layer (may have a refractive index of about 1.3 or less).
However, Kwon does not explicitly disclose wherein the color conversion layer is interposed between the light-emitting device and the color filter layer, and the color filter layer is interposed between the color conversion layer and the first coating layer.
However, Jung is directed towards LED devices and at least at figs 3 and 11, discloses wherein the color conversion layer 150 is interposed between the light-emitting device 200 and the color filter layer120, and the color filter layer 120 is interposed between the color conversion layer150 and the first coating layer110.
Kwon and Jung are in the same or similar fields of endeavor. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at a time prior to the effective filing date of the present application to combine Kwon and Jung. Kwon and Jung may be combined by forming the conversion layers and filters in the arrangement disclosed in Jung in order to increase light output, see paras [0076] and [0077].
Regarding claim 2, Kwon and Jung disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein a refractive index of the scattering particle is different from a refractive index of the dispersion layer (The low refractive index pattern 300 may have a lower refractive index than the scattering pattern 200 , and has a refractive index of about 1.3 or less.).
Regarding claim 3, Kwon and Jung disclose the display device of claim 2, wherein the scattering particle includes at least one of a silica particle, a hollow silica particle, an organic polymer particle, a metal oxide particle, a metal particle, a carbon particle, and a zeolite particle (the beads 220 - 1 made of ZrO .sub.2 , and the red sub-pixel (R- The scattering pattern 200 positioned to correspond to SP) contains the beads 220-2 made of TiO .sub.2 , and the scattering pattern 200 positioned to correspond to the blue sub-pixel (B-SP) contains ZrO .sub.2 or.sub. The beads 220-3 made of Al .sub.2 O .sub.3 are to be contained).
Regarding claim 6, Kwon and Jung disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein the second coating layer includes a silicon compound having the refractive index of less than about 1.5 (see claim 2).
Regarding claim 10, Kwon and Jung disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein a thickness of the first coating layer is greater than a thickness of the second coating layer (see claim 4disclosing first layer is greater than second layer).
Regarding claim 12, Kwon and Jung disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein the scattering particle scatters and reflects specularly reflected light (see claim 5).
Regarding claim 13, Kwon and Jung disclose the display device of claim 1, wherein the second coating layer destructively interferes with specularly reflected light (Kwon discloses an interference pattern: The fine pattern can be configured in various ways, such as an elliptical pattern and a polygonal pattern, and by using a hologram pattern to refract the light incident by the interference pattern in an asymmetrical direction. Condensed light can be diffused at a more inclined angle.).
Regarding claim 14, Kwon discloses a method of manufacturing a display device, the method comprising: forming a light-emitting device 103, a color conversion layer 106, and a color filter layer on a substrate sequentially (see fig 5 disclosing sequential formation); forming a first coating layer including a scattering particle and a dispersion layer in which the scattering particle is dispersed on the color filter layer (see200/210/220); and forming a second coating layer having a smaller refractive index than a refractive index of the first coating layer on the first coating layer (see claims 1-3 and element 300).
However, Kwon does not explicitly disclose wherein the color conversion layer is interposed between the light-emitting device and the color filter layer, and the color filter layer is interposed between the color conversion layer and the first coating layer.
However, Jung is directed towards LED devices and at least at figs 3 and 11, discloses wherein the color conversion layer 150 is interposed between the light-emitting device 200 and the color filter layer120, and the color filter layer 120 is interposed between the color conversion layer150 and the first coating layer110.
Kwon and Jung are in the same or similar fields of endeavor. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at a time prior to the effective filing date of the present application to combine Kwon and Jung. Kwon and Jung may be combined by forming the conversion layers and filters in the arrangement disclosed in Jung in order to increase light output, see paras [0076] and [0077].
Regarding claim 17, Kwon and Jung disclose the method of claim 14, wherein the second coating layer includes a silicon compound having the refractive index of less than about 1.5(The low refractive index pattern 300 may have a lower refractive index than the scattering pattern 200 , and has a refractive index of about 1.3 or less).
Claim Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. §103
Claims 4 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Kwon and further in view of Kwon (KR 20200026997 A) and Jung.
Regarding claim 4, Kwon and Jung disclose he display device of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the scattering particle has a size of about 0.2 micrometers or more and about 2 micrometers or less. However, Sugawara is directed towards refractive particles and at least at the description, discloses silica particles (SS50F; manufactured by Tosoh Silica Industries Co., Ltd., refractive index 1.47, average particle diameter) 1.1 micrometers).
Kwon, Jung and Sugawara are in the same or similar fields of endeavor. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at a time prior to the effective filing date of the present application to combine Kwon, Jung with Sugawara. Kwan and Sugawara may be combined by forming the beads of Kwon and Jung in accordance with Sugawara. One having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine Kwan, Jung and Sugawara in order to achieve desired transparency/emission characteristics.
Regarding claim 15, Kwon and Jung discloses the display device of claim 11, Sugawara discloses wherein the scattering particle is formed to have a size of about 0.2 micrometers or more and about 2 micrometers or less(SS50F; manufactured by Tosoh Silica Industries Co., Ltd., refractive index 1.47, average particle diameter, 1.1 micrometers).
Kwon, Jung and Sugawara are in the same or similar fields of endeavor. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at a time prior to the effective filing date of the present application to combine Kwon, Jung with Sugawara. Kwan and Sugawara may be combined by forming the beads of Kwon and Jung in accordance with Sugawara. One having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine Kwan, Jung and Sugawara in order to achieve desired transparency/emission characteristics.
Claims 5, 7-9, 11, 16, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Kwon, Jung and further in view of Saito (US 11796717 B2).
Regarding claim 5, Kwon and Jung disclose the display device of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein a content of the scattering particle is about 10 weight percent or more and about 80 weight percent or less. However, Saito is directed towards refractive bead concentrations and at least at col 13, ln 10-50 discloses 20% by weight.
Kwon, Jung and Saito are in the same or similar fields of endeavor. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at a time prior to the effective filing date of the present application to combine Kwon and Jung with Saito. Kwan and Saito may be combined by forming the beads of Kwon and Jung in accordance with Saito. One having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine Kwan and Saito in order to achieve desired transparency/emission characteristics.
Regarding claim 7, Kwon and Jung disclose the display device of claim 1, and Saito discloses wherein the second coating layer includes a material having a fluorine content of about 10 percent or more and a molecular weight of about 10,000 or more(at least at col 13, ln 10-50 discloses 20% by weight).
Kwon, Jung and Saito are in the same or similar fields of endeavor. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at a time prior to the effective filing date of the present application to combine Kwon and Jung with Saito. Kwan and Saito may be combined by forming the beads of Kwon and Jung in accordance with Saito. One having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine Kwan and Saito in order to achieve desired transparency/emission characteristics.
Regarding claim 8, Kwon and Jung disclose the display device of claim 1, Saito discloses wherein the second coating layer includes a material having a hollow silica content of about 10 weight percent or more and about 80 weight percent or less, and a molecular weight of about 10,000 or more (see table 1).
Kwon, Jung and Saito are in the same or similar fields of endeavor. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at a time prior to the effective filing date of the present application to combine Kwon and Jung with Saito. Kwan, Jung and Saito may be combined by forming the beads of Kwon and Jung in accordance with Saito. One having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine Kwan, Jung and Saito in order to achieve desired transparency/emission characteristics.
Regarding claim 9, Kwon and Jung disclose the display device of claim 8, and Saito further discloses wherein a hollow silica particle of the hollow silica content has a size of about 50 nanometers or more and about 400 nanometers or less (see Table 1 disclosing 86nm).
Kwon, Jung and Saito are in the same or similar fields of endeavor. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at a time prior to the effective filing date of the present application to combine Kwon and Jung with Saito. Kwan, Jung and Saito may be combined by forming the beads of Kwon and Jung in accordance with Saito. One having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine Kwan, Jung and Saito in order to achieve desired transparency/emission characteristics.
Regarding claim 11, Kwon and Jung disclose the display device of claim 1, Saito discloses wherein the second coating layer has a thickness of about 80 nanometers or more and about 500 nanometers or less. (see Table 1 disclosing 86nm).
Kwon, Jung and Saito are in the same or similar fields of endeavor. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at a time prior to the effective filing date of the present application to combine Kwon and Jung with Saito. Kwan and Saito may be combined by forming the beads of Kwon and Jung in accordance with Saito. One having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine Kwan, Jung and Saito in order to achieve desired transparency/emission characteristics.
Regarding claim 16, Kwon and Jung disclose the method of claim 14, Saito discloses wherein a content of the scattering particle is about 10 weight percent or more and about 80 weight percent of less(see table 1).
Kwon, Jung and Saito are in the same or similar fields of endeavor. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at a time prior to the effective filing date of the present application to combine Kwon and Jung with Saito. Kwan, Jung and Saito may be combined by forming the beads of Kwon and Jung in accordance with Saito. One having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine Kwan, Jung and Saito in order to achieve desired transparency/emission characteristics.
Regarding claim 18 Kwon and Jung disclose the method of claim 14, Saito discloses wherein the second coating layer includes a material having a fluorine content of about 10 percent or more and a molecular weight of about 10,000 or more(see table 1, at least at col 13, ln 10-50 discloses 20% by weight).
Kwon, Jung and Saito are in the same or similar fields of endeavor. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at a time prior to the effective filing date of the present application to combine Kwon and Jung with Saito. Kwan and Saito may be combined by forming the beads of Kwon and Jung in accordance with Saito. One having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine Kwan, Jung and Saito in order to achieve desired transparency/emission characteristics.
Regarding claim 19, Kwon and Jung disclose the method of claim 14, wherein the second coating layer includes a material having a hollow silica content of about 10 weight percent or more and about 80 weight percent or less, and a molecular weight of about 10,000 or more (see table 1, at least at col 13, ln 10-50 discloses 20% by weight).
Kwon, Jung and Saito are in the same or similar fields of endeavor. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at a time prior to the effective filing date of the present application to combine Kwon and Jung with Saito. Kwan and Saito may be combined by forming the beads of Kwon and Jung in accordance with Saito. One having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine Kwan, Jung and Saito in order to achieve desired transparency/emission characteristics.
Regarding claim 20, Kwon and Jung disclose method claim 14, Saito discloses wherein the second coating layer has a thickness of about 80 nanometers or more and about 500 nanometers or less(see table 1, disclosing 86 nm).
Kwon, Jung and Saito are in the same or similar fields of endeavor. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at a time prior to the effective filing date of the present application to combine Kwon and Jung with Saito. Kwan and Saito may be combined by forming the beads of Kwon and Jung in accordance with Saito. One having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine Kwan and Saito in order to achieve desired transparency/emission characteristics.
Response to Arguments
Applicant amended independent claims with additional features. This office action now cites to Jung as disclosing these features. Thus, applicant’s assertions are now moot.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EDWARD CHIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893