CTNF 18/653,129 CTNF 90686 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. DETAILED ACTION This action is responsive to the application No. 18/653,129 filed on May 02, 2024. Information Disclosure Statement 3 . Acknowledgement is made of Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) form PTO-1449. These IDS has been considered. Claim Objections 4 . Claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 7, 8 are objected to because of the following informalities: In the following, the claims should be recited to avoid indefiniteness due to lack of antecedent basis: 1. (Currently Amended) A semiconductor device, comprising: a substrate; a bit line disposed on the substrate and extending along a first direction; a first word line disposed on the substrate and extending along a second direction substantially perpendicular to the first direction; a second word line disposed on the substrate and extending along the second direction; and a channel layer disposed between the first word line and the second word line and extending along the second direction. 3. (Currently Amended) The semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein an upper surface of the first word line is substantially aligned with an upper surface of the channel layer. 5. (Currently Amended) The semiconductor device of claim 4, wherein an upper surface of the first gate dielectric is substantially aligned with an upper surface of the channel layer. 6. (Currently Amended) The semiconductor device of claim 4, wherein an upper surface of the first gate dielectric is substantially aligned with an upper surface of the first word line. 7. (Currently Amended) The semiconductor device of claim 4, wherein a lower surface of the first gate dielectric is substantially aligned with a lower surface of the first word line. 8. (Currently Amended) The semiconductor device of claim 4, wherein a length of the first word line is substantially the same as a length of the first gate dielectric along a third direction substantially perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction. Appropriate corrections are needed. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 5 . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 6 . The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA 7. Claim s 1-7, 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1)/(a)(2 ) as being anticipated by IM (US 2023/0122541 A1) . Regarding independent claim 1, IM teaches a semiconductor device (2, para [0037]), comprising (Fig. 2A): a substrate (101, para [0037]); a bit line (110, para [0038]) disposed on the substrate (101) and extending along a first direction (x-direction); a first word line (140a, para [0038]) disposed on the substrate (101) and extending along a second direction (z-direction) perpendicular to the first direction (x-direction); a second word line (140b, para [0038]) disposed on the substrate (101) and extending along the second direction (z-direction); and a channel layer (120, para [0038]) disposed between the first word line (140a) and the second word line (140b) and extending along the second direction (z-direction). Regarding claim 2, IM teaches wherein (Fig. 2A), the first word line (140a) and the second word line (140b) are disposed on two opposite sides of the channel layer (120). Regarding claim 3, IM teaches wherein (see Fig. 2A), an upper surface of the first word line (140a) is aligned with an upper surface of the channel layer (120). Regarding claim 4, IM teaches wherein (see Fig. 2A), further comprising: a first gate dielectric (130a, para [0038]) disposed between the first word line (140a) and the channel layer (120), wherein the first gate dielectric (130a) extends along the second direction (z-direction). Regarding claim 5, IM teaches wherein (see Fig. 2A), an upper surface of the first gate dielectric (130a) is aligned with an upper surface of the channel layer (120). Regarding claim 6, IM teaches wherein (see Fig. 2A), an upper surface of the first gate dielectric (130a) is aligned with an upper surface of the first word line (140a). Regarding claim 7, IM teaches wherein (see Fig. 2A), a lower surface (bottom surface) of the first gate dielectric (130a) is aligned with a lower surface (bottom surface) of the first word line (140a). Regarding claim 9, IM teaches wherein (see Fig. 2A), the first gate dielectric (130a) has a bar-shaped profile (see Fig. 2A wherein the gate dielectric 130a can be considered as the rectangular bar-shape structure). Regarding claim 10, IM teaches wherein (see Fig. 2A), the first word line (140a) has a bar-shaped profile (see Fig. 2A wherein the first word line 140a can be considered as the rectangular bar-shape structure). Regarding claim 11, IM teaches wherein (see Fig. 2A), the channel layer (120) has a bar-shaped profile (see Fig. 2A wherein the channel layer 120 can be considered as the rectangular bar-shape structure). Regarding claim 12, IM teaches wherein (see Fig. 2A), a width (horizontal length) of the first word line (140a) is less than a width (horizontal length) of the channel layer (120) along the first direction (x-direction) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 8 . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA 9 . The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-20-02-aia AIA 10 . This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-23-aia AIA 11 . The factual inquiries set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co., 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: a. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. b. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. c. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. d. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or non-obviousness. 07-22-aia AIA 12. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IM (US 2023/0122541 A1) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Jeong et al. (US 2023/0320077 A1) . Regarding claim 8, IM teaches all of the limitations of claim 4 from which this claim depends. IM is explicitly silent of disclosing wherein, a length of the first word line is the same as a length of the first gate dielectric along a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction. Jeong et al. discloses wherein (Fig. 2B), a length of the first word line (34, para [0085]) is the same as a length of the first gate dielectric (32, para [0085]) along a third direction (z-direction) perpendicular to the first direction (x-direction) and the second direction (y-direction). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teaching as taught by Jeong et al., and modify the structure of IM by adjusting the length of the word line or the gate dielectric layer, in order to fabricate the cell transistors of memory cells of the DRAM (para [0085]), therefore, simplified the manufacturing process. Examiner’s Note 13 . Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicants' definition which is not specifically set forth in the claims. See MPEP 2111, 2123, 2125, 2141.02 VI, and 2182. Examiner has cited particular paragraphs and/or columns/lines in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. See MPEP 2141.02 VI . In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention. Conclusion 14 . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DIDARUL MAZUMDER whose telephone number is (571)272-8823. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9-5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. 15 . If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, William Partridge can be reached at 571-270-1402. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /DIDARUL A MAZUMDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/653,129 Page 2 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/653,129 Page 3 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/653,129 Page 4 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/653,129 Page 5 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/653,129 Page 6 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/653,129 Page 7 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/653,129 Page 8 Art Unit: 2812