DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of the product of the pad claims in the reply filed on 6/2/26 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 10166653 B2).
With respect to claims 1, 2 Lee describes a pad conditioners for conditioning polishing pads comprising a base substrate 10, projections 21 and 21a extending upward from a surface of the base substrate 10, having an edge defined by two intersecting surfaces; and a diamond layer 23 and 30 over the projections 21 and 21a (col. 5, line 7-10; col. 6, lines 6-12, 50-55; fig. 5a)
.
With respect to claim 3, the diamond layer is formed by CVD (col. 6, lines 14-16, 50-55).
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-8, 21-23, 26-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Smith et al. (US 2014/0113532A1).
With respect to claims 1, 2, Smith describes a CMP conditioner for a polishing pad comprising: a backing base plate/member; protrusions/projections 164, 166, 170a-170c, in segments 152a-152c, extending upward from a surface of the base member and having an edge defined by intersecting surfaces; a diamond layer 322 overlying the protrusions (para 69; 82-88, 123, fig. 7A-7C, 7F, 8A-8C, 17),
With respect to claims 3, 23, 29 the diamond is a CVD diamond (para 123).
With respect to claims 6, 7, fig. 10 shows a first array of protrusions 204a, second array of protrusions 204b, and third array of protrusions 204c that are arranged offset from each other
.
With respect to claims 8 and 27, figure 7a, 7b above show the protrusions are confined to segments/regions 152a, 152b or claimed first regions, while the area around the segments 152a, 152b or claimed second region is void of the protrusions.
With respect to claims 21, 22 fig 8A-8C, 10 further show the a first array of protrusions 204a, second array of protrusions 204b, and third array of protrusions 204c that are arranged offset from each other and a height of the protrusions changing from an edge region to a central regions or from one annular zone such as zone 174 to another annular zone 172, which provides claimed a second array of projections offset from the first array of projections, and have a height greater than a height of the first array of projections and a third array of projections offset from the second array of projections, and have a height greater than a height of the second array of projections (para 88, 89).
With respect to claim 26, fig 7f and 8c above show the protrusions have a base contacting the upper surface of the base member and an apex spaced from the base member, and each protrusion of the array has a maximum width at the base and a width that decreases from the base to the apex.
With respect to claim 28, segments 152a and 152 in fig 7A and 7B above show the regions are arranged in a fan, concentric and segmented pattern.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith as applied to claim 27 above.
With respect to claim 31, Smith doesn’t explicitly teach the diamond layer is absent from the upper surface of the base member. However, he emphasizes that the diamond layer is to cover at least the distal extremities or the tip portions of the protrusions (claim 1; para 123). Therefore, it would have been obvious and within the knowledge of one skilled in the art that the diamond can be absent from the upper surface of the base plate as long as it covers the tip portions of the protrusions to provide a pad conditioner with expected results.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sung (US 2017/0232576A1).
With respect to claim 4, Smith doesn’t teach that the protrusions are comprised of a common material selected from acrylic, polyurethane, polyester, polyimide, carbon treated polymer and/or combinations thereof. However, these are known to one skilled in the art as materials for making a pad conditioner as shown here by Sung (claim 8). Therefore, in the absent of unexpected results, one skilled in the art would find it obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to use any of known materials as long as it provides material making up of the protrusions for pad conditioner.
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Ishizuka (JP 2012213833A).
With respect to claim 25, Smith doesn’t teach that the pitch for the protrusions is from 50 to 2000um. Ishizuka teaches forming a sintered body for pad conditioning having protrusions. The protrusions have a pitch at 200 um or less (claim 1; page 4; fig. 2). Figure 2 shows a pitch of 100um.
. It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the pitch for the protrusions in light of Ishizuka because Ishizuka shows that this pitch dimension has been successfully used to provide a pad conditioner to condition and regenerate a polishing pad (page 5) with expected results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 24, 30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to claims 5, 24, and 30, the prior art Lee and Smith, while describe a pad conditioner having protrusions; however, neither prior art teaches the protrusions comprises first protrusions formed from a first material having a first hardness and second protrusions formed from a second material having a second hardness less than or different hardness from the first hardness.
/DUY VU N DEO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713
7/10/2026