Claim Analysis - 35 USC § 101
Claim 1 appears to contain generally algorithmic steps, and generally lacks physical steps. As such an analysis under 35 U.S.C. 101 is warranted. In general, the claim appears directed to the judicially excepted subject matter of abstract ideas. However, these ideas have been articulated as being embodied in the practical application of scanning a part for defects. As such, no rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101 are appropriate at this time.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 10-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Griffiths et al. (2020/0225171)
Regarding claims 1 and 13, Griffiths discloses a method (and computer hardware programmed to perform it), comprising: obtaining one or more three dimensional computer models that model geometric and material properties of a component, and model beam properties of a beam of radiation to be applied to the component; utilizing the one or more three dimensional computer models to obtain simulated radiation imaging data, which includes simulated elastic scattering data, resulting from a simulated application of the beam having the beam properties on a plurality of discretized samples of the component, and which accounts for sequential interactions of rays of the beam with multiple ones of the plurality of discretized samples; obtaining actual radiation imaging data, which includes actual elastic scattering data, of an output beam pattern caused by application of a non-simulated beam of radiation having the beam properties to the component; and performing at least one of: determining whether an anomaly exists in a crystalline structure of the component based a comparison of the simulated elastic scattering data to the actual elastic scattering data; and modifying the actual radiation imaging data based on the simulated elastic scattering data to at least partially remove the actual elastic scattering data from the actual radiation imaging data. (Griffiths, Abstract, see also [0083], [0084], [0085])
Regarding claims 2 and 14, Griffiths further discloses the beam properties that are modeled by the one or more three dimensional computer models include one or more of: an energy spectrum of the beam; a shape of the beam; an axial divergence of the beam; a distance between the component and a source of the beam; and ray tracing data of the beam. (Griffiths, [0082], the “pattern of diffracted radiation” corresponds to both a shape of the beam and ray tracing data of the beam)
Regarding claims 3 and 15, Griffiths further discloses the geometric properties of the component that are modeled by the one or more three dimensional computer models include one or more of: a material density of the component; a chemical composition of the component; an orientation of the component with respect to the non-simulated radiation beam; spatial coordinates and a size of each discretized sample of the component; and which locations of the component are to be analyzed. (Griffiths, [0089], Laue back reflection)
Regarding claims 4 and 16, Griffiths further discloses the geometric properties of the component that are modeled by the one or more three dimensional computer models also include one or more of: a crystalline structure of the component, including a lattice and basis of the crystalline structure; an orientation of crystals of the component with respect to a unified reference frame; a permissible grain divergence of the component; and a structure factor of the component. (id.)
Regarding claims 5 and 16, Griffiths further discloses the simulated diffraction pattern includes one or more of the following for each of the plurality of discretized samples: a brightness of a refracted beam; and an angle of the refracted beam relative to a unified reference frame. (Griffiths, [0085], Fig. 4; a detected diffraction pattern on detector 47 necessarily includes its beam angle with respect to item under examination 50)
Regarding claims 6 and 18, Griffiths further discloses said utilizing the one or more three dimensional computer models to obtain a simulated diffraction pattern comprises: Utilizing at least one of Bragg’s Equation and an Ewald Construction to simulate an elastic scattering event caused by application of the beam to each discretized sample of the component. (Griffiths, [0101])
Regarding claim 10, Griffiths further discloses the component comprises one or more superalloy components. (High performance turbine fans)
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Griffths discloses both determining and modifying. (Griffiths, [0083], [0098], [0099])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-9, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Griffiths.
Regarding claims 7-8 and 19-20, Griffiths lacks explicit teaching of said modifying the actual radiation imaging data based on the simulated elastic scattering data to at least partially remove the actual elastic scattering data comprises: subtracting the simulated elastic scattering data from the actual radiation imaging data.
However, Griffiths does explicitly disclose comparing the expected scattering pattern with the simulated pattern via overlay and neural network analysis. As the primary mathematical differencing operator, subtraction is obvious as a form of comparison where the data is overlaid, and explicitly performing the subtraction is trivial where comparison is disclosed.
Regarding claim 9, Griffiths does not explicitly disclose displaying the modified actual elastic scattering data on an electronic display. However a reference need not disclose the trivial, and displaying data on an electronic display is entirely routine and obvious and would have been so before the filing date of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/EDWIN C GUNBERG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884