DETAILED ACTION
Response to Election/Restrictions
1. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-19 in the reply filed on 7/28/2026 is acknowledged.
Specification
2. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In particular, claim 1 cites “a light emitting layer on the first electrode; a pixel defining layer on the light emitting layer” is not clear. Shown in Figs. 6-7, light emitting element layer (EMLT) including light emitting element (ED) & pixel defining layer (PDL). In both Figures, pixel defining layer (PDL) is in between pixel electrode (PE1-PE3, referred as “PE”) & light emitting layer (EL1-EL3, referred as “EL”), and the PDL is under or below the EL. Also Fig. 8-9, the layer EL formed after the layer PDL. For best understand and examination, the PDL would be considered on PE and below the EL or based on applicable prior arts under BRI.
Claims 2-19 are rejected as being dependent on claim 1.
Applicant is suggested to revise and clarify the claim(s) to avoid any further confusions.
For best understanding and examination purpose, the claim(s) will be best considered based on drawings, disclosure, and/or any applicable prior arts.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 8-10, 12-15, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2016/0247861).
Re claim 1, Kim teaches, under BRI & best understanding, Fig. 1, [0051, 0063], a display device comprising:
-a substrate (110);
-a first electrode (E1) on the substrate (110);
-a light emitting layer (EL or EML) on the first electrode (E1);
-a pixel defining layer (P) on the light emitting layer (EL or EML) (e.g. parts of P above and under EML); and
-a second electrode (E2) on the light emitting layer (EL or EML),
wherein first and second opposite sides (left & right sides) of the light emitting layer (EL or EML) are located on the pixel defining layer (P), and have straight line shapes that are inclined at an angle with respect to an upper surface (top surface) of the pixel defining layer (P).
Re claim 3, Kim teaches, Fig. 1, wherein a distance between the first side (left side) of the light emitting layer (EL or EML) and the second side (right side) of the light emitting layer (EL or EML) gradually decreases in a direction away (from bottom of P) from the pixel defining layer (P).
Re claim 4, Kim teaches, Fig. 1, a first functional layer (HIL, HTL) between the first electrode (E1) and the light emitting layer (EML).
Re claim 5, Kim teaches, Fig. 1, wherein first and second opposite sides of the first functional layer (HIL, HTL) are located on the pixel defining layer (P), and have straight line shapes inclined at an angle with respect to the upper surface of the pixel defining layer (P).
Re claim 7, Kim teaches, Fig. 1, wherein a distance between the first side (left side) of the first function layer (HIL, HTL) and the second side (right side) of the first functional layer (HIL, HTL) gradually decreases in a direction away (from bottom of P) from the pixel defining layer (P).
Re claim 8, Kim teaches, Fig. 1, wherein the first functional layer (HIL, HTL) comprises: a hole injection layer (HIL) on the first electrode (E1); and a hole transport layer (HTL) on the hole injection layer (HIL).
Re claim 9, Kim teaches, Fig. 1, a second functional layer (EIL and/or ETL) between the light emitting layer (EML) and the second electrode (E2).
Re claim 10, Kim teaches, Fig. 1, wherein first and second opposite sides of the second functional layer (EIL, ETL) are located on the pixel defining layer (P), and wherein the first and second sides of the second function layer (EIL, ETL) have straight line shapes inclined at an angle with respect to the upper surface of the pixel defining layer (P).
Re claim 12, Kim teaches, Fig. 1, wherein a distance between the first side (left side) of the second function layer (EIL, ETL) and the second side (right side) of the functional layer (EIL, ETL) gradually decreases in a direction away (from bottom of P) from the pixel defining layer (P).
Re claim 13, Kim teaches, under BRI, Fig. 1, wherein the second function layer comprises a buffer layer (consider ETL) on the light emitting layer (EML).
Re claim 14, Kim teaches, under BRI, Fig. 1, a common buffer layer (consider EIL) between the second function layer (ETL) and the second electrode (E2).
Re claim 15, Kim teaches, under BRI, Fig. 1, a first functional layer (HIL, HTL) between the first electrode (E1) and the light emitting layer (EML), wherein the common buffer layer (consider EIL) is located on the first and second sides of the light emitting layer (EML), first and second sides of the first functional layer (HIL, HTL), and first and second sides of the second functional layer (ETL) (e.g., EIL formed on ELT, EML, HTL, HIL).
Re claim 18, Kim teaches, [0065], an encapsulation layer (encapsulation substrate) on the second electrode (E2).
Re claim 19, Kim teaches, [0062], wherein the pixel defining layer (P) comprises an inorganic layer (silicon nitride).
5. Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2014/0306601, “Kim01”).
Re claim 1, Kim01 teaches, under BRI & best understanding, Fig. 2, [0032], a display device comprising:
-a substrate (110);
-a first electrode (120) on the substrate (110);
-a light emitting layer (160) on the first electrode (120);
-a pixel defining layer (130) on the light emitting layer (160) (e.g. parts of 130 on and under 160); and
-a second electrode (170) on the light emitting layer (160),
wherein first and second opposite sides (left & right sides) of the light emitting layer (160) are located on the pixel defining layer (130), and have straight line shapes that are inclined at an angle with respect to an upper surface (top flat surface) of the pixel defining layer (130).
6. Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2017/0285818, “Kim18”).
Re claim 1, Kim18 teaches, under BRI & best understanding, Fig. 11, [0045, 0077], a display device comprising:
-a substrate (TGS);
-a first electrode (AN) on the substrate (TGS);
-a light emitting layer (EML) on the first electrode (AN);
-a pixel defining layer (PDL) on the light emitting layer (EML) (e.g. on side of EML); and
-a second electrode (CAT) on the light emitting layer (EMT),
wherein first and second opposite sides (left & right sides) of the light emitting layer (EMT) are located on the pixel defining layer (PDL), and have straight line shapes that are inclined at an angle with respect to an upper surface (top flat surface) of the pixel defining layer (PDL).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 2, 6 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2016/0247861).
The teachings of Kim have been discussed above.
Re claims 2, 6 & 11, Kim does not explicitly teach wherein an angle between the upper surface of the pixel defining layer and the first side of the light emitting layer is greater than 60° and smaller than or equal to 90°, and wherein an angle between the upper surface of the pixel defining layer and the second side of the light emitting layer is greater than 60° and smaller than or equal to 90°; and
wherein an angle between the upper surface of the pixel defining layer and the first side of the first/second functional layer is greater than 60° and smaller than or equal to 90°, and wherein an angle between the upper surface of the pixel defining layer and the second side of the first/second functional layer is greater than 60° and smaller than or equal to 90°.
Kim does teach, Figs. 1-3, based on angle between Ps1 & upper surface of P, an angle between the upper surface of the pixel defining layer (P) and the first side of the light emitting layer (EL or EML) is in a range about 60° to 90°, and wherein an angle between the upper surface of the pixel defining layer (P) and the second side of the light emitting layer (EL or EML) is in a range about 60° to 90°; and
an angle between the upper surface of the pixel defining layer (P) and the first side of the first/second functional layer (HIL, HTL; EIL, ETL) is in a range about 60° to 90°, and wherein an angle between the upper surface of the pixel defining layer (P) and the second side of the first/second functional layer (HIL, HTL; EIL, ETL) is in a range about 60° and to 90°.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ & modify the teaching as taught by Kim to obtain angles greater than 60° and smaller than or equal to 90° as claimed, because it aids in achieving desired angle/shape of an inclined side surface of the light emitting layer & functional layers to improve display quality & reduce leakage current. Further, angle between layers is known to affect device properties and would depend on the desired device density and the desired device characteristics. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to the recited angles through routine experimentation to achieve desired characteristics of the formed device.
8. Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Kim et al. (KR 20150043889 A, “Kim89”, English translation attached).
The teachings of Kim have been discussed above.
Re claim 16, Kim does not teach an electron transport layer between the common buffer layer and the second electrode.
Kim89, Fig. 5, teaches an electron transport layer (ETL) between the common buffer layer (136) and the second electrode (120).
As taught by Kim89, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching to obtain an electron transport layer between the common buffer layer and the second electrode as claimed, because it aids in improving color property & interface characteristic of the formed device.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Kim89 in combination Kim due to above reason.
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claim 17 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
10. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. AN et al. (US 2019/0276433, Figs. 6-8) discloses display panel with pixel defining layer & inclined emission layer.
/DUY T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818 8/5/26