Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I in the reply filed on 08/03/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: The linking verb “are” in line 2 of claim 12 appears to be a typographical error. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The limitation “extending therethrough” …. “includes at least one disconnect therein” is unclear as to what it means.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-7 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chou et al., US 2017/0148911.
Regarding claim 1, Chou discloses (fig. 17 and related text) a semiconductor device (1700), comprising: a body region (202) and a drift region (204) formed on a substrate (102); a source structure (104) disposed within the body region (202) and a drain structure (106) disposed within the drift region (204); a gate structure including a gate electrode (108) disposed over the body region (202) and the drift region (204) and a dielectric layer (124, fig. 14) disposed over the gate electrode (108) and the drift region (204); an inter-level dielectric (ILD) layer (118) disposed over the substrate (102); at least first and second rows of contact field plate (CFP) contacts (120) formed within the ILD layer (118) above the dielectric layer (124), wherein each of the CFP contacts are configured to manipulate electric fields generated by the gate structure; and a back end of the line (BEOL) structure disposed (1702) on the ILD layer (118) that includes at least one conductive metal layer [0090] coupling the first and second rows of CFP contacts to the source structure (104, fig. 17).
Regarding claim 2, Chou discloses the first and second rows of CFP contacts (120) are aligned parallel to the source structure (104).
Regarding claim 6, Chou discloses the BEOL structure (1702) includes at least a first conductive metal layer coupling the first row of CFP contacts (120 on the right) to each other and at least a second conductive metal layer (1702 on the left) coupling the second row of CFP contacts to each other, wherein the BEOL structure is configured to selectively provide the first conductive metal layer and the second conductive metal layer with voltage or grounding independent of each other [0060].
Regarding claim 7, Chou discloses (fig. 18 and related text) a semiconductor device (1700), comprising: a body region (202) and a drift region (204) formed on a substrate (102);a source structure (104) disposed within the body region (202) and a drain structure (106) disposed within the drift region (204); a gate structure including a gate electrode (108) disposed over the body region (202) and the drift region (204) and a dielectric layer (124, fig. 14) disposed over the gate electrode (108) and the drift region (204); an inter-level dielectric (ILD) layer (118) disposed over the substrate (102); and at least a first row of contact field plate (CFP) contacts (120) formed within the ILD layer, wherein each of the CFP contacts are configured to manipulate electric fields generated by the gate structure (same structure hence capable of achieving the same), wherein at least some of the CFP contacts (1802 on the right hand side) are electrically isolated from the source structure (104).
Regarding claim 12, Chou discloses a back end of the line (BEOL) structure (1802) disposed on the ILD layer (118) that includes at least one conductive metal layer [0093] coupling the first row of CFP contacts to each other (fig. 18 on the right).
Allowance
Claims 21-26 are allowed.
Reason for Allowance
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The prior art of record does not teach or suggest, singularly or in combination at least the limitation “the BEOL structure is configured to selectively provide the first conductive metal layer and the second conductive metal layer with voltage or grounding independent of each other, wherein the BEOL structure is configured to provide for independently biasing the first set of the CFP contacts relative to the second set of the CFP contacts during off-state stress” as recited in claim 21 is the major difference between the prior art and the claimed invention.
Claims 3-5, and 8-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SAMUEL A GEBREMARIAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2811