DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 17-20, and 31-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by ONOGAWA et al. (2025/0192058, hereinafter, Onogawa.)
In regard to claims 1, 17, and 31, in fig. 1, Onogawa discloses a semiconductor device 100 (para [0008]), comprising:
a semiconductor structure inherently having an active region 120 therein (para [0024]);
a gate pad 112 (para [0030]) on the semiconductor layer structure, the gate pad positioned to be closest to a first side of the active region;
a plurality of gate electrodes 45 (para [0027]); and
a metal gate runner 130 (para [0032]) that electrically connects the gate pad to at least some of the gate electrodes, the metal gate runner comprising an outer runner that extends around a portion of a periphery of the active region,
wherein, when the semiconductor device is viewed in plan view, the outer gate runner comprises a first outer segment that extends along at least a portion of the first side of the active region and a second outer segment that extends along at least a portion of a second side of the active region that connects to the first side, but the outer gate runner does not extend along a third side of the active region that is opposite the second side.
Regarding claim 2, wherein, when the semiconductor device is viewed in plan view, the outer gate runner does not extend along a portion of the first side of the active region that is in between the gate pad and the third side of the active region. Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 18, wherein the first side of the active region connects to the second side of the active region. Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 19, wherein the outer gate runner only includes a single outer segment that directly connects to the gate pad. Fig. 1.
Regarding claims 20 and 32-33, wherein the gate pad is positioned to be closest to the first side of the active region, and the outer gate runner does not extend along a third side and fourth side of the active region that is opposite the second side of the active region. Fig. 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5, 7-8, 10, 13-14, 28-29, 34, and 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onogawa as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lichtenwalmer et al. (US 2022/0149165, hereinafter, Lichtenwalmer.) And/Or KAKIMOTO (US 2018/0308757, hereinafter, Kakimoto.)
In regard to claims 4, 13, 28, and 34, Onogawa discloses all of the claimed limitations as mentioned above, except wherein the metal gate runner further comprises an inner gate runner that includes a plurality of inner segments that extend inwardly from the outer gate runner.
Lichtenwalmer, in figs. 2A and 4A, (or Kakimoto’s fig. 3)discloses an analogous semiconductor structure including a gate pad 106 (para [0077]), a gate runner, or buses, 236 (para [0100]). The runner further includes an inner gate runner that includes a plurality of inner segments that extend inwardly from the outer gate runner in order to provide additional electrical connection to the gate. It is common in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date to recognize the structure as taught in order to take the advantage as mentioned.
Regarding claims 5 and 7, Lichtenwalmer and Kakimoto (fig. 3) further disclose wherein at least some of the inner segments extend at right angles from the second outer segment of the outer gate runner, and wherein the inner segments that extend from the second outer segment of the outer gate runner do not extend all the way to the third side of the active region. Fig. 2A.
Regarding claims 8, 10, and 37, the above combination discloses the dimensions of the elements except the exact value as currently claimed, a various number of values. However, the dimensions of the elements are not considered to be critical values, or otherwise disclosed. The values may be adjusted during a routine of the manufacturing to meet certain design criteria. It is common in the art.
Regarding claims 14 and 29, Lichtenwalmer (or Kakimoto’s fig. 3) wherein the first inner segment extends in parallel to the second outer segment. Fig. 4A.
Conclusion
/NATHAN W HA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2814