DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, claims 1-20 and 22, in the reply filed on 11/10/2025 is acknowledged.
IDS
The IDS document(s) filed on 05/06/2024 have been considered. Copies of the PTO-1449 documents are herewith enclosed with this office action.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20, and 22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19, and 21 of U.S. Patent No. 12037677 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as demonstrated in the table below:
Application # 18655990
Patent # US 12037677 B2
Claim 1 - A method of processing a substrate, comprising:
(a) forming a seed layer containing a predetermined element on the substrate by performing a process a predetermined number of times, the process including alternately performing:
(a-1) supplying a first precursor to the substrate to form an adsorption layer of the first precursor, the first precursor containing the predetermined element and a ligand which is coordinated to the predetermined element and which contains at least one selected from the group of carbon and nitrogen, and
(a-2) supplying a ligand desorption material to the substrate to desorb the ligand from the adsorption layer of the first precursor; and
(b) supplying a second precursor containing the predetermined element and not containing the ligand to the substrate to form a film containing the predetermined element on the seed layer.
wherein a pressure at a space where the substrate is located in (a-1) is set not less than either a pressure at a space where the substrate is located in (a-2) or a pressure at a space where the substrate is located in (b).
Claim 1 - A method of processing a substrate comprising:
(a) forming a seed layer containing a predetermined element on the substrate by performing a process a predetermined number of times, the process including alternately performing:
(a-1) supplying a first precursor to the substrate to form an adsorption layer of the first precursor, the first precursor containing the predetermined element and a ligand which is coordinated to the predetermined element and which contains at least one selected from the group of carbon and nitrogen, and
(a-2) supplying a ligand desorption material which includes a plasma- excited gas to the substrate to desorb the ligand from the adsorption layer of the first precursor; and
(b) supplying a second precursor containing the predetermined element and not containing the ligand to the substrate to form a film containing the predetermined element on the seed layer,
wherein a pressure at a space where the substrate is located in (a-1) is set higher than either a pressure at a space where the substrate is located in (a-2) or a pressure at a space where the substrate is located in (b).
Claim 22. A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a program that causes a computer to perform a process, the process comprising:
(a) forming a seed layer containing a predetermined element on the substrate by performing a sequence a predetermined number of times, the sequence including alternately performing:
(a-1) supplying a first precursor to the substrate to form an adsorption layer of the first precursor, the first precursor containing the predetermined element and a ligand which is coordinated to the predetermined element and which contains at least one selected from the group of carbon and nitrogen, and
(a-2) supplying a ligand desorption material to the substrate to desorb the ligand from the adsorption layer of the first precursor; and
(b) supplying a second precursor containing the predetermined element and not containing the ligand to the substrate to form a film containing the predetermined element on the seed layer,
wherein a pressure at a space where the substrate is located in (a-1) is set not less than either a pressure at a space where the substrate is located in (a-2) or a pressure at a space where the substrate is located in (b).
Claim 21. A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a program that causes a computer to perform a process, the process comprising:
(a) forming a seed layer containing a predetermined element on a substrate by performing a sequence a predetermined number of times, the sequence including alternately performing:
(a-1) supplying a first precursor to the substrate to form an adsorption layer of the first precursor, the first precursor containing the predetermined element and a ligand which is coordinated to the predetermined element and which contains at least one selected from the group of carbon and nitrogen, and
(a-2) supplying a ligand desorption material which includes a plasma- excited gas to the substrate to desorb the ligand from the adsorption layer of the first precursor; and
(b) supplying a second precursor containing the predetermined element and not containing the ligand to the substrate to form a film containing the predetermined element on the seed layer,
wherein a pressure at a space where the substrate is located in (a-1) is set higher than either a pressure at a space where the substrate is located in (a-2) or a pressure at a space where the substrate is located in (b).
The claims of the instant application are broader than the patented claims thus anticipates the patent claims. Claims 2-20 of the instant application correspond to claims 2-19 of the patent.
Claims 1-9, 15-20, and 22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11028473 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as demonstrated in the table below:
Application # 18655990
Patent # US 11028473 B2
Claim 1 - A method of processing a substrate, comprising:
(a) forming a seed layer containing a predetermined element on the substrate by performing a process a predetermined number of times, the process including alternately performing:
(a-1) supplying a first precursor to the substrate to form an adsorption layer of the first precursor, the first precursor containing the predetermined element and a ligand which is coordinated to the predetermined element and which contains at least one selected from the group of carbon and nitrogen, and
(a-2) supplying a ligand desorption material to the substrate to desorb the ligand from the adsorption layer of the first precursor; and
(b) supplying a second precursor containing the predetermined element and not containing the ligand to the substrate to form a film containing the predetermined element on the seed layer.
wherein a pressure at a space where the substrate is located in (a-1) is set not less than either a pressure at a space where the substrate is located in (a-2) or a pressure at a space where the substrate is located in (b).
Claim 1 – A method of manufacturing a semiconductor device, comprising:
(a) forming a seed layer containing a predetermined element on a substrate by performing a process multiple times, the process including performing:
(a-1) supplying a first precursor to the substrate to form an adsorption layer of the first precursor, the first precursor containing the predetermined element and a ligand which is coordinated to the predetermined element and which contains at least one of carbon or nitrogen, and
(a-2) supplying a ligand desorption material to the substrate to desorb the ligand from the adsorption layer of the first precursor, thereby lowering concentration of the at least one of carbon or nitrogen from the adsorption layer; and
(b) supplying a second precursor containing the predetermined element and not containing the ligand to the substrate to form a film containing the predetermined element on the seed layer, wherein (a-1) and (a-2) are alternately performed in (a), and wherein a pressure at a space where the substrate is located in (a-1) is set higher than a pressure at a space where the substrate is located in (a-2).
The claims of the instant application are broader than the patented claims thus anticipates the patent claims. Claims 2-9 and 15-20 of the instant application correspond to claims 1-15 of the patent.
For claim 22 of the instant application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to store the process of claim 1 of US Patent No. 11,028,473 on a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium.
Claim 22. A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a program that causes a computer to perform a process, the process comprising:
(a) forming a seed layer containing a predetermined element on the substrate by performing a sequence a predetermined number of times, the sequence including alternately performing:
(a-1) supplying a first precursor to the substrate to form an adsorption layer of the first precursor, the first precursor containing the predetermined element and a ligand which is coordinated to the predetermined element and which contains at least one selected from the group of carbon and nitrogen, and
(a-2) supplying a ligand desorption material to the substrate to desorb the ligand from the adsorption layer of the first precursor; and
(b) supplying a second precursor containing the predetermined element and not containing the ligand to the substrate to form a film containing the predetermined element on the seed layer,
wherein a pressure at a space where the substrate is located in (a-1) is set not less than either a pressure at a space where the substrate is located in (a-2) or a pressure at a space where the substrate is located in (b).
Claim 1 – A method of manufacturing a semiconductor device, comprising:
(a) forming a seed layer containing a predetermined element on a substrate by performing a process multiple times, the process including performing:
(a-1) supplying a first precursor to the substrate to form an adsorption layer of the first precursor, the first precursor containing the predetermined element and a ligand which is coordinated to the predetermined element and which contains at least one of carbon or nitrogen, and
(a-2) supplying a ligand desorption material to the substrate to desorb the ligand from the adsorption layer of the first precursor, thereby lowering concentration of the at least one of carbon or nitrogen from the adsorption layer; and
(b) supplying a second precursor containing the predetermined element and not containing the ligand to the substrate to form a film containing the predetermined element on the seed layer, wherein (a-1) and (a-2) are alternately performed in (a), and wherein a pressure at a space where the substrate is located in (a-1) is set higher than a pressure at a space where the substrate is located in (a-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 1-14, 17-20 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao et al. (US 2013/0323435 A1), hereafter “Xiao”, and further in view of Harada et al. (US 2014/0256156 A1), hereafter “Harada”.
As to claim 1, Xiao teaches a method of processing a substrate, comprising:
(a) forming a seed layer (⁋ [0128], read on by “amorphous or crystalline silicon film”) containing a predetermined element (Silicon) on the substrate by performing a process a predetermined number of times (⁋ [0131], Fig. 4, wherein the process is repeated until the desired thickness is obtained wherein someone familiar with the process would be aware of how many times to repeat the process to obtain the necessary thickness), the process including alternately performing:
(a-1) supplying a first precursor to the substrate (⁋⁋ [0129]-[0130]), where the substrates are placed in the reactor and the precursor is introduced) to form an adsorption layer of the first precursor (⁋ [0092]; “In a typical ALD….chemically adsorb onto the surface of the substrate”), the first precursor containing the predetermined element and a ligand (⁋ [0128], [0130])) and a ligand (⁋ [0130], “organoaminodisilane”) which is coordinated to the predetermined element and which contains at least one selected from the group of carbon and nitrogen (⁋ [0130], various Formulas shown), and
(a-2) supplying a ligand desorption material to the substrate to desorb the ligand from the adsorption layer of the first precursor (⁋ [0131], read on by “reducing agent source”) and
(b) supplying a second precursor containing the predetermined element and not containing the ligand to the substrate (⁋ [0131], where the organoaminodisilane is not mentioned in the “deposit a silicon-containing film onto the one or more substrates” step) to form a film containing the predetermined element on the seed layer.
Xiao fails to teach wherein a pressure at a space where the substrate is located in (a-1) is set not less than either a pressure at a space where the substrate is located in (a-2) or a pressure at a space where the substrate is located in (b).
Harada teaches a similar process of forming a substrate wherein after the seed layer formation (⁋ [0134]), another precursor (⁋ [0134], SiH4) is applied at a pressure of 1 to 1000 Pa (⁋ [0137]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the pressure of the precursor taught by Harada into the method of Xiao because it is possible to improve a film thickness uniformity of the Si film in a plane of the wafer (⁋ [0140]).
Examiner notes that Xiao teaches the first precursor being introduced at 10 mTorr to 760 Torr (⁋ [0043]) which converts to 1.33 Pa to 101,325 Pa resulting in Xiao’s pressure at (a-1_ being not less than the pressure taught by Harada.
As to claim 2, Xiao in view of Harada teaches wherein the ligand desorption material includes a plasma-excited gas (⁋ [0131], hydrogen plasma).
As to claim 3, Xiao in view of Harada teaches wherein the ligand desorption material includes a plasma-excited reducing gas (⁋ [0131], hydrogen plasma).
As to claim 4, Xiao in view of Harada teaches wherein the ligand desorption material includes a plasma-excited hydrogen-containing gas (see claim 3).
As to claim 5, Xiao in view of Harada teaches wherein the ligand desorption material includes a plasma-excited inert gas (⁋ [0083], where hydrogen, H2, is considered an inert gases).
As to claim 6, Xiao in view of Harada teaches wherein the ligand desorption material further includes a halogen-element-containing gas (⁋ [00131], hydrogen chloride, there is no mention that the 3 hydrogen groups cannot be combined).
As to claim 7, Xiao in view of Harada teaches wherein the ligand desorption material further includes a reducing gas (see claim 3).
As to claim 8, Xiao in view of Harada teaches wherein the ligand desorption material further includes a non-plasma-excited reducing gas (⁋ [0083], hydrogen, there is no specification that the 3 hydrogen groups cannot be combined).
As to claim 9, Xiao in view of Harada teaches wherein in (a-2), the plasma-excited inert gas and the non-plasma-excited reducing gas are mixed in the space where the substrate is located and supplied to the substrate (⁋⁋ [0129], [0131]; where it is indicated both the substrate and hydrogen groups are placed into the same reactor).
As to claim 10, Xiao in view of Harada teaches wherein in (a-2), the non-plasma-excited reducing gas is intermittently supplied (as a result of alternating steps, the ligand step would be stopped while other steps are running then continued thus occurring intermittently).
As to claim 11, Xiao in view of Harada teaches wherein in (a-2), the plasma-excited inert gas is intermittently supplied (see claim 9).
As to claim 13, Xiao in view of Harada teaches wherein in (a-2), the non-plasma-excited reducing gas includes at least one selected from the group of hydrogen gas (see claim 8), a deuterium gas, a silicon hydride gas, and a boron hydride gas.
As to claim 17, Xiao in view of Harada teaches wherein in (a-1), an exhaust of the first precursor from the space where the substrate is located is stopped (⁋ [0131], “and the cycle can be repeated until the desired thickness of a film is obtained”; once obtained the exhaust cycle is complete).
As to claim 20, Xiao in view of Harada teaches a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device (⁋ [0052], “semiconductor devices”) comprising the method of claim1.
As to claim 22, Xiao in view of Harada teaches a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a program that causes a computer to perform a process, the process comprising:
(a) forming a seed layer (⁋ [0128], read on by “amorphous or crystalline silicon film”) containing a predetermined element on a substrate (Silicon) by performing a sequence a predetermined number of times (⁋ [0131], Fig. 4, wherein the process is repeated until the desired thickness is obtained wherein someone familiar with the process would be aware of how many times to repeat the process to obtain the necessary thickness), the sequence including alternately performing:
(a-1) supplying a first precursor to the substrate (⁋⁋ [0129]-[0130]), where the substrates are placed in the reactor and the precursor is introduced) to form an adsorption layer of the first precursor (⁋ [0092]; “In a typical ALD….chemically adsorb onto the surface of the substrate”), the first precursor containing the predetermined element and a ligand (⁋ [0128], [0130])) and a ligand (⁋ [0130], “organoaminodisilane”) which is coordinated to the predetermined element and which contains at least one selected from the group of carbon and nitrogen (⁋ [0130], various Formulas shown), and
(a-2) supplying a ligand desorption material to the substrate to desorb the ligand from the adsorption layer of the first precursor (⁋ [0131], read on by “reducing agent source”) and
(b) supplying a second precursor containing the predetermined element and not containing the ligand to the substrate (⁋ [0131], where the organoaminodisilane is not mentioned in the “deposit a silicon-containing film onto the one or more substrates” step) to form a film containing the predetermined element on the seed layer.
Xiao fails to teach wherein a pressure at a space where the substrate is located in (a-1) is set not less than either a pressure at a space where the substrate is located in (a-2) or a pressure at a space where the substrate is located in (b).
Harada teaches a similar process of forming a substrate wherein after the seed layer formation (⁋ [0134]), another precursor (⁋ [0134], SiH4) is applied at a pressure of 1 to 1000 Pa (⁋ [0137]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the pressure of the precursor taught by Harada into the method of Xiao because it is possible to improve a film thickness uniformity of the Si film in a plane of the wafer (⁋ [0140]).
Examiner notes that Xiao teaches the first precursor being introduced at 10 mTorr to 760 Torr (⁋ [0043]) which converts to 1.33 Pa to 101,325 Pa resulting in Xiao’s pressure at (a-1_ being not less than the pressure taught by Harada.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao in view of Harada, as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Tabata et al. (US 2014/0123897 A1), hereafter “Tabata”.
As to claim 12, Xiao in view of Harada teaches the plasma-excited inert gas is intermittently supplied (see claim 9) but fails to teach wherein in (a-2), the plasma-excited inert gas is intermittently plasma-excited.
Tabata teaches a plasma generation apparatus where a plasma excited gas is supplied (⁋ [0114], “the plasma excitation gas is generated from the supplied inert gas of oxygen, nitrogen, or the like”) and is intermittently plasma-excited (⁋ [0187]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the inert gas intermittent plasma-excitation of Tabata into the method of Xiao in view of Harada to yield a plasma excitation gas having an extremely high chemical reactivity is generated in the plasma generation apparatus (⁋ [0187]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao in view of Harada, as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Hirose et al. (US 2013/0149874 A1), hereafter “Hirose”.
As to claim 14, Xiao in view of Harada teaches wherein the pressure at the space where the substrate is located in (a-1) is set not less than the pressure at the space where the substrate is located in (b) (see claim 1).
Xiao in view of Harada fails to teach wherein the pressure at the space where the substrate is located in (a-1) is not less than the pressure at the space where the substrate is located in (a-2).
Hirose teaches a similar process of forming a substrate wherein a reducing gas (⁋ [0061], “hydrogen”) is at a pressure of 1 to 3,000 Pa (⁋ [0137]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the pressure at the reducing agent step taught by Hirose with the method of Xiao and Harada to thermally activate the H.sub.2 gas and perform oxidation (⁋ [0137]).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao in view of Harada, as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Obu et al. (US 2014/0187024 A1), hereafter “Obu”.
As to claim 18, Xizo in view of Harada fail to disclose wherein (a-1) is performed under a condition in which the first precursor is not pyrolyzed, and (b) is performed under a condition in which the second precursor is pyrolyzed.
Obu teaches a method of forming a seed layer and wherein a DIPAS is performed under a condition in which it is decomposed (pyrolyzed) (⁋ [0206]). Obu also teaches after formation of the first seed layer, a second seed layer is formed by thermal decomposition (⁋ [0134]) of disilane.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the pyrolyzing of the DIPAS as taught by Obu into the method of Xiao in view of Harada to prevent the impurities from being introduced into the formed film (⁋ [0206]).
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the non-pyrolyzing of the disilane as taught by Obu into the method of Xiao in view of Harada so that the silicon film is formed (⁋ [0134]).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao in view of Harada, as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Son (US 2006/0154453 A1), hereafter “Son”.
As to claim 19, Xiao in view of Harada does not teach wherein an insulation film is formed on a surface of the substrate, and the seed layer is formed on the insulation film.
Son teaches a similar process of forming a seed layer with an insulation pattern formed on a substrate and a seed layer containing silicon formed on top (⁋ [0019]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the insulation film as taught by Son with the method taught by Xiao in view of Harada in order to prevent the native oxide layer from forming on the underlying layer (⁋ [0012]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As to claim 15, Xiao is the closest prior art and fails to teach wherein a supply flow rate of the first precursor in (a-1) is set not less than an exhaust flow rate of the first precursor exhausted from the space where the substrate is located in (a-1).
As to claim 16, Xiao is the closest prior art and fails to teach wherein in (a-1), the first precursor is exhausted from the space where the substrate is located while supplying the first precursor into the space, and at this time, a supply flow rate of the first precursor supplied into the space is set not less than an exhaust flow rate of the first precursor exhausted from the space.
Conclusion
/CARNELL HUNTER III/Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/SUE A PURVIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893