DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui et al. (US 2021/0205910A1) (hereafter Cui) in view of Lau (US 7,648,341B2).
With respect to claim 1, Cui teaches a method for repairing a turbine part (40) having a cooling hole (46), comprising inserting at least one superalloy wire or pin (broadest reasonable interpretation) (plug 50) into the cooling hole, which cooling hole has a top opening and a bottom opening, and at least one wall (42) forming the cooling hole, providing a braze filler alloy (52, 59) at the top opening of the cooling hole, diffusion brazing the turbine part, wherein the braze filler alloy melts and flows into the cooling hole and around the at least one superalloy wire or pin such that any voids between the at least one wall of the cooling hole and the at least one superalloy wire or pin are filled with the braze filler alloy, cooling the turbine part, wherein the melted braze filler alloy solidifies, and forms a unitary part with both the turbine part and the at least one superalloy wire or pin (figures 5-11 and 15-16; and paragraphs 4, 27-34, 48, and 52-54); and blending or smoothing the surface of the turbine part in the vicinity of the top opening of the cooling hole to remove any excess braze filler alloy and/or superalloy wire or pin extending past the surface of the turbine part (figure 16; and paragraph 54).
With respect to claim 1, Cui does not explicitly teach diffusion brazing; and forming a new cooling hole that is offset from the cooling hole that was present on the turbine part, such that part of the at least one superalloy wire or pin forms a part of the at least one wall of the newly formed cooling hole, or that is offset from the cooling hole that was present on the turbine part, such that no part of the at least one superalloy wire or pin or braze material is removed,
However, Lau teaches diffusion brazing (column 3, lines 30-42); and forming a new cooling hole (re-drill) that is offset from the cooling hole that was present on the turbine part, such that part of the at least one superalloy wire or pin forms a part of the at least one wall of the newly formed cooling hole, or that is offset from the cooling hole that was present on the turbine part, such that no part of the at least one superalloy wire or pin or braze material is removed (column 4, lines 33-37). Note that re-drilling any new cooling hole scheme would intrinsically require forming a new cooling hole that is offset from the cooling hole that was present on the turbine part, such that part of the at least one superalloy wire or pin forms a part of the at least one wall of the newly formed cooling hole, or that is offset from the cooling hole that was present on the turbine part, such that no part of the at least one superalloy wire or pin or braze material is removed.
At the time of filing the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to re-drill as taught by Lau the repaired cooling hole of Cui in order to form a repaired turbine with the desired cooling hole scheme.
With respect to claims 2-3, Lau teaches for repairing a turbine part having a cooling hole, wherein a new cooling hole is formed that is offset from the cooling hole that was present on the turbine part (column 4, lines 33-37), and for repairing a turbine part having a cooling hole, wherein a new cooling hole is formed that is offset from the cooling hole that was present on the turbine part (column 4, lines 33-37). In addition, Lau specifically states that “braze is also included so that the existing cooling hole (that runs horizontally inside the shank) can be plugged (via plug) and re-drilled to accommodate the existing cooling hole scheme and any new cooling schemes that the OEM has incorporated into a revised casting” (emphasis added by the examiner).
Accordingly, it is the examiner’s position that any re-drilling scheme, including those of claims 2-3 (such that part of the at least one superalloy wire or pin forms a part of the at least one wall of the newly formed cooling hole and such that no part of the at least one superalloy wire or pin or braze material is removed), is merely an obvious design choice. The artisan would have been motivated to implement the re-drilling schemes of claims 2-3 in order to accommodate any new cooling schemes that the OEM has incorporated into a revised casting as explicitly taught by Lau.
With respect to claim 4, Cui teaches for repairing a turbine part having a cooling hole, wherein the cooling hole is cylindrical (figures 5-11 and 15-16; and paragraphs 30, 33-34, and 48).
With respect to claim 5, Cui teaches for repairing a turbine part having a cooling hole, wherein one superalloy wire (plug 50) is inserted into the cooling hole (figures 5-11 and 15-16; and paragraphs 30, 33-34, and 48).
With respect to claims 6-7, Lau specifically states that “braze is also included so that the existing cooling hole (that runs horizontally inside the shank) can be plugged (via plug) and re-drilled to accommodate the existing cooling hole scheme and any new cooling schemes that the OEM has incorporated into a revised casting” (emphasis added by the examiner).
Accordingly, it is the examiner’s position that any re-drilling scheme, including those of claims 6-7 (wherein part of the at least one superalloy wire or pin forms 10 to 50% of the at least one wall of the newly formed cooling hole and wherein part of the at least one superalloy wire or pin forms 30 to 60% of the at least one wall of the newly formed cooling hole), is merely an obvious design choice. The artisan would have been motivated to implement the re-drilling schemes of claims 6-7 in order to accommodate any new cooling schemes that the OEM has incorporated into a revised casting as explicitly taught by Lau.
With respect to claim 8, Cui teaches for repairing a turbine part having a cooling hole, wherein the blending or smoothing the surface of the turbine part in the vicinity of the top opening of the cooling hole to remove any excess braze filler alloy (52, 59) and/or superalloy wire or pin (plug 50) extending past the surface of the turbine part leads to a smooth surface around the cooling hole, which surface in part is formed from the superalloy wire (figure 16; and paragraph 54).
With respect to claim 9, Lau teaches for repairing a turbine part having a cooling hole, wherein the forming of the new cooling hole is achieved by a drill (column 4, lines 33-37).
With respect to claim 10, Cui teaches for repairing a turbine part having a cooling hole, wherein the at least one superalloy wire or pin (plug) is made of a material that is different than the material forming the turbine part (paragraph 33).
Conclusion
/KILEY S STONER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735