DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on May 8, 2024, and October 15, 2025, are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Booth et al. (US 9404605 B2) and in further view of Tester et al. (US 20130193389 A1)
Regarding Claim 1 – Booth teaches a high voltage cable cleat for securing cables (Fig 1; cleat 1, cable 100), the high voltage cable cleat comprising: a bottom cleat for supporting cables (Fig 1; base moulding 10), the bottom cleat has a base with a front, a back, a first end, a second end, a top, a bottom (Figs 1-4; base moulding 10, ends 16; Booth states “It also flares outwardly slightly, at least at the forward end and, in certain implementations, at both ends 16” and “base section comprises a first axial end and a second axial end that is opposite the first axial end”); and a top cleat secured to the bottom cleat (Fig 1; mouldings 10, 20, bolts 15, nuts 17).
Booth does not explicitly disclose a center open area; a cable cam positioned within the base and rotatably housed in the center open area of the base.
Tester teaches a center open area (Fig 1; base 12, bearing-supported penetration 16; Tester [0021]); a cable cam positioned within the base (Figs 2A, 3-6; cam plate 18, cams 19, cable 36) and rotatably housed in the center open area of the base (Figs 2A, 5-6; 12, 16, 18, 19, 20; Tester [0024-0025, 0030, 0032]).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Booth with a center open area; a cable cam positioned within the base and rotatably housed in the center open area of the base as taught by Tester because Tester teaches that due to the thickness and rigidity of the commercial-grade electrical power cables, a rotatable cam arrangement allows “a relatively small input torque to generate a large output force”.
Regarding Claim 2 – Booth in view of Tester teaches the high voltage cable cleat of claim 1, wherein the top of the base has a curved cable support surface for supporting cables (Booth; Fig 1; base moulding 10, cable 100).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Booth et al. (US 9404605 B2) in view of Tester et al. (US 20130193389 A1) and in further view of Jiang et al. (CN 216289944 U)
Regarding Claim 3 – Booth in view of Tester teaches the high voltage cable cleat of claim 1, wherein the top of the base has cylindrical mount openings extending from the top to the bottom of the base (Booth; Fig 1; mouldings 10, 20, bolts 15, nuts 17, cylindrical bushings), but does not explicitly disclose whereby the cylindrical mount openings receive spring loaded fasteners to secure the high voltage cable cleat.
Jiang teaches the cylindrical mount openings receive spring loaded fasteners to secure the high voltage cable cleat (Figs 1-3; clamps 1, 2, fastening component 3, bolt 301, nut 302, spring 4, lugs 11).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Booth in view of Tester with the cylindrical mount openings receive spring loaded fasteners to secure the high voltage cable cleat as taught by Jiang to get the benefit of adjustable spring-biased clamping, cables of different diameters can be fastened, and convenient installation and disassembly.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Booth et al. (US 9404605 B2) in view of Tester et al. (US 20130193389 A1) and in further view of Chitti Babu et al. (US 20190379186 A1) and Sedor et al. (US 20090032282 A1)
Regarding Claim 4 – Booth in view of Tester teaches the high voltage cable cleat of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the first end of the base includes a circular hole and a recessed pocket and the second end of the base includes a cone shaped opening with a recessed pocket for receiving the cable cam.
Chitti Babu teaches the first end of the base includes a circular hole and a recessed pocket (Figs 8-9, 12; bottom cleat 120, ends 136, mounting holes 138, 144, recessed pockets 140, 146; Chitti Babu [0034-0035]) and the second end of the base includes… [an] opening with a recessed pocket (Figs 8-9, 12; 120, 136, 138, 144, 140, 146; Chitti Babu [0034-0035, Claim 3]).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Booth in view of Tester with the first end of the base includes a circular hole and a recessed pocket and the second end of the base includes… [an] opening with a recessed pocket as taught by Chitti Babu to get the benefit of housing components within the cleat base and reducing the overall height of the assembly.
Sedor teaches a cone shaped opening (Fig 3; hole 106; Sedor [0026] states “hole 106 may be generally cylindrical or generally conical”).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Booth in view of Tester with a cone shaped opening to get the benefit of smooth conical shaped opening that guides the received member into the opening and avoiding a sharp edge opening.
Regarding “for receiving the cable cam”, Booth in view of Tester teaches Tester’s rotatable cable arrangement into Booth’s cable cleat base.
Claims 5-6, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Booth et al. (US 9404605 B2) in view of Tester et al. (US 20130193389 A1) and in further view of Macias (US 6000890 A)
Regarding Claim 5 – Booth in view of Tester teaches the high voltage cable cleat of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the cable cam includes a first end, a cylindrical body with a cam projection, and a second end.
Macias teaches the cable cam includes a first end, a cylindrical body with a cam projection, and a second end (Figs 1-2; rotatable cam 36, roughened surface 38, extended lever arm 40, bore 42, pivot bolt 44; Macias states “Disposed within and extending out of either side of the cavity 18 is a rotatable cam 36 having a serrated, ridged or otherwise roughened surface 38, and an extended lever arm 40”, and “The cam 36 includes a bore 42 for receiving a pivot and fastening bolt 44”; see also Fig 11; cam 130, shaft 136, pocket 138, opening 40).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Booth in view of Tester with the cable cam includes a first end, a cylindrical body with a cam projection, and a second end as taught by Macias to get the benefit of a rotatable cam for selectively engaging and releasing a rope or cable in a cleat assembly.
Regarding 6 – Booth in view of Tester and Macias teaches the high voltage cable cleat of claim 5, wherein the cam projection is rotated from a horizontal position within the center open area to a vertically extended position above the top of the base (Macias; Figs 3-7; plate 60, recess 62, self-locking cleat assembly 80, camming member 90, lever 88, pin 78; Macias states “a generally rectangular shaped aperture or opening forming a cavity or recess 62” and that “the self-locking cleat component 80 may be rotated about the pivot pin 78 from its extended position illustrated in FIG. 3, to a retracted position nested within the opening 62”).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Booth in view of Tester with the cam projection is rotated from a horizontal position within the center open area to a vertically extended position above the top of the base as taught by Macias to get the benefit of allowing the cam/cleat component to be extended for cable engagement during use and retracted within the base when not in use.
Regarding Claim 10 – Booth in view of Tester and Macias teaches the high voltage cable cleat of claim 5, wherein a compression spring is positioned on the cable cam between the cam projection and the second end (Macias; Fig 11; cam 130, springs 132, 134, shaft 136, pocket 138, opening 140; Macias states “The self-locking cleat component 114” includes “a cam 130 along with springs 132 and 134” and that the cam is “mounted to a short shaft 136 that extends through the springs 132 and 134”).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Booth et al. (US 9404605 B2) in view of Tester et al. (US 20130193389 A1) and Macias (US 6000890 A) and in further view of Osterhoff (US 20180326872 A1)
Regarding Claim 7 – Booth in view of Tester and Macias teaches the high voltage cable cleat of claim 5, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the first end of the cable cam includes a center opening for receiving a fastener and opposing flat edges.
Osterhoff teaches the first end of the cable cam includes a center opening for receiving a fastener and opposing flat edges (Figs 5-9; cam lock 50, central axial cavity 64, threaded fastener 52, proximal end 58, hexagonal prism 112; Osterhoff [0042, 0047-0048]).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Booth in view of Tester and Macias with the first end of the cable cam includes a center opening for receiving a fastener and opposing flat edges as taught by Osterhoff because Osterhoff [0047] states “the threaded fastener 52 is inserted through the central axial cavity 64 of the cam lock 50” and [0048] states “the drive surface 108… is formed as a substantially hexagonal prism 112 that can be driven like any standard hex head fastener”.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Booth et al. (US 9404605 B2) in view of Tester et al. (US 20130193389 A1) and Macias (US 6000890 A) and Osterhoff (US 20180326872 A1) and in further view of Ramsauer (US 6286185 B1)
Regarding Claim 8 – Booth in view of Tester, Macias, and Osterhoff teaches the high voltage cable cleat of claim 7, further comprising a cap with a conical pocket and an opening for receiving the fastener and an oblong pocket for engaging the first end of the cable cam.
Ramsauer teaches a cap with a conical pocket and an opening for receiving the fastener and an oblong pocket for engaging the first end of the cable cam (Figs 7-10; cap nut 180, countersink 183, shoulder 181, free end 185, opening 218, countersunk region 247; Ramsauer states “a cap nut is provided, in which the free end of the shoulder can be received so as to be fixed with respect to rotation relative to it” and further states that the shoulder can project into the cap nut “in a countersink formed by the latter.”; Ramsauer also states “cap nut 280 which has an offset or countersink 183 in which the free end 185 of the shoulder 181 can be received so as to fit therein and, in particular, so as to be fixed with respect to rotation relative thereto”).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Booth in view of Tester, Macias, and Osterhoff with a cap with a conical pocket and an opening for receiving the fastener and an oblong pocket for engaging the first end of the cable cam as taught by Ramsauer to get the benefit of receiving the fastener while preventing relative rotation. because Ramsauer states “The bushing is advantageously provided with a conical countersink for receiving the appropriate conical head of the fastening screw”.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Booth et al. (US 9404605 B2) in view of Tester et al. (US 20130193389 A1) and Macias (US 6000890 A) and Osterhoff (US 20180326872 A1) and Ramsauer (US 6286185 B1) and in further view of Chitti Babu et al. (US 20190379186 A1)
Regarding Claim 9 – Booth in view of Tester, Macias, Osterhoff, and Ramsauer teaches the high voltage cable cleat of claim 8, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the first end of the base includes a circular hole and a recessed pocket; the recessed pocket houses the cap.
Chitti Babu teaches the first end of the base includes a circular hole and a recessed pocket (Figs 8-9, 12; bottom cleat 120, ends 136, mounting holes 138, 144, recessed pockets 140, 146; Chitti Babu [0034-0035]); the recessed pocket houses the cap (Chitti Babu [Claim 3]).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Booth in view of Tester, Macias, Osterhoff , and Ramsauer with the first end of the base includes a circular hole and a recessed pocket; the recessed pocket houses the cap as taught by Chitti Babu to get the benefit of housing the cap/fastener structure within the base and reducing the overall height of the cable cleat arrangement.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Booth et al. (US 9404605 B2) in view of Tester et al. (US 20130193389 A1) and Macias (US 6000890 A) and in further view of Joshi et al. (US 20220337040 A1)
Regarding Claim 11 – Booth in view of Tester and Macias teach the high voltage cable cleat of claim 5, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the second end of the cable cam is circular with a hexagonal opening.
Joshi teaches the second end of the cable cam is circular with a hexagonal opening (Figs 13-16; hexagonal opening 179; Joshi [0048]).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Booth in view of Tester and Macias with the second end of the cable cam is circular with a hexagonal opening as taught by Joshi because Joshi [0048] states “A threaded rod 180 can then be inserted through the hole 177 and into a nut 181 that is captured within the hexagonal opening 179” and “Because the nut 181 is prevented from rotating by the receptacle 178, the threaded rod 180 can be threaded into the nut 181”.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Booth et al. (US 9404605 B2) in view of Tester et al. (US 20130193389 A1), Macias (US 6000890 A) and Joshi et al. (US 20220337040 A1) in further view of Sedor et al. (US 20090032282 A1)
Regarding Claim 12 – Booth in view of Tester, Macias, and Joshi teaches the high voltage cable cleat of claim 11, wherein the second end of the base includes… [an] opening that receives the cable cam and a recessed pocket that houses the second end of the cable cam (Macias; Fig 11; cam 130, shaft 136, pocket 138, opening 140).
Booth in view of Tester, Macias, and Joshi does not explicitly disclose a cone shaped opening.
Sedor teaches a cone shaped opening (Fig 3; hole 106; Sedor [0026] states “hole 106 may be generally cylindrical or generally conical”).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Booth in view of Tester with a cone shaped opening to get the benefit of smooth conical shaped opening that guides the received member into the opening and avoiding a sharp edge opening.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Booth et al. (US 9404605 B2) in view of Tester et al. (US 20130193389 A1) and in further view of Morrow (US 20220037866 A1)
Regarding Claim 13 – Booth in view of Tester teaches the high voltage cable cleat of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose further comprising fixing straps for securing the high voltage cable cleat to a surface.
Morrow teaches fixing straps for securing the high voltage cable cleat to a surface (Figs 1-4; steel strap 32; Morrow [Abstract]).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Booth in view of Tester with fixing straps for securing the high voltage cable cleat to a surface as taught by Morrow to get the benefit of securing the cable cleat assembly to a support surface while maintaining the cables on the base plate.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Booth et al. (US 9404605 B2) in view of Tester et al. (US 20130193389 A1) and in further view of Chitti Babu et al. (US 20190379186 A1)
Regarding Claim 14 – Booth in view of Tester teaches the high voltage cable cleat of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the top cleat has an outer surface with a plurality of strengthening ribs.
Chitti Babu teaches the top cleat has an outer surface with a plurality of strengthening ribs (Figs 3-5; top cleat 102, outer surface 104, strengthening ribs 106).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Booth in view of Tester with the top cleat has an outer surface with a plurality of strengthening ribs as taught by Chitti Babu because Chitti Babu [0046] states “the additional strengthening ribs are provided to improve the strength of the top cleat”.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Booth et al. (US 9404605 B2) in view of Tester et al. (US 20130193389 A1) and in further view of Brouwer et al. (US 20190379188 A1)
Regarding Claim 15 – Booth in view of Tester teaches the high voltage cable cleat of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the top cleat has cylindrical posts with openings for receiving fasteners.
Brouwer teaches the top cleat has cylindrical posts with openings for receiving fasteners (Figs 3-7; cable cleat 102, mounting hole 128, semi-circular key 114, slot 116; Brouwer [0005, Claim 11]).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Booth in view of Tester with wherein the top cleat has cylindrical posts with openings for receiving fasteners as taught by Brouwer because Brouwer [0056] states “The interlocking arrangement also keeps the cable cleat halves 102 parallel to one another while the bolt 130 is tightened thereby uniformly clamping the cable 60. The interlocking arrangement also prevents rotation of the cable cleat halves 102 relative to one another to aid in installation”.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Booth et al. (US 9404605 B2) in view of Tester et al. (US 20130193389 A1) and Brouwer et al. (US 20190379188 A1) and in further view of Jiang et al. (CN 216289944 U)
Regarding Claim 16 – Booth in view of Tester teaches the high voltage cable cleat of claim 15, wherein the top of the base has cylindrical mount openings extending from the top to the bottom of the base (Booth; Fig 1; mouldings 10, 20, bolts 15, nuts 17, cylindrical bushings), the cylindrical mount openings receive the cylindrical posts of the top cleat (Brouwer; Figs 5-7, 10-12; cable cleat half 102, mounting hole 128, semi-circular key 114, slot 116, bolt 130, nut 132) but does not explicitly disclose and spring loaded fasteners to secure the high voltage cable cleat.
Jiang teaches spring loaded fasteners to secure the high voltage cable cleat (Figs 1-3; clamps 1, 2, fastening component 3, bolt 301, nut 302, compression spring 4).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Booth in view of Tester and Brouwer with spring loaded fasteners to secure the high voltage cable cleat as taught by Jiang to get the benefit of adjustable spring-biased clamping, cables of different diameters can be fastened, and convenient installation and disassembly.
Conclusion
/ADITYA SHARMA/Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/TIMOTHY J THOMPSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847