CTNF 18/659,484 CTNF 97722 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement Acknowledgement is made of Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) form PTO-1449. The IDS has been considered. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 7 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. (Re Claim 7) “[T]he edge portion of the protective substrate” lacks antecedence. During examination, this was read as “an edge portion of the protective substrate”. Furthermore, it is unclear how many edge portions are required by “the edge portion of the base substate” as “an edge portion of an upper surface of the base substrate” was previously introduced. During examination, this was read as “the edge portion of an upper surface of the base substrate”. (Re Claim 17) It is unclear how many edge portions and upper surfaces are required by “an edge portion of an upper surface of the base substrate” as an edge portion and upper surface were introduced in claim 1. During examination, this was read as “the edge portion of the upper surface of the base substrate”. Claim 18-19 inherit this rejection for indefiniteness. Furthermore, “the side surface of the polarization plate” lacks antecedence. This was read as “a side surface of the polarization plate” during examination. Claim 18-19 inherit this rejection for lack of antecedence. (Re Claim 19) “[T]he side surface of the base substrate” lacks antecedence. During examination, this was read as “a side surface of the base substrate”. Rejection 1/5 Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-3, 6, 10-13, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Yamazaki et al. (US 2016/0147109) . (Re Claim 1) Yamazaki teaches a display device comprising: a base substrate (100; Fig. 11B); a light emitting element (80; Fig. 11B) disposed on the base substrate; a protective substrate (300; Fig. 11B) disposed on the light emitting element; a polarization plate (303; Fig. 11B) disposed on the protective substrate; and a sidewall (23; Fig. 11B) disposed on an edge portion (left portion of the top surface of 100 overlapping with 23 that is to the left of the leftmost 240; Fig. 11B) of an upper surface (top surface; Fig. 11B) of the base substrate. (Re Claim 2) Yamazaki teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the sidewall extends along the edge portion of the upper surface of the base substrate (Fig. 11B). (Re Claim 3) Yamazaki teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the sidewall is further disposed between a side surface (left side; Fig. 11B) of the protective substrate and a side surface (left side; Fig. 11B) of the polarization plate (Fig. 11B). (Re Claim 6) Yamazaki teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the protective substrate has a smaller size (in a left to right direction as seen in Fig. 11B) than a size of the base substrate. (Re Claim 10) Yamazaki teaches the display device of claim 1, further comprising: an encapsulation layer (330; Fig. 11B) disposed on the light emitting element. (Re Claim 11) Yamazaki teaches the display device of claim 10, further comprising: an adhesive layer (18; Fig. 11B) disposed between the encapsulation layer and the protective substrate. (Re Claim 12) Yamazaki teaches the display device of claim 11, wherein the sidewall is further disposed on (“on” does not require contact) a side surface (left side; Fig. 11B) of the adhesive layer. (Re Claim 13) Yamazaki teaches the display device of claim 12, wherein the sidewall extends along the side surface of the adhesive layer (Fig. 11B). (Re Claim 16) Yamazaki teaches the display device of claim 1, further comprising: a passivation layer (105; Fig. 11B) disposed on a lower surface (bottom surface; Fig. 11B) of the base substrate. (Re Claim 17) Yamazaki teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the sidewall comprises: a first sidewall portion (portion of 23 that is below 300; Fig. 11B) disposed on an edge portion of an upper surface of the base substrate (Fig. 11B) to cover a side surface (left side surface; Fig. 11B) of the protective substrate (Fig. 11B); and a second sidewall portion (the remaining parts of 23) disposed on the edge portion of the first sidewall portion (Fig. 11B) to cover the side surface (left side surface; Fig. 11B) of the polarization plate (covering in a bottom to top direction; “cover” does not alone require contact or a particular direction in which an element is covered; Fig. 11B). Rejection 2/5 07-15 AIA Claim s 1, 10-15, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Yamazaki et al. (US 2016/0147109) . (Re Claim 1) Yamazaki teaches a display device comprising: a base substrate (374; Fig. 20); a light emitting element (80; Fig. 20) disposed on the base substrate; a protective substrate (375; Fig. 20) disposed on the light emitting element; a polarization plate (303; Fig. 20) disposed on the protective substrate; and a sidewall (23; Fig. 20) disposed on an edge portion (left portion of the top surface of 374 overlapping with 23 that is to the left of the leftmost 240; Fig. 11B) of an upper surface (top surface; Fig. 11B) of the base substrate. (Re Claim 10) Yamazaki teaches the display device of claim 1, further comprising: an encapsulation layer (330; Fig. 20) disposed on the light emitting element. (Re Claim 11) Yamazaki teaches the display device of claim 10, further comprising: an adhesive layer (440; Fig. 20) disposed between the encapsulation layer and the protective substrate. (Re Claim 12) Yamazaki teaches the display device of claim 11, wherein the sidewall is further disposed on a side surface (left side surface; Fig. 20) of the adhesive layer. (Re Claim 13) Yamazaki teaches the display device of claim 12, wherein the sidewall extends along the side surface of the adhesive layer (Fig. 20). (Re Claim 14) Yamazaki teaches the display device of claim 13, wherein the sidewall surrounds the adhesive layer (on at least a top, left, and bottom side as sidewall 23 curves around the top, left, and bottom parts of the display; Fig. 20). (Re Claim 15) Yamazaki teaches the display device of claim 11, further comprising: a touch sensing unit (410+430; Fig. 20, ¶262) disposed between the encapsulation layer and the adhesive layer (Fig. 20). (Re Claim 17) Yamazaki teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the sidewall comprises: a first sidewall portion (portion of 23 that is below 300; Fig. 11B) disposed on an edge portion of an upper surface of the base substrate (Fig. 11B) to cover a side surface (left side surface; Fig. 11B) of the protective substrate (Fig. 11B); and a second sidewall portion (the remaining parts of 23) disposed on the edge portion of the first sidewall portion (Fig. 11B) to cover the side surface (left side surface; Fig. 11B) of the polarization plate (covering in a bottom to top direction; “cover” does not alone require contact or a particular direction in which an element is covered; Fig. 11B). (Re Claim 18) Yamazaki teaches the display device of claim 17, wherein an outer surface of the first sidewall portion has a linear shape (as seen by the leader for 23; Fig. 11B), and an outer surface (within the cross-section C-C’, over the element 430; Fig. 11B) of the second sidewall portion has a round shape (the rounded portions above the vias for the layer 410; Fig. 11B). (Re Claim 19) Yamazaki teaches the display device of claim 18, wherein the outer surface of the first sidewall portion and the side surface (left side surface; Fig. 20) of the base substrate are coplanar with each other (Fig. 20). Rejection 3/5 Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-2, 4-6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a ) as being anticipated by Qin (US 2021/0257587) . (Re Claim 1) Qin teaches a display device comprising: a base substrate (201; Fig. 2); a light emitting element (202; Fig. 2) disposed on the base substrate; a protective substrate (203; Fig. 2) disposed on the light emitting element; a polarization plate (204; Fig. 2) disposed on the protective substrate; and a sidewall (206; Fig. 2) disposed on an edge portion (portion of the upper surface on the left side overlapping with 206; Fig. 2) of an upper surface (top surface; Fig. 2) of the base substrate. (Re Claim 2) Qin teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the sidewall extends along the edge portion of the upper surface of the base substrate. (Re Claim 4) Qin teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the sidewall extends along a side surface (left side; Fig. 2) of the protective substrate and a side surface (left side; Fig. 2) of the polarization plate (Fig. 2). (Re Claim 5) Qin teaches the display device of claim 4, wherein the sidewall surrounds the protective substrate and the polarization plate (on left and right sides of the protective substrate and the polarization plate; Fig. 2; Fig. 3 also “shows a top view of the OLED display panel” where a sidewall 305 is formed on sidewalls of the display panel, as described in ¶51). (Re Claim 6) Qin teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the protective substrate has a smaller size (in a left to right direction; Fig. 2) than a size of the base substrate. (Re Claim 8) Qin teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the base substrate has a greater size (in a left to right direction; Fig. 2) than a size of the polarization plate. Rejection 4/5 Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-4, 17-20, and 22-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Choi et al. (US 2022/0336772) . (Re Claim 1) Choi teaches a display device comprising: a base substrate (350; Fig. 4F); a light emitting element (one of the multiple light-emitting elements within 332, as described and shown in Fig. 3B and ¶82) disposed on the base substrate; a protective substrate (320; Fig. 4F) disposed on the light emitting element; a polarization plate (331 that is part of 330; described and shown in Fig. 3B and ¶82; Fig. 4F) disposed on the protective substrate; and a sidewall (401; Fig. 4F) disposed on an edge portion (part of the upper surface that overlaps with 401 to the left of 340; Fig. 4F) of an upper surface (top surface; Fig. 4F) of the base substrate. (Re Claim 2) Choi teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the sidewall extends along the edge portion of the upper surface of the base substrate (Fig. 4F). (Re Claim 3) Choi teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the sidewall is further disposed between a side surface (left side surface; Fig. 4F) of the protective substrate and a side surface (left side surface; Fig. 4B) of the polarization plate. (Re Claim 4) Choi teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the sidewall extends along a side surface of the protective substrate and a side surface of the polarization plate (Fig. 4F). (Re Claim 17) Choi teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the sidewall comprises: a first sidewall portion (below 301c and to the left of 340; Fig. 4F) disposed on an edge portion of an upper surface of the base substrate to cover a side surface (left side surface; Fig. 4F) of the protective substrate (covers the side surface in a bottom to top direction; “cover” does not require contact or a particular direction in which covering occurs; Fig. 4F); and a second sidewall portion (the remaining part of the sidewall) disposed on the edge portion of the first sidewall portion to cover the side surface (left side surface; Fig. 4F) of the polarization plate. (Re Claim 18) Choi teaches the display device of claim 17, wherein an outer surface of the first sidewall portion has a linear shape (Fig. 4F), and an outer surface of the second sidewall portion has a round shape (at the top; Fig. 4F). (Re Claim 19) Choi teaches the display device of claim 18, wherein the outer surface of the first sidewall portion and the side surface of the base substrate (left side surface; Fig. 4F) are coplanar with each other (Fig. 4F). (Re Claim 20) Choi teaches the display device of claim 17, wherein the first sidewall portion and the second sidewall portion are integral with each other. (Re Claim 22) Choi teaches a method of manufacturing a display device, the method comprising: preparing a structure including a base substrate (350; Fig. 4F), light emitting elements (multiple light-emitting elements within 332, as described and shown in Fig. 3B and ¶82) disposed on the base substrate, and a protective substrate (320; Fig. 4F) on the light emitting elements; placing a polarization plate (331 that is part of 330; described and shown in Fig. 3B and ¶82; Fig. 4F) on the protective substrate; and placing a sidewall (401; Fig. 4F) disposed on an edge portion (part of the upper surface that overlaps with 401 to the left of 340; Fig. 4F) of an upper surface (top surface; Fig. 4F) of the base substrate. (Re Claim 23) Choi teaches the method of claim 22, wherein the placing of the sidewall comprises: forming a sidewall material (the solution state of the sidewall; ¶112) on the edge portion of the upper surface of the base substrate; and curing the sidewall material (¶112). (Re Claim 24) Choi teaches the method of claim 22, wherein the sidewall extends along the edge portion of the upper surface of the base substrate (Fig. 4F). (Re Claim 25) Choi teaches the method of claim 22, further comprising: placing the sidewall disposed on a side surface (left side; Fig. 4F) of the protective substrate and a side surface (left side; Fig. 4F) of the polarization plate. (Re Claim 26) Choi teaches the method of claim 25, wherein the sidewall extends along the side surface of the protective substrate and the side surface of the polarization plate (Fig. 4F) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-22-aia AIA Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US 2022/0336772) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ishikawa et al. (US 2013/0128192) . (Re Claim 21) Choi teaches the display device of claim 1, but has not been shown to teach the display device wherein the sidewall includes a black pigment or an organic black pigment. Ishikawa teaches forming a curable sidewall (40; Fig. 14) with a black pigment (¶149). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to add a black pigment as taught by Ishikawa to the sidewall of Choi to help block stray light originating from the light emitting element (Ishikawa: ¶149) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US 2022/0336772) as applied to claim 26 . (Re Claim 27) Choi teaches the method of claim 26, but has not been shown to explicitly teach the sidewall surrounds the protective substrate and the polarization plate. Choi’s Fig. 7(b) demonstrates surrounding a display device in a sidewall (401) by coating “the entire side surface of the flexible display 300 along the outer circumferential surface of the flexible display 300” (¶116). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to have the sidewall surround the protective substrate and the polarization plate, as taught by Choi’s alternative embodiment, to prevent exposure to foreign materials, oxygen, or moisture (¶116). Rejection 5/5 Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lang et al. (US 2014/0246665) and Kishimoto et al. (US 2020/0176710) . (Re Claim 1) Lang teaches a display device comprising: a base substrate (1; Fig. 8); a light emitting element (2; Fig. 8) disposed on the base substrate; a protective substrate (3; Fig. 8) disposed on the light emitting element; and a sidewall (3a; Fig. 8) disposed on an edge portion (the part of the upper surface contacting the sidewall 3a to the outermost edge of the base substrate; Fig. 8) of an upper surface (the top surface; Fig. 8) of the base substrate. Lang has not been shown to explicitly teach a display device comprising a polarization plate disposed on the protective substrate. Kishimoto teaches forming a polarization plate (520; Fig. 3) on a protective substrate (510; Fig. 3) underneath a covering layer 600 (Fig. 3). A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to form the display device of Lang with a polarization plate disposed on the protective substrate of Lang, such that the polarization plate is formed smaller than the covering layer 4 of Lang and such that the polarization plate is between the protective substrate and covering layer 4 of Lang, as taught by Kishimoto, to reduce reflection of external light (Kishimoto: ¶88), and prevent damage to the polarization plate. (Re Claim 6) Modified Lang teaches the display device of claim 6, wherein the protective substrate has a smaller size (in a left to right direction; Fig. 6B) than a size of the base substrate. (Re Claim 7) Modified Lang teaches the display device of claim 6, wherein, in plan view, the edge portion of the protective substrate is surrounded by the edge portion of the base substrate (the base substrate is larger than the sidewall, and the sidewall contains the protective substrate; see Fig. 6B). (Re Claim 8) Modified Lang teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the base substrate has a greater size (area in a plan view) than a size of the polarization plate (the base substrate is larger than the sidewall, and the sidewall contains the components between the covering layer 4 and the base substrate 1; see Fig. 6B). (Re Claim 9) Modified Lang teaches the display device of claim 8, wherein, in plan view, the edge portion of the base substrate surrounds the edge portion (left side edge) of the polarization plate (the base substrate is larger than the sidewall, and the sidewall contains the components between the covering layer 4 and the base substrate 1; see Fig. 6B). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Christopher A Schodde whose telephone number is (571)270-1974. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 1000-1800 EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jessica Manno can be reached at (571)272-2339. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /CHRISTOPHER A. SCHODDE/Examiner, Art Unit 2898 /JESSICA S MANNO/SPE, Art Unit 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/659,484 Page 2 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/659,484 Page 3 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/659,484 Page 4 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/659,484 Page 5 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/659,484 Page 6 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/659,484 Page 7 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/659,484 Page 8 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/659,484 Page 9 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/659,484 Page 10 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/659,484 Page 11 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/659,484 Page 12 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/659,484 Page 13 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/659,484 Page 14 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/659,484 Page 15 Art Unit: 2898 Application/Control Number: 18/659,484 Page 16 Art Unit: 2898