DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/09/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings submitted on 05/09/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (WO 2013075593 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a display device comprising:
a display panel (200); (Fig. 4)
a shielding layer (202) disposed at a lower end of the display panel (200), the shielding layer (202) including:
a plurality of alignment marks (208); (Fig. 4)and
conductive members (212); (Fig. 4) and
a printed circuit board (300) aligned on the shielding layer (202), based on the plurality of alignment marks (208), the printed circuit board (300) being in contact with at least a portion of the shielding layer (202), (Fig. 2)
wherein the conductive members (208) electrically connect the printed circuit board (300) and the shielding layer (202) to each other. (“A telecommunications pin interface 312 is further disposed on the grid for electrically connecting the terminal wire interface 212 when the flexible printed circuit board 300 is bonded to the touch panel 200.”)
Regarding claim 2, Chen discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the printed circuit board (300) overlaps with at least a portion of a contact area (206) of the shielding layer (202), and wherein the plurality of alignment marks (208) is disposed on the contact area (206). (Fig. 4)
Regarding claim 3, Chen discloses the display device of claim 2, wherein at least one of the plurality of alignment marks (208) overlaps with the printed circuit board (300). (Fig. 4)
Regarding claim 5, Chen discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of alignment marks (208) includes a first alignment mark (208 left) disposed at one side of the shielding layer (202) and a second alignment mark (208 right) which is disposed at an opposite side of the shielding layer (202) and is symmetrically disposed with the first alignment mark. (Fig. 4)
Regrading claim 9, Chen discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of alignment marks (208) is imprinted (by 128 in Fig. 1) in the shielding layer (202). (Fig 1-4)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (WO 2013075593 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wu et al. (CN 102083273 A).
Regarding claim 4, Chen discloses the display device of claim 2. Chen does not disclose further comprising a printed circuit board cover covering the printed circuit board, wherein corners of the printed circuit board and the printed circuit board cover are cut so that the plurality of alignment marks is exposed.
However, Wu discloses:
a printed circuit board cover (3) covering the printed circuit board (4), wherein corners of the printed circuit board (4) and the printed circuit board cover (3) are cut so that the plurality of alignment marks (6) is exposed. (Fig. 1-3)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Chen and Wu to have a printed circuit board cover covering the printed circuit board, wherein corners of the printed circuit board and the printed circuit board cover are cut so that the plurality of alignment marks is exposed in order to “improve the compounding accuracy of the printed circuit board and the cover film.” (Wu, Abstract)
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (WO 2013075593 A1) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 20240098894 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Chen discloses the display device of claim 5, including the first and second alignment marks (208) and the light shielding layer (202). (Fig. 4)
Chen does not disclose wherein a distance between an outer side of the first alignment mark and an outer side of the second alignment mark in a predetermined direction perpendicular to a direction in which the printed circuit board are arranged is smaller than a length of the printed circuit board in the predetermined direction.
However, Kim discloses:
a distance between an outer side of the first alignment mark (AM1) and an outer side of the second alignment mark (AM2) in a predetermined (horizontal) direction perpendicular to a direction in which the printed circuit board are arranged is smaller than a length of the printed circuit board (PCB) in the predetermined direction. (Fig. 3)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Chen and Kim for a distance between an outer side of the first alignment mark and an outer side of the second alignment mark in a predetermined direction perpendicular to a direction in which the printed circuit board are arranged is smaller than a length of the printed circuit board in the predetermined direction in order to “prevent detachment of the printed circuit board PCB from the display panel 10 after bonding.” (Kim, [0210])
Regarding claim 7, Chen discloses the display device of claim 5, including the first and second alignment marks (208) and the light shielding layer (202). (Fig. 4)
Chen does not disclose wherein a distance between an outer side of the first alignment mark and an outer side of the second alignment mark in a predetermined direction in which the printed circuit board are arranged is smaller than a length of the printed circuit board in the predetermined direction.
However, Kim discloses:
a distance between an outer side of the first alignment mark (AM1) and an outer side of the second alignment mark (AM2) in a predetermined (horizontal) direction in which the printed circuit board (PCB) are arranged is smaller than a length of the printed circuit board (PCB) in the predetermined direction. (Fig. 3)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Chen and Kim for a distance between an outer side of the first alignment mark and an outer side of the second alignment mark in a predetermined direction in which the printed circuit board are arranged is smaller than a length of the printed circuit board in the predetermined direction in order to “prevent detachment of the printed circuit board PCB from the display panel 10 after bonding.” (Kim, [0210])
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (WO 2013075593 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Park et al. (US 20230136429 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Chen discloses the display device of claim 1. Chen does not disclose wherein the shielding layer includes at least one of aluminum and copper.
However, Park discloses:
the shielding layer (RHL1) includes at least one of aluminum and copper. ([0173], Fig. 15)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Chen and Park for the shielding layer includes at least one of aluminum and copper in order to “perform a heat radiating function” (Park, [0173])
Claims 10-12, 14, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (WO 2013075593 A1) in view of Park et al. (US 20230136429 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Chen discloses a method of manufacturing a display device, the method comprising:
wherein the shielding layer (202) includes conductive members (212) electrically connecting the printed circuit board (300) and the shielding layer (202) to each other. (Fig. 2)
Chen does not disclose:
preparing a display panel including a bending area;
disposing a shielding layer including a plurality of alignment marks at a lower end of the display panel; and
aligning a printed circuit board on the shielding layer, based on the plurality of alignment marks, as the bending area is bent.
However, Park discloses:
preparing a display panel (AA1) including a bending area (BA); ([0078], Fig. 14)
disposing a shielding layer (RHL1) including a plurality of alignment marks (BTAP/AM) at a lower end of the display panel (AA1); ([0236], Fig. 15 and 19) and
aligning a printed circuit board (FPCB) on the shielding layer (RHL1), based on the plurality of alignment marks (BTAP/AM), as the bending area (BA) is bent.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Chen and Park for preparing a display panel including a bending area; disposing a shielding layer including a plurality of alignment marks at a lower end of the display panel; and aligning a printed circuit board on the shielding layer, based on the plurality of alignment marks, as the bending area is bent so that “a recognition rate of the alignment mark in a bending process may be improved.” (Park, [0288])
Regarding claim 11, Chen discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the printed circuit board (300) overlaps with at least a portion of a contact area (206) of the shielding layer (202), and wherein the plurality of alignment marks (208) are disposed on the contact area (206). (Fig. 2)
Regarding claim 12, Chen discloses the method of claim 11, wherein at least one of the plurality of alignment marks (208) overlaps with the printed circuit board (300). (Fig. 2)
Regarding claim 14, Chen discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the plurality of alignment marks includes a first alignment mark (208 left) disposed at one side of the shielding layer (202) and a second alignment mark (208 right) which is disposed at an opposite side of the shielding layer (202) and is symmetrically disposed with the first alignment mark. (Fig. 4)
Regrading claim 17, Park discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the shielding layer (RHL1) includes at least one of aluminum and copper. ([0173], Fig. 15)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Chen and Park for the shielding layer includes at least one of aluminum and copper in order to “perform a heat radiating function” (Park, [0173])
Regarding claim 18, Chen discloses the method of claim 10, wherein the plurality of alignment marks (208) is imprinted (by 128 in Fig. 1) in the shielding layer (202). (Fig. 1-4)
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (WO 2013075593 A1) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Wu et al. (CN 102083273 A).
Regarding claim 13, Chen discloses the display device of claim 11. Chen does not disclose further comprising disposing a printed circuit board cover covering the printed circuit board, wherein corners of the printed circuit board and the printed circuit board cover are cut so that the plurality of alignment marks is exposed.
However, Wu discloses:
Disposing a printed circuit board cover (3) covering the printed circuit board (4), wherein corners of the printed circuit board (4) and the printed circuit board cover (3) are cut so that the plurality of alignment marks (6) is exposed. (Fig. 1-3)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Chen and Wu for disposing a printed circuit board cover covering the printed circuit board, wherein corners of the printed circuit board and the printed circuit board cover are cut so that the plurality of alignment marks is exposed in order to “improve the compounding accuracy of the printed circuit board and the cover film.” (Wu, Abstract)
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (WO 2013075593 A1) as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 20240098894 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Chen discloses the method of claim 14, including the first and second alignment marks (208) and the light shielding layer (202). (Fig. 4)
Chen does not disclose wherein a distance between an outer side of the first alignment mark and an outer side of the second alignment mark in a predetermined direction perpendicular to a direction in which the printed circuit board are arranged is smaller than a length of the printed circuit board in the predetermined direction.
However, Kim discloses:
a distance between an outer side of the first alignment mark (AM1) and an outer side of the second alignment mark (AM2) in a predetermined (horizontal) direction perpendicular to a direction in which the printed circuit board are arranged is smaller than a length of the printed circuit board (PCB) in the predetermined direction. (Fig. 3)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Chen and Kim for a distance between an outer side of the first alignment mark and an outer side of the second alignment mark in a predetermined direction perpendicular to a direction in which the printed circuit board are arranged is smaller than a length of the printed circuit board in the predetermined direction in order to “prevent detachment of the printed circuit board PCB from the display panel 10 after bonding.” (Kim, [0210])
Regarding claim 16, Chen discloses the method of claim 14, including the first and second alignment marks (208) and the light shielding layer (202). (Fig. 4)
Chen does not disclose wherein a distance between an outer side of the first alignment mark and an outer side of the second alignment mark in a predetermined direction in which the printed circuit board are arranged is smaller than a length of the printed circuit board in the predetermined direction.
However, Kim discloses:
a distance between an outer side of the first alignment mark (AM1) and an outer side of the second alignment mark (AM2) in a predetermined (horizontal) direction in which the printed circuit board (PCB) are arranged is smaller than a length of the printed circuit board (PCB) in the predetermined direction. (Fig. 3)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Chen and Kim for a distance between an outer side of the first alignment mark and an outer side of the second alignment mark in a predetermined direction in which the printed circuit board are arranged is smaller than a length of the printed circuit board in the predetermined direction in order to “prevent detachment of the printed circuit board PCB from the display panel 10 after bonding.” (Kim, [0210])
Conclusion
/ASHLEY NICOLE BLACKWELL/Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/JACOB Y CHOI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897