DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “the thermoelectric cooler” in the last 2 lines. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of compact prosecution, claim 16 is assumed to be dependent from claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 9, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,282,825).
Regarding to claim 1, Lin teaches a semiconductor package comprising:
an interposer having a first principle surface and a second principle surface opposite the first principle surface (Fig. 7, element INT, column 2, line 44, the first principle surface is the top surface);
one or more semiconductor dies disposed on the first principle surface of the interposer and electrically connected with the second principle surface of the interposer by electrical vias passing through the interposer (Fig. 7, elements 120a/b/c);
a heat spreading lid disposed over the one or more semiconductor dies (Fig. 7, element 190, column 6, line 2); and
a thermally conductive material disposed between the one or more semiconductor dies and the heat spreading lid, the thermally conductive material thermally coupling the one or more semiconductor dies and the heat spreading lid (Fig. 7, element 170, column 6, line 9);
wherein the heat spreading lid comprises a thermoelectric cooler, a metal, a single crystal diamond, or a combination thereof (column 6, lines 2-3).
Regarding to claim 9, Lin teaches the heat spreading lid comprises a metal, a single-crystal diamond, or a combination thereof (column 6, lines 2-3).
Regarding to claim 12, Lin teaches the thermally conductive material comprises a mixture of a gel and a liquid metal (column 5, lines 48-50, silver paste is a form of liquid metallic gel).
Claims 1, 9, 12, 14, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8,476,115).
Regarding to claim 1, Choi teaches a semiconductor package comprising:
an interposer having a first principle surface and a second principle surface opposite the first principle surface (Fig. 8e, element 162, column 16, line 47, the first principle surface is the top surface);
one or more semiconductor dies disposed on the first principle surface of the interposer and electrically connected with the second principle surface of the interposer by electrical vias passing through the interposer (Fig. 8e, element 124);
a heat spreading lid disposed over the one or more semiconductor dies (Fig. 8e, element 268, column 18, line 1); and
a thermally conductive material disposed between the one or more semiconductor dies and the heat spreading lid, the thermally conductive material thermally coupling the one or more semiconductor dies and the heat spreading lid (Fig. 8e, element 266, column 17, line 61);
wherein the heat spreading lid comprises a thermoelectric cooler, a metal, a single crystal diamond, or a combination thereof (column 10, lines 56-57, a metal).
Regarding to claim 9, Choi teaches the heat spreading lid comprises a metal, a single-crystal diamond, or a combination thereof (column 10, lines 56-57, a metal).
Regarding to claim 12, Choi teaches the thermally conductive material comprises a mixture of a gel and a liquid metal (column 17, lines 44-46, thermal conductive paste is a form of liquid metallic gel).
Regarding to claim 14, Choi teaches a method of assembling a semiconductor package, the method comprising:
mounting one or more semiconductor dies on a first principle surface of an interposer with the one or more semiconductor dies electrically connected with a second principle surface of the interposer opposite from the first surface by way of electrical vias passing through the interposer (Fig. 8e, mounting semiconductor die 124 on top surface of interposer 162 with the semiconductor die electrically connected with bottom surface of the interposer by way of electrical vias 146 passing through the interposer);
disposing a stiffener ring on the first principle surface of the interposer with the stiffener ring encircling the one or more semiconductor dies (Figs. 8e, 8b, element 250);
molding a molding material around the stiffener ring and the one or more semiconductor dies (Fig. 8e, element 264);
disposing a thermally conductive material on the one or more semiconductor dies (Fig. 8e, element 266, column 17, line 61); and
disposing a heat spreading lid on the thermally conductive material (Fig. 8e, element 268, column 18, line 1).
Regarding to claim 18, Choi teaches semiconductor package comprising:
an interposer having a first principle surface and a second principle surface opposite the first principle surface (Fig. 8e, element 162, column 16, line 47, the first principle surface is the top surface);
one or more semiconductor dies disposed on the first principle surface of the interposer and electrically connected with the second principle surface of the interposer by electrical vias passing through the interposer (Fig. 8e, element 124);
a stiffener ring disposed on the first principle surface of the interposer and encircling the one or more semiconductor dies (Fig. 8e, Fig. 8b, element 250);
a molding material molded around the stiffener ring and the one or more semiconductor dies (Fig. 8e, element 264);
a thermally conductive material disposed on the one or more semiconductor dies (Fig. 8e, element 266, column 17, line 61); and
a heat spreading lid disposed on the thermally conductive material (Fig. 8e, element 268, column 18, line 1);
wherein at least one of (i) the heat spreading lid comprises a thermoelectric cooler, and/or (ii) the thermally conductive material comprises a mixture of a gel and a liquid metal (column 17, lines 44-46, thermal conductive paste is a form of liquid metallic gel).
Claims 1, 9, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0048951).
Regarding to claim 1, Lin teaches a semiconductor package comprising:
an interposer having a first principle surface and a second principle surface opposite the first principle surface (Fig. 2, element 31, the first principle surface is the top surface);
one or more semiconductor dies disposed on the first principle surface of the interposer and electrically connected with the second principle surface of the interposer by electrical vias passing through the interposer (Fig. 2, element 51);
a heat spreading lid disposed over the one or more semiconductor dies (Fig. 2, element 81); and
a thermally conductive material disposed between the one or more semiconductor dies and the heat spreading lid, the thermally conductive material thermally coupling the one or more semiconductor dies and the heat spreading lid (Fig. 2, element 801);
wherein the heat spreading lid comprises a thermoelectric cooler, a metal, a single crystal diamond, or a combination thereof ([0054], lines 9-12, a metal).
Regarding to claim 9, Lin teaches the heat spreading lid comprises a metal, a single-crystal diamond, or a combination thereof ([0054], lines 9-12).
Regarding to claim 14, Lin teaches a method of assembling a semiconductor package, the method comprising:
mounting one or more semiconductor dies on a first principle surface of an interposer with the one or more semiconductor dies electrically connected with a second principle surface of the interposer opposite from the first surface by way of electrical vias passing through the interposer (Fig. 2, mounting semiconductor die 51 on top surface of interposer 20 with the semiconductor die electrically connected with bottom surface of the interposer by way of electrical vias passing through the interposer);
disposing a stiffener ring on the first principle surface of the interposer with the stiffener ring encircling the one or more semiconductor dies (Fig. 2, element 41);
molding a molding material around the stiffener ring and the one or more semiconductor dies (Fig. 2, element 71);
disposing a thermally conductive material on the one or more semiconductor dies (Fig. 2, element 801); and
disposing a heat spreading lid on the thermally conductive material (Fig. 2, element 81).
Claims 1-2, 9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Beauchemin et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,504,816).
Regarding to claim 1, Beauchemin teaches a semiconductor package comprising:
an interposer having a first principle surface and a second principle surface opposite the first principle surface (Fig. 5, element 125, the first principle surface is the top surface);
one or more semiconductor dies disposed on the first principle surface of the interposer and electrically connected with the second principle surface of the interposer by electrical vias passing through the interposer (Fig. 5, element 105, interposer is known having vias that electrically connect pads on top surface to pads on the second surface);
a heat spreading lid disposed over the one or more semiconductor dies (Fig. 5, heat spreading lid includes elements 540 and 530, and 355); and
a thermally conductive material disposed between the one or more semiconductor dies and the heat spreading lid, the thermally conductive material thermally coupling the one or more semiconductor dies and the heat spreading lid (Fig. 5, element 145b; column 7, line 30);
wherein the heat spreading lid comprises a thermoelectric cooler, a metal, a single crystal diamond, or a combination thereof (column 1, line 37, thermoelectric cooler TEC).
Regarding to claim 2, Beauchemin teaches the heat spreading lid comprises a thermoelectric cooler (Fig. 5, element 540, TEC is thermoelectric cooler).
Regarding to claim 9, Beauchemin teaches the heat spreading lid comprises a metal, a single-crystal diamond, or a combination thereof (Fig. 5, metal plate, metal fins).
Regarding to claim 11, Beauchemin teaches the heat spreading lid comprises a first layer of a first material proximate to the one or more semiconductor dies (Fig. 45, element 540) and a second layer of a second material distal from the one or more semiconductor dies (Fig. 45, element 335), wherein the first material and the second material are different materials and wherein the first material has higher thermal conductivity than the second material (Fig. 5, TEC has higher thermal conductivity than the cool plate).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beauchemin et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,504,816), as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, in view of Sikka et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,264,306).
Regarding to claim 3, Beauchemin does not disclose the thermally conductive material comprises indium, silver, copper, an indium alloy, a silver alloy, a copper alloy, or a solder material. Sikka discloses a thermally conductive material comprises indium, silver, copper, an indium alloy, a silver alloy, a copper alloy, or a solder material (column 5, lines 29-33). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Beauchemin in view of Sikka to comprise indium, silver, copper, an indium alloy, a silver alloy, a copper alloy, or a solder material in the thermally conductive material in order to increase thermal conducting efficiency.
Regarding to claim 4, Beauchemin discloses a metal coating disposed on a surface of the thermoelectric cooler in contact with the thermally conductive material (Fig. 5).
Regarding to claim 6, Beauchemin does not disclose the thermally conductive material comprises a mixture of a gel and a liquid metal. Sikka disclose a thermally conductive material comprises a mixture of a gel and a liquid metal (column 9, lines 12, metal particle filled polymer paste). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Beauchemin in view of Sikka to comprise a mixture of a gel and a liquid metal in the thermally conductive material in order to increase thermal conduction efficiency.
Regarding to claim 7, Sikka teaches the liquid metal comprises gallium and the gel comprises a polymer (column 5, lines 31-33).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Beauchemin et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,504,816), as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, in view of Sikka et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,264,306).
Regarding to claim 12, Beauchemin does not disclose the thermally conductive material comprises a mixture of a gel and a liquid metal. Sikka disclose a thermally conductive material comprises a mixture of a gel and a liquid metal (column 9, lines 12, metal particle filled polymer paste). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Beauchemin in view of Sikka to comprise a mixture of a gel and a liquid metal in the thermally conductive material in order to increase thermal conduction efficiency.
Claim 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0048951), as applied to claim 18 above, in view of Beauchemin et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,504,816).
Regarding to claim 19, Lin does not disclose the heat spreading lid comprises a thermoelectric cooler. Beauchemin disclose a heat spreading lid comprises a thermoelectric cooler (Fig. 5, element 540). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lin in view of Beauchemin to comprise a thermoelectric cooler in the heat spreading lid in order to increase heat dissipating efficiency.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 10, 13, 15-17, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding to claim 8, the prior art fails to anticipate or render obvious the claimed limitations including “a stiffener ring disposed on the first principle surface of the interposer and encircling the one or more semiconductor dies; a molding material molded around the stiffener ring and the one or more semiconductor dies; and an adhesive disposed on a periphery of the thermoelectric cooler and containing the mixture of the gel and the liquid metal, the adhesive bonding the thermoelectric cooler to the molding material; wherein a surface of the thermoelectric cooler has grooves and the adhesive fills the grooves” in combination with the limitations recited in claims 1-2 and 6.
Regarding to claim 10, the prior art fails to anticipate or render obvious the claimed limitations including “the heat spreading lid comprises a single-crystal diamond layer proximate to the one or more semiconductor dies and a metal layer distal from the one or more semiconductor dies” in combination with the limitations recited in claims 1 and 9.
Regarding to claim 13, the prior art fails to anticipate or render obvious the claimed limitations including “a stiffener ring disposed on the first principle surface of the interposer and encircling the one or more semiconductor dies; a molding material molded around the stiffener nng and the one or more semiconductor dies; and an adhesive disposed on a periphery of the thermoelectric cooler and containing the mixture of the gel and the liquid metal, the adhesive bonding the thermoelectric cooler to the molding material” in combination with the limitations recited in claims 1, 9, and 12.
Regarding to claim 15, the prior art fails to anticipate or render obvious the claimed limitations including “the heat spreading lid comprises a thermoelectric cooler having grooves on a surface thereof, and the thermally conductive material fills the grooves” in combination with the limitations recited in claim 14.
Regarding to claim 17, the prior art fails to anticipate or render obvious the claimed limitations including “the heat spreading lid comprises a single-crystal diamond layer proximate to the one or more semiconductor dies and a metal layer distal from the one or more semiconductor dies, and the thermally conductive material comprises a mixture of a gel and a liquid metal” in combination with the limitations recited in claim 14.
Regarding to claim 20, the prior art fails to anticipate or render obvious the claimed limitations including “an adhesive surrounding the mixture of the gel and the liquid metal and sealing the mixture of the gel and the liquid metal in a sealed volume” in combination with the limitations recited in claim 18 and the rest of limitations recited in claim 20.
Pertinent Art
For the benefits of the Applicant, US-11728232-B2, US-6064919-A, US-9082743-B2, US-10879194-B2, US-20220199482-A1, US-20240079349-A1, US-20230378007-A1, and US-20240371774-A1, are cited on the record as being pertinent to significant disclosure through some but not all claimed features of the defined invention. The refences fail to disclose the combination of limitations including “disposing a stiffener ring on the first principle surface of the interposer with the stiffener ring encircling the one or more semiconductor dies; molding a molding material around the stiffener ring and the one or more semiconductor dies, wherein the heat spreading lid comprises a thermoelectric cooler.”
Conclusion
/VU A VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897