DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant election of group I, species I, reading on Claims 1-10, and 21-30, without traverse, is acknowledged.
Remarks
Applicant is reminded of his duty to disclose, to best serve the public interest, all information material to patentability of the claimed invention. Each individual associated with the filing and prosecution of a patent application has a duty to disclose to the Office all information known to that individual to be material to patentability as defined in 37 CFR § 1.56.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In the instant case, Claim 2 discloses “forming a metallization layer over the heat sink structure, wherein the heat sink structure is attached to the TIM layer through the metallization layer”, which indicate that the metallization layer is formed over, i.e. on top of the heat sink structure. It is noted that the heat sink structure which formed of a cover portion and a plurality of heat dissipating fins upwardly extending, according to Claim 1, is attached to the TIM layer. This means that the metallization layer must be formed above the TIM layer and below the heat sink structure, which is contrary to the claim language of forming the metallization layer over the heat sink structure. Examiner will consider that sequence of the layers formed over the package structure will as follows: a TIM layer formed over the package structure, then metallization layer is formed over the TIM layer, then the heat sink structure is attached to the TIM layer via the metallization layer, hence the metallization layer lies between the heat sink structure the TIM layer.
Applicant correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8, 21-22 and 24-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hung et al. (US 2015/0035134), (hereinafter, Hung).
RE Claim 1, Hung discloses in FIGS. 1-15 a three-dimensional integrated package including a thermal management system and a method of making the same. Hung discloses a method, comprising:
bonding a package structure 10 to a substrate 14, referring to FIG. 1;
attaching a ring structure 20 “heat dissipating ring” on the substrate and surrounding the package structure 10, referring to FIG. 3;
forming a thermal interface material (TIM) layer 16/16A/16B/26 over the package structure 10, referring to FIG. 3; and
attaching a heat sink structure 24/28, shown in FIG. 5 or 24 as shown in FIG. 15A, to the TIM layer 16/16A/16B/26 and the ring structure 20,
wherein the heat sink structure 24/28, shown in FIG. 5 or 24 as shown in FIG. 15A, comprises a cover portion and a plurality of heat dissipating fins upwardly extending from a top surface of the cover portion, referring to FIGS. 5 and 15A. It is the examiner position that the heat sink structure of FIG. comprises the protrusion of the cover 24 and fin structure 28, while in FIG. 15 A the cover, along with protrusion and fins of the heat sink structure 24 as a contiguous heat sink structure, hence the claimed limitation is met in either embodiment.
RE Claim 8, Hung discloses method, wherein the heat sink structure 24/27 comprises copper, aluminum, or a combination thereof [0017 and 0018].
RE Claim 21, Hung discloses in FIGS. 1-15 a three-dimensional integrated package including a thermal management system and a method of making the same. Hung discloses a method, comprising:
bonding a package structure 10 to a substrate 14, referring to FIG. 1;
attaching a ring structure 20 “heat dissipating ring” on the substrate and surrounding the package structure 10 defines an opening, referring to FIG. 3 and 15A;
forming a thermal interface material (TIM) layer 16/16A/16B/26 over the package structure 10, referring to FIGS. 3 and 15A;
attaching a heat sink structure 24/28, shown in FIG. 5 or 24 as shown in FIG. 15A, to the TIM layer 16/16A/16B/26 and the ring structure 20,
wherein the heat sink structure 24/28, shown in FIG. 5 or 24 as shown in FIG. 15A, comprises a cover portion, heat dissipating fins extending upwardly from the cover portion, and a protruding portion extending into the opening, referring to FIGS. 5 and 15A. It is the examiner position that the heat sink structure of FIG. comprises the protrusion of the cover 24 and fin structure 28, while in FIG. 15 A the cover, along with protrusion and fins of the heat sink structure 24 as a contiguous heat sink structure, hence the claimed limitation is met in either embodiment,
wherein a contour of the protruding portion substantially corresponds to a contour of the opening, referring to FIGS. 3-5 and 15A.
RE Claim 22, Hung discloses method, wherein the protruding portion and the cover portion collectively form a stepped structure on a backside of the heat sink structure 24/28, shown in FIG. 5 or 24 as shown in FIG. 15A.
RE Claim 24, Hung discloses method, wherein the protruding portion and the cover portion are integrally formed, referring to FIGS. 5 and 15A.
RE Claim 25, Hung discloses method, further comprising
forming an adhesive layer 16C, referring to FIG. 5 and 26 of FIG. 15A on a top surface of the ring structure 20,
wherein the cover portion of the heat sink structure 24/28 is attached to the ring structure 20 through the adhesive layer 16C, referring to FIG. 5 and 26 of FIG. 15A.
RE Claim 26, Hung discloses in FIGS. 1-15 a three-dimensional integrated package including a thermal management system and a method of making the same. Hung discloses a method, comprising:
bonding a package structure 10 to a substrate 14, referring to FIG. 1;
attaching a ring structure 20 “heat dissipating ring” on the substrate and surrounding the package structure 10, referring to FIGS. 3 and 15A;
forming a thermal interface material (TIM) layer 16/16A/16B/26 over the package structure 10, referring to FIGS. 3 and 15A;
attaching a heat sink structure 24/28, shown in FIG. 5 or 24 as shown in FIG. 15A, to the TIM layer 16/16A/16B/26 and the ring structure 20,
wherein the heat sink structure 24/28, shown in FIG. 5 or 24 as shown in FIG. 15A, comprises a cover portion, heat dissipating fins, and a protruding portion extending from the cover portion, referring to FIGS. 5 and 15,
wherein the TIM layer 16/16A is sandwiched between the protruding portion and the package structure 10, and a contour of the protruding portion substantially corresponds to a contour of an opening of the ring structure, referring to FISG. 3, 5 and 15A.
RE Claim 27, Hung discloses a method, wherein the protruding portion is thicker than an adhesive layer 26 disposed between the cover portion and the ring structure 20, referring to FIGS. 5 and 15A.
RE Claim 28, Hung discloses a method, wherein the protruding portion and the cover portion collectively form a stepped structure positioned over the package structure 10, referring to FIGS. 5 and 15A.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4, 23, 29 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hung et al. (US 2015/0035134), (hereinafter, Hung) in view of WANG et al. (US 2021/0272869).
RE Claims 2 and 3, Hung does not disclose a method, further comprising:
forming a metallization layer over the heat sink structure,
wherein the heat sink structure is attached to the TIM layer through the metallization layer.
However, in the same field of endeavor, WANG discloses a semiconductor package, along with thermal management provisions and a method of making the same. WANG discloses a semiconductor package, wherein a metallization layer 107 “heat spreader” comprising copper or aluminum is formed [0046], referring to FIGS. 1D and 2B,
Wherein a heat sink structure 112 is attached to a TIM layer 108/113 through the metallization layer 107.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to have the metallic heat spreader of WANG attached to the TIM layer of Hung 3-dimensional packaging structure to improve heat dissipation for a better thermal management of the Hung’s package structure.
RE Claim 4, Hung in view of WANG do not disclose a method, wherein the metallization layer has a thickness in a range from about 10 A to 10000 A.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to use the claimed thickness range of the metallization layer, absent unexpected results, in order to optimize the heat spreading function and subsequently improve the overall semiconductor package heat dissipation to improve devices performance, since it has been held that discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233; In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980); In re Huang, 100 F.3d 135, 40 USPQ2d 1685, 1688 (Fed. Cir. 1996).
RE Claim 23, Hung in view of WANG do not disclose a method, wherein the protruding portion has a thickness in a range from about 50 pm to about 100 pm.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to use the claimed thickness range of the protruding portion, absent unexpected results, in order to optimize the heat spreading function and subsequently improve the overall semiconductor package heat dissipation to improve devices performance, since it has been held that discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233; In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980); In re Huang, 100 F.3d 135, 40 USPQ2d 1685, 1688 (Fed. Cir. 1996).
RE Claim 29, Hung does not disclose a method, further comprising pressing the heat sink structure toward the TIM layer and the ring structure.
However, in the same field of endeavor, WANG discloses a semiconductor package, along with thermal management provisions and a method of making the same. WANG discloses the thermal interface material 108 below the heat spreader 107 is subjected to a compression force (e.g., by pressing a compression part or body).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to press the heat sink structure toward the TIM layer and the ring structure to securely attach the heat sink to the TIM layer.
RE Claim 30, Hung does not disclose a method, further comprising curing an adhesive layer between the cover portion and the ring structure to secure the heat sink structure to the ring structure.
However, in the same field of endeavor, WANG discloses a semiconductor package, along with thermal management provisions and a method of making the same. WANG discloses compressing and curing the thermal interface 108 to fully cure the thermal interface with the package.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to cure an adhesive layer between the cover portion and the ring structure 20 to securely attach the heat sink structure 24 to the ring structure 20.
Claim(s) 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hung et al. (US 2015/0035134), (hereinafter, Hung) in view of HO et al. (US 2020/0118912), (hereinafter, HO).
RE Claim 9, Hung discloses method, further comprising:
bonding a surface mount device (SMD) 17 “discrete passive device” to the substrate 14, referring to FIG. 2.
However, in the same field of endeavor, HO discloses a semiconductor package and a method of making the same, wherein an encapsulant 12A cover the surface mounted devices 111 and 112, which include passive and active devices [0040], referring to FIG. 2. Although HO is silent with respect to the term “conformally”, examiner observe that the encapsulant 12A completely surrounds and covers the surface mounted devices 111 and 112, hence the encapsulant 12A is, implicitly, conformally formed layer, hence the term “conformally” is implicitly met.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to use a conformally formed protective layer to such as an encapsulant similar to HO disclosure to protect the surface mounted device 17 of Hung form external environment mechanically and electrically.
RE Claim 10, Hung does not disclose a method, wherein the protection coating comprises acrylic, epoxy, or a combination thereof.
However, in the same field of endeavor, HO discloses a semiconductor package and a method of making the same, wherein an encapsulant 12A made of polymer resin such as polyimide, epoxy resin or the like [0042].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to use polymer resin such as polyimide, epoxy resin of HO’s disclosure the conformally cover the surface mounted device 17 of Hung to protect the surface mounted device 17 of Hung form external environment mechanically and electrically.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/YASSER A ABDELAZIEZ, PhD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898