DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s application 18/660,207 filed on May 9, 2024 in which claims 1 to 10 are pending.
Drawings
The drawings submitted on May 9, 2024 have been reviewed and accepted by the Examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS), filed on May 9, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosed therein has been considered by the Examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of paper submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) which has been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. 2025/0279397 (Chung).
Regarding claim 1 Chung discloses at annotated Figure 3C-3C a method for fabricating semiconductor device, comprising:
providing a first wafer, e.g. 112/10 [0059-62, and a second wafer, 122/20 [0059-61]; and
bonding the first wafer, 112/10, onto a carrier, CR1 [0060], by forming an adhesive layer, not shown but described at [0060], between the carrier and the first wafer, as annotated.
Regarding claim 7 which depends upon claim 1, at [0060] Chung teaches thinning the first wafer, 112; and bonding the first wafer to the carrier, CR1, as shown.
Regarding claim 10 which depends upon claim 1, Chung teaches the carrier may be glass at [0060] and the first wafer, 112 may comprise silicon [0036] and so teaches the carrier and first wafer comprise different materials.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung.
Regarding claim 2 which depends upon claim 1, Chung teaches and suggests at [0078] and Figures 7A and 7B, conducting a front end of line (FEOL) process and a back end of line (BEOL) process on the first wafer, 112, where 116 is a via middle structure, [0060], formed after the FEOL process but before the BEOL process, and also suggest the second wafer, 122 where 126 is also a via middle structure; forming direct bond interconnects (DBI), 142a/142b [0045], on the first wafer and the second wafer, as shown in Figure 3G; bonding the first wafer and the second wafer, as shown; and performing a de-bonding process to detach the carrier and the first wafer, as shown in Figure 3I and described at [0067].
Regarding claim 3 which depends upon claim 2, Chung teaches performing a hybrid bonding process to bond the first wafer and the second wafer at [0045].
Regarding claim 4 which depends upon claim 3, Chung teaches an alternative embodiment of his method at Figures 7A and 7B wherein the hybrid bonding process comprises: reversing the second wafer by facing a front side of the second wafer to a front side of the first wafer; and bonding the DBI on the second wafer to the DBI on the first wafer at [0079].
Regarding claim 5 which depends upon claim 2, Chung teaches an alternative embodiment of his method at Figures 7A and 7B comprising forming the DBI on front sides of the first wafer and the second wafer, i.e. bonding front-to-front manner [0079].
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung and U.S. 2025/0029949 (Sung).
Regarding claim 9 which depends upon claim 1, Chung does not explicitly teach the carrier and the first wafer comprise same material.
Sung is directed to wafer-to-wafer assembly methods. At [0018], Sung teaches that a carrier, 100, for a bonding process may be glass substrate or a silicon substrate.
Taken as a whole, the prior art is directed to wafer bonding methods. Sung teaches that a silicon substrate may be substituted for a glass substrate. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to substitute Chung’s glass carrier a silicon carrier, as taught by Sung, resulting in the carrier and the first wafer comprise same material, i.e., silicon, because the combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 6 the prior art does not teach the method of claim 2, further comprising: forming metal interconnections on a backside of the first wafer; and performing a chip probing test on the metal interconnections.
Regarding claim 8 the prior art does not teach the method of claim 1, wherein a thickness of the first wafer is less than a thickness of the second wafer.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is listed on the notice of references cited.
/J.E. Schoenholtz/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893