CTFR 18/660,479 CTFR 89863 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. In addressing the rejection ground, each claim may not have been separately discussed to the extent the claimed features are the same as or similar to the previously-discussed features; the previous discussion is construed to apply for the other claims in the same or similar way. In the office action, “/” should be read as and/or as generally understood. For example, “A/B” means A and B, or A or B. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 AIA Claim s 3-5, 7 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Claim 3 recites the phrase” electrically cut a connection between off the power storage part and the AC power source during substrate processing in which an RF power in the substrate processing apparatus”, which renders the claim indefinite. It’s unclear what the phrase means. Claim 4 is rejected based on the dependency from claim 3. Claim 5 recites “the substrate processing apparatus of claim,”, which renders the claim indefinite. It’s unclear what is the dependency for claim 5. Claim 7 recites “wherein the plurality of power storage parts by a DC power converted from power from an AC power source”, which renders the claim indefinite. The phrase is incomplete. Claim 19 recites the phrase” electrically cut a connection between off the power storage part and the AC power source during substrate processing in which an RF power in the substrate processing apparatus”, which renders the claim indefinite. It’s unclear what the phrase means. Further clarification is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1, and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hitachi Kokusai Electric Inc. (hereinafter Hitachi, JP 2013/055129) in view of Kono et al. (US 2024/0014669) . Regarding claim 1, Hitachi discloses a substrate processing apparatus [see at least fig. 2] comprising: a power storage part [e.g. 70] connected to the conversion part and configured to store the DC power; and heater [e.g. 20] disposed in a substrate support in a plasma processing chamber [see 14] and that uses a power [e.g. 70/84], wherein charges stored in the power storage part are supplied, as a DC power, to the heater during plasma processing in which an RF power [e.g. by 84] is generated in the plasma processing chamber. Hitachi does not disclose a power transmitting coil to which a power from an AC power source is supplied; a power receiving coil configured to receive a power from the power transmitting coil in a non-contact manner, the power transmitting coil and the power receiving coil being physically separated by a separation distance, wherein the separation distance is a distance at which propagation of RF noise from the power receiving coil to the power transmitting coil is suppressed while allowing power to be supplied from the power transmitting coil to the power receiving coil; a conversion part configured to convert an AC power received by the power receiving coil to a DC power. However, Kono discloses a power transmitting coil [e.g. the left side of transformer 11 fig. 1A] to which a power from an AC power source [e.g. 10A] is supplied; a power receiving coil [e.g. the right side of transformer 11] configured to receive a power from the power transmitting coil in a non-contact manner, the power transmitting coil and the power receiving coil being physically separated by a separation distance, wherein the separation distance is a distance at which propagation of RF noise from the power receiving coil to the power transmitting coil is suppressed while allowing power to be supplied from the power transmitting coil to the power receiving coil [the power is supplied from the power transmitting coil to the power receiving coil]; a conversion part [e.g. 12A] configured to convert an AC power received by the power receiving coil to a DC power [e.g.Vdc], a power storage part [e.g. 13] connected to the conversion part. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Hitachi in accordance with the teaching of Kono regarding a power storage in order to store power by converting well-known AC power. Alternatively, assuming arguendo, the combination does not explicitly disclose wherein the separation distance is a distance at which propagation of RF noise from the power receiving coil to the power transmitting coil is suppressed. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to have the separation distance a distance at which propagation of RF noise from the power receiving coil to the power transmitting coil is suppressed, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art . In re Boesch, 617 F. 2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Regarding claim 16, the combination discussed above discloses the substrate processing apparatus of claim 1, wherein the power storage part is a capacitor element [see at least Background, paras. 0059, 0061, 0088, 0112-0113 Kono] or a battery [see at least Solution, Hitachi; Background, paras. 0059, 0061, 0088, 0112-0113 Kono]. Regarding claim 17, the combination discussed above discloses the substrate processing apparatus of claim 16. The combination discussed above discloses a capacitor element [see at least Background, paras. 0059, 0061, 0088, 0112-0113 Kono] but does not disclose an internal resistance of the capacitor element is 100 mΩ or less. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to an internal resistance of the capacitor element is 100 mΩ or less, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F. 2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Regarding claim 18, the combination discussed above discloses a substrate processing method for processing a substrate using a substrate processing apparatus including a power transmitting coil to which a power from an AC power source is supplied, a power receiving coil configured to receive a power from the power transmitting coil in anon-contact manner and physically separated from the power transmitting coil by a separation distance at which propagation of RF noise from the power receiving coil to the power transmitting coil is suppressed while allowing power to be supplied, a conversion part configured to convert an AC power received by the power receiving coil to a DC power, power storage part connected to the conversion part and configured to store the DC power and a heater disposed in a substrate support in a plasma processing chamber, and the method comprising supplying charges from the power storage part as a DC power to the heater during plasma processing in which an RF power is generated in the plasma processing chamber. Please see rejection of claim 1 . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 3-5 and 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hitachi Kokusai Electric Inc. (hereinafter Hitachi, JP 2013/055129) in view of Kono et al. (US 2024/0014669) and Dahen Corp. (hereinafter Dahen, JP 2017/054646) . Regarding claim 3 (as best understood), Hitachi discloses the substrate processing apparatus of claim 1, electrically cut a connection [see 78, 79, 82 Hitachi] between off the power storage part and the AC power source during substrate processing in which an RF power in the substrate processing apparatus, except further comprising: controller circuitry configured to: convert a power from an AC power source to a DC power and supply the DC power to the power storage part, and electrically cut a connection between off the power storage part and the AC power source during substrate processing in which an RF power in the substrate processing apparatus. However, Dahen discloses controller circuitry [see at least figs. 1, 10] configured to convert a power from an AC power source to a DC power and supply the DC power to the power storage part [see at least figs. 1, 10]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Hitachi in accordance with the teaching of Dahen regarding a power feeding system in order to provide non-contact power feeding [para. 0055]. Regarding claim 4 (as best understood), the combination discussed above discloses the substrate processing apparatus of claim 3, wherein the controller circuitry is configured to supply a power to the power storage part through an electrical supply path [inherent, it must have a path to deliver the power; see at least fig. 2 Hitachi, figs. 1, 10/5/9 Dahen] after the power from the AC power source is converted to the DC power, a relay [e.g. 72/74 Hitachi] is disposed in the electrical supply path, and the relay is cut off during substrate processing using the RF power in the substrate processing apparatus. Regarding claim 5 (as best understood), the combination discussed above discloses the substrate processing apparatus of claim, further comprising: a frequency conversion circuit [e.g. 1/10 fig. 10 Dahen] configured to convert a frequency of the power supplied from the AC power source to a transmission frequency and transmit the corresponding power; and a rectifier circuit and a smoothing circuit [e.g. 13/12 fig. 10 Dahen] configured to rectify and smooth the power whose frequency has been converted by the frequency conversion circuit and supply the corresponding power to the power storage part. Regarding claim 19 (as best understood), the combination discussed above discloses the substrate processing method of claim 18, further comprising: controller circuitry configured to: ; convert a power from an AC power source to a DC power and supply the DC power to the power storage part, and electrically cut a connection between off the power storage part and the AC power source during substrate processing in which an RF power in the substrate processing apparatus. Please see the rejection of claim 3. Regarding claim 20, the combination discussed above discloses the substrate processing method of claim 18, further comprising: supplying a power to the power storage part through an electrical supply path after the power from the AC power source is converted to the DC power; and cutting off the relay during substrate processing using the RF power in the substrate processing apparatus, wherein the relay is disposed in the electrical supply path. Please see the rejection of claim 4. Regarding claim 21, the combination discussed above discloses the substrate processing method of claim 18, further comprising: converting, via a frequency conversion circuit of the substrate processing apparatus, a frequency of the power supplied from the AC power source to a transmission frequency and transmit the corresponding power; and rectifying and smoothing, via a rectifier circuit and a smoothing circuit, the power whose frequency has been converted by the frequency conversion circuit and supply the corresponding power to the power storage part. Please see the rejection of claim 5 . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hitachi Kokusai Electric Inc. (hereinafter Hitachi, JP 2013/055129) in view of Hitachi Kokusai Electric Inc. (hereinafter Hitachi2, JP 2012/253314) . Regarding claim 8, the combination discussed above discloses the substrate processing apparatus of claim 1, further comprising: a power generation mechanism [e.g.84, 82, 80 Hitachi; inherent, the charger must get the power from a power generation mechanism], wherein the power supply to the power storage part is performed by supplying a power obtained by the power generation mechanism., except wherein the power generation mechanism uses fuel cell power generation. However, Hitachi2 discloses a power generation mechanism uses fuel cell power generation [see at least para. 0120, 0125 fig. 11]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Hitachi in accordance with the teaching of Hitachi2 regarding a power generation in order to suppress the consumption of the commercial power [para. 0127]. Regarding claim 10, the combination discussed above discloses the substrate processing apparatus of claim 8, wherein at least one of oxygen and hydrogen used in the fuel cell power generation is used for substrate processing in a facility where the substrate processing apparatus is installed [see at least paras. 0120-0127 Hitachi2] . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 6-7 and 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hitachi Kokusai Electric Inc. (hereinafter Hitachi, JP 2013/055129) in view of Kono et al. (US 2024/0014669) and Nishigai (US 12,218,532) Regarding claim 6, the combination discussed above discloses the substrate processing apparatus of claim 1, wherein the substrate processing apparatus includes a plurality of power storage parts [see at least 30s fig. 2 Kono] including the power storage part, a plurality of power supply paths [e.g. see paths in ESB fig. 2] and each of the plurality of power storage parts is a battery or a capacitor [see at least para. 0059 Kono], and the plurality of power supply paths converged at a joining part [see at least 32p]. The combination does not disclose a plurality of relays disposed on a respective one of the plurality of power supply paths. However, Nishigai discloses a plurality of relays [14s fig. 1] disposed on a respective one of the plurality of power supply paths [see fig. 1], and the plurality of power supply paths converged at a joining part [see 23 fig. 1]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Hitachi in accordance with the teaching of Nishigai regarding a plurality of power storage apparatuses in order to provide an improved power supply system [see at least abstract, background]. Regarding claim 7 (as best understood), the combination discussed above discloses the substrate processing apparatus of claim 6, wherein the plurality of power storage parts are by a DC power converted from power from an AC power source [see at least fig. 1 Kono]. Regarding claim 11, the combination discussed above discloses the substrate processing apparatus of claim 1, except wherein a plurality of the power storage parts are provided, and the plurality of power storage parts are connected in parallel to the heater, and when a voltage of one of the plurality of power storage parts decreases and becomes lower than a voltage required for the heater to which charges stored in said one power storage part is supplied as power, power supply is switched to supply from another power storage part. However, Nishigai discloses a plurality of the power storage parts [e.g. power storage apparatuses 10A-10C, see at least abstract, fig. 1] are provided, and the plurality of power storage parts are connected in parallel [see at least abstract, fig. 1] to a unit or a member [e.g. 70/60, or the like, heater], and when a voltage of one of the plurality of power storage parts decreases and becomes lower than a voltage required for a unit or a member to which charges stored in one power storage part is supplied as power, power supply is switched to supply from another power storage part [see at least abstract]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Hitachi in accordance with the teaching of Nishigai regarding a plurality of power storage apparatuses in order to provide an improved power supply system [see at least abstract, background]. Regarding claim 12, the combination discussed above discloses the substrate processing apparatus of claim 11, wherein after the power supply is switched to the supply from said another power storage part, said one power storage part whose voltage has decreased supplies a power to a unit or a member that is driven even at the decreased voltage [see at least abstract, background, Nishigai]. Regarding claim 13, the combination discussed above discloses the substrate processing apparatus of claim 11, wherein after the power supply is switched to the supply from said another power storage part, a power is supplied to said one power storage part whose voltage has decreased [see at least fig. 3, Nishigai]. Regarding claim 14, the combination discussed above discloses the substrate processing apparatus of claim 11, wherein a relatively small-capacity power storage part having a smaller capacity [see at least Col. 4, lines 27-43 Nishigai, power storage units made of different materials have the respective capacities] than a capacity of the power storage part is connected in parallel with the power storage part between the power storage part and the heater [see at least figs. of Hitachi and Nishigai]. Regarding claim 15, the combination discussed above discloses the substrate processing apparatus of claim 14, wherein another relatively small-capacity power storage part having a smaller capacity [see at least Col. 4, lines 27-43 Nishigai, power storage units made of different materials have the respective capacities] than a capacity of the relatively small-capacity power storage part is connected in parallel with the relatively small-capacity power storage part between the relatively small-capacity power storage part and the heater. Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-8, 10-15 and 18-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection rely on a new reference, Kono et al. (US 2024/0014669), which was not applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 16-17 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues: ‘Claims 16 and 17 add further specificity: claim 16 specifies the power storage part is a capacitor element or battery, and claim 17 specifies an internal resistance of the capacitor element of 100 mS) or less. These are directly and specifically disclosed in the specification: "The power storage part 45 may be one capable of storing the supplied DC power, and may be, e.g., a capacitor element or a battery. Both a capacitor element and a battery may be used together. Further, the internal (parasitic) resistance of the capacitor element is preferably small because it reduces power loss, and is, e.g., 100 mS2 or less." (Spec., Para. 70; FIG. 4.). Applicant respectfully submits that Hitachi does not disclose a capacitor element with a defined internal resistance limit used as a power storage part for supplying a heater in a substrate support during plasma processing via a wireless coil supply path.’ However, Hitachi in view of Kono discloses the power storage part is a capacitor element [see at least paras. 0059, 0061, 0088, 0112-0113 Kono] or battery [see at least Solution, Hitachi; Background, paras. 0059, 0061, 0088, 0112-0113 Kono]. In addition, regarding claim 17, the combination discussed above discloses the substrate processing apparatus of claim 16. The combination discussed above discloses a capacitor element [see at least Background, paras. 0059, 0061, 0088, 0112-0113 Kono] but does not disclose an internal resistance of the capacitor element is 100 mΩ or less. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to an internal resistance of the capacitor element is 100 mΩ or less, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F. 2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PATRICK C CHEN whose telephone number is (571)270-7207. The examiner can normally be reached M-F Flexible 8:00-16:30. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Regis Betsch can be reached at 571-270-7101. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /PATRICK C CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836 Application/Control Number: 18/660,479 Page 2 Art Unit: 2842 Application/Control Number: 18/660,479 Page 3 Art Unit: 2842 Application/Control Number: 18/660,479 Page 4 Art Unit: 2842 Application/Control Number: 18/660,479 Page 5 Art Unit: 2842 Application/Control Number: 18/660,479 Page 6 Art Unit: 2842 Application/Control Number: 18/660,479 Page 7 Art Unit: 2842 Application/Control Number: 18/660,479 Page 8 Art Unit: 2842 Application/Control Number: 18/660,479 Page 9 Art Unit: 2842 Application/Control Number: 18/660,479 Page 10 Art Unit: 2842 Application/Control Number: 18/660,479 Page 11 Art Unit: 2842 Application/Control Number: 18/660,479 Page 12 Art Unit: 2842 Application/Control Number: 18/660,479 Page 13 Art Unit: 2842