DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-13 and 15- 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Byun et al. (U.S. 2021/0066419 A1, hereinafter refer to Byun).
Regarding claim 1: Byun discloses a display apparatus (see Byun, Figs.4-5 and 6F as shown below and ¶ [0005]) comprising:
a substrate (100) (see Byun, Figs.4-5 as shown above);
at least one thin-film transistor (T) disposed on the substrate (100) (see Byun, Figs.4-5 as shown above);
a pixel electrode layer (310) disposed on the at least one thin-film transistor (T) and including at least one pixel electrode (310) (see Byun, Figs.4-5 as shown above);
a pixel-defining layer (113) disposed on the pixel electrode layer (310) and covering edges of the at least one pixel electrode (310) (see Byun, Figs.4-5 as shown above);
a spacer (115) disposed on the pixel-defining layer (113) (see Byun, Figs.4-5 as shown above); and
a first protective layer (320) disposed on the spacer (115) (see Byun, Figs.4-5 as shown above),
wherein the pixel-defining layer (113) includes a trench arranged around the spacer (115) (see Byun, Figs.4-5 and 6F as shown above).
Regarding claim 2: Byun discloses a display apparatus as set forth in claim 1 as above. Byun further teaches wherein an opposite electrode layer (330) disposed on the pixel-defining layer (113) (see Byun, Figs.4-5 and 6F as shown above); and
a second protective layer (330) disposed on the first protective layer (320) (see Byun, Figs.4-5 and 6F as shown above).
Regarding claim 3: Byun discloses a display apparatus as set forth in claim 2 as above. Byun further teaches wherein the second protective layer (330) and the opposite electrode layer (330) include a same material, the second protective layer (330) being separated from the opposite electrode layer (330) (see Byun, Figs.4-5 and 6F as shown above).
Regarding claim 4: Byun discloses a display apparatus as set forth in claim 2 as above. Byun further teaches wherein an encapsulation layer (430) disposed on the opposite electrode layer (330) and the second protective layer (330) (see Byun, Figs.4-5 and 6F as shown above); and
a filler (420/410) disposed between the opposite electrode layer (330) and the encapsulation layer (430) and disposed between the second protective layer (330) and the encapsulation layer (430) (see Byun, Figs.4-5 and 6F as shown above).
Regarding claim 5: Byun discloses a display apparatus as set forth in claim 4 as above. Byun further teaches wherein the first protective layer (320) covers an upper surface of the spacer (115) (see Byun, Figs.4-5 and 6F as shown above).
Regarding claim 6: Byun discloses a display apparatus as set forth in claim 2 as above. Byun further teaches wherein at least a portion of lateral surfaces of the spacer (115) is in contact with the filler (410/420), between the opposite electrode layer (330) and the second protective layer (330) (see Byun, Figs.4-5 and 6F as shown above).
Regarding claim 7: Byun discloses a display apparatus as set forth in claim 6 as above. Byun further teaches wherein, in a plan view, the spacer (115) is surrounded by the trench (TH) (see Byun, Figs.4-5 and 6F as shown above, Fig.3, and ¶ [0108]- ¶ [0112]).
Regarding claim 8: Byun discloses a display apparatus as set forth in claim 2 as above. Byun further teaches wherein the opposite electrode layer (330) covers an inner surface and a bottom surface of the trench (see Byun, Figs.4-5 and 6F as shown above).
Regarding claim 9: Byun discloses a display apparatus as set forth in claim 1 as above. Byun further teaches wherein the pixel electrode layer (310) includes a first pixel electrode (310) and a second pixel electrode (310) apart from the first pixel electrode (310) (note: each pixels in Fig.3 necessarily have the second pixel electrode) (see Byun, Figs.4-5 and 6F as shown above, Fig.3, and ¶ [0108]- ¶ [0112]).
Regarding claim 10: Byun discloses a display apparatus as set forth in claim 9 as above. Byun further teaches wherein, in a plan view, the spacer (115) is arranged between the first pixel electrode (310) and the second pixel electrode (310) (note: each pixels in Fig.3 necessarily have the second pixel electrode) (see Byun, Figs.4-5 and 6F as shown above, Fig.3, and ¶ [0108]- ¶ [0112]).
Regarding claim 11: Byun discloses a display apparatus as set forth in claim 9 as above. Byun further teaches wherein the pixel-defining layer (113) covers edges of the first pixel electrode (310), includes a first opening above at least a central portion of the first pixel electrode (310), covers edges of the second pixel electrode (310), and includes a second opening above at least a central portion of the second pixel electrode (310) (note: each pixels in Fig.3 necessarily have the second pixel electrode) (see Byun, Figs.4-5 and 6F as shown above, Fig.3, and ¶ [0108]- ¶ [0112]).
Regarding claim 12: Byun discloses a display apparatus as set forth in claim 11 as above. Byun further teaches wherein, in a plan view, the spacer (115) is arranged between the first opening and the second opening (see Byun, Figs.4-5 and 6F as shown above, Fig.3, and ¶ [0108]- ¶ [0112]).
Regarding claim 13: Byun discloses a display apparatus as set forth in claim 2 as above. Byun further teaches wherein the opposite electrode layer (330) and the second protective layer (330) include a same material and have a same layered structure (see Byun, Figs.4-5 and 6F as shown above).
Regarding claim 15: Byun discloses a display apparatus as set forth in claim 1 as above. Byun further teaches wherein a material forming the first protective layer (320) has an etching selectivity different from an etching selectivity of a material forming the pixel-defining layer (113) (see Byun, Figs.4-5 and 6F as shown above).
Regarding claim 16: Byun discloses a display apparatus as set forth in claim 1 as above. Byun further teaches wherein the first protective layer (320) has a convex shape facing upward (see Byun, Figs.4-5 and 6F as shown above).
Regarding claim 17: Byun discloses a display apparatus as set forth in claim 2 as above. Byun further teaches wherein the second protective layer (330) exposes at least a central portion of the first protective layer (320) to outside (see Byun, Figs.4-5 and 6F as shown above).
Regarding claim 18: Byun discloses a display apparatus as set forth in claim 17 as above. Byun further teaches wherein an upper surface of at least a central portion of the first protective layer (320) is flat (see Byun, Figs.4-5 and 6F as shown above).
Regarding claim 19: Byun discloses a display apparatus as set forth in claim 1 as above. Byun further teaches wherein the spacer (115) and the pixel-defining layer (113) include a same material (see Byun, Figs.4-5 and 6F as shown above, Fig.3, and ¶ [0108]- ¶ [0112]).
Regarding claim 20: Byun discloses a display apparatus (see Byun, Figs.4-5 and 6F as shown above and ¶ [0005]) comprising:
a substrate (100) (see Byun, Figs.4-5 and 6F as shown above);
at least one thin-film transistor (T) disposed on the substrate (100) (see Byun, Figs.4-5 and 6F as shown above);
a pixel electrode layer (310) disposed on the at least one thin-film transistor (T) and including at least one pixel electrode (310) (see Byun, Figs.4-5 and 6F as shown above); and
a pixel-defining layer (113) disposed on the pixel electrode layer (310) and covering edges of the at least one pixel electrode (310) (see Byun, Figs.4-5 and 6F as shown above);
wherein the pixel-defining layer (113) comprises:
a spacer region (115) having a first thickness (see Byun, Figs.4-5 and 6F as shown above);
a protrusion region having a second thickness less than the first thickness (see Byun, Figs.4-5 and 6F as shown above); and
a trench region (TH/UC) arranged between the spacer region (115) and the protrusion region, in a plan view, and having a third thickness less than the second thickness (see Byun, Figs.4-5 and 6F as shown above and Fig.3), and
wherein a first protective layer (320) is disposed on the pixel-defining layer (113) in the spacer region (115) (see Byun, Figs.4-5 and 6F as shown above).
Regarding claim 21: Byun discloses a display apparatus as set forth in claim 20 as above. Byun further teaches wherein an opposite electrode layer (330) on the pixel-defining layer (113) in the protrusion region and the trench region (TH/UC) (see Byun, Figs.4-5 and 6F as shown above); and
a second protective layer (330) disposed on the first protective layer (320) (see Byun, Figs.4-5 and 6F as shown above).
Regarding claim 22: Byun discloses a display apparatus as set forth in claim 21 as above. Byun further teaches wherein the second protective layer (330) and the opposite electrode layer (330) include a same material, the second protective layer (330) being separated from the opposite electrode layer (330) (see Byun, Figs.4-5 and 6F as shown above).
Regarding claim 23: Byun discloses a display apparatus as set forth in claim 21 as above. Byun further teaches wherein an encapsulation layer (430) disposed on the opposite electrode layer (330) and the second protective layer (330) (see Byun, Figs.4-5 and 6F as shown above); and
a filler (410/420) disposed between the opposite electrode layer (330) and the encapsulation layer (410/420) and disposed between the second protective layer (330) and the encapsulation layer (430) (see Byun, Figs.4-5 and 6F as shown above).
Regarding claim 24: Byun discloses a display apparatus as set forth in claim 20 as above. Byun further teaches wherein, in a plan view, the spacer region (115) is surrounded by the trench region (TH/UC) (see Byun, Figs.4-5 and 6F as shown above, Fig.3, and ¶ [0108]- ¶ [0112]).
Regarding claim 25: Byun discloses a display apparatus as set forth in claim 21 as above. Byun further teaches wherein the second protective layer (330) exposes at least a central portion of the first protective layer (320) (see Byun, Figs.4-5 and 6F as shown above).
Regarding claim 26: Byun discloses a display apparatus as set forth in claim 25 as above. Byun further teaches wherein an upper surface of at least a central portion of the first protective layer (320) is flat (see Byun, Figs.4-5 and 6F as shown above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byun et al. (U.S. 2021/0066419 A1, hereinafter refer to Byun) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sugisawa et al. (U.S. 2023/0116067 A1, hereinafter refer to Sugisawa).
Regarding claim 14: Byun discloses a display apparatus as applied to claim 1 above. Byun is silent upon explicitly disclosing wherein the first protective layer includes indium gallium zinc oxide (IGZO).
For support see Sugisawa, which teaches wherein the first protective layer (131) includes indium gallium zinc oxide (IGZO) (see Sugisawa, Fig.1 and ¶ [0240]).
Byun discloses the claimed invention except for the material of first protective layer. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Byun and Sugisawa to enable the protective layer material as taught by Sugisawa in order to obtain a higher resistance than the second protective layer, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the base of its suitability, for its intended use involves only ordinary skill in the art. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Conclusion
/BITEW A DINKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812