DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's claim amendments filed 5/5/26 have been fully considered and a claim rejection is detailed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Premachandran et al., US 8,729,695, in view of Kishimoto et al., US 8,723,400.
Regrading claim 18, Premachandran (figure 2) teaches a semiconductor structure, comprising:
a semiconductor device 104 defining a cavity; and
a cap structure 108 bonded to the semiconductor device 104; and
a eutectic bond 112/140 (column 14, lines 7-15).
Premachandran fails to teach the semiconductor device 104 comprising a first bonding layer; the cap structure 108 comprises a second bonding layer bonded to the first bonding layer and defining the cavity, wherein the second bonding layer includes a surface and a protrusion protruding from the surface; and the eutectic bond formed between the first bonding layer and the second bonding layer, wherein the eutectic bond has a first thickness at the protrusion less than a second thickness at the surface.
Kishimoto (figures 2, 3, 5-8) teaches the semiconductor device 44 comprising a first bonding layer 46 (figure 2); the cap structure 6 comprises a second bonding layer 62 (figure 3) bonded to the first bonding layer 46 and defining the cavity (figure 5), wherein the second bonding layer 62 includes a surface and a protrusion (figure 8) protruding from the surface; and the eutectic bond 8 (figure 5) formed between the first bonding layer 46 and the second bonding layer 62, wherein the eutectic bond 8 (figure 5) has a first thickness at the protrusion (figure 8) than a second thickness at the surface. Figure 5 shows there is no eutectic bond at the surface therefore there is no second thickness at the surface.
With respect to claim 19, though Premachandran and Kishimoto fail to teach an oxide layer adjacent to the protrusion between the first bonding layer and the second bonding layer, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use an oxide layer in the invention of Premachandran and Kishimoto because an oxide layer is a natural byproduct of exposure to air. The use of conventional materials to perform their known functions is obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
As to claim 20, Premachandran (column 14, lines 9 teaches 112 is a ring) and Kishimoto (figure 2) teaches the eutectic bond includes a ring shape from a top-view perspective.
In re claim 21, Premachandran (figure 2) teaches a semiconductor structure, comprising:
a semiconductor device 104; and
a cap structure 108 bonded to the semiconductor device 104; and
a eutectic bond 112/140, wherein the eutectic bond 112/140 has a first thickness at the protrusion less than a second thickness at the surface.
a eutectic bond 112/140 (column 14, lines 7-15).
Premachandran fails to teach the semiconductor device 104 comprising a first bonding layer; the cap structure 108 comprises a second bonding layer bonded to the first bonding layer and defining the cavity, wherein the second bonding layer includes a surface and a protrusion protruding from the surface; and the eutectic bond formed between the first bonding layer and the second bonding layer, wherein the eutectic bond has a first thickness at the protrusion less than a second thickness at the surface.
Kishimoto (figures 2, 3, 5-8) teaches the semiconductor device 44 comprising a first bonding layer 46 (figure 2); the cap structure 6 comprises a second bonding layer 62 (figure 3) bonded to the first bonding layer 46 and defining the cavity (figure 5), wherein the second bonding layer 62 includes a surface and a protrusion (figure 8) protruding from the surface; and the eutectic bond 8 (figure 5) formed between the first bonding layer 46 and the second bonding layer 62, wherein the eutectic bond 8 (figure 5) has a first thickness at the protrusion (figure 8) than a second thickness at the surface. Figure 5 shows there is no eutectic bond at the surface therefore there is no second thickness at the surface.
Concerning claim 22, though Premachandran and Kishimoto fail to teach an oxide layer adjacent to the protrusion between the first bonding layer and the second bonding layer, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use an oxide layer in the invention of Premachandran and Kishimoto because an oxide layer is a natural byproduct of exposure to air. The use of conventional materials to perform their known functions is obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
Pertaining to claim 23, Premachandran (column 14, lines 9 teaches 112 is a ring) and Kishimoto (figure 2) teaches the eutectic bond includes a ring shape from a top-view perspective.
In re claim 24, Kishimoto (figure 2) teaches the first bonding layer 46 includes a ring shape from a top-view perspective.
Regarding claim 25, Kishimoto (figure 2) teaches the second bonding layer 62 includes a ring shape from a top-view perspective.
With respect to claim 26, Kishimoto (figure 5) teaches the eutectic bond 8 further comprises a third thickness between the first thickness and the second thickness at a location between the surface and the protrusion (figure 8).
As to claim 27, Kishimoto (column 6, lines 23-28 teaches a W/Ni/Au layer) teaches the first bonding layer comprises germanium, aluminum, aluminum copper, gold, silver, indium, tin, or a combination thereof.
In re claim 28, though Kishimoto fails to teach the eutectic bond comprises an aluminum-germanium alloy, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use an aluminum-germanium alloy in the invention of Kishimoto because it is a conventionally known equivalent eutectic. The substitution of one known equivalent technique for another may be obvious even if the prior art does not expressly suggest the substitution (Ex parte Novak 16 USPQ 2d 2041 (BPAI 1989); In re Mostovych 144 USPQ 38 (CCPA 1964); In re Leshin 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960); Graver Tank & Manufacturing Co. V. Linde Air Products Co. 85 USPQ 328 (USSC 1950).
Concerning claim 29, Kishimoto (figure 5) teaches the first bonding layer 46 covers the eutectic bond 81.
Pertaining to claim 30, Premachandran (figure 2) teaches a semiconductor structure, comprising:
a semiconductor device 104; and
a cap structure 108 bonded to the semiconductor device 104; and
a eutectic bond 112/140.
Premachandran fails to teach the semiconductor device 104 comprising a first bonding layer; the cap structure 108 comprises a second bonding layer bonded to the first bonding layer and defining the cavity, wherein the second bonding layer includes a surface and a protrusion protruding from the surface; and the eutectic bond formed between the first bonding layer and the second bonding layer, wherein the eutectic bond has a first thickness at the protrusion less than a second thickness at the surface.
Kishimoto (figures 2, 3, 5-8) teaches the semiconductor device 44 comprising a first bonding layer 46 (figure 2); the cap structure 6 comprises a second bonding layer 62 (figure 3) bonded to the first bonding layer 46 and defining the cavity (figure 5), wherein the second bonding layer 62 includes a surface and a protrusion (figure 8) protruding from the surface; and the eutectic bond 8 (figure 5) formed between the first bonding layer 46 and the second bonding layer 62, wherein the eutectic bond 8 (figure 5) has a first thickness at the protrusion (figure 8) than a second thickness at the surface. Figure 5 shows there is no eutectic bond at the surface therefore there is no second thickness at the surface.
In claim 31, though Premachandran and Kishimoto fail to teach an oxide layer adjacent to the protrusion between the first bonding layer and the second bonding layer, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use an oxide layer in the invention of Premachandran and Kishimoto because an oxide layer is a natural byproduct of exposure to air. The use of conventional materials to perform their known functions is obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding claim 32, Premachandran (column 14, lines 9 teaches 112 is a ring) and Kishimoto (figure 2) teaches the eutectic bond includes a ring shape from a top-view perspective.
With respect to claim 33, Kishimoto (figure 2) teaches the first bonding layer 46 includes a ring shape from a top-view perspective.
As to claim 34, Kishimoto (figure 2) teaches the second bonding layer 62 includes a ring shape from a top-view perspective.
In re claim 35, Kishimoto (figure 5) teaches the eutectic bond 8 further comprises a third thickness between the first thickness and the second thickness at a location between the surface and the protrusion (figure 8).
As to claim 36, Kishimoto (column 6, lines 23-28 teaches a W/Ni/Au layer) teaches the first bonding layer comprises germanium, aluminum, aluminum copper, gold, silver, indium, tin, or a combination thereof.
In re claim 37, though Kishimoto fails to teach the eutectic bond comprises an aluminum-germanium alloy, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use an aluminum-germanium alloy in the invention of Kishimoto because it is a conventionally known equivalent eutectic. The substitution of one known equivalent technique for another may be obvious even if the prior art does not expressly suggest the substitution (Ex parte Novak 16 USPQ 2d 2041 (BPAI 1989); In re Mostovych 144 USPQ 38 (CCPA 1964); In re Leshin 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960); Graver Tank & Manufacturing Co. V. Linde Air Products Co. 85 USPQ 328 (USSC 1950).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited prior art teaches similar concepts to the invention.
Any inquiry should be directed to DAVID A ZARNEKE at (571)272-1937. If attempts to reach the examiner are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Matt Landau can be reached at 571-272-1731. The fax number is 571-273-8300.
/DAVID A ZARNEKE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891 5/12/26