DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim 4 recites that the heat transfer structure comprises a bendable structure. The term “bendable” is interpreted using the original specification [0056] and [0071]as the heat transfer structure 412 is a bendable tube-like spring structure. According to these excerpts if the heat transfer structure comprises a spring it is “bendable”.
Claims 1-7, 15-17, and 19 recite a heat controller. The term “heat controller” as recited in the original specification [0049] is interpreted as heat controller 320 which comprises one or more processors configured by programming instructions on non-transitory computer readable media. See also [0057], [0061], and [00100].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5, 7, 15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ho et al (US 2010/0015894) in view of Liu et al (US 2020/0101582).
Regarding claim 1: The prior art of Ho et al teaches chemical mechanical planarization (CMP) system, comprising: a polishing pad 12 comprising a polishing pad surface for polishing a wafer surface; and a cleaning system (rinse arm 20) configured to clean the polishing pad surface using a pad rinsing solution, the cleaning system comprising: a heat system comprising a heat source (heat exchange medium 32, embedded elements 34, and heat exchange tube 40) for generating heat and a heat controller (temperature controller 22) configured to determine when to apply the heat from the heat source to the pad rinsing solution.
The prior art of Ho et al fails to teach a measurement system comprising a particle counter configured to measure a concentration of particle by-products in runoff from rinsing the polishing pad surface and a zeta potential meter configured to estimate zeta potential of the pad rinsing solution at or near an outlet of a polishing pad rinsing nozzle. Note the prior art or Ho et al does teach a heat controller (control unit 46) but fails to teach that the heat controller is configured to begin applying the heat from the heat source to the pad rinsing solution when the concentration of particle by-products in the runoff is above a first threshold level; and wherein the heat controller is configured to determine how much of the heat from the heat source to apply to the pad rinsing solution based on the zeta potential of the pad rinsing solution estimated from the zeta potential meter.
The prior art of Liu et al teaches a system and method of CMP with concentration and zeta potential sensors and control unit 101. According to [0047] – [0070] of Liu et al one or more conditions and the characteristic determined by the sensors and the control unit uses the results of the sensors to control the CMP operations such the valves and pumps which control the flow of process fluids. Thus, it would have been obvious to modify the apparatus of Ho et al by providing sensors to determine concentration and zeta potential sensors and a control unit which uses the results of the sensors to control the CMP operations such the valves and pumps which control the flow of process fluids as suggested by Liu et al.
Regarding claim 2: The CMP system of claim 1, wherein the heat source further comprises a microwave source or a hot plate for applying heat to the pad rinsing solution. See the embedded heat elements 34 of Ho et al which are interpreted as the hot plate(s).
Regarding claim 5: The CMP system of claim 1, wherein the heat controller 46 of Ho et al is configured to provide a temperature command directed to the heat source based on a set temperature and a bias correction determined based on a pad rinsing solution temperature estimated from a temperature measurement device see [0019] and [0021] and the discussion the temperature sensors 44 and output of temperature controller 22 to provide data to the control unit 46 to control the flow of rinse fluid. Recall the teachings of Liu et and the zeta potential meter (sensor). Thus, it would have been obvious to modify the apparatus of Ho et al by providing sensors to determine concentration and zeta potential sensors and a control unit which uses the results of the sensors to control the CMP operations such the valves and pumps which control the flow of process fluids as suggested by the teachings of sensors S1-S3 of Liu et al.
Regarding claim 7: The CMP system of claim 1, wherein the measurement system further comprises a temperature measurement device (temperature sensors 44 of Ho et al) configured to estimate pad rinsing solution temperature at or near an outlet of a polishing pad rinsing nozzle and wherein the heat controller is further configured to determine how much of the heat from the heat source to apply to the pad rinsing solution based on a pad rinsing solution temperature estimated from a temperature measurement device.
Regarding claim 15: Recall the teaching of Ho et al above. The prior art of Ho et al fails to teach a measurement system comprising a particle counter configured to measure a concentration of particle by-products in runoff from rinsing the polishing pad surface; and a heat controller configured to determine when to apply the heat from the heat source to the pad rinsing solution, wherein the heat controller is configured to begin applying the heat from the heat source to the pad rinsing solution when the concentration of particle by-products in the runoff is above a first particle threshold level. See the discussion of Liu et al above and note in [0032] that Liu et al teaches sensors S1-S3 can be particle counters (particle size distributions and particle concentrations). According to [0047] – [0070] of Liu et al one or more conditions and the characteristic determined by the sensors and the control unit uses the results of the sensors to control the CMP operations such the valves and pumps which control the flow of process fluids See the location of sensors S1-S3 as they measure the run off. Thus, it would have been obvious to modify the apparatus of Ho et al by providing sensors to determine concentration and particle counter and a control unit which uses the results of the sensors to control the CMP operations such the valves and pumps which control the flow of process fluids as suggested by Liu et al.
Regarding claim 17: See the rejection of claim 15 above and note that the prior art of Liu et al further comprising a zeta potential meter. Recall the prior art of Ho et al herein the heat controller is configured to determine how much of the heat from the heat source to apply to the pad rinsing solution based on the zeta potential of the pad rinsing solution estimated from the zeta potential meter. Providing the zeta potential meters as suggested by Liu et al such that the location of the zeta potential meters (sensors S1-S3) configured estimate zeta potential of the pad rinsing solution at or near an outlet of the polishing pad rinsing nozzle is matter of design choice in that one of ordinary skill would choose the optimal location of sensors to ensure that they can accurate measure the zeta potential of the desired process fluid in the location that would yield an accurate measure that most corresponds to the run off fluid which would provide the optimal qualitative and quantitative analysis of the status of the polishing pad cleanliness when the sensors of Liu et al have been introduced to the CMP pad conditioning system of Ho et al. Thus, it would have been obvious to modify the apparatus of Ho et al by providing sensors to determine concentration and zeta potential sensors and a control unit which uses the results of the sensors to control the CMP operations such the valves and pumps which control the flow of process fluids as suggested by Liu et al.
Regarding claim 18: The heat controller of Ho et al comprises one or more processors (control unit 46) configured by programming instructions to determine how much of the heat from the heat source to apply to the pad rinsing solution based on a zeta potential measurement of the pad rinsing solution from a zeta potential meter and note that the prior art of Liu et al further comprising a zeta potential meter. Recall the prior art of Ho et al herein the heat controller is configured to determine how much of the heat from the heat source to apply to the pad rinsing solution based on the zeta potential of the pad rinsing solution estimated from the zeta potential meter. Providing the zeta potential meters such that the location of the zeta potential meters (sensors S1-S3) configured estimate zeta potential of the pad rinsing solution at or near an outlet of the polishing pad rinsing nozzle is matter of design choice in that one of ordinary skill would choose the optimal location of sensors to ensure that they can accurate measure the zeta potential of the desired process fluid in the location that would yield an accurate measure that most corresponds to the run off fluid which would provide the optimal qualitative and quantitative analysis of the status of the polishing pad cleanliness when the sensors of Liu et al have been introduced to the CMP pad conditioning system of Ho et al. Thus, it would have been obvious to modify the apparatus of Ho et al by providing sensors to determine concentration and zeta potential sensors and a control unit which uses the results of the sensors to control the CMP operations such the valves and pumps which control the flow of process fluids as suggested by Liu et al.
Regarding claim 19: Recall the rejection of claim 15 above wherein the heat controller 22 of Ho et al is configured to cease applying heat from the heat source. The prior art of Liu et al is provided with sensors that measure concentration and particle count provided when the concentration of particle by-products in the runoff is below a second particle threshold level. See [0033] of Liu et al where the detected values are compared to condition tolerances (thresholds). the analysis performed by the control unit 101 includes comparing relative conditions of each of the respective elements (e.g., conditions detected within the chamber 113) during CMP processing to certain condition tolerances. The condition tolerances may be dictated, for example, according to a desired CMP processing recipe. Furthermore, the analysis performed by the control unit 101 may also include comparing the instantaneous characteristics of the CMP slurry 103, at each of the respective locations of the plurality of sensors during CMP processing, to certain slurry characteristic tolerances. The slurry characteristic tolerances may be dictated, for example, according to the desired CMP processing recipe. Thus, it would have been obvious to modify the apparatus of Ho et al by providing sensors to determine concentration and zeta potential sensors and a control unit which uses the results of the sensors to control the CMP operations such the valves and pumps which control the flow of process fluids as suggested by Liu et al.
Regarding claim 20: The CMP system of claim 19, wherein the first particle threshold level is substantially higher than the second particle threshold level. See [0033] of Liu et al where the detected values are compared to condition tolerances (thresholds). See [0033] of Liu et al where the detected values are compared to condition tolerances (thresholds). the analysis performed by the control unit 101 includes comparing relative conditions of each of the respective elements (e.g., conditions detected within the chamber 113) during CMP processing to certain condition tolerances. The condition tolerances may be dictated, for example, according to a desired CMP processing recipe. Furthermore, the analysis performed by the control unit 101 may also include comparing the instantaneous characteristics of the CMP slurry 103, at each of the respective locations of the plurality of sensors during CMP processing, to certain slurry characteristic tolerances. The slurry characteristic tolerances may be dictated, for example, according to the desired CMP processing recipe. Thus, it would have been obvious to modify the apparatus of Ho et al by providing sensors to determine concentration and zeta potential sensors and a control unit which uses the results of the sensors to control the CMP operations such the valves and pumps which control the flow of process fluids as suggested by Liu et al.
Claims 3, 4, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ho et al (US 2010/0015894) in view of Liu et al (US 2020/0101582) as applied to claims 1, 2, 5, 7, 15, and 17-20 above, and further in view of Kamiki et al (US 2022/021312).
The combined teachings of Ho et al and Liu et al were discussed above.
The apparatus resulting from the combined teachings of Ho et al and Liu et al fails to teach the heat transfer structure comprises a quartz structure or a ceramic structure wrapped around at least a portion of the polishing pad rinsing nozzle.
The prior art of Kamiki et al teaches temperature regulating apparatus and polishing apparatus. See the abstract of Kamiki et al and Fig. 1 (provided below) where the temperature regulating apparatus 5 includes a heat exchanger 22 with a heating flow passage 61 and a cooling flow passage 62 formed therein; a holder 90 arranged over the heat exchanger 11 ; a coupling mechanism 80 configured to detachably fix the heat exchanger 11 to the holder 90, the coupling mechanism 80 including: a first hook 73 fixed to an upper surface of the heat exchange 11; and a second hook 83 held by the holder 90. Kamiki et al also teaches a controller 40 and temperature regulating apparatus 5. See [0010] where Kamiki et al teaches that the heat exchanger 111 is constructed of a ceramic is ceramic are known material having excellent wear resistance and high thermal conductivity. See also [0045] where Kamiki et al teaches that the heat exchanger 11 is made of a ceramic also. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the apparatus resulting from the combined teachings of Ho et al and Liu et al to provide ceramic as the material of constructing the heat transfer structure (heat exchanger) as ceramic is a known material having excellent wear resistance and high thermal conductivity making an preferred material of construction.
Regarding claim 3: Recall that the heat system of Ho et al further comprises a heat transfer structure configured to transfer heat from the heat source to the to the pad rinsing solution. See Fig. 1 above and the prior art of Ho et al esp. [0017] - [0031].
Note the prior art of Ho and likewise the combined teachings of Ho et al and Liu et al fails to teach the prior fails to teach that the heat transfer structure comprises a quartz structure or a ceramic structure wrapped around at least a portion of the polishing pad rinsing nozzle.
The prior art of Kamiki et al teaches temperature regulating apparatus and polishing apparatus. See the abstract of Kamiki et al where the temperature regulating apparatus 5 includes a heat exchanger 22 with a heating flow passage 61 and a cooling flow passage 62 formed therein; a holder 90 arranged over the heat exchanger 11 ; a coupling mechanism 80 configured to detachably fix the heat exchanger 11 to the holder 90, the coupling mechanism 80 including: a first hook 73 fixed to an upper surface of the heat exchange 11; and a second hook 83 held by the holder 90. Kamiki et al also teaches a controller 40 and temperature regulating apparatus 5. See [0010] where Kamiki et al teaches that the heat exchanger 111 is constructed of a ceramic is ceramic are known material having excellent wear resistance and high thermal conductivity. See also [0045] here Kamiki et al teaches that the heat exchanger 11 is made of a ceramic also. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the apparatus resulting from the combined teachings of Ho et al and Liu et al to provide ceramic as the material of constructing the heat transfer structure (heat exchanger) as ceramic is a known material having excellent wear resistance and high thermal conductivity making an preferred material of construction.
Regarding claim 4: Note the prior art of Ho and likewise the combined teachings of Ho et al and Liu et al fails to teach the heat transfer structure comprises a bendable structure. The term “bendable” is interpreted using the original specification [0056] and [0071] of the present invention as the heat transfer structure 412 is a bendable tube-like spring structure. According to these excerpts if the heat transfer structure comprises a spring it is “bendable”.
See [0016] of Kamiki et al where the coupling mechanism includes a coil spring. See [0080] and Fig. 9 of Kamiki et al where a coil spring 87 is included in the coupling mechanism 80 of heat transfer structure (heat exchanger). The motivation to construct the coupling mechanism of the heat exchanger 11 see Fig. 9 (provided below) of Kamiki et al.
Regarding claim 16: The prior art of Ho and likewise the combined teachings of Ho et al and Liu et al fails to teach that heat transfer structure comprises a quartz structure or a ceramic structure wrapped around at least a portion of the polishing pad rinsing nozzle.
The prior art of Kamiki et al teaches temperature regulating apparatus and polishing apparatus. See the abstract of Kamiki et al where the temperature regulating apparatus 5 includes a heat exchanger 22 with a heating flow passage 61 and a cooling flow passage 62 formed therein; a holder 90 arranged over the heat exchanger 11 ; a coupling mechanism 80 configured to detachably fix the heat exchanger 11 to the holder 90, the coupling mechanism 80 including: a first hook 73 fixed to an upper surface of the heat exchange 11; and a second hook 83 held by the holder 90. Kamiki et al also teaches a controller 40 and temperature regulating apparatus 5. See [0010] where Kamiki et al teaches that the heat exchanger 111 is constructed of a ceramic is ceramic are known material having excellent wear resistance and high thermal conductivity. See also [0045] here Kamiki et al teaches that the heat exchanger 11 is made of a ceramic also. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the apparatus resulting from the combined teachings of Ho et al and Liu et al to provide ceramic as the material of constructing the heat transfer structure (heat exchanger) as ceramic is a known material having excellent wear resistance and high thermal conductivity making an preferred material of construction.
Claims 6, 21-23, 25, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ho et al (US 2010/0015894) in view of Liu et al (US 2020/0101582) as applied to claims 1, 2, 5-7, 15, 17-23, 25, and 26 above, and further in view of Lee (US 2009/0137191).
The combined teachings of Ho et al and Liu et al were discussed above.
The apparatus resulting from the combined teachings of Ho et al and Liu et al fails to teach a pad rinsing solution comprising deionized water and a chemical chelator.
Regarding claim 6: The CMP system of claim 1, wherein the pad rinsing solution comprises a mixture of deionized water and a chemical chelator.
Regarding claim 21: See the rejection of claims 1 and 15 above. The apparatus resulting from the combined teachings of Ho et al and Liu et al fails to teach a polishing pad rinsing nozzle configured to selectively provide a pad rinsing solution comprising deionized water and a chemical chelator configured to capture metal by-products from the polishing pad surface and a heat system configured to heat the pad rinsing solution when the by-product concentration is above a first by-product threshold level and configured to cease heating the pad rinsing solution when the by-product concentration is below a second by-product threshold level.
The prior art of Lee where the copper CMP polishing pad cleaning composition see Fig.2 of Lee where the invention apparatus 31 comprises a source 33 for cleaning polishing pads (see abstract). See [0060] where it is recited that the cleaning solution comprises deionized water (DiW) Slurry/rinse arm 27, source of rinsing fluid 39 (DiW), and controller 35. The controller controls all aspects of operation according to [0060] of Lee to include the dispensing of the rinse and cleaning solutions. In [0002] of Lee, the cleaning and rinsing of the polishing pad is recited. See [0014] and [0015] of Lee et al where it is suggested to provide chelating agents in the cleaning and/or rinsing of the pad to condition it to remove any glazing or left over fluids/debris from previous polishing runs or before subsequent runs to especially when metal films are planarized from wafers to ensure the pad is amply conditioned to avoid contamination or decrease polishing result due to a pad in poor condition. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the apparatus resulting from the combined teachings of Ho et al and Liu et al to provide a rinse solution that comprises a mixture of deionized water and a chemical chelator with the controller of Lee to control when and how the rinsing and cleaning solutions are provided to maintain the condition of the polishing pad.
Regarding claim 22: The CMP system of claim 21, wherein the polishing pad rinsing nozzle is configured to selectively provide the pad rinsing solution to the polishing pad before the wafer surface is polished using CMP operations. See the teachings of Lee where the controller 35 ensures the proper dispersing of cleaning/rinsing fluids to the polishing pad whether that disbursement is before or after the wafer is polished. The controller controls all aspects of operation according to [0060] of Lee to include the dispensing of the rinse and cleaning solutions. In [0002] of Lee, the cleaning and rinsing of the polishing pad is recited. See [0014] and [0015] of Lee et al where it is suggested to provide chelating agents in the cleaning and/or rinsing of the pad to condition it to remove any glazing or left over fluids/debris from previous polishing runs or before subsequent runs to especially when metal films are planarized from wafers to ensure the pad is amply conditioned to avoid contamination or decrease polishing result due to a pad in poor condition. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the apparatus resulting from the combined teachings of Ho et al and Liu et al to provide a rinse solution that comprises a mixture of deionized water and a chemical chelator with the controller of Lee to control when and how the rinsing and cleaning solutions are provided to maintain the condition of the polishing pad.
Regarding claim 23: The CMP system of claim 21, wherein the polishing pad rinsing nozzle is configured to selectively provide the pad rinsing solution to the polishing pad after the wafer surface is polished using CMP operations. The controller controls all aspects of operation according to [0060] of Lee to include the dispensing of the rinse and cleaning solutions. In [0002] of Lee, the cleaning and rinsing of the polishing pad is recited. See [0014] and [0015] of Lee et al where it is suggested to provide chelating agents in the cleaning and/or rinsing of the pad to condition it to remove any glazing or left over fluids/debris from previous polishing runs or before subsequent runs to especially when metal films are planarized from wafers to ensure the pad is amply conditioned to avoid contamination or decrease polishing result due to a pad in poor condition. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the apparatus resulting from the combined teachings of Ho et al and Liu et al to provide a rinse solution that comprises a mixture of deionized water and a chemical chelator with the controller of Lee to control when and how the rinsing and cleaning solutions are provided to maintain the condition of the polishing pad.
Regarding claim 25: See the heat system of Ho et al is configured to transfer heat from a heat source (heating elements 34) to the pad rinsing solution in a polishing pad rinsing nozzle (rinse arm 20 ) without directly contacting the pad rinsing solution. See Figs. 1 and 2 (where heat source/heat exchange pipes 50) see [0030] of Ho et al.
Regarding claim 26: The CMP system of claim 21, wherein the heat system is further configured to estimate a pad rinsing solution temperature at or near an outlet of a polishing pad rinsing nozzle and determine how much heat from a heat source to apply to the pad rinsing solution based on the pad rinsing solution temperature. See [0019]- [0031] of Ho et al
Claims 24 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ho et al (US 2010/0015894) in view of Liu et al (US 2020/0101582) and Lee (US 2009/0137191) as applied to claims 6, 21-23, 25, and 26 above, and further in view of Shelton et al (US 6,383,332) and Pasqualoni et al (US 2004/0159050).
The combined teachings of Ho et al, Liu et al, and Lee were discussed above.
The apparatus resulting from the combined teachings fails to teach:
Regarding claim 24: The CMP system of claim 21, wherein the measurement system is configured to measure the by-product concentration in the runoff using a particle counter comprising a drain pipe, a dilute sample box, and a large particle count (LPC) counter, wherein the dilute sample box is configured to collect at least a portion of the runoff and deionized water used to dilute the runoff, the drain pipe is provided to release excess from the deionized water and the runoff that is not collected in the dilute sample box, and the LPC counter is configured to estimate a count of particles greater than a predetermined particle size in the dilute sample box.
Regarding claim 27: The CMP system of claim 21, wherein the measurement system is configured to collect a sample of the runoff in a dilute sample box, dilute the collected sample in the dilute sample box with deionized water, drain excess from the deionized water and the runoff that is not collected in the dilute sample box using a drain pipe, and estimate a count of particles greater than a predetermined particle size.
The prior art of Shelton et al teaches an endpoint method and apparatus where the polishing system 210 has an endpoint detector (measuring system) with an extraction conduit 272 (runoff), an extraction flow control mechanism 272, a testing area 274, a sensor 276, and a waste conduit 277 (drain pipe). The sensor 276 is preferable an optical sensor that analyzes the spectral characteristics of the effluent present in the chelating chamber 390 see the paragraph that joins columns 10 and 11. The motivation to modify the apparatus resulting from the combined teachings of Ho et al, Liu et al, and Lee with the runoff and drain pipe in the measurement system as suggested by Shelton et al is that it clarifies the structure of the effluent of the polishing/cleaning the pad. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the apparatus resulting from the combined teachings of Ho et al, Liu et al, and Lee with the runoff and drain pipe in the measurement system as suggested by Shelton et al.
The prior art of Shelton fails to teach the sensor is a LPC counter and that the sample is diluted.
The prior art of Pasqualoni et al teaches a CMP composition where a measurement system Accusizer is recited in [0023] where the sample is diluted with water to determine the large particle count (LPC) of the sample see [0022] – [0024]. See also [0055] – [0057] where the LPC is compared to a threshold to determine the composition and dispersion of the processing fluid (CMP slurry composition). The motivation to further modify the apparatus resulting from the combined teachings of Ho et al, Liu et al, and Lee with the runoff and drain pipe in the measurement system as suggested by Shelton et al is to use the LPC counter of Pasqualoni et al as an alternative or additional sensor and to dilute the sample as it is known provide a diluted sample when determining the LPC with a known couter the Accusizer as suggested by Pasqualoni et al. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to further modify the apparatus resulting from the combined teachings of Ho et al, Liu et al, and Lee with the runoff and drain pipe in the measurement system as suggested by Shelton et al is to use the LPC counter of Pasqualoni et al and to dilute the sample as Pasqualoni et al discusses.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Iida et al US 6,106,728 teaches slurry recycling system with a concentration meter 62.
Chiesl, III et al US 6,726,364 teaches a method and apparatus for detecting residual slurry with a rinse mechanism 106, a detector 152, and a controller 82.
Fujita US 2008/0003930 teaches a pad conditioner 130, 130A with bendable support see the abstract, see [0098] – [0103].
/SYLVIA MACARTHUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716